DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Status identifier to claims 10 and 13, in the Amendment filed on 7/6/26, are labeled as (Original) but contain amendments to the claim language. The Examiner will consider claims 10 and 13 to have a status identifiers as “(Currently Amended)”.
Amendments
Applicant’s Amendment filed on 7/6/26 has been entered and made of record.
Currently Pending claims: 1-3 and 7-23
Independent claims: 1, 19, and 20
Amended claims: 1, 7, 10, 13, 17, 19, and 20
Cancelled claims: 4-6
New claims: 21-23
Response to Arguments
This office action is responsive to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment received on 7/6/26.
The reply filed on 7/6/26 is not fully responsive to the prior Office action because of the following omission(s) or matter(s): objection of the drawings regarding label 500 in Fig. 5. Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 7/6/26, with respect to objections of the drawings regarding Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of the drawings regarding Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 7/6/26, with respect to objections of claims 10 and 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of claims 10 and 17 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 7/6/26, with respect to rejections of claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, 13, and 16-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on Page 11, that “Zhao has no disclosure of any of the tubelet queries or any of the box query embeddings corresponding to a spatial region within a video frame. Instead, in Zhao, each tubelet query includes a single embedding per frame. Zhao also has no disclosure of any "spatial query vectors" for any spatial indices of any corresponding spatial regions of any video frames.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As cited in the previous Office Action, Zhao discloses a tubelet-attention module which processes both spatial relations and temporal relations within the tubelet query, on Pages 13590-13591, §Tubelet attention, “we propose a tubelet-attention (TA) module … processes the spatial relations between box query embeddings within a frame i.e. {q1,t, ..., qN,t}, t={1, ..., Tout} … models the correlations between box query embeddings across time within the same tubelet, i.e. {qi,1, ..., qi,Tout}, i={1, ...,N}.” Since the input to the tubelet-attention model is a single variable, Page 13591, Eqn. (5), “Fq = TA(Q)”, the tubelet query must be a combination of both the spatial and temporal query vectors, as recited in amended claim 1.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: 500 in Figure 5. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 13, and 16-20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by applicant supplied prior art Zhao et al. (Zhao, Jiaojiao, et al. "Tuber: Tubelet transformer for video action detection." Proceedings of the IEEE/CVF Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition. 2022) (hereafter, “Zhao”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a method performed by one or more computers (Page 13593, Table 1. Testing and evaluating the model implies a computer), the method comprising: receiving an input video comprising a sequence of video frames (Figure 1; Figure 1 caption, TubeR takes as input a video clip. The bottom panel in Figure 1 indicates as sequence of frames as input); maintaining a set of query vectors (Figure 2 “tubelet queries”; Page 13590, §3.2 TubeR Decoder, The i-th tubelet query Qi={qi,1, ..., qi,Tout}), wherein the set of query vectors comprises, for each video frame, a respective query vector corresponding to each of a plurality of spatial regions within the video frame (Fig. 1; Page 13591, §Tubelet attention, processes the spatial relations between box query embeddings within a frame i.e. {q1,t, ..., qN,t}, t={1, ..., Tout}. Fig. 1 (orange and green bounding boxes) illustrates the different spatial regions within a frame.), and wherein each query vector is a combination of (i) a spatial query vector for a spatial index of the corresponding spatial region for the query vector (Page 13591, §Tubelet attention, processes the spatial relations between box query embeddings within a frame i.e. {q1,t, ..., qN,t}, t={1, ..., Tout}. The first index of q is the spatial index) and (ii) a temporal query vector for a temporal index of the corresponding video frame within the sequence of video frames (Page 13591, §Tubelet attention, box query embeddings across time within the same tubelet, i.e. {qi,1, ..., qi,Tout}, i={1, ...,N}. The second index of q is the temporal index);
Figure 2 from Zhao.
and processing the set of query vectors and the input video to perform action localization on the input video (Page 13590, §3. Action Detection by TubeR, we present our TubeR that takes as input a video clip and directly outputs a tubelet: a sequence of bounding boxes and the action label; Figure 2 caption, The decoder transforms a set of tubelet queries Q …to predict tubelet labels and coordinates), comprising: processing the input video using a video encoder neural network (Figure 2. The top left of figure 2 illustrates a video encoder neural network) to generate a feature representation of the input video (Figure 2; Page 13590, §3.1 TubeR Encoder, Fen ∈ RT′H′W′×C′ denotes the C′ dimensional encoded feature embedding); and processing the set of query vectors and the feature representation using a decoder neural network to generate an action localization output for the video (Page 13590, §3. Action Detection by TubeR, we present our TubeR that takes as input a video clip and directly outputs a tubelet: a sequence of bounding boxes and the action label; Figure 2 caption, The decoder transforms a set of tubelet queries Q …to predict tubelet labels and coordinates. The decoder in the top right of Figure 2 depicts tubule queries and feature encoding as input), wherein the action localization output comprises, for each of one or more agents depicted in the video, data specifying, for each of one or more video frames in the video, a respective bounding box in the video frame that depicts the agent (Figure 1; Figure 3; Page 13590, §3. Action Detection by TubeR, outputs a tubelet: a sequence of bounding boxes. Figures 1 and 3 illustrate bounding boxes, around individual agents, output by the model) and a respective action from a set of actions that is being performed by the agent in the video frame (Figure 1; Figure 3; Page 13590, §3. Action Detection by TubeR, outputs … and the action label. Figures 1 and 3 illustrate action labels output by the model).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the feature representation includes a respective set of feature vectors for each of the video frames (Page 13590, §3. Action Detection by TubeR, Where Tin, H, W, C denote the number of frames, height, width, and colour channels; Page 13590, §3.1 TubeR Encoder, Fen ∈ RT′H′W′×C′ denotes the C′ dimensional encoded feature embedding. The dimension T represents the per frame features).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein processing the set of query vectors and the feature representation using the decoder neural network comprises: processing the set of query vectors and the feature representation using an attention neural network (Figure 2, top right; Page 13591, §Decoder, The decoder contains a tubelet-attention module and a cross-attention (CA) layer) to update each of the query vectors in the set (Eqn. 6 describes the function used to update the vectors); and after updating each of the query vectors in the set, processing the query vectors using one or more output heads to generate the action localization output (Figure 2, bottom right; Page 13591, §3.3 Task-Specific Heads, The bounding boxes and action classification for each tubelet can be done simultaneously with independent task specific heads).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao discloses the method of claim 8, wherein processing the query vectors using one or more output heads to generate the action localization output comprises (Figure 2, classification head and regression head boxes; Page 13590-13591, §3.2 TubeR Decoder-§3.3 Task-Specific Heads, The bounding boxes and action classification for each tubelet can be done simultaneously with independent task specific heads. Sections 3.2 and 3.3 describe the steps involved in processing tubelet query vectors. In summary, self- and cross-attention heads are used for feature extraction from the query vectors followed by task-specific heads that perform action localization), for each of at least a subset of the query vectors (Figure 2, tubelet queries Q): processing the query vector using a localization head to generate one or more bounding boxes that are predicted to correspond to an agent (Figure 1, bottom; Figure 3. §3.3 Task-Specific Heads, The bounding boxes and action classification for each tubelet can be done simultaneously with independent task specific heads. Figures 1 and 3 show the output of the model with bounding boxes around an agent and action labels in multiple frames); and processing the query vector using a classification head to generate, for each of the one or more bounding boxes, a respective score for each action in the set of actions (Page 13591, §Context aware classification head, where yclass ∈ RN×L denotes the classification score on L possible labels).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao discloses the method of claim 9, wherein processing the query vectors using one or more output heads to generate the action localization output comprises (Figure 2, classification head and regression head boxes; Page 13590-13591, §3.2 TubeR Decoder-§3.3 Task-Specific Heads, The bounding boxes and action classification for each tubelet can be done simultaneously with independent task specific heads. Sections 3.2 and 3.3 describe the steps involved in processing tubelet query vectors. In summary, self- and cross-attention heads are used for feature extraction from the query vectors followed by task-specific heads that perform action localization), for each of at least the subset of the query vectors (Figure 2, tubelet queries Q): for each of the one or more bounding boxes, selecting an action from the set of actions using the respective scores (Page 13590, §Action Detection by TubeR, In this section, we present our TubeR that takes as input a video clip and directly outputs a tubelet: a sequence of bounding boxes and the action label. Page 13591, §Context aware classification head, where yclass ∈ RN×L denotes the classification score on L possible labels. Since the final output includes an action label and the trained model outputs action classification scores, Examiner considers this to indicate the use of the scores to determine the labels).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the attention neural network comprises: one or more self-attention blocks that each update the set of query vectors by performing self-attention across the set of query vectors (Figure 2; Tubelet-attention layer (TA) in the decoder box top right); and one or more cross-attention blocks that each update the set of query vectors by performing cross-attention into the feature representation of the video (Figure 2; Cross-attention layer (CA) in the decoder box top right).
Regarding claim 16, Zhao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the video encoder neural network and the decoder neural network have been trained jointly on a loss that measures errors in action localization outputs generated for a set of training videos relative to ground truth localization outputs for the set of training videos (Eqn. 14; Page 13592, §3.4 Losses, where y is the model output and Y denotes the ground truth).
Regarding claim 17, Zhao discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the training comprises matching predicted bounding boxes generated using the decoder neural network to ground truth bounding boxes within each of one or more video frames of each training video (Eqn. 14; Page 13592, §3.4 Losses, The Lbox and Liou denote the per-frame bounding box matching error).
Regarding claim 18, Zhao discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the one or more bounding boxes are a single bounding box in a video frame corresponding to the query vector (Figure 3; Figure 3 caption, Yellow indicates our detected tubelets).
Regarding claim 19, Zhao discloses a system comprising: one or more computers (Page 13593, Table 1. Testing and evaluating the model implies a computer); and one or more storage devices storing instructions that (Page 13588, §Abstract, Code will be available on GluonCV. Code availability implies a non-transitory computer-readable storage), when executed by the one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising: receiving an input video comprising a sequence of video frames (Figure 1; Figure 1 caption, TubeR takes as input a video clip. The bottom panel in Figure 1 indicates as sequence of frames as input); maintaining a set of query vectors (Figure 2 “tubelet queries”; Page 13590, §3.2 TubeR Decoder, The i-th tubelet query Qi={qi,1, ..., qi,Tout}), wherein the set of query vectors comprises, for each video frame, a respective query vector corresponding to each of a plurality of spatial regions within the video frame (Fig. 1; Page 13591, §Tubelet attention, processes the spatial relations between box query embeddings within a frame i.e. {q1,t, ..., qN,t}, t={1, ..., Tout}. Fig. 1 (orange and green bounding boxes) illustrates the different spatial regions within a frame.), and wherein each query vector is a combination of (i) a spatial query vector for a spatial index of the corresponding spatial region for the query vector (Page 13591, §Tubelet attention, processes the spatial relations between box query embeddings within a frame i.e. {q1,t, ..., qN,t}, t={1, ..., Tout}. The first index of q is the spatial index) and (ii) a temporal query vector for a temporal index of the corresponding video frame within the sequence of video frames (Page 13591, §Tubelet attention, box query embeddings across time within the same tubelet, i.e. {qi,1, ..., qi,Tout}, i={1, ...,N}. The second index of q is the temporal index); and processing the set of query vectors and the input video to perform action localization on the input video (Page 13590, §3. Action Detection by TubeR, we present our TubeR that takes as input a video clip and directly outputs a tubelet: a sequence of bounding boxes and the action label; Figure 2 caption, The decoder transforms a set of tubelet queries Q …to predict tubelet labels and coordinates), comprising: processing the input video using a video encoder neural network (Figure 2. The top left of figure 2 illustrates a video encoder neural network) to generate a feature representation of the input video (Figure 2; Page 13590, §3.1 TubeR Encoder, Fen ∈ RT′H′W′×C′ denotes the C′ dimensional encoded feature embedding); and processing the set of query vectors and the feature representation using a decoder neural network to generate an action localization output for the video (Page 13590, §3. Action Detection by TubeR, we present our TubeR that takes as input a video clip and directly outputs a tubelet: a sequence of bounding boxes and the action label; Figure 2 caption, The decoder transforms a set of tubelet queries Q …to predict tubelet labels and coordinates. The decoder in the top right of Figure 2 depicts tubule queries and feature encoding as input), wherein the action localization output comprises, for each of one or more agents depicted in the video, data specifying, for each of one or more video frames in the video, a respective bounding box in the video frame that depicts the agent (Figure 1; Figure 3; Page 13590, §3. Action Detection by TubeR, outputs a tubelet: a sequence of bounding boxes. Figures 1 and 3 illustrate bounding boxes, around individual agents, output by the model) and a respective action from a set of actions that is being performed by the agent in the video frame (Figure 1; Figure 3; Page 13590, §3. Action Detection by TubeR, outputs … and the action label. Figures 1 and 3 illustrate action labels output by the model).
Regarding claim 20, Zhao discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing instructions (Page 13588, §Abstract, Code will be available on GluonCV. Code availability implies a non-transitory computer-readable storage) that when executed by one or more computers cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising: receiving an input video comprising a sequence of video frames (Figure 1; Figure 1 caption, TubeR takes as input a video clip. The bottom panel in Figure 1 indicates as sequence of frames as input); maintaining a set of query vectors (Figure 2 “tubelet queries”; Page 13590, §3.2 TubeR Decoder, The i-th tubelet query Qi={qi,1, ..., qi,Tout}), wherein the set of query vectors comprises, for each video frame, a respective query vector corresponding to each of a plurality of spatial regions within the video frame (Fig. 1; Page 13591, §Tubelet attention, processes the spatial relations between box query embeddings within a frame i.e. {q1,t, ..., qN,t}, t={1, ..., Tout}. Fig. 1 (orange and green bounding boxes) illustrates the different spatial regions within a frame.), and wherein each query vector is a combination of (i) a spatial query vector for a spatial index of the corresponding spatial region for the query vector (Page 13591, §Tubelet attention, processes the spatial relations between box query embeddings within a frame i.e. {q1,t, ..., qN,t}, t={1, ..., Tout}. The first index of q is the spatial index) and (ii) a temporal query vector for a temporal index of the corresponding video frame within the sequence of video frames (Page 13591, §Tubelet attention, box query embeddings across time within the same tubelet, i.e. {qi,1, ..., qi,Tout}, i={1, ...,N}. The second index of q is the temporal index); and processing the set of query vectors and the input video to perform action localization on the input video (Page 13590, §3. Action Detection by TubeR, we present our TubeR that takes as input a video clip and directly outputs a tubelet: a sequence of bounding boxes and the action label; Figure 2 caption, The decoder transforms a set of tubelet queries Q …to predict tubelet labels and coordinates), comprising: processing the input video using a video encoder neural network (Figure 2. The top left of figure 2 illustrates a video encoder neural network) to generate a feature representation of the input video (Figure 2; Page 13590, §3.1 TubeR Encoder, Fen ∈ RT′H′W′×C′ denotes the C′ dimensional encoded feature embedding); and processing the set of query vectors and the feature representation using a decoder neural network to generate an action localization output for the video (Page 13590, §3. Action Detection by TubeR, we present our TubeR that takes as input a video clip and directly outputs a tubelet: a sequence of bounding boxes and the action label; Figure 2 caption, The decoder transforms a set of tubelet queries Q …to predict tubelet labels and coordinates. The decoder in the top right of Figure 2 depicts tubule queries and feature encoding as input), wherein the action localization output comprises, for each of one or more agents depicted in the video, data specifying, for each of one or more video frames in the video, a respective bounding box in the video frame that depicts the agent (Figure 1; Figure 3; Page 13590, §3. Action Detection by TubeR, outputs a tubelet: a sequence of bounding boxes. Figures 1 and 3 illustrate bounding boxes, around individual agents, output by the model) and a respective action from a set of actions that is being performed by the agent in the video frame (Figure 1; Figure 3; Page 13590, §3. Action Detection by TubeR, outputs … and the action label. Figures 1 and 3 illustrate action labels output by the model).
Regarding claim 22, Zhao discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the feature representation includes a respective set of feature vectors for each of the video frames (Page 13590, §3. Action Detection by TubeR, Where Tin, H, W, C denote the number of frames, height, width, and colour channels; Page 13590, §3.1 TubeR Encoder, Fen ∈ RT′H′W′×C′ denotes the C′ dimensional encoded feature embedding. The dimension T represents the per frame features).
Regarding claim 23, Zhao discloses the system of claim 18, wherein processing the set of query vectors and the feature representation using the decoder neural network comprises: processing the set of query vectors and the feature representation using an attention neural network (Figure 2, top right; Page 13591, §Decoder, The decoder contains a tubelet-attention module and a cross-attention (CA) layer) to update each of the query vectors in the set (Eqn. 6 describes the function used to update the vectors); and after updating each of the query vectors in the set, processing the query vectors using one or more output heads to generate the action localization output (Figure 2, bottom right; Page 13591, §3.3 Task-Specific Heads, The bounding boxes and action classification for each tubelet can be done simultaneously with independent task specific heads).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 11-12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant supplied prior art Zhao et al. (Zhao, Jiaojiao, et al. "Tuber: Tubelet transformer for video action detection." Proceedings of the IEEE/CVF Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition. 2022) (hereafter, “Zhao”) in view of applicant supplied prior art Li et al. (Li, Zexian, et al. "STD-TR: End-to-end spatio-temporal action detection with transformers." 2021 China Automation Congress (CAC). IEEE, 2021) (hereafter, “Li”).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Zhao fails to disclose wherein the set of query vectors are learned during joint training of the video encoder neural network and the decoder neural network.
Li teaches wherein the set of query vectors are learned during joint training of the video encoder neural network and the decoder neural network (Figure 3; page 7617, §Transformer decoder, we employ learnable positional embeddings as object queries).
Both Zhao and Li are analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of encoder decoder models applied towards action localization. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the learning of query vectors from Li into the action localization model of Zhao. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for improved action localization performance as suggested by Li at Page 7620, demonstrates superior performance on spatio-temporal action detection.
This method of improving Zhao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Li.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Zhao with the teachings of Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, Zhao discloses the method of claim 9.
However, Zhao fails to disclose wherein the set of actions includes a background action.
Li teaches wherein the set of actions includes a background action (Page 7617, §feed-forward networks (FFNs), Since N (fixed number of detections) is always bigger than the number of objects in certain image, for ensuring the number of elements in two sets is the same, an additional class ’None’ is also added as background to represent that there is no object in certain proposal).
Both Zhao and Li are analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of encoder decoder models applied towards action localization. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the learning of query vectors from Li into the action localization model of Zhao. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for improved action localization performance as suggested by Li at Page 7620, demonstrates superior performance on spatio-temporal action detection.
This method of improving Zhao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Li.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Zhao with the teachings of Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, in which claim 11 is incorporated, Zhao discloses wherein processing the set of query vectors and the feature representation using the decoder neural network comprises: in response to selecting the [background action] for a given bounding box (Page 13591, §Action switch regression head, FC layer for deciding whether a box prediction depicts the actor performing the action(s) of the tubelet), determining not to include the bounding box in the action localization output (Page 13591, §Action switch regression head, To remove non-action boxes in a tubelet).
However, Zhao fails to disclose background action.
Li teaches background action (Page 7617, §feed-forward networks (FFNs), Since N (fixed number of detections) is always bigger than the number of objects in certain image, for ensuring the number of elements in two sets is the same, an additional class ’None’ is also added as background to represent that there is no object in certain proposal).
Both Zhao and Li are analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of encoder decoder models applied towards action localization. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the learning of query vectors from Li into the action localization model of Zhao. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for improved action localization performance as suggested by Li at Page 7620, demonstrates superior performance on spatio-temporal action detection.
This method of improving Zhao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Li.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Zhao with the teachings of Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Regarding claim 21, Zhao discloses the system of claim 18.
However, Zhao fails to disclose wherein the set of query vectors are learned during joint training of the video encoder neural network and the decoder neural network.
Li teaches wherein the set of query vectors are learned during joint training of the video encoder neural network and the decoder neural network (Figure 3; page 7617, §Transformer decoder, we employ learnable positional embeddings as object queries).
Both Zhao and Li are analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of encoder decoder models applied towards action localization. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the learning of query vectors from Li into the action localization model of Zhao. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for improved action localization performance as suggested by Li at Page 7620, demonstrates superior performance on spatio-temporal action detection.
This method of improving Zhao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Li.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Zhao with the teachings of Li to obtain the invention as specified in claim 21.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant supplied prior art Zhao et al. (Zhao, Jiaojiao, et al. "Tuber: Tubelet transformer for video action detection." Proceedings of the IEEE/CVF Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition. 2022) (hereafter, “Zhao”) in view of Bertasius et al. (Bertasius, Gedas, Heng Wang, and Lorenzo Torresani. "Is Space-Time Attention All You Need for Video Understanding?." arXiv preprint arXiv:2102.05095. 2021) (hereafter, “Bertasius”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao discloses the method of claim 1.
However, Zhao fails to disclose wherein each query vector is a sum of (i) the spatial query vector for the spatial index of the query vector and (ii) the temporal query vector for the temporal index of the query vector.
Bertasius teaches wherein each query vector is a sum of (i) the spatial query vector for the spatial index of the query vector and (ii) the temporal query vector for the temporal index of the query vector (Eqn. 2-5; page 3, p = 1, … , N denoting spatial locations and t = 1, … , F
depicting an index over frames; page 3, §Query-Key-Value computation, a query/key/value
vector is computed for each patch. Subscripts p and t are present for the queue/key/value variables in each of the equations in 2-5).
Both Zhao and Bertasius are analogous to the claimed invention because the both are in the field of applying transformers for video analysis. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the query vector format of Bertasius into the action localization model Zhao. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to process long videos, as suggested by Bertasius at page 2, left column 2nd paragraph, We also show that our model can be used for long-range modeling of videos spanning many minutes.
This method of improving Zhao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Bertasius.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Zhao with the teachings of Bertasius to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant supplied prior art Zhao et al. (Zhao, Jiaojiao, et al. "Tuber: Tubelet transformer for video action detection." Proceedings of the IEEE/CVF Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition. 2022) (hereafter, “Zhao”) in view of applicant supplied prior art Arnab et al. (Arnab, Anurag, et al. "Vivit: A video vision transformer." Proceedings of the IEEE/CVF international conference on computer vision. 2021) (hereafter, “Arnab”).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the set of query vectors comprises a respective set of query vectors corresponding to each of the video frame (Page 13592, §Benefit of tubelet queries, Each query set is composed of Tout per-frame query embeddings), wherein each query vector has a temporal index that identifies the corresponding video frame for the query vector (Page 13591, §Tubelet attention, box query embeddings across time within the same tubelet, i.e. {qi,1, ..., qi,Tout}, i={1, ...,N}. The second index (1 – Tout) is the temporal index) and a spatial index that identifies a spatial position of the query vector within the video frame (Page 13590, §Tubelet query, The i-th tubelet query Qi={qi,1, ..., qi,Tout}; Page 13591, §Tubelet attention, processes the spatial relations between box query embeddings within a frame i.e. {q1,t, ..., qN,t}, t={1, ..., Tout}. The first index (1-N) is the spatial index), [wherein each self-attention block comprises one or more self-attention heads, and wherein each self-attention head is configured to: map the set of query vectors to a respective head query vector, head key vector, and head value vector for each of the query vectors, and perform a factorized self-attention mechanism that comprises: a first self-attention mechanism that updates the head query vectors by, for each video frame, self-attending only within the video frame using the head query vectors, the head key vectors, and head value vectors for the set of query vectors corresponding to the video frame, and a second self-attention mechanism that updates the head query vectors by, for each spatial index, self-attending only among the query vectors that have the spatial index using the head query vectors, the head key vectors, and head value vectors for the query vectors that have the spatial index].
However, Zhao fails to disclose wherein each self-attention block comprises one or more self-attention heads, and wherein each self-attention head is configured to: map the set of query vectors to a respective head query vector, head key vector, and head value vector for each of the query vectors, and perform a factorized self-attention mechanism that comprises: a first self-attention mechanism that updates the head query vectors by, for each video frame, self-attending only within the video frame using the head query vectors, the head key vectors, and head value vectors for the set of query vectors corresponding to the video frame, and a second self-attention mechanism that updates the head query vectors by, for each spatial index, self-attending only among the query vectors that have the spatial index using the head query vectors, the head key vectors, and head value vectors for the query vectors that have the spatial index.
Arnab teaches wherein each self-attention block comprises one or more self-attention heads (Figure 5, Figure 6; Figures 5 and 6 illustrate two different implementations of self-attention blocks with multi-heads), and wherein each self-attention head is configured to: map the set of query vectors to a respective head query vector, head key vector, and head value vector for each of the query vectors (Eqn. 7; Page 5, §Model 4: Factorised dot-product attention, In self-attention, the queries Q = XWq, keys K = XWk, and values V = XWv are linear projections of the input X with X;Q;K;V ∈ RN_d), and perform a factorized self-attention mechanism (Figure 6, Self-Attention block. Examiner considers the factorised dot-product attention a “factorized self-attention mechanism”) that comprises: a first self-attention mechanism (Figure 6, temporal heads. Examiner considers the temporal heads as the “first self-attention mechanism”) that updates the head query vectors by, for each video frame (Page 5, §Model 4: Factorised dot-product attention, we attend over the temporal dimension. The temporal dimension refers to the frame index), self-attending only within the video frame using the head query vectors (Page 5, §Model 4: Factorised dot-product attention, queries Q = XWq), the head key vectors (Page 5, §Model 4: Factorised dot-product attention, The main idea here is to modify the keys and values for each query to only attend over tokens from the … temporal index, … Kt ∈ RNt x d), and head value vectors (Page 5, §Model 4: Factorised dot-product attention, Vt ∈ RNt x d) for the set of query vectors corresponding to the video frame (Figure 6 Temporal heads; Page 5, §Model 4: Factorised dot-product attention, we attend over the temporal dimension by computing Yt = Attention(Q;Kt;Vt)), and a second self-attention mechanism (Figure 6, spatial heads. Examiner considers the spatial heads as the “second self-attention mechanism”) that updates the head query vectors by, for each spatial index (Page 5, §Model 4: Factorised dot-product attention, we attend over tokens from the spatial dimension), self-attending only among the query vectors that have the spatial index using the head query vectors (Page 5, §Model 4: Factorised dot-product attention, queries Q = XWq), the head key vectors (Page 5, §Model 4: Factorised dot-product attention, The main idea here is to modify the keys and values for each query to only attend over tokens from the same spatial- … index, … Ks ∈ RNh*Nw x d), and head value vectors (Page 5, §Model 4: Factorised dot-product attention, Vs ∈ RNh*Nw x d) for the query vectors that have the spatial index (Figure 6 Spatial heads; Page 5, §Model 4: Factorised dot-product attention, we attend over tokens from the spatial dimension by computing Ys = Attention(Q;Ks;Vs)).
Both Zhao and Arnab are analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of applying transformer models towards video processing. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the temporal and spatial attention heads of Arnab into the action localization model of Zhao. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been improved efficiency, as suggested by Arnab at Page 1, §1. Introduction, we present several methods of factorising our model along spatial and temporal dimensions to increase efficiency and scalability.
This method of improving Zhao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Arnab.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Zhao with the teachings of Arnab to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant supplied prior art Zhao et al. (Zhao, Jiaojiao, et al. "Tuber: Tubelet transformer for video action detection." Proceedings of the IEEE/CVF Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition. 2022) (hereafter, “Zhao”) in view of Yang et al. (Yang, Antoine, et al. "TubeDETR: Spatio-Temporal Video Grounding with Transformers." arXiv preprint arXiv:2203.16434v1 (2022)) (hereafter, “Yang”).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the set of query vectors comprises a respective set of query vectors corresponding to each of the video frame (Page 13592, §Benefit of tubelet queries, Each query set is composed of Tout per-frame query embeddings), wherein each query vector has a temporal index that identifies the corresponding video frame for the query vector and a spatial index that identifies a spatial position of the query vector within the video frame (Page 13590, §Tubelet query, The i-th tubelet query Qi={qi,1, ..., qi,Tout}; Page 13591, §Tubelet attention, processes the spatial relations between box query embeddings within a frame i.e. {q1,t, ..., qN,t}, t={1, ..., Tout}… box query embeddings across time within the same tubelet, i.e. {qi,1, ..., qi,Tout}, i={1, ...,N}), [wherein each cross-attention block performs factorized cross-attention comprising, for each video frame, updating the set of query vectors corresponding to the video frame by cross-attending over only the feature vectors for the video frame and not the feature vectors for any of the other video frames in the feature representation].
However, Zhao fails to disclose wherein each cross-attention block performs factorized cross-attention comprising, for each video frame, updating the set of query vectors corresponding to the video frame by cross-attending over only the feature vectors for the video frame and not the feature vectors for any of the other video frames in the feature representation.
Yang teaches wherein each cross-attention block performs factorized cross-attention comprising, for each video frame, updating the set of query vectors corresponding to the video frame by cross-attending over only the feature vectors for the video frame and not the feature vectors for any of the other video frames in the feature representation (Page 4, §Time-aligned cross-attention, Instead, in our cross-attention module, each time query qt only cross-attends to its temporally corresponding multi-modal features F(v,s)[t] at frame t).
Both Zhao and Yang are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of applying transformers to video processing. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the frame-specific cross-attention module of Yang into the action localization model of Zhao. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been improved performance, as suggested by Yang at Page 7, §4.3 Comparison to the state of the art, our TubeDETR out performs by a large margin all previous methods.
This method of improving Zhao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Yang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Zhao with the teachings of Yang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al. (US 2019/0102908) discloses action classification with tubes (¶0036, An “action classification” is the assignment of a particular anchor (or anchor tube) to a particular class of action).
Lee et al. (US 10,726,313) discloses action localization with encoders and attention mechanisms (Col. 8 lines 25-27, temporal action localization system 300 includes a video encoder 320, an attention module 330, and an action classifier 340).
Zhu et al. (US 10,911,775) discloses action forecasting with encoder-decoder networks (Col. 6 lines 53-56, By feeding the predicted current action and detected pose as a starting point, the decoder 410 can (e.g., using a GRU) progressively generate future sequence-of-action and pose pairs).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOMAO DING/Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/Henok Shiferaw/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676