DETAILED ACTION Claims Status Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 10, 12-16, 18, and 19 filed 02/03/2026 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 10 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-13, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manchi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,056,561), hereinafter ‘Manchi’ in view of Thomson (U.S. Publication 2019/0361847), hereinafter ‘Thomson’.
As to claim 1, Manchi discloses a method comprising: capturing one or more images of an object at an event (Manchi, see col. 3 lines 34-41, the images or video captured by the camera detecting movement or motion of an object. See col. 6 lines 6-27, event detection object); receiving radio frequency identification (RFID) data generated by a RFID reader at the event, wherein the RFID data is associated with a tag on the object at the event (Manchi, see col. 10 lines 5-10, the RFID detection event can include RFID sensors capturing RFID data from RFID tags of objects or equipment within detection range of the RFID sensors. See col. 15 lines 49-64, the RFID sensors (RFID readers or sensors) can capture RFID data from RFID tags within detection range of the RFID sensors); associating the RFID data with one or more of time data or location data representing the event (Manchi, see col. 4 lines 1-12, the service provider computers can utilize the time information and/or location information from the cameras and RFID sensors to determine that an object has entered an area and to associate the data point events together); and Manchi is silent to generating an authentication asset having combined data including the RFID data and the one or more of time data or location data, wherein the authentication asset is configured such that, when displayed, the combined data is visually superimposed over the one or more images. However, Thomson discloses generating an authentication asset having combined data including the RFID data and the one or more of time data or location data, wherein the authentication asset is configured such that, when displayed, the combined data is visually superimposed over the one or more images (Thomson, see [0045-0046], data can then be accessed by system in order to provide links to real-time data and events in accordance with the transparent layer and link generating process. See [0056], superimposing over one of the plurality of objects relating to the one or more documents that the icon links to. See [0068], If one of the sensor icons is selected by the user, the display presents data measured or obtained by the sensor which the user-selected sensor icon links to). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manchi in view of Thomson in order to further modify the method for an object detection feature from the teachings of Manchi with the method for spatial linking navigation from the teachings of Thomson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to render entire content while providing both the overlay generator and link generator (Thomson – 0056).
As to claim 2, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 1. Manchi further discloses wherein associating the one or more of time data or location data includes generating the time data and the location data at the event, and wherein the authentication asset includes the time data and the location data (Manchi, see col. 5 lines 12-32, RFID sensor and camera are located near the door for capturing data of objects entering or exiting door, wherein the camera can capture live stream camera footage and obtain a timestamp (time) and location data).
As to claim 3, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 1. Manchi further discloses capturing the one or more images of the object being used at the event (Manchi, see col. 5 lines 12-32, the camera can capture live stream camera the camera footage (video or images), time, and location data in order to transmit to the service provider).
As to claim 4, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 3. Manchi further discloses wherein capturing the one or more images includes capturing video including the one or more images of a participant using the object at the event, and further comprising associating the RFID data with participant data representing the participant (Manchi, see col. 7 lines 19-67, the cameras are configured to provide video or images of the user entering the entryway and/or the area as well as information about the video or images, wherein the information about the video or images captured by cameras includes a timestamp and location of the footage).
As to claim 5, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 4. Manchi further discloses displaying the authentication asset, wherein the displayed authentication asset includes the RFID data, one or more of the time data or the location data, and the participant data superimposed on the one or more images (Manchi, see col. 7 lines 19-67, footage capture by the cameras include a user entering the area, RFID data, timestamp and location).
As to claim 7, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 1. Manchi further discloses determining whether event equipment at the event is transmitting RF signals (Manchi, see col. 2 lines 1-12, service provider computers implementing the object detection feature can correlate radio frequency identification (RFID) data received from an RFID tag associated with the object); and capturing the RFID data in response to determining that the event equipment is not transmitting RF signals (Manchi, see col. 2 lines 1-67, cameras can capture RFID data, wherein the camera is used to detect the presence of an object, the type of the object, and that the object is exiting the area (exit event)).
As to claim 8, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 1. Manchi further discloses wherein the RFID reader is fixed to a venue of the event (Manchi, see col. 13 lines 8-16, RFID sensor located within the volume of space of the entryway of the area).
As to claim 9, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 8. Manchi further discloses wherein the RFID reader is fixed to the venue at a location passed by the object during the event (Manchi, see col. 13 lines 8-16, RFID sensor located within the volume of space of the entryway of the area, wherein the RFID sensor can be configured to capture the RFID data from an RFID tag associated with the object).
As to claim 10, Manchi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors of a radio frequency identification (RFID) authentication system, cause the RFID authentication system to perform a method comprising: capturing one or more images of an object at an event (Manchi, see col. 3 lines 34-41, the images or video captured by the camera detecting movement or motion of an object. See col. 6 lines 6-27, event detection object); capturing, by a radio frequency identification (RFID) reader, RFID data associated with a tag on the object at the event (Manchi, see col. 10 lines 5-10, the RFID detection event can include RFID sensors capturing RFID data from RFID tags of objects or equipment within detection range of the RFID sensors. See col. 15 lines 49-64, the RFID sensors (RFID readers or sensors) can capture RFID data from RFID tags within detection range of the RFID sensors); associating the RFID data with one or more of time data or location data representing the event (Manchi, see col. 4 lines 1-12, the service provider computers can utilize the time information and/or location information from the cameras and RFID sensors to determine that an object has entered an area and to associate the data point events together); and Manchi is silent to generating an authentication asset having combined data including the RFID data and the one or more of time data or location data, wherein the authentication asset is configured such that, when displayed, the combined data is visually superimposed over the one or more images. However, Thomson discloses generating an authentication asset having combined data including the RFID data and the one or more of time data or location data, wherein the authentication asset is configured such that, when displayed, the combined data is visually superimposed over the one or more images (Thomson, see [0045-0046], data can then be accessed by system in order to provide links to real-time data and events in accordance with the transparent layer and link generating process. See [0056], superimposing over one of the plurality of objects relating to the one or more documents that the icon links to. See [0068], If one of the sensor icons is selected by the user, the display presents data measured or obtained by the sensor which the user-selected sensor icon links to). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manchi in view of Thomson in order to further modify the method for an object detection feature from the teachings of Manchi with the method for spatial linking navigation from the teachings of Thomson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to render entire content while providing both the overlay generator and link generator (Thomson – 0056).
As to claim 11, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 10. Manchi further discloses wherein associating the one or more of time data or location data includes generating the time data and the location data at the event, and wherein the authentication asset includes the time data and the location data (Manchi, see col. 5 lines 12-32, RFID sensor and camera are located near the door for capturing data of objects entering or exiting door, wherein the camera can capture live stream camera footage and obtain a timestamp (time) and location data).
As to claim 12, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 10. Manchi further discloses causing the RFID authentication system to perform the method comprising capturing one or more images of the object being used by a participant at the event, wherein the authentication asset includes the one or more images (Manchi, see col. 7 lines 19-67, the cameras are configured to provide video or images of the user entering the entryway and/or the area as well as information about the video or images, wherein the information about the video or images captured by cameras includes a timestamp and location of the footage).
As to claim 13, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 12. Manchi further discloses causing the RFID authentication system to perform the method comprising displaying the authentication asset, wherein the displayed authentication asset includes the RFID data, one or more of the time data or the location data, and participant data representing the participant superimposed on the one or more images (Manchi, see col. 7 lines 19-67, footage capture by the cameras include a user entering the area, RFID data, timestamp and location).
As to claim 15, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 10. Manchi further discloses causing the RFID authentication system to perform the method comprising: determine whether event equipment at the event is transmitting RF signals (Manchi, see col. 2 lines 1-12, service provider computers implementing the object detection feature can correlate radio frequency identification (RFID) data received from an RFID tag associated with the object); and capture the RFID data in response to determining that the event equipment is not transmitting RF signals (Manchi, see col. 2 lines 1-67, cameras can capture RFID data, wherein the camera is used to detect the presence of an object, the type of the object, and that the object is exiting the area (exit event)).
As to claim 16, Manchi discloses a radio frequency identification (RFID) authentication system comprising: a camera to capture one or more images of an object at an event (Manchi, see col. 3 lines 34-41, the images or video captured by the camera detecting movement or motion of an object. See col. 6 lines 6-27, event detection object); a RFID reader to capture RFID data associated with a tag on an object at an event (Manchi, see col. 10 lines 5-10, the RFID detection event can include RFID sensors capturing RFID data from RFID tags of objects or equipment within detection range of the RFID sensors. See col. 15 lines 49-64, the RFID sensors (RFID readers or sensors) can capture RFID data from RFID tags within detection range of the RFID sensors); and one or more processors configured to associate the RFID data with one or more of time data or location data representing the event (Manchi, see fig. 7, processors. See col. 4 lines 1-12, the service provider computers can utilize the time information and/or location information from the cameras and RFID sensors to determine that an object has entered an area and to associate the data point events together), and Manchi is silent to generating an authentication asset having combined data including the RFID data and the one or more of time data or location data, wherein the authentication asset is configured such that, when displayed, the combined data is visually superimposed over the one or more images. However, Thomson discloses generating an authentication asset having combined data including the RFID data and the one or more of time data or location data, wherein the authentication asset is configured such that, when displayed, the combined data is visually superimposed over the one or more images (Thomson, see [0045-0046], data can then be accessed by system in order to provide links to real-time data and events in accordance with the transparent layer and link generating process. See [0056], superimposing over one of the plurality of objects relating to the one or more documents that the icon links to. See [0068], If one of the sensor icons is selected by the user, the display presents data measured or obtained by the sensor which the user-selected sensor icon links to). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manchi in view of Thomson in order to further modify the method for an object detection feature from the teachings of Manchi with the method for spatial linking navigation from the teachings of Thomson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to render entire content while providing both the overlay generator and link generator (Thomson – 0056).
As to claim 17, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 16. Manchi further discloses wherein associating the one or more of time data or location data includes generating time data and the location data, and wherein the authentication asset includes the time data and the location data (Manchi, see col. 5 lines 12-32, RFID sensor and camera are located near the door for capturing data of objects entering or exiting door, wherein the camera can capture live stream camera footage and obtain a timestamp (time) and location data).
As to claim 18, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 16. Manchi further discloses wherein the camera captures the one or more images of the object being used at the event (Manchi, see col. 7 lines 19-67, the cameras are configured to provide video or images of the user entering the entryway and/or the area as well as information about the video or images, wherein the information about the video or images captured by cameras includes a timestamp and location of the footage).
As to claim 20, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 16. Manchi further discloses wherein the one or more processors determine whether event equipment at the event is transmitting RF signals (Manchi, see col. 2 lines 1-12, service provider computers implementing the object detection feature can correlate radio frequency identification (RFID) data received from an RFID tag associated with the object) and cause the RFID reader to capture the RFID data in response to determining that the event equipment is not transmitting RF signals (Manchi, see col. 2 lines 1-67, cameras can capture RFID data, wherein the camera is used to detect the presence of an object, the type of the object, and that the object is exiting the area (exit event)).
Claims 6, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manchi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,056,561), hereinafter ‘Manchi’ in view of Thomson (U.S. Publication 2019/0361847), hereinafter ‘Thomson’ and Faris et al. (U.S. Publication 2019/0081947), hereinafter ‘Faris’.
As to claim 6, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 5, comprising filtering one or more of the RFID data or the participant data based on one or more of an object parameter or a participant parameter, wherein the displayed authentication asset includes only the RFID data or the participant data associated with the object parameter or the participant parameter. However, Faris discloses comprising filtering one or more of the RFID data or the participant data based on one or more of an object parameter or a participant parameter, wherein the displayed authentication asset includes only the RFID data or the participant data associated with the object parameter or the participant parameter (Faris, see [0100], a user can utilize the end-user computing device to scan a tag in a physical asset, such as an athletic jersey. See [0143], data can be obtained from image-capturing device, such as sensor, which is used to detect athletic parameters). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manchi in view of Manchi and Faris in order to further modify the method for an object detection feature from the teachings of Manchi with the method for spatial linking navigation from the teachings of Thomson and the method for utilize an imaging device to capture input from an electronic tag of a physical asset from the teachings of Faris. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to scan the electronic tag in order to obtain the unique identification number (Faris – 0100).
As to claim 14, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 13, causing the RFID authentication system to perform the method comprising filtering one or more of the RFID data or the participant data based on one or more of an object parameter or a participant parameter, wherein the displayed authentication asset includes only the RFID data or the participant data associated with the object parameter or the participant parameter. However, Faris discloses causing the RFID authentication system to perform the method comprising filtering one or more of the RFID data or the participant data based on one or more of an object parameter or a participant parameter, wherein the displayed authentication asset includes only the RFID data or the participant data associated with the object parameter or the participant parameter (Faris, see [0100], a user can utilize the end-user computing device to scan a tag in a physical asset, such as an athletic jersey. See [0143], data can be obtained from image-capturing device, such as sensor, which is used to detect athletic parameters). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manchi in view of Thomson and Faris in order to further modify the method for an object detection feature from the teachings of Manchi with the method for spatial linking navigation from the teachings of Thomson and the method for utilize an imaging device to capture input from an electronic tag of a physical asset from the teachings of Faris. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to scan the electronic tag in order to obtain the unique identification number (Faris – 0100).
As to claim 19, Manchi in view of Thomson discloses everything disclosed in claim 16, comprising filtering one or more of the RFID data or participant data describing a participant based on one or more of an object parameter or a participant parameter, wherein the participant used the object at the event, and wherein the displayed authentication asset includes only the RFID data or the participant data associated with the object parameter or the participant parameter. However, Faris discloses comprising filtering one or more of the RFID data or participant data describing a participant based on one or more of an object parameter or a participant parameter, wherein the participant used the object at the event, and wherein the displayed authentication asset includes only the RFID data or the participant data associated with the object parameter or the participant parameter (Faris, see [0100], a user can utilize the end-user computing device to scan a tag in a physical asset, such as an athletic jersey. See [0143], data can be obtained from image-capturing device, such as sensor, which is used to detect athletic parameters). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manchi in view of Thomson and Faris in order to further modify the method for an object detection feature from the teachings of Manchi with the method for spatial linking navigation from the teachings of Thomson and the method for utilize an imaging device to capture input from an electronic tag of a physical asset from the teachings of Faris. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to scan the electronic tag in order to obtain the unique identification number (Faris – 0100).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TANIA M PENA-SANTANA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443