DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of a product made in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a))
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/22/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the specification and claims state that the second opening (005) is ahead of the final charging position (014) (paragraph [0022] and claim 4) and that the first opening (006) is ahead of the buffer (015) (paragraph [0023] and claim 5). However, according to figures 5B. and 7A-C it appears that the resin arrives at the final charging position before getting to the second opening and similarly the resin arrives at the buffer before arriving at the first open. This inconsistency requires correction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim states “wherein the opening is formed ahead of the charging target position”. It is unclear what is meant by “ahead of” in this context: whether this language refers to some sort of front or back of the claimed product, to a time when the components are created, or to the order in which resin arrives at the components. If the order in which the resin arrives at components is the intended meaning, Fig. 7A-7C appear to show the opposite of what is claimed where the resin would arrive at element 014 before arriving at element 005 or element 006. The plurality of possible meanings and the confusion with the figures renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 5, the claim states “wherein the opening is formed ahead of the buffer”. It is unclear what is meant by “ahead of” in this context: whether this language refers to some sort of front or back of the claimed product, to a time when the components are created, or to the order in which resin arrives at the components. If the order in which the resin arrives at components is the intended meaning, Fig. 7A-7C appear to show the opposite of what is claimed where the resin would arrive at element 015 before arriving at element 006 (which appears to be the opening the claim is referring to in view of paragraph [0023] of the specification). The plurality of possible meanings and the confusion with the figures renders the claim indefinite.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
For the purposes of examination ahead in claims 4 and 5 are taken to mean ahead in terms of the order in which resin would arrive if poured into the flow path (i.e., a flow direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wakayama et al. (US 20180043626 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wakayama et al. teaches a first member (Fig.1A element 20), a second member bonded to the first member (Fig. 1A element 11), a resin formed between the first member and the second member to bond the first member and the second member (See element 1 of below modified version of Fig. 1B and paragraph [0037]), and a buffer configured to store resin and formed between the first member and the second member (See element 2 of the below modified version of Fig. 1B), wherein the buffer has an opening that leads to a side surface of the liquid cartridge (Fig. 1A element 13).
Regarding claim 2, Wakayama et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and wherein the opening is provided so that a state of the resin in the buffer can be visually checked from outside the liquid cartridge (Fig. 1C element 13).
Regarding claim 3, Wakayama et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and further comprising a charging target position, as a target position for charging the resin, defined between the first member and the second member, wherein the resin is formed up to the charging target position (see element 3 in the above modified version of figure 1B where the resin would naturally end if filled from element 21/44 as stated by paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, to the extent the claim is clear in meaning and scope, Wakayama et al. teaches all the elements of claim 3 as stated above and wherein the opening is formed ahead of the charging target position (See the above modified version of Fig. 1B where the resin if charged from element 44/21 as stated by paragraph [0039] it would make elements 13/43 before element 3).
Regarding claim 5, to the extent the claim is clear in meaning and scope, Wakayama et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and wherein the opening is formed ahead of the buffer (See elements 43 and 2 in the above modified version of Fig. 1B where the resin would form element 43 before element 2 if filled from element 44/21 as stated by paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 6, Wakayama et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and wherein the buffer is configured to receive the resin charged therein buffer (See element 2 in the above modified version of Fig. 1B and paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, Wakayama et al. teaches all the elements of claim 4 as stated above and wherein another opening different from the opening is formed between the buffer and the charging target position (Fig. 1A element 21).
Regarding claim 9, Wakayama et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and wherein the opening and the buffer are integrated (See the above modified version of Fig. 1B were elements 43 and 2 are connected).
Regarding claim 10, Wakayama et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and wherein the first member is a lid part of the liquid cartridge (Fig. 1A element 20 and paragraph [0023]), and wherein the second member is a container part configured to store a liquid of the liquid cartridge (Fig. 1A element 11 and paragraphs [0023] and [0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakayama et al. (US 20180043626 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Wakayama teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above but fails to teach the opening is formed with a size of 1 mm × 1 mm on the side surface of the liquid cartridge. The optimum size of the opening could easily be determined by routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at a size that would allow visual inspection of the resin without weakening the overall structure or providing a visually distracting hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to create an opening with a size of 1mm x 1mm as a part of routine optimization to create an opening that will allow visual inspection of the resin without weakening the overall structure providing a visually distracting hole.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3, 6, and 8-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12420556 B2 (Hasegawa et al.). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 2 and 4 of Hasagawa et al. recites a container comprising 2 members with a flow path between them, a buffer and an opening.
Regarding claim 1, Hasegawa et al. recites a first member (Col. 10, line 7); a second member (Col. 10, line 8) bonded to the first member (Col. 10, lines 10-15); a resin formed between the first member and the second member to bond the first member and the second member (Col. 10, lines 10-15); and a buffer configured to store resin (Col. 10, line 22-24) formed between the first and second member (Col. 10, line 23-24 and lines 10-13), wherein the buffer has an opening that leads to a side surface of the liquid cartridge (Col. 10, lines 17-24).
Regarding claim 2, Hasegawa et al. recites all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and the opening is provided so that a state of the resin in the buffer can be visually checked from outside the liquid cartridge (Col. 10, lines 25-28).
Regarding claim 3, Hasegawa et al. recites all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and further comprising a charging target position, as a target position for charging the resin (Col. 10, lines 14-16, note the filling target position is taken to be the same as the charging target position), wherein the resin is formed up to the charging target position (Col. 10, lines 14-16). Hasegawa et al. does not specifically recite that the charging target position is between the first and second member. However it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to place the charging target position in-between the first and second member because Hasegawa et al. states that the charging target position it attached to the flow path (Col. 10, line 14-16) and that the flow path is between the first and second member (Col. 10, lines 10-13) and since the charging target position is attached to the flow path it would be obvious that it is also between the first and second member.
Regarding claim 6, Hasegawa et al. recites all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and the buffer is configured to receive the resin charged therein (Col. 10, lines 22-24).
Regarding claim 8, Hasegawa et al. recites all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and an opening formed on the side of the cartridge (Col. 10, lines 17-24) but it does not specifically recite the opening being 1mm x 1mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention as routine optimization to make the opening 1mm x 1mm to provide an opening that allows visual inspection of the resin without compromising the structural integrity of the cartridge.
Regarding claim 9, Hasegawa et al. recites all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and wherein the opening and the buffer are integrated (claim 4, Col. 10, lines 37-38).
Claims 4, 5, 7 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12420556 B2 (Hasegawa et al.) in view of Wakayama et al. (US 20180043626 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hasegawa et al. recites all the elements of claim 3 as stated above and an opening (Col. 10, lines 17-24) and charging target position (Col. 10, lines 14-16) but does not specifically recite the opening is formed ahead of the charging target position. Wakayama et al. does recite a container with 2 elements bound by resin (Abstract) and an opening (Fig. 1A element 13) that is formed ahead of the charging target position (see the above modified version of Fig. 1B where the resin if charged from element 44/21 as stated by paragraph [0039] it would make elements 13/43 before element 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to organize the charging target position and opening as claimed as an obvious method known in the art to allow a user to know that the resin is close to the charging target position.
Regarding claim 5, Hasegawa et al. recites all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and an opening (Col. 10, lines 17-24) and a buffer (Col. 10, line 22-24) but does not specifically recite the opening is formed ahead of the buffer. Wakayama et al. does recite a container with 2 elements bound by resin (Abstract) and an opening (Fig. 1A element 13) that is formed ahead of the buffer (See elements 43 and 2 in above modified version of Fig. 1B where the resin would form element 43 before element 2 if filled from element 44/21 as stated by paragraph [0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to organize the buffer and opening as claimed as an obvious method of placing buffers and openings known in the art to allow a user to know when resin enters the buffer.
Regarding claim 7, Hasegawa et al. and Wakayama recite all the elements of claim 4 as stated above and Hasegawa et al. recites an opening (Col. 10, lines 17-24) but does not specifically recite another opening different from the opening is formed between the buffer and the charging target position. Wakayama does teach a container with 2 elements bound by resin (Abstract) and wherein another opening different from the opening is formed between the buffer and the charging target position (Fig. 1A element 21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the apparatus of Hasegawa et al. with the additional hole taught by Wakayama as an obvious plurality of parts to provide an addition view point to the status of the resin to better determine how it has flowed through the mold.
Regarding claim 10, Hasegawa et al. recites all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and a first (Col. 10, line 7) and second member (Col. 10 line 8) but does not recite that the first member is a lid and the second member is configured to store a liquid. Wakayama et al. does teach a container with 2 elements bound by resin (Abstract) and a lid (Fig. 1A element 20 and paragraph [0023]) and liquid container (Fig. 1A element 11 and paragraphs [0023] and [0029]) attached by resin (paragraph [0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to attach a lid and container as taught by Wakayama et al. as a simple substitution of 2 generic members for a lid and container known in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ino (US 7207307 B2) is cited for having similar structure to the claimed invention.
/SAMUEL FREDERICK BOELITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/Leslie J Thompson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853