Note
Applicant’s response filed on 06/09/2026 has been fully considered. Claim 6 is amended, claims 1-5 are canceled and claims 6-9 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 6 recites “the visible indicator has a brightness level that is positively corelated with an increase in hardness of the resin” as new limitation; however, there is no support for such limitation in the current specification or original claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hyman (US 2003/0035917 A1) as evidenced by Lastusaari et al. (US 2020/0386899 A1).
Claim 6: Hyman teaches an image formed of a composition comprising a polymer [1050] and hackmanite as a fluorescent material [1070], wherein the hackmanite fluoresces bright orange with long wave UV light [1070]. The hackmanite meets the claimed visible indicator. Hyman teaches the hackmanite fluoresces bright orange with long wave UV light [1070]. This is interpreted that the hackmanite absorbs the long wave UV light and shines back the bright orange light at a visible wavelength; therefore, the hackmanite of Hyman has a certain brightness level.
Claim 7: Hyman teaches the hackmanite fluoresces bright orange with long wave UV light [1070].
Claim 8: Hyman teaches the hackmanite fluoresces bright orange with long wave UV light [1070]. The long wave UV light meets the claimed UVA LED because evidence shows that the wavelength of UVA is generally considered to be 315-400 nm, the wavelength of UVB is generally considered to be 280-320 and the wavelength of UVC is generally considered to be 100-290 nm (see [0048] of Lastusaari). Lastusaari shows UVA has longer wave than UVB and UVC.
Claim 9: Hyman teaches the hackmanite fluoresces bright orange with long wave UV light [1070].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument is based on that hackmanite is a mineral that may fluoresce from blue to orange; however, the hackmanite that changes color from blue to orange is known to be rare; and that hackmanite is not typically used in resins and given the rarity of it, it is not likely to be used in a resin for its color changing properties. This argument is not persuasive for the following reasons. Not all hackmanites fluoresce from blue to orange; and there is nothing that shows the hackmanite of Hyman fluoresces from blue to orange. In addition, Hyman teaches the hackmanite fluoresces bright orange with long wave UV light [1070]; and it is interpreted that the hackmanite absorbs the long wave UV light and shines back the bright orange light at a visible wavelength. Therefore, the hackmanite of Hyman has a certain brightness level.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
BS
August 22, 2026
/BETELHEM SHEWAREGED/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1785