Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rothberg (US 2017/0360397 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 17-18, Rothberg discloses an imaging system integrated on a chip for autonomous scanning, comprising:
an on-chip input memory configured to store scan sequence instructions and parameters [[0052] same on-chip circuitry may be utilized to provide both functions, with suitable timing sequences used to control the operation between the two modalities; [0060] ultrasound on a chip solution; [0108] embodiments can be implemented in any of numerous ways … (e.g., a computer, a processor, or other device) to perform, or control performance of, the processes or methods. In this respect, various inventive concepts may be embodied as a computer readable storage medium (or multiple computer readable storage media) (e.g., a computer memory); [0100] control parameters may dictate the scope of the ultrasound image to be obtained by patch 710.; [0111] data structures may be stored in computer readable media in any suitable form];
an on-chip processor configured to read the scan sequence instructions and parameters in the input memory [[0041] a timing & control circuit 108, a signal conditioning/processing circuit 110, a power management circuit 118, and/or a high-intensity focused ultrasound (HIFU) controller 120. In the embodiment shown., all of the illustrated elements are formed on a single semiconductor die 112; [0100] circuit board 718 may comprise one or more processing circuitry, including one or more controllers to direct communication through communication circuitry 724.]; and
an on-chip beamformer configured to be programmed and timed by the processor according to the scan sequence instructions and parameters [[0036] probe may include programmable delay mesh circuitry that allows for transmit beamforming; [0037] probe may include circuitry that allows for receive beamforming].
(claim 17, an on-chip ultrasound imaging system, comprising an on-chip controller configured to receive scan design data and to program and time beamforming according to the scan design data [[0041][0060] ultrasound on a chip solution] [0052][0100][0108][0111])
(claim 18, the imaging system of Claim 17, further comprising an on-chip input memory configured to store the scan design data [[0052] same on-chip circuitry may be utilized to provide both functions, with suitable timing sequences used to control the operation between the two modalities; [0111] data structures may be stored in computer readable media in any suitable form.])
Regarding claim 2, Rothberg teaches the imaging system of Claim 1, wherein the imaging system is coupled to ultrasound transducers, and wherein the imaging system and the ultrasound transducers are packaged within a same ultrasound probe [[0018] ultrasonic transducers may be integrated on a single substrate such as a single complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) chip, or may be on multiple chips within an ultrasound probe (e.g., as shown in FIGS. SG and SH).; [0041] in the embodiment shown., all of the illustrated elements are formed on a single semiconductor die 112.].
Regarding claim 4, Rothberg teaches the imaging system of Claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to execute scanning autonomously, wherein the scanning includes a periodically repeated sequence of events [[0102] produce ultrasound images of the patient at periodic intervals.].
Regarding claim 6, Rothberg teaches the imaging system of Claim 1, wherein the autonomous scanning includes beamforming processed by the beamformer [[0036] probe may include programmable delay mesh circuitry that allows for transmit beamforming; [0037] probe may include circuitry that allows for receive beamforming].
Regarding claim 7, Rothberg teaches the imaging system of Claim 1, wherein the processor is an ultrasound-specific central controller, wherein the ultrasound-specific central controller is configured to generate a scan sequence based on the scan sequence instructions and parameters, and/or to execute each event in a scan sequence based on the scan sequence instructions and parameters [[0036] programmable delay mesh circuitry … transmit beamforming; [0037] receive beamforming; [0041] a timing & control circuit 108, a signal conditioning/processing circuit 110].
Regarding claim 8, Rothberg teaches the imaging system of Claim 1, wherein the scan sequence instructions and parameters include timing and/or imaging parameters for each event in a scan sequence [[0028] image a subject at different depths; [0036] programmable delay mesh circuitry; [0100] ultrasound information may also include control parameters communicated from the auxiliary device to patch 710. The control parameters may dictate the scope of the ultrasound image to be obtained by patch 710].
Regarding claim 9, Rothberg teaches the imaging system of Claim 1, wherein the scan sequence instructions and parameters are included in multiple scan designs [[0052] same on-chip circuitry may be utilized to provide both functions, with suitable timing sequences used to control the operation between the two modalities].
Regarding claim 10, Rothberg teaches the imaging system of Claim 9, wherein each of the multiple scan designs are customized for a different imaging mode, feature, or clinical application that are selectable by a user [[0052] same on-chip circuitry may be utilized to provide both functions, with suitable timing sequences used to control the operation between the two modalities].
Regarding claim 13, Rothberg teaches the imaging system of Claim 2, wherein the scan sequence instructions and parameters include space and time dimensions of transmit and/or receive events of the transducers [[0028] image a subject at different depths; [0036] programmable delay mesh circuitry; [0100] ultrasound information may also include control parameters communicated from the auxiliary device to patch 710. The control parameters may dictate the scope of the ultrasound image to be obtained by patch 710].
Regarding claim 14, Rothberg teaches the imaging system of Claim 1, wherein the scan sequence instructions and parameters include scan geometry, wherein the scan geometry is: (i) for planar, bi-plane, or multi-plane imaging, (ii) sector, vector, trapezoid, linear, or steered linear, (iii) for 3D imaging or real-time 3D imaging, or (iv) a pyramid, cone, truncated pyramid, truncated cone, rectangular prism, or oblique rectangular prism [[0039] universal ultrasound probe (e.g., probe 100) may be implemented in any of numerous physical configurations, and has the capabilities incorporated to perform imaging in modes as may be used when imaging with two or more of the following: a linear probe, a sector probe, a phased array probe, a curvilinear probe, a convex probe, and/or a. 3D imaging probe.].
Regarding claim 15, Rothberg teaches the imaging system of Claim 1, wherein the scan sequence instructions and parameters include instructions for sampling in space, time, and parameter domains [[0036] delay mesh circuitry that allows for transmit beamforming to focus at multiple depths; [0052] suitable timing sequences used to control the operation between the two modalities; [0100] control parameters may dictate the scope of the ultrasound image to be obtained by patch 710].
Regarding claim 16, Rothberg teaches the imaging system of Claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to execute scan designs including the scan sequence instructions and parameters without any knowledge of a use case of scanning [[0052][0100]].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg (US 2017/0360397 A1) and Kang (IEEE Trans. on Bio. Circuits, 2016; ids).
Regarding claim 3, Rothberg does not explicitly teach and yet Kang teaches the imaging system of Claim 1, wherein the chip is Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) [[title] System-on-Chip Solution for Point-of-Care Ultrasound Imaging Systems: Architecture and ASIC Implementation; [pg. 414, col. 1] pulse shape and sequence should be programmable to support advanced imaging technologies (e.g., code excitation and broad beam excitation for MBF method). To satisfy these requirements, a programmable architecture is used for the 32-channel TxPG module in the PUS-SOC, which enables the transmission of a range of transmit aperture widths (1–32 channels) and bipolar pulse lengths (4–128 clock cycles comprised of 2–64 clock cycles each for the P- and N-cycles) at frequencies up to 80 MHz. This enables the generation of basic bipolar pulses with transmit acoustic frequencies ranging from 0.625 MHz to 20 MHz when 128 and 4 clock cycles of bipolar pulse length were employed, respectively. Additionally, pseudo-chirp and barker-coded pulses can be transmitted at up to 32 cycles. The operation sequence can be changed using one of two operating modes: static mode or dynamic header mode. In static mode, the TxPG module calculates the transmit focusing delay for each channel and the total aperture size using the parameters stored in a register block. The dynamic header mode uses the information in the header packets to determine the transmit focusing delay and aperture size].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to implement the ultrasound on a chip as taught by Rothberg, with the ultrasound on a chip implementation using an application specific integrated circuit chip as taught by Kang because the ASIC approach for implementing system on chip provides lower unit costs than FPGA (Kang) [[pg. 419, col. 2]].
Regarding claim 19, Rothberg teaches a method for autonomous scanning, comprising:
at an imaging system integrated on chip comprising an input memory and a processor [[0052][0060][0108]]:
storing scan sequence instructions and parameters in the input memory [[0100][0111]];
reading the scan sequence instructions and parameters in the input memory by the processor [[0041][0100]]; and
programing and timing beamforming by the processor according to the scan sequence instructions and parameters [[0036][0037]].
Rothberg does not explicitly teach and yet Kang teaches imaging system integrated on an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) chip [[title] System-on-Chip Solution for Point-of-Care Ultrasound Imaging Systems: Architecture and ASIC Implementation; [pg. 414, col. 1].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to implement the ultrasound on a chip as taught by Rothberg, with the ultrasound on a chip implementation using an application specific integrated circuit chip as taught by Kang because the ASIC approach for implementing system on chip provides lower unit costs than FPGA (Kang) [[pg. 419, col. 2]].
Regarding claim 20, Rothberg teaches the method of Claim 19, further comprising: (i) generating a scan sequence based on the scan sequence instructions and parameters, (ii) executing each event of transducers in a scan sequence based on the scan sequence instructions and parameters, (iii) executing scan designs including the scan sequence instructions and parameters by the processor without any knowledge of a use case of scanning, or any combination thereof [[0052][0100]].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg (US 2017/0360397 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Mehi (US 2007/0239001 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Rothberg does not explicitly teach and yet Mehi teaches the imaging system of Claim 4, wherein the sequence of events includes individual events [[0174] aperture … look up table … is re-programmable; [0382] to orchestrate the events to form a complete image frame, the beamformer uses some sort of controller.], temporal loops of events [[0383] perform the scanning mode, the controller is then told to run, and steps through the events for an entire frame of acquisition data. At the end of the frame, the controller looks for a stop signal, and if none is found, repeats the whole sequence again.], spatial loops of events in x and y [[0082] systems can provide images having very high resolution, image uniformity, depth of field, adjustable transmit focal depths, multiple transmit focal zones for multiple uses; [0149] depth of the receive beam is adjusted using a delay profile which incorporates information pertaining to the time-of-flight of the transmitted beam; [0227] delay profile across the active transmit aperture is controlled by the transmit beamformer controller], wherein each event and each loop of events from an inner most event loop, x loop, and y loop, to an outermost scan loop are timed [[0382] controller can be implemented as a simple state machine, which specifies a series of beamformer events. Each beamformer event can specify a transmit action, a receive action, and/or a signal processing action. Transmit actions specify all the parameters associated with transmitting pulses from the array. These include the duration of connection of the pulsers to the desired elements in the array, the delay times of each pulser, the transmit waveform characteristics, and the transmit aperture apodization function. Receive actions specify all parameters associated with receiving and beamforming the returning echoes. These include specification of the elements connected to the receive channels, the TGC waveform to be used for each channel, the A/D converter sample rates, and the dynamic aperture, steering and/or dynamic focus patterns to be used in the reconstruction process].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the ultrasound on a chip as taught by Rothberg, with the reprogrammable delay and depth beamforming to control arrayed transducers because arrayed transducers offer better image quality, can achieve higher acquisition frame rates and offer other advantages over single element transducer systems (Mehi) [[0004]].
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothberg (US 2017/0360397 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dasgupta (US 2016/0066890 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Rothberg does not explicitly teach and yet Dasgupta teaches the imaging system of Claim 1, wherein the scan sequence instructions and parameters include programmable nested loops [[abstract] ultrasound radio frequency RF data is demodulated using a nested processing loop including an inner loop and an outer loop; [0025] software programming … field programmable gate array].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the ultrasound on a chip as taught by Rothberg, with the nested loop processing as taught by Dasgupta so that ultrasound data may be processed in parallel (Dasgupta) [[0053]].
Regarding claim 12, Rothberg does not explicitly teach and yet Dasgupta teaches the imaging system of Claim 11, wherein each of the programmable nested loops corresponds to a transmit and/or receive event in a scan sequence [[abstract][0025]], and/or wherein the transmit and/or receive event is preceded by imaging and timing parameters to be updated at that point in the scan sequence [[0003] transmits sound waves … transmits multiple pulses … received echoes … records the received echoes as a function of time and position to image structural information; [0004] color Doppler imaging circuitry is configured to estimate flow parameters].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the ultrasound on a chip as taught by Rothberg, with the nested loop processing as taught by Dasgupta so that ultrasound data may be processed in parallel (Dasgupta) [[0053]].
Conclusion
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645