DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefinite
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, first paragraph recites:
transmitting audio data from the peripheral device to the information handling system via a peripheral device infrared (IR) photodiode system with an IR transmission and receiving audio data from the information handling system via a radio frequency (RF) antenna with an RF reception during a first period of time;
The lack of punctuation makes this paragraph unclear. It may be that Applicant intends:
transmitting audio data from the peripheral device to the information handling system via a peripheral device infrared (IR) photodiode system with an IR transmission during a first period of time, and
receiving audio data from the information handling system via a radio frequency (RF) antenna with an RF reception during [[a]] the first period of time;
For the purposes of this Action, this paragraph will be interpreted as suggested by the Examiner. Amendment and/or clarification is required.
Claim 1, lines 9-10 recites “the RF transmission and receiving audio data”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 1, line 11 recites “the IR reception”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 1, last paragraph recites:
alternatively switching, with the hardware microprocessor executing computer-readable code instructions of the peripheral device timer switch, between the IR transmissions and RF receptions and the RF transmission and IR reception during transmitting and receiving audio data by the peripheral device during subsequent time periods.
This recites a series of elements connected by “and” and with little punctuation. It is not clear if the series of elements are independent or grouped. It may be that Applicant intends:
alternatively switching, with the hardware microprocessor executing computer-readable code instructions of the peripheral device timer switch, between:
the IR transmissions and RF receptions, and
the RF transmission and IR reception
and wherein the alternatively switching is performed during transmitting and receiving audio data by the peripheral device during subsequent time periods.
For the purposes of this Action, this paragraph will be interpreted as suggested by the Examiner. Amendment and/or clarification is required.
Claims 2-9 are rejected because they depend from claim 1 and fail to further limit the scope of the claim to overcome the rejections.
Claim 10, lines 9-10 recites “the information handling system”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 10, line 13 recites “the RF transmission”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 10, last line recites “the IR reception”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 13, recites “an information handling system”. It is not clear if this is a reference to the information handling system introduced in claim 10 (in which case the Examiner suggests “the information handling system”) or if it is a different information handling system (in which case the Examiner suggests using different terms to distinguish between the different information handling systems).
Claim 15, recites “an information handling system”. It is not clear if this is a reference to the information handling system introduced in claim 10 (in which case the Examiner suggests “the information handling system”) or if it is a different information handling system (in which case the Examiner suggests using different terms to distinguish between the different information handling systems).
Claim 16, recites “a wireless headset timer switch”. It is not clear if this is a reference to the wireless headset timer switch introduced in claim 10 (in which case the Examiner suggests “the wireless headset timer switch”) or if it is a different a wireless headset timer switch (in which case the Examiner suggests using different terms to distinguish between the different wireless headset timer switches).
Claims 11-16 are also rejected because they depend from one or more of the rejected claims and fail to further limit the scope in a manner to overcome the rejections.
Claim 17, lines 9-10 recites “the information handling system”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim.
Claim 18 recites “a wireless headset IR transmitter/receiver” and claim 17 introduces “a wireless headset infrared (IR) photodiode system”. These terms are similar but not exactly the same and it is not clear if they are the same (in which case the Examiner suggests using the article “the” in claim 18 and using more consistent terminology) or if they different (in which case the Examiner suggests using different terminology to make it clear that they are not the same).
Claims 18-20 are rejected because they depend from claim 17 and fail to further limit the scope in order to overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obvious
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,128,376 (Passe) in view of US 2023/0111629 (Van Wageningen).
Regarding claim 1, Passe teaches a method of transceiving audio data between a peripheral device (FIG. 2: device 201 or 202) and an information handling system (FIG. 2: server 208), comprising:
transmitting audio data from the peripheral device to the information handling system via a peripheral device infrared (IR) photodiode system with an IR transmission and receiving audio data from the information handling system via a radio frequency (RF) antenna with an RF reception during a first period of time (FIG. 2: RF communication via access point 209, LC communication via LC access points 214-216, 203, 204; col 8, lines 5-6: “RF antenna may be an internal component”; FIG. 1: antenna 112, light 117, and light sensor 114);
executing computer-readable code instructions (FIG. 1: processors 101 and memory 102 including program instructions 110) of a peripheral device timer switch, with a hardware microprocessor (FIG. 1: processors 101) of the peripheral device, to switch alternatively to transmitting audio data to the information handling system via the RF frequency antenna with the RF transmission and receiving audio data from the information handling system via the peripheral device IR photodiode system with the IR reception during a second time period; and
alternatively switching, with the hardware microprocessor executing computer-readable code instructions of the peripheral device timer switch, between the IR transmissions and RF receptions and the RF transmission and IR reception during transmitting and receiving audio data by the peripheral device during subsequent time periods.
FIG. 2 is reproduced for reference.
RF and LC Communication.
Passe teaches both RF and LC communication with devices 201, 202. See col. 8:
(26) Devices 201 and 202 may communicate with each other and with other devices, such as remote server 208, using RF and/or LC networks. Remote server may support certain applications, provide streaming content, store data, or host other services of interest to devices 201 and 202. In an example embodiment, RF communications are supported using an RF access point 209 that services a limited area or cell (e.g., microcell or picocell) 210. A device 201, 202 must have the appropriate RF capabilities (e.g., Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc.) and be within area 210 in order to communicate with RF access point 209. Service area 210 may include a region that surrounds RF access point 209 (e.g., 360 degrees of coverage) or may be limited to a specific sector, such as by using beamforming in RF access point 209. Additionally, the range that service area 210 extends from RF access point 209 may be determined by the signal power provided from RF access point 209. Once communication is established with RF access point 209, the devices 201, 202 can communicate with each other or with remote server 208 via router 211 and network 212. Router 211 may be coupled to additional access points (not shown) to provide additional service areas or cells within a home, office building, campus, complex, or facility. Network 212 may be a local area network for a home, enterprise, or service provider. Network 212 may be coupled to additional networks, such as Internet 213, which may allow devices 201 and 202 to access remote public or private networks, servers, and devices.
Audio Data.
Passe teaches that audio data may be transmitted. See the bottom of col. 9:
(31) FIG. 3 is a diagrammatic illustration of an example communications environment 300 that uses both RF and LC channels for wireless communication in a controlled-environment facility. Communications processing system 301 may provide telephone services, videoconferencing, online chat, and other communication services to residents of controlled-environment facility 300. In some cases, such as illustrated, communications processing system 301 may be co-located with controlled-environment facility 300. Alternatively, communications processing system 301 may be centrally and/or remotely located with respect to one or more controlled-environment facilities and/or may provide communication services to multiple controlled-environment facilities. More generally, however, it should be noted that communications processing system 301 may assume a variety of forms and may be configured to serve a variety of facilities and/or users, whether within or outside of a controlled-environment facility.
IR Photodiode.
Regarding the LC communication being IR photodiodes, Passe teaches the use of photodetectors and LEDs operating in IR. See cols. 6-7:
(19) LC may be supported using a light sensor 114 and a receiver/decoder 115 to receive data and a transmitter/encoder 116 and light transmitter 117 to transmit data. Light sensor 114 may be, for example, a camera, image sensor, or photodetector, such as a Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor (CMOS) sensor or other electronic chip that converts photons to electrons for digital processing. Light sensor 114 detects light and generates an electronic signal for receiver/decoder 115, which extracts data bits that are carried by the light. The extracted bits may carry information that can be used by processors 101A-N. Data can also be sent using LC by encoding data bits using transmitter/encoder 116 into a signal that drives light transmitter 117, which then broadcasts the information as light signals. Any information that can be exchanged over traditional RF data channels can also be exchanged over LC channels, such as digital bit streams, packet data, voice, video, text, or other content. Although the example wireless communication device 100 depicts a system having both transmit and receive capabilities for light communications, it will be understood that in other embodiments only LC transmit components (i.e., transmitter/encoder 116 and light transmitter 117) or only LC receive components (i.e., light sensor 114 and receiver/decoder 115). Such single-direction LC systems may be used, for example, when the wireless communication device 100 only needs to transmit or only needs to receive data via an LC channel.
(20) Light transmitter 117 may be a Light Emitting Diode (LED), for example. Light sensor 114 and light transmitter 117 may use invisible (e.g., infrared) and/or visible light spectrum for high speed data communication. The total size of the infrared and visible light spectrum is approximately 2600 times the size of the entire radio frequency spectrum of 300 GHz. LEDs have been shown to enable data rates up to 5 Gbps with peak transmission speeds of 8 Gbps using with a single LED. Data rates higher than 100 Gbps are feasible with laser-based lighting. Accordingly, LC can vastly extend the available bandwidth for wireless communication device 100. Communication protocols available for LC may be referred to as Light Fidelity (Li-Fi) or Optical Wireless Communication (OWC) and may be defined in IEEE 802.11bb, IEEE 802.15.7m, 802.15.13, or other standards.
From this it would have been obvious that photodetectors and LEDs can be used in the devices using light communication.
The Examiner notes that Passe teaches the optical receiver as a “photodetector” and not a “photodiode” as recited in the claim. However, photodiodes were well-known forms of photodetectors and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof. It would have been obvious that the photodetector can be of a well-known type, such as a photodiode.
RF Antenna.
Passe teaches the use an RF antenna 112.
See also the paragraph spanning cols. 7-8.
(25) FIG. 2 depicts an example system 200 for using wireless communication devices 201 and 202 that are capable of both RF and LC communication. Device 201 may be a tablet computer or smart phone, for example, that has an internal RF antenna (not shown) and an embedded LC sensor 203 and LC transmitter 204. Device 202 may be a laptop computer, for example, that has an internal RF antenna (not shown) and uses an internal (not shown) or external LC communication device 205. External LC communication device 205 may connect directly to device 202, such using as a dongle that plugs into a USB or other port on device 202, or may connect remotely via a cable or wireless connection. External LC communication device 205 has an LC sensor 206 and an LC transmitter 207. Typically, an RF antenna may be an internal component because the case or housing of devices 201 and 202 are transparent to RF signals. On the other hand, LC sensors 203, 206 (e.g., cameras or photodetectors) and LC transmitters 204, 207 (e.g., lights) need to be exposed to remote light sources and sensors.
It would have been obvious that RF antennas can be used in the devices using RF communication.
Switching between RF/LC Transmission/Reception.
FIG. 4 illustrates a method of operating the network including load balancing LC and RF communication. See step 405.
See also col. 17:
(58) In step 403, a session is established between the wireless device and a remote device. In step 404, session data is exchanged with the remote device using both the LC communication with the LC access point and RF communication with an RF access point. In step 405, session data between the LC communication and the RF communication is load balanced based upon currently available bandwidth on LC channels and RF channels.
See also col 2:
(9) The executable code may further comprise instructions for causing the processor to load balance session data between the LC communication and the RF communication based upon currently available bandwidth on LC channels and RF channels.
(12) The method may further comprise load balancing the session data between the LC communication and the RF communication based upon currently available bandwidth on LC channels and RF channels.
In other words, it was contemplated that the transmission and reception can changed or switched between the RF and LC for load balancing.
Furthermore, it was known that communication systems can use RF for communication in one direction and LC for communication in the other direction. For example, Van Wageningen teaches a communication system using both RF and LC communication and it also teaches that RF can be used for one direction and LC can be used for the other. See:
[0142] Basically, a Li-Fi EP 110 can be connected to a Li-Fi AP 120 via bidirectional optical link, or a hybrid downlink and uplink. Note that here the downlink stands for the communication link from the Li-Fi AP 120 to the Li-Fi EP 110, and the uplink stands for the communication link from the Li-Fi EP 110 to the Li-Fi AP 120. A bidirectional optical link enables a relatively symmetrical connection between the Li-Fi EP 110 and the Li-Fi AP 120. Hence, both downlink and uplink enjoy the same advantages of Li-Fi communication as addressed above. However, in some application scenarios, such as for web-surfing or video streaming, the link between a Li-Fi AP and a Li-Fi EP can also be a hybrid link, which is a combination of an optical downlink from the Li-Fi AP 120 to the Li-Fi EP 110 and a radio frequency (RF) uplink from the Li-Fi EP 120 to the Li-Fi AP 110. The RF link may be in accordance with a popular short-range wireless communication protocol, such as Wi-Fi, BLE, or Zigbee, or be in accordance with a cellular communication protocol, such as 4G or 5G cellular.
It would have been obvious that the hybrid RF/LC system of Passe can be implemented in a known manner, such as using RF for communication in one direction and optical for communication in the other (e.g., RF transmission and LC reception, and vice versa), as taught in Van Wageningen. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communications) and the results would have been predictable.
The example cited from Van Wageningen is for optical downlink and RF uplink. However, it would have been obvious that the opposite can also be used (optical uplink and RF downlink) if it suits the operation of the system (e.g., load balancing in Passe).
Peripheral Device Timer Switch.
Passe teaches to switch (i.e., load balance) RF and LC communications between the peripheral devices, as discussed above. As a result, the mechanism that switches between RF and LC communication is a “switch”. This switching is timed to achieve load balancing, as discussed above. This switching is also timed between the devices so that devices are using the correct uplink and downlink channels at the correct time to send and receive data.
Computer Readable Instructions and Hardware Microprocessor.
Passe at FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment of the wireless communication device including processors 101 and program instructions 110 in memory 102.
See also col. 7:
(22) A person of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that wireless communication device 100 is merely illustrative and is not intended to limit the scope of the disclosure described herein. The computer system and devices may include any combination of hardware or software that can perform the indicated operations. In addition, the operations performed by the illustrated components may, in some embodiments, be performed by fewer components or distributed across additional components. Similarly, in other embodiments, the operations of some of the illustrated components may not be provided and/or other additional operations may be available. Accordingly, systems and methods described herein may be implemented or executed with other computer system configurations.
(23) The various operations described herein may be implemented in software executed by processing circuitry, hardware, or a combination thereof. The order in which each operation of a given method is performed may be changed, and various operations may be added, reordered, combined, omitted, modified, etc. It is intended that embodiment(s) described herein do not embrace all such modifications and changes and, accordingly, the above description should be regarded in an illustrative rather than a restrictive sense.
(24) A person of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that wireless communication device 100 is merely illustrative and is not intended to limit the scope of the disclosure described herein. The device may include any combination of hardware or software that can perform the indicated operations. Additionally, the operations performed by the illustrated components may, in some embodiments, be performed by fewer components or distributed across additional components. Similarly, in other embodiments, the operations of some of the illustrated components may not be provided and/or other additional operations may be available. Accordingly, systems and methods described herein may be implemented or executed with other computer system configurations.
In other words, it was contemplated to use a processor and execute computer-readable code to perform the functionality of Passe. Regarding the “microprocessor”, the Examiner notes that microprocessors were well-known forms of processors and takes Official Notice thereof. It would have been obvious that the processor of Passe can be of a known type, such as a microprocessor.
Regarding claim 2, Passe teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising: executing, with the hardware microprocessor, the peripheral device timer switch to coordinate the alternating switching between an IR wireless link and an RF wireless link to receive and send the audio data with split wireless audio connectivity with the information handling system at the beginning of the split wireless audio connectivity.
As discussed in claim 1, it would have been obvious to alternately switch between IR and RF links with split connectivity. As also discussed in claim 1, Passe teaches to switch between RF and LC to perform load balancing. With this in mind, it would have been obvious that this functionality is coordinated at the beginning of the connectivity. In other words, it would have been obvious to select the type of link desired for load balancing at the beginning of connectivity so that the new link(s) achieve the desired load balancing.
Regarding claim 6, Passe teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the first time period, the second time period, and the subsequent time periods are shifting in duration by the peripheral device timer switch and coordinated with the information handling system.
As discussed in claims 1 and 2, Passe teaches to alternate between IR and RF transmission/reception to achieve load balancing. It would have been obvious that the time periods shift in duration as the system experienced different loads from different devices and compensated by balancing the loads between RF and IR communication.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 5,710,623 (Kim).
Regarding claim 3, Passe teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising: executing, with the hardware microprocessor, an IR/RF converter module to convert the received IR transmission to an audio digital signal.
As discussed in claim 1, Passe teaches that the data may be transmitted and received as IR, and that the data may be audio data. It would have been obvious that the received IR signal is converted to a useful format for the audio signal (e.g., an audio digital signal).
In the interests of compact prosecution, Kim is also cited. Kim at FIG. 3 illustrates a transmitter 10 with an IR source 15, and a receiver 20 with an IR receiver 21 and an ADC 26 to convert the received RF signal to a digital signal.
See also col. 1:
(6) Referring to FIG. 3, the conventional infrared radio controller includes a periodic pulse generator 12 for generating a periodic pulse according to on/off operations of a switch SW; a carrier signal generator 13 for generating a carrier signal; a current amplifier 14 for amplifying both the periodic pulse and the carrier signal; an infrared-emitting diode 15 for emitting an amplified signal from the current amplifier 14; infrared receiving sensors 21 to 21-3 for sensing an emitted signal as a position arranged from the edge of a screen; amplifiers 22 to 22-3 for amplifying carrier signals from the infrared receiving sensors; envelope detectors 23 to 23-3 for eliminating the carrier signal from the amplifiers, and sensing a level responsive to a light intensity inputted to the infrared receiving sensors 21 to 21-3; a multiplexer 24, a sample-and-hold circuit 25, and an analog-to-digital converter 26 sequentially connected to one another for sequentially converting each of the output levels from the envelope detectors 23 to 23-3 to digital data; coordinates calculator 27 for calculating coordinates-position of a display screen 11 (shown in FIG. 2) being currently displayed, by using an output signal of the analog-to-digital converter 26 as an input; a main processor 28 for displaying a current point on the display screen 11 by matching the display screen 11 and the coordinates-position to each other; and a control-logic part 29 for controlling a driving timing needed to each of the above devices.
It would have been obvious that the IR audio signals in Passe can be converted from IR to digital signals as taught in Kim. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication) and the results would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 4, Passe teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising: executing, with the hardware microprocessor, an IR/RF converter module to convert the audio data into an IR transmission to the information handling system.
As discussed in claim 1, Passe teaches that the data can be audio and that it can be transmitted as IR. It would have been obvious that the audio data is converted to the form (e.g., IR) used for transmission. In the interests of compact prosecution, the Examiner cites Kim at FIG. 3 which illustrates a transmitter 10 with an IR source 15.
See also col. 1:
(6) Referring to FIG. 3, the conventional infrared radio controller includes a periodic pulse generator 12 for generating a periodic pulse according to on/off operations of a switch SW; a carrier signal generator 13 for generating a carrier signal; a current amplifier 14 for amplifying both the periodic pulse and the carrier signal; an infrared-emitting diode 15 for emitting an amplified signal from the current amplifier 14; infrared receiving sensors 21 to 21-3 for sensing an emitted signal as a position arranged from the edge of a screen; amplifiers 22 to 22-3 for amplifying carrier signals from the infrared receiving sensors; envelope detectors 23 to 23-3 for eliminating the carrier signal from the amplifiers, and sensing a level responsive to a light intensity inputted to the infrared receiving sensors 21 to 21-3; a multiplexer 24, a sample-and-hold circuit 25, and an analog-to-digital converter 26 sequentially connected to one another for sequentially converting each of the output levels from the envelope detectors 23 to 23-3 to digital data; coordinates calculator 27 for calculating coordinates-position of a display screen 11 (shown in FIG. 2) being currently displayed, by using an output signal of the analog-to-digital converter 26 as an input; a main processor 28 for displaying a current point on the display screen 11 by matching the display screen 11 and the coordinates-position to each other; and a control-logic part 29 for controlling a driving timing needed to each of the above devices.
It would have been obvious that the IR audio signals in Passe can be converted into an IR transmission as taught in Kim. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication) and the results would have been predictable.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0067249 (Hull) and US 2011/0103004 (Brock).
Regarding claim 5, Passe teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the peripheral device is a wireless headset including a wireless headset IR transmitter/receiver, and wherein the wireless headset transmits and receives the IR transmission to and from, respectively, a dongle operatively coupled to the information handling system via the wireless headset IR transmitter/receiver in an IR wireless link and alternately receives and transmits RF transmissions from and to the dongle via a wireless headset radio and a wireless headset antenna.
As discussed in claim 1, Passe teaches peripheral devices including wireless IR and RF transmitters and receivers. Hull at FIG. 1 illustrates that it was known to use a wireless headset 109 to transmit and receive wireless signals.
This figure illustrates a headset 109, and Hull specifically teaches that it is wireless. See:
[0027] Light sensor 115 may be, for example, a camera, image sensor, or photodetector, such as a Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor (CMOS) sensor or other electronic chip that converts photons to electrons for digital processing. Light sensor 115 detects light and generates an electronic signal for a receiver/decoder that extracts data bits that are carried by the light. The extracted bits may carry information that can be used by processors in the receiving equipment. Data can also be sent using LC by encoding data bits using a transmitter/encoder into a signal that drives light transmitter 116, which then broadcasts the information as light signals. Any information that can be exchanged over traditional RF data channels can also be exchanged over LC channels, such as digital bit streams, packet data, voice, video, text, or other content. Although the example wireless communication devices 106, 109, 110 depict a system having both transmit and receive capabilities for light communications, it will be understood that in other embodiments only LC transmit components (i.e., light transmitter 115) or only LC receive components (i.e., light sensor 116). Such single-direction LC systems may be used, for example, when the wireless communication device only needs to transmit or only needs to receive data via an LC channel.
It also teaches that the headset can include a speaker and a microphone. See:
[0020] Aircraft communication systems 108 allow aircrew to communicate with other aircraft and ground stations using VHF/UHF/HF radios, data links, and satellite communications. Communication systems 108 also allow aircrew and passengers to communicate with others onboard the aircraft using a headset 109, such as a helmet having an integral microphone and speakers, for example. Communication systems 108 may also be coupled to display 106 through display driver 107 to provide information to the aircrew, such as a selected radio and/or communication channel.
It would have been obvious that the wireless devices in Passe can be of a known type, such as a wireless headset as taught in Hull. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communications) and the results would have been predictable (e.g., the headset will communicate wirelessly).
Dongle.
Passe teaches that it was known to use dongles 205 for wireless communication. See the paragraph spanning cols. 7-8.
(25) FIG. 2 depicts an example system 200 for using wireless communication devices 201 and 202 that are capable of both RF and LC communication. Device 201 may be a tablet computer or smart phone, for example, that has an internal RF antenna (not shown) and an embedded LC sensor 203 and LC transmitter 204. Device 202 may be a laptop computer, for example, that has an internal RF antenna (not shown) and uses an internal (not shown) or external LC communication device 205. External LC communication device 205 may connect directly to device 202, such using as a dongle that plugs into a USB or other port on device 202, or may connect remotely via a cable or wireless connection. External LC communication device 205 has an LC sensor 206 and an LC transmitter 207. Typically, an RF antenna may be an internal component because the case or housing of devices 201 and 202 are transparent to RF signals. On the other hand, LC sensors 203, 206 (e.g., cameras or photodetectors) and LC transmitters 204, 207 (e.g., lights) need to be exposed to remote light sources and sensors.
In other words, it was known to use a dongle that plugs into a USB port to transmit and receive wireless signals. This example teaches the dongle performing IR communication, but RF communication dongles were also known. See Brock
[0024] In accordance with one aspect of this invention, a universal serial bus (USB) socket interface 80 is mounted on the docking station 100, and a USB extension cable 82 has one cable end connected to the USB socket interface 80. The USB cable 82 extends away from the docking station 100 for a selectable distance, which varies depending upon the particular application. The opposite cable end of the cable 82 terminates in a USB plug interface 84. A radio frequency (RF) peripheral 86, also known as an RF dongle, is connected to the USB socket interface 80. The RF dongle has an RF transceiver operative for wireless RF communication with the RF transceiver 74 in the respective reader when the reader is not supported by the docking station 100. The USB plug interface 84 is connected to a host, e.g., a cash register at a retail venue, to enable the wireless RF communication to be performed between the reader and the host.
In other words, Passe teaches a dongle used for IR communication, and Brock teaches that dongles were also known for RF communication. It would have been obvious that the dongle in Passe can be implemented in a known way (e.g., with IR communication as taught in Passe and with RF communication as taught in Brock). In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication) and the results would have been predictable (e.g., a dongle that communicates in IR and in RF).
Finally, the example in Passe illustrates the dongle in the peripheral device 202. However, it is taught that the dongle can be used for wireless communication, so that it would have been obvious that the dongle can be used at either end of the link (e.g., plugged into a USB port on the information handling system).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0067249 (Hull) and US 2015/0080052 (Jensen).
Regarding claim 7, Passe teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the peripheral device is a wireless headset including a wireless headset IR transmitter/receiver, and wherein the wireless headset transmits and receives the IR transmission to and from, respectively, a wireless headset docking station operatively coupled to the information handling system via the wireless headset IR transmitter/receiver in an IR wireless link and alternately receives and transmits RF transmissions from and to the wireless headset docking station via a wireless headset radio and a wireless headset antenna.
As discussed in claim 1, Passe teaches peripheral devices including wireless IR and RF transmitters and receivers. Hull at FIG. 1 illustrates that it was known to use a wireless headset 109 to transmit and receive wireless signals. See a more detailed discussion in claim 5.
Jensen at FIG. 1A illustrates a wireless headset 100 communicating with an interface unit 101.
See also:
[0077] Illustrated in FIG. 1 is the inventive system. FIG. 1a illustrates the system during normal use. A peripheral unit 100, here illustrated as a headset, is connected to an interface unit 101 by a wireless link 102. The interface unit 101 is connected via a telephone 103 to a telephone network 104. FIG. 1b illustrates the system, when a wired link 105 has been established between the peripheral unit 100 and the interface unit 101. Here, the wired link 105 is shown to co-exist with the wireless link 102. However, in some cases, e.g. until wireless pairing has been completed, the wired link 105 may be the only link between the interface unit 101 and the peripheral unit 100. When the wired link 105 is established, one or both of the peripheral unit 100 or the interface unit 101 checks if the two units have been paired previously. In the affirmative case, no further actions are taken. However, if no previous pairing has been performed, the two units are paired. Whether the check is performed by the peripheral unit 100 or the interface unit 101 depends e.g. on the communication standards used for the wireless link 102.
FIG. 2A illustrates an embodiment with the headset 200 in a docking station that is part of the interface unit 201.
See:
[0079] FIG. 2a illustrates an embodiment of the inventive system. Here, the peripheral unit 200 is shown as a headset 220. However, the peripheral unit 200 may also be a handset, a speakerphone, or any other suitable telephone peripheral unit 200 for audio communication. The headset 220 is docked in a docking area 221, whereby the wired link is established. In this embodiment, the interface unit 201 furthermore comprises a display 222, preferably a touch screen, for providing the user with information, such as the battery level of the headset 220, signal strength of the wireless link, etc. Additionally, the touch screen 222 may be used to prompt the user for e.g. acceptance of a pairing request. FIG. 2b illustrates details of the docking area, showing a number of connection points 225 in the docking area. Correspondingly, a number of connection points (not shown) are also found on the headset 220. The connection points 225 may both produce the wired link and power for recharging a battery in the headset 220.
In other words, it was known for a headset to communicate with a docking unit for the headset.
It would have been obvious that the headset in Hull can be implemented in a known way, such as with docking station that is wirelessly coupled to the headset as taught in Jensen. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication) and the results would have been predictable (e.g., the headset will be wirelessly connected to a docking station).
Claim(s) 10, 13, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,128,376 (Passe) in view of US 2023/0111629 (Van Wageningen) and US 2021/0067249 (Hull).
Regarding claim 10, Passe teaches a wireless headset, comprising:
a hardware microprocessor (FIG. 1: processor 101);
a speaker;
a microphone; and
a wireless headset power management unit to provide power to the hardware microprocessor, the speaker, and the microphone;
the hardware microprocessor to execute computer-readable program code of a wireless headset timer switch to alternate for alternating periods of time between:
a wireless headset infrared (IR) photodiode system transmitting audio data to the information handling system via an IR transmission and a radio antenna receiving audio data from the information handling system via radio frequency (RF) reception; and
the radio antenna transmitting audio data to the information handling system via the RF transmission and the wireless headset IR photodiode system receiving audio data from the information handling system via the IR reception.
Passe teaches a wireless communication system including a hardware processor executing program code to perform RF and light communication, and it would have been obvious to split communication between RF and light communication, and it would have been obvious to alternate. See the discussion of claim 1.
Regarding the wireless communication being with a wireless headset, wireless headsets were known. For example, Hull at FIG. 1 illustrates a wireless headset 109.
This figure illustrates a headset 109, and Hull specifically teaches that it is wireless. See:
[0027] Light sensor 115 may be, for example, a camera, image sensor, or photodetector, such as a Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor (CMOS) sensor or other electronic chip that converts photons to electrons for digital processing. Light sensor 115 detects light and generates an electronic signal for a receiver/decoder that extracts data bits that are carried by the light. The extracted bits may carry information that can be used by processors in the receiving equipment. Data can also be sent using LC by encoding data bits using a transmitter/encoder into a signal that drives light transmitter 116, which then broadcasts the information as light signals. Any information that can be exchanged over traditional RF data channels can also be exchanged over LC channels, such as digital bit streams, packet data, voice, video, text, or other content. Although the example wireless communication devices 106, 109, 110 depict a system having both transmit and receive capabilities for light communications, it will be understood that in other embodiments only LC transmit components (i.e., light transmitter 115) or only LC receive components (i.e., light sensor 116). Such single-direction LC systems may be used, for example, when the wireless communication device only needs to transmit or only needs to receive data via an LC channel.
It also teaches that the headset can include a speaker and a microphone. See:
[0020] Aircraft communication systems 108 allow aircrew to communicate with other aircraft and ground stations using VHF/UHF/HF radios, data links, and satellite communications. Communication systems 108 also allow aircrew and passengers to communicate with others onboard the aircraft using a headset 109, such as a helmet having an integral microphone and speakers, for example. Communication systems 108 may also be coupled to display 106 through display driver 107 to provide information to the aircrew, such as a selected radio and/or communication channel.
It would have been obvious that the wireless devices in Passe can be of a known type, such as a wireless headset as taught in Hull. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communications) and the results would have been predictable (e.g., the headset will communicate wirelessly).
Regarding the power management unit, it was well-known that devices that require power (e.g., electronic devices such as microphones, speakers, and signal processors) can be connected to power. Furthermore, see Hull:
[0046] FIG. 3 depicts a light communication access point 300 for use in an aircraft according to an example embodiment. A first set of one or more lights 301 provide visible light for cockpit or cabin lighting. A second set of one or more lights 302 provide visible or invisible light for use in powering LC-capable devices. A third set of one or more lights 303 are adapted for transmitting data using visible or invisible light communications. Power supply 304 receives power from an aircraft electrical bus 305, such as an avionics bus or accessory bus. Power supply 304 provides power to cockpit/cabin lights 301, such as LEDs, incandescent, or fluorescent bulbs, which may be selected on or off by a crewmember or passenger. Power supply 304 also provides electricity to power lights 302, which may be LEDs or laser lights, that transmit power wirelessly to other devices. Controller 306 may manage when such wireless power is available and at what frequencies. Power lights 302 may transmit power over the same frequency or groups of one or more lights 302 may transmit power on different visible and/or invisible frequencies.
FIG. 4 illustrates an embodiment of a wireless device including a battery/power supply 413.
See also:
[0051] Embodiments of the present systems and methods for providing light communications, as described herein, may be implemented or executed, at least in part, by one or more computer systems. FIG. 4 is a block diagram depicting a light-capable communication device 400, such as an EFB, PED, display, headset, helmet, NVG device, or the like, according to an example embodiment. As illustrated, device 400 includes one or more processors 401A-N coupled to a system memory 402 via bus 403. Device 400 may further include a network interface 404 coupled to bus 403. Network interface 404 may provide a wired connection to an external aircraft network 405, which may provide communication connections to other aircraft systems and equipment. One or more input/output (I/O) controllers 406 are coupled to devices, such as a cursor control device 407 (e.g., a mouse, touchpad, or stylus), keyboard 408, display(s) 409, etc. Each of devices 407, 408, and 409 may be integral to device 400 or may be a separate component (i.e., peripheral) that is capable of communicating with I/O controller 406 via a wired connection (e.g., serial port, Universal Serial Bus port) or wireless connection (e.g., Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Near Field Communications Link, etc.). Other devices, such as microphones, speakers, scanners, printers, etc., may also be coupled to I/O controller 406.
[0059] Light communication device 400 may be capable of receiving power that has been transmitted by visible or invisible light. Photovoltaic module 412 is configured to receive light, such as light broadcast by power lights 302 (FIG. 3), and to produce electricity. The electricity is then provided to a battery or power supply 413.
Compare this with the power management unit 123 in FIG. 1 of the present application. Furthermore, it was well-known that battery powered devices can include an AC adapter for charging the battery, and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof.
As a result, It would have been obvious to provide power to electronic devices that need power (e.g., the processor, speaker, and microphone). In particular, both Passe and Hull are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communications) and the results would have been predictable (e.g., the wireless device will charge the battery and have power to operate).
Regarding claim 13, Passe teaches the wireless headset of claim 10 further comprising: a wireless headset IR transmitter/receiver to transmit and receive the IR transmission and reception via the wireless headset IR photodiode system from and to, respectively, a dongle operatively coupled to an information handling system.
As discussed in claim 1, Passe teaches peripheral devices including wireless IR and RF transmitters and receivers. As discussed in claim 10, Hull at FIG. 1 illustrates that it was known to use a wireless headset 109 to transmit and receive wireless signals. As discussed in claim 5, Passe teaches that it was known to use dongles 205 for wireless IR communication. See the more detailed discussion in claims 1 and 5.
Regarding claim 17, Passe teaches a wireless headset, comprising:
a hardware microprocessor (FIG. 1: processor 101);
a speaker;
a microphone; and
a wireless headset power management unit to provide power to the hardware microprocessor, the speaker, and the microphone;
the hardware microprocessor to execute computer-readable program code of a wireless headset timer switch to alternate between:
a wireless headset infrared (IR) photodiode system transmitting audio data to the information handling system via an IR transmission and a radio antenna receiving audio data from the information handling system via radio frequency (RF) reception; and
the radio antenna transmitting audio data to the information handling system via the RF transmission and the wireless headset IR photodiode system receiving audio data from the information handling system via the IR reception;
the hardware microprocessor to execute the computer-readable program code of the wireless headset timer switch to define a frequency and occurrence of the alternating switching for alternating periods of time between transmitting audio data to the information handling system via an IR transmission and receiving audio data from the information handling system via RF transmission and transmitting audio data to the information handling system via an IR transmission and receiving audio data from the information handling system via RF transmission.
Passe teaches a wireless communication system including a hardware processor executing program code to perform RF and light communication, and it would have been obvious to split communication between RF and light communication, and it would have been obvious to alternate. See the discussion of claim 1.
Regarding the wireless communication being with a wireless headset including a speaker, a microphone, and a wireless headset power management unit, this would have been obvious from Hull at FIG. 1, which illustrates a wireless headset 109.
See the more detailed discussion in claim 10.
As discussed in claim 1, Passe teaches a hardware processor executing program code to perform desired functionality. Regarding the microprocessor to execute the computer-readable program code to define a frequency and occurrence of the alternating switching for alternating periods of time as recited in the last paragraph, this would have been obvious. In particular, as discussed in claim 1, Passe teaches that to switch or alternate how the communication channels are used for the purposes of load balancing. Therefore, the switching functionality for load balancing will define a frequency and occurrence for alternating periods of time between transmitting and receiving on the RF and light channels based on the needs of load balancing. In other words, the frequency and occurrence of switching will be defined by the need to rebalance the load or bandwidth of the RF and light channels.
Regarding claim 19, Passe teaches the wireless headset of claim 17, wherein the headset timer switch alternates between IR and RF transmission and RF and IR reception at a shifting period interval in coordination with the information handling system.
As discussed in claim 1, Passe teaches RF and IR transmission and reception between a device and an information handling system. As discussed in claim 5, Hull teaches the use of a wireless headset as a peripheral device communicating with an information handling system. As discussed in claims 1 and 2, Passe teaches to alternate between IR and RF transmission/reception to achieve load balancing. It would have been obvious that this would shift at period intervals as the system experienced different loads from different devices and compensated by balancing the loads between RF and IR communication.
Regarding claim 20, Passe teaches the wireless headset of claim 17 further comprising: the wireless headset including a wireless headset IR transmitter/receiver to transmit and receive the IR transmission and reception via the wireless headset IR photodiode system from and to, respectively, a dongle operatively coupled to the information handling system.
As discussed in claim 1, Passe teaches peripheral devices including wireless IR transmitters and receivers. As discussed in claim 10, Hull at FIG. 1 illustrates that it was known to use a wireless headset 109 to transmit and receive wireless signals (e.g., a headset as a peripheral device). As discussed in claim 5, Passe teaches that it was known to use dongles 205 for wireless IR communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use a dongle as recited in the claim. See the more detailed discussion in claims 1 and 5.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US 5,710,623 (Kim).
Regarding claim 11, Passe teaches the wireless headset of claim 10 further comprising: the hardware microprocessor to execute an IR/RF converter module to convert the received IR reception to an audio digital signal.
As discussed in claim 1, Passe teaches that the data may be transmitted and received as IR, and that the data may be audio data. It would have been obvious that the received IR signal is converted to a useful format for the audio signal (e.g., an audio digital signal).
In the interests of compact prosecution, Kim is also cited. Kim at FIG. 3 illustrates a transmitter 10 with an IR source 15, and a receiver 20 with an IR receiver 21 and an ADC 26 to convert the received RF signal to a digital signal.
See also col. 1:
(6) Referring to FIG. 3, the conventional infrared radio controller includes a periodic pulse generator 12 for generating a periodic pulse according to on/off operations of a switch SW; a carrier signal generator 13 for generating a carrier signal; a current amplifier 14 for amplifying both the periodic pulse and the carrier signal; an infrared-emitting diode 15 for emitting an amplified signal from the current amplifier 14; infrared receiving sensors 21 to 21-3 for sensing an emitted signal as a position arranged from the edge of a screen; amplifiers 22 to 22-3 for amplifying carrier signals from the infrared receiving sensors; envelope detectors 23 to 23-3 for eliminating the carrier signal from the amplifiers, and sensing a level responsive to a light intensity inputted to the infrared receiving sensors 21 to 21-3; a multiplexer 24, a sample-and-hold circuit 25, and an analog-to-digital converter 26 sequentially connected to one another for sequentially converting each of the output levels from the envelope detectors 23 to 23-3 to digital data; coordinates calculator 27 for calculating coordinates-position of a display screen 11 (shown in FIG. 2) being currently displayed, by using an output signal of the analog-to-digital converter 26 as an input; a main processor 28 for displaying a current point on the display screen 11 by matching the display screen 11 and the coordinates-position to each other; and a control-logic part 29 for controlling a driving timing needed to each of the above devices.
It would have been obvious that the received IR audio signals in Passe can be converted from IR to digital signals as taught in Kim. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication) and the results would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 12, Passe teaches the wireless headset of claim 10 further comprising: the hardware microprocessor to execute an IR/RF converter module to convert the received RF reception to an audio digital signal.
As discussed in claim 1, Passe teaches that the data may be transmitted and received as RF, and that the data may be audio data. It would have been obvious that the received RF signal is converted to a useful format for the audio signal (e.g., an audio digital signal).
In the interests of compact prosecution, Kim is also cited. Kim at FIG. 3 illustrates a wireless receiver 20 including an ADC 26 to convert an electrical signal to a digital signal.
It would have been obvious that the received RF audio signals in Passe can be converted to a digital signal as taught in Kim. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication) and the results would have been predictable.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US 2011/0103004 (Brock).
Regarding claim 14, Passe teaches the wireless headset of claim 10, wherein
the headset timer switch alternates between IR and RF transmission and RF and IR reception at a period interval for the alternating periods of time in coordination with the information handling system,
a dongle operatively coupled to the information handling system, or a headset docking station operatively coupled to the information handling system.
As discussed in claims 1 and 2, Passe teaches to alternate between IR and RF transmission/reception between the device and the information handling system to achieve load balancing. It would have been obvious that this alternating happens at a time period interval. For example, the time period can be the intervals at which the load is rebalanced, or it can be the time interval when new devices are added or dropped from the system (necessitating load rebalancing), or if can be time intervals when usage changes. In any event, it would have been obvious that a dynamic system will change at intervals to rebalance the load.
As discussed in claim 5, Passe teaches the use of a dongle to transmit and receive wireless signals. This example in Passe teaches the dongle performing IR communication, but as discussed in claim 5, Brock teaches that RF communication dongles were also known.
In other words, Passe teaches a dongle used for IR communication, and Brock teaches that dongles were also known for RF communication. It would have been obvious that the dongle in Passe can be implemented in a known way (e.g., with IR communication as taught in Passe and with RF communication as taught in Brock). In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication) and the results would have been predictable (e.g., a dongle that communicates in IR and in RF).
Finally, the example in Passe illustrates the dongle in the peripheral device 202. However, it is taught that the dongle can be used for wireless communication, so that it would have been obvious that the dongle can be used at either end of the link (e.g., plugged into a USB port on the information handling system).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US 2015/0080052 (Jensen).
Regarding claim 15, Passe teaches the wireless headset of claim 10 further comprising: the wireless headset including a wireless headset IR transmitter/receiver to transmit and receive the IR transmission and reception via the wireless headset IR photodiode system from and to, respectively, a wireless headset dock operatively coupled to an information handling system via a wired connection.
As discussed in claim 1, Passe teaches peripheral devices including wireless IR and RF transmitters and receivers. As discussed in claim 5, Hull teaches that it was known to use a wireless headset 109 to transmit and receive wireless signals. As discussed in claim 7, Jensen teaches a wireless headset 100 communicating with an interface unit 101 that can include a docking stations. See a more detailed discussion in claims 1, 5, and 7. In other words, it was known for a headset to communicate with a docking unit for the headset.
It would have been obvious that the headset in Hull can be implemented in a known way, such as with docking station that is wirelessly coupled to the headset as taught in Jensen. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication) and the results would have been predictable (e.g., the headset will be wirelessly connected to a docking station).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of US 2015/0080052 (Jensen).
Regarding claim 18, Passe teaches the wireless headset of claim 17 further comprising: the wireless headset including a wireless headset IR transmitter/receiver to transmit and receive the IR transmission and reception via the wireless headset IR photodiode system from and to, respectively, a wireless headset dock operatively coupled to an information handling system via a wired connection.
As discussed in claim 1, Passe teaches peripheral devices including wireless IR and RF transmitters and receivers. As discussed in claim 5, Hull teaches that it was known to use a wireless headset 109 to transmit and receive wireless signals. As discussed in claim 7, Jensen teaches a wireless headset 100 communicating with an interface unit 101 that can include a docking stations. See a more detailed discussion in claims 1, 5, and 7. In other words, it was known for a headset to communicate with a docking unit for the headset.
It would have been obvious that the headset in Hull can be implemented in a known way, such as with docking station that is wirelessly coupled to the headset as taught in Jensen. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., wireless communication) and the results would have been predictable (e.g., the headset will be wirelessly connected to a docking station).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2015/0147067 (Ryan) teaches a communication system using both light and radio frequencies. See:
[0011] As described herein, RF mesh transceivers may be advantageously combined or integrated with modulating light beacons in a positioning system. Typically, in such an integrated mesh a modulated light beacon (e.g., a light source such as an LED and electronic circuitry to vary an intensity or frequency of light emitted therefrom in accordance with a modulation signal) and an RF module (e.g., an RF transmitter and/or receiver comprising electronic circuitry for sending and receiving data via an RF signal) are combined in a single physical unit (e.g., a ceiling light fixture). Such integration advantageously enables the RF modules to draw power from the power mains installed to power light fixtures, obviating the labor-intensive periodic maintenance of battery power sources in the modules and/or the installation of a separate, additional system of power mains to power the RF modules. Also, such integration effectively co-locates within a single space two arrays of modules, one consisting essentially of RF transceivers and the other of modulatable lights (e.g., LEDs). Both arrays may be used, separately or in a complementary manner, for purposes of communication with each other, mobile devices, non-mobile devices, and other networks or communication systems. For example, information may be transmitted by light sources to mobile devices via VLC; or, one-way or two-way communication may occur between mobile devices, sensors, servers, VLC modules, RF modules, and other devices and/or networks.
FIG. 11 illustrated an embodiment including both light 1108 and radio frequencies 1110.
[0121] Modulating light source 1102 may include a processor 1104, such as a microcontroller, that may be configured to execute programs and process data that facilitate modulation of light from one or more LED lights 1108. The processor 1104 may be connected to a radio frequency (RF) transmit/receive antenna 1110 that may facilitate communication over wireless RF signals to other similarly equipped proximal devices, such as other modulating light sources, personal mobile devices, computing devices generally, RF equipped items such as appliances, tools, entertainment devices, RF tags, RF enabled network access points, multi-radio devices, and the like.
[0122] The modulating light source 1102 of FIG. 11 may further include one or more sensors 1112 for detecting aspects of the environment, including electromagnetic emissions from nearby computing devices. The sensors 1112 may be connected to the processor 1104 to facilitate collection, analysis, and communication of sensor data and/or data derived from the sensor data. Sensors may include ultrasonic sensors, video sensors, audio sensors, image sensors, optical sensors, temperature sensors, humidity sensors, air quality sensors, motion detection sensors, chemical sensors, radio frequency sensors, and the like. While the aforementioned sensor examples are contemplated, so are any other types of sensor that may detect an aspect of an environment into which the modulating light source 1102 may be deployed.
[0123] An RF enabled modulating light source 1100, such as the one depicted in FIG. 11, may facilitate simultaneous Bluetooth transmission and light modulation. Position detection is one particular example of an application for such an RF enabled modulating light source 1100. In an example, RF communication between the RF capability of the light 1100 and nearby mobile devices may facilitate enhanced position detection, as will be described herein. Communication among RF enabled modulating lights 1100 as well as communication between an RF enabled modulating light 1100 and a mobile device that is adapted for communication with an RF enabled modulating light 1100 may enable capabilities in position detection that may not possible or at least not as efficient with modulation of light alone. One exemplary capability is bi-directional communication. While position detection via modulating light enables mobile devices to determine and thereby report their position over a network (e.g., WiFi or cellular) to web servers, bi-directional RF communication allows the detection of particular mobile devices by the light 1100. When combined with a potential mesh-type network of RF enabled modulating lights, it is envisioned that a wide variety of data, content, inquiries, promotions, and the like may be effectively distributed among mobile devices that have been identified as connected to at least one RF enabled light 1100.
[0124] More generally, a network including or consisting essentially of RF enabled modulating light sources 1100 may enable the control and sensing of numerous aspects of the VLC and non-VLC aspects of the lighting function of such a network: any form of control and sensing that would be possible through direct, hard-wired connections to the nodes of such a network will in general be feasible through the RF aspect of a network of RF enabled modulating light sources.
US 2015/0293876 (Verma) at FIG. 1A illustrates peripheral devices 140, 142 connected to a wireless docking center.
See also:
[0037] Peripheral devices 140, 142 may include displays, projectors, speakers, keyboards, mice, joysticks, data storage devices, network interface devices, other docking hosts, remote controls, cameras, microphones, printers, disks, wireless Universal Serial Bus (USB) devices, headsets, tablet computers, sensors, or any of various other devices hosting a peripheral function and capable of wireless communication with wireless docking centers, e.g., WDCs 110, 112. Peripheral devices 140, 142 may all be coupled to WDCs 110, 112 via wireless communication channels. In some cases, some of peripheral devices 140, 142 may be coupled to WDCs 110, 112 via wired communication channels. Wireless docking centers 110, 112 may abstract the functions of individual peripheral devices 140, 142 as peripheral functions.
(57) According to exemplary embodiments, the transceivers 429 and 431 communicate with one another via a BLUETOOTH link
/DARREN E WOLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634