Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 4/12/2024 and 10/31/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern-Berkowitz et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0239255 A1) in view of Lin et al. (PCT Pub. No. WO 2021/219756 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stern-Berkowitz discloses a reduced capability (RedCap) user equipment (UE) (See Par. [3] and Fig. 1B; WTRU 102 of Stern-Berkowitz for a reference to a reduced bandwidth (BW) WTRU that may support a certain limited bandwidth [Reduced Capability]) to comprising: a transceiver (See Stern-Berkowitz; Fig. 1B; Transceiver 120) configured to receive a message including (i) one or more random access (RA) configurations (See Par. [82]-[83] and Fig. 3A; 302 of Stern-Berkowitz for a reference to the network provides PRACH resource/configuration information supports multiple differentiated RA configurations) and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver (See Stern-Berkowitz; Fig. 1B; Processor 118), the processor configured to:
determine (i) whether a RA configuration, from the one or more RA configurations is associated with a RedCap feature (See Par. [83], [85]-[86] of Stern-Berkowitz for a reference to UE determines/uses resources associated with its reduced-capability/coverage feature); based on a result of the determination, select a first RA configuration, from the one or more RA configurations, and perform a RA procedure according to the selected first RA configuration (See Par. [83], [86], [165]-[166] of Stern-Berkowitz for a reference to selecting a first (single) RA configuration from feature-suitable PRACH resources based on the determination step and performing the RA procedure (preamble transmission) using that selected configuration).
Stern-Berkowitz does not explicitly disclose the message including (ii) a contention free random access (CFRA) resource configuration including an indication of a number of message 1 (Msg1) repetitions; and determine (ii) whether the RA configuration is associated with the number of Msg1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration.
However, Lin discloses the message including (ii) a contention free random access (CFRA) resource configuration including an indication of a number of message 1 (Msg1) repetitions (See Par. [55], [60], [146]-[147] and Fig. 15; 1502-1504 of Lin for a reference to a UE transceiver receiving a message carrying multiple RA configurations for CFRA, including configured preamble/PRACH repetitions and signaling of a repetition number); and determine (ii) whether the RA configuration is associated with the number of Msg1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration (See Par. [151]-[152], [182]-[184] and Fig. 18; 1808 of Lin for a reference to associating [determining] a selected PRACH procedure/resource with a CE level and repetition number).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin to Stern-Berkowitz. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by efficiently selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration that was used by the UE to transmit the random access preamble. (Lin; Par. [83])
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Stern-Berkowitz and Lin, specifically Stern-Berkowitz discloses wherein: when (i) the RA configuration is associated with the RedCap feature and (ii) the RA configuration is associated with the number of Msg1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration, the first RA configuration is associated with the RedCap feature and the number of Msg1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration (See Par. [82]-[83], [220] of Stern-Berkowitz for a reference to using the combined feature/CE level and repetition attribute for selecting the successful RA configuration).
Regarding claim 3, Stern-Berkowitz does not explicitly disclose wherein: when (i) the RA configuration is associated with RedCap feature and (ii) there is no RA configuration associated with the RedCap feature and the number of Msg 1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration, the first RA configuration is associated with the RedCap feature.
However, Lin discloses wherein: when (i) the RA configuration is associated with RedCap feature and (ii) there is no RA configuration associated with the RedCap feature and the number of Msg 1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration, the first RA configuration is associated with the RedCap feature (See Par. [150]-[151], [189] and Fig. 15 of Lin for a reference to a fallback/second-priority selection: when no configuration matches the full combination, the UE selects a configuration associated with a subset of one of the features [RedCap-feature-only configuration]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin to Stern-Berkowitz. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by efficiently selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration that was used by the UE to transmit the random access preamble. (Lin; Par. [83])
Regarding claim 4, Stern-Berkowitz does not explicitly disclose wherein: when (i) there is no RA configuration associated with Redcap feature and (ii) there is no RA configuration associated with the Redcap feature and the number of Msg1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration and (iii) the RA configuration is associated with the number of Msg1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration, the first RA configuration is associated with the number of Msg1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration.
However, Lin discloses wherein: when (i) there is no RA configuration associated with Redcap feature and (ii) there is no RA configuration associated with the Redcap feature and the number of Msg1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration and (iii) the RA configuration is associated with the number of Msg1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration, the first RA configuration is associated with the number of Msg1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration (See Par. [150]-[151], [189], [199] and Fig. 15 of Lin for a reference to the same iterative selection process is applied again using the next applicable criterion (e.g., service type or slice) when neither the RedCap-only nor combined match exists [Neither the full combination nor the higher-priority single criterion produced a match]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin to Stern-Berkowitz. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by efficiently selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration that was used by the UE to transmit the random access preamble. (Lin; Par. [83])
Regarding claim 5, Stern-Berkowitz does not explicitly disclose wherein: when (i) there is no RA configuration associated with RedCap feature and (ii) there is no RA configuration associated with the RedCap feature and the number of Msg 1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration and (iii) there is no RA configuration associated with the number of Msg1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration, the first RA configuration is not associated with any feature.
However, Lin discloses wherein: when (i) there is no RA configuration associated with RedCap feature and (ii) there is no RA configuration associated with the RedCap feature and the number of Msg 1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration and (iii) there is no RA configuration associated with the number of Msg1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration, the first RA configuration is not associated with any feature (See Par. [9]-[10], [54]-[55] of Lin for a reference to a default/legacy configuration not associated with any feature-specific group, used when no feature-specific configuration applies).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin to Stern-Berkowitz. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by efficiently selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration that was used by the UE to transmit the random access preamble. (Lin; Par. [83])
Regarding claim 8, Stern-Berkowitz discloses a base station (BS) (See Stern-Berkowitz ; Fig. 1A; BS 114) comprising: a transceiver (See Par. [22] of Stern-Berkowitz for a reference to the BS 114 may include a transceiver) configured to transmit a message including (i) one or more random access (RA) configurations (See Par. [82]-[83] and Fig. 3A; 302 of Stern-Berkowitz for a reference to the network provides PRACH resource/configuration information supports multiple differentiated RA configurations); and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver (See Par. [23] of Stern-Berkowitz for a reference to the BS 114 may include a controller/processor), the processor configured to perform a RA procedure with a reduced capability (RedCap) user equipment (UE), wherein the RA procedure is performed according to a first RA configuration from the one or more RA configurations selected by the RedCap UE (See Par. [83], [86], [165]-[166] of Stern-Berkowitz for a reference to selecting a first (single) RA configuration from feature-suitable PRACH resources based on the determination step and performing the RA procedure (preamble transmission) using that selected configuration).
Stern-Berkowitz does not explicitly disclose the message including (ii) a contention free random access (CFRA) resource configuration including an indication of a number of message 1 (Msg1) repetitions.
However, Lin discloses the message including (ii) a contention free random access (CFRA) resource configuration including an indication of a number of message 1 (Msg1) repetitions (See Par. [55], [60], [146]-[147] and Fig. 15; 1502-1504 of Lin for a reference to a UE transceiver receiving a message carrying multiple RA configurations for CFRA, including configured preamble/PRACH repetitions and signaling of a repetition number.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin to Stern-Berkowitz. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by efficiently selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration that was used by the UE to transmit the random access preamble. (Lin; Par. [83])
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Stern-Berkowitz and Lin, specifically Stern-Berkowitz discloses wherein the first RA configuration is associated with a RedCap feature and the number of Msg1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration (See Par. [82]-[83], [220] of Stern-Berkowitz for a reference to using the combined feature/CE level and repetition attribute for selecting the successful RA configuration).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Stern-Berkowitz and Lin, specifically Stern-Berkowitz discloses wherein the first RA configuration is associated with a RedCap feature (See Par. [5], [86] of Stern-Berkowitz for a reference to the network side determines that the selected/used configuration is associated with a single feature [RedCap UE]).
Regarding claim 11, Stern-Berkowitz does not explicitly disclose wherein the first RA configuration is associated with the number of Msg1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration.
However, Lin discloses wherein the first RA configuration is associated with the number of Msg1 repetitions included in the CFRA resource configuration (See Par. [55], [60], [146]-[147] and Fig. 15; 1502-1504 of Lin for a reference to a UE transceiver receiving a message carrying multiple RA configurations for CFRA, including configured preamble/PRACH repetitions and signaling of a repetition number).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin to Stern-Berkowitz. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by efficiently selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration that was used by the UE to transmit the random access preamble. (Lin; Par. [83])
Regarding claim 12, Stern-Berkowitz does not explicitly disclose wherein the first RA configuration is not associated with any feature.
However, Lin discloses wherein the first RA configuration is not associated with any feature (See Par. [9]-[10], [54]-[55] of Lin for a reference to a default/legacy configuration not associated with any feature-specific group, used when no feature-specific configuration applies).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin to Stern-Berkowitz. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by efficiently selecting a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration that was used by the UE to transmit the random access preamble. (Lin; Par. [83])
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 5.
5. Claims 6-7, 13 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern-Berkowitz et al. in view of Lin et al. and further in view of Vos et al. (US 2022/0312497 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Stern-Berkowitz and Lin, specifically Stern-Berkowitz discloses wherein: the transceiver is further configured to: receive a random access response (RAR) during the RA procedure, wherein a bandwidth of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) of the RAR is larger than a bandwidth the RedCap UE can process per slot (See Par. [3], [163] of Stern-Berkowitz for a reference to combining a bandwidth-limited UE, a wider serving-cell bandwidth, and RAR reception on PDSCH occupies more bandwidth than the device can process in one slot); and receive a RAR including an uplink (UL) grant for transmission of a message 3 (Msg3) (See Par. [203] of Stern-Berkowitz for a reference to RAR carrying the resource grant for Msg3);
The combination of Stern-Berkowitz and Lin does not explicitly disclose the processor is further configured to determine whether a time interval between the reception of the RAR and the transmission of the Msg3 in the UL grant is less than a threshold.
However, Vos discloses the processor is further configured to determine whether a time interval between the reception of the RAR and the transmission of the Msg3 in the UL grant is less than a threshold (See Par. [75], [84], [112] of Vos for a reference to timing determination relative to a defined gap threshold between preamble transmission and RAR/Msg3 processing).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Vos to the combination of Stern-Berkowitz and Lin. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by decreasing the probability of preamble collisions and thus increasing spectral efficiency. (Vos; Par. [104])
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Stern-Berkowitz and Lin does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to consider that the reception of the RAR is unsuccessful if a determination is made that the time interval between the reception of the RAR and the transmission of the Msg3 in the UL grant is less than the threshold.
However, Vos discloses wherein the processor is further configured to consider that the reception of the RAR is unsuccessful if a determination is made that the time interval between the reception of the RAR and the transmission of the Msg3 in the UL grant is less than the threshold (See Par. [66]-[67], [74]-[75], [101] of Vos for a reference to failure behavior when random-access processing time is insufficient. A candidate RAR-related occasion occurring within the minimum required timing gap is disregarded/treated as not usable).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Vos to the combination of Stern-Berkowitz and Lin. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by decreasing the probability of preamble collisions and thus increasing spectral efficiency. (Vos; Par. [104])
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 7.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang et al. (US 2023/0292373 Al) teaches a method and a User Equipment (UE) for performing uplink repetitions and a related Base Station (BS).
Molavianjazi et al. (US 2022/0191940 A1) teaches methods and apparatuses for multiple concurrent random access procedures.
Lei et al. (U.S. 2021/0195546 Al) teaches timing advance simplification for stationary and low mobility user equipments (UEs).
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413