Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 10th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are pending in the application. The applicants’ amendments to limitation (a) of claim 1 has overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b); however, the rejection directed to limitation (b) of claim 1 is maintained and expanded upon in light of the amendments. Claims 9 and 10 are of the same status of claim 1 in light of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 10th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101, the applicant argues that claim 1 does not recite a mental process, alleging that the steps are not practically performed in the human mind:
Applicant states (Remarks p.7):
The Examiner disagrees because the claims do not specify or constrain the quantity of data points being processed. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the steps recited can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper.
Applicant states (Remarks p.7):
The Examiner disagrees because under the broadest reasonable interpretation sampling can include selecting a group of data points from a larger set. This is a task that can be performed in the human mind and is thus a mental process.
Applicant states (Remarks p.7):
The Examiner disagrees because under the broadest reasonable interpretation instance segmentation can include identifying and / or categorizing objects. This identification / categorization step can be performed in the human mind and is thus a mental process.
Applicant states (Remarks p.7):
The Examiner disagrees because as evidenced by the MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) “The mathematical concepts grouping is defined as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations.” Accordingly, applicants’ recitation of “calculating” renders the claims as non-patent-eligible subject matter because the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Further, the applicant argues that the claimed subject matter of amended claim 1 is allegedly integrated into a practical application.
Applicant states (Remarks p.8):
The Examiner disagrees because as evidenced by the MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) “…if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement.” In this situation the claim itself must reflect the disclosed improvement. The Examiner asserts that the claims as filed do not include the technological improvement described in the specification.
The Examiner suggests including a “generating” or “producing” step that articulates what the technological improvement is as a result of the steps.
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant states (Remarks p. 11):
The Examiner disagrees because Sheshappanavar teaches sampling one or more anchor points on at least one instance. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation anchor points can include points where movements, rotations, and / or size changes happen. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation anchor points can include neighborhood query points since the sampled points undergo “random scale (S), random rotations (both perturbed R and up-axis rotations Rθ), random translation (T),” (Sheshappanavar; page 2120, 3. Method).
Further, Applicant's arguments addressing Juppe, Kim, Hacinecipoglu, and Zhang are moot because these references are not relied upon as teaching the limitation "wherein the first operation further comprises: receiving scene data; sampling a plurality of anchor points targeting the scene data; segmenting a plurality of instances in the scene data; and sampling one or more anchor points on at least one instance from among the plurality of segmented instances," of claims 1 and 9-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, limitation (b) of claim 1 recites “…acquiring sampled transformation parameters and sampled transformation parameter values by sampling transformation parameter and the transformation parameter category.” The term "transformation parameter" is used in both the source and the outcome, making the distinction between the two unclear. It is circular, implying that something is being attained from itself. This introduces ambiguity about whether the two instances refer to the exact same information or two different sets of information. If the two instances refer to the exact same information, then there is not sufficient support from the specification how the transformation parameters can be sampled from itself.
The examiner recommends rephrasing to distinguish “sampled transformation parameters” from “sampling transformation parameters.”
Additionally, the claim language “…acquiring sampled transformation parameters and sampled transformation parameter values by sampling transformation parameter and the transformation parameter category” is inconsistent with the specification. The specification suggests that transformation parameter values are not sampled from transformation parameters; they should be sampled from transformation parameter categories (specification para 73; specification Fig. 8). These contradict the claim.
There is a conflict between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure. This renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure makes the claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. Reference can be made to MPEP 2173.03.
To elaborate, it is unclear if each of “transformation parameters” or “sampled transformation parameter values” is sampled from only one or both of “transformation parameter” and / or “transformation parameter category.”
Examiner requests that the applicant(s) clarify whether “transformation parameters” is sampled from the combination of “transformation parameter” and “transformation parameter category” or just “transformation parameter” alone.
Similarly, the examiner requests that the applicant(s) clarify whether “sampled transformation parameter values” is sampled from the combination of “transformation parameter” and “transformation parameter category” or just “transformation parameter category” alone.
For the purpose of compact prosecution and art rejection, the examiner will treat this claim element to mean “transformation parameters” is sampled just from “transformation parameter” alone, and “sampled transformation parameter values” is sampled just from “transformation parameter category” alone.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, they are rejected using the same citations and rationales as described in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2-8 are rejected due to dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are drawn to a method (i.e., a process), claims 9-10 are drawn to a device (i.e., a manufacture). As such, claims 1-10 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: Yes).
Step 2A – Prong 1: Claims 1, 9, and 10 recite:
(a) a data processing step of receiving original 3D data and anchor point number information, and acquiring, based on the original 3D data and the anchor point number information, 3D data subsequent to processing and sampled anchor points, wherein a number of the sampled anchor points corresponds to the anchor point number information;
(b) a transformation parameter sampling step of receiving at least one transformation parameter and transformation parameter category, and acquiring sampled transformation parameters and sampled transformation parameter values by sampling transformation parameter and the transformation parameter category; and
(c) a data augmentation step of calculating a non-rigid transformation matrix based on the 3D data subsequent to processing, sampled anchor points, and sampled transformation parameter values, and acquiring 3D data transformed by using the non-rigid transformation matrix.
(d) wherein the step (a) further comprises: receiving scene data; sampling a plurality of anchor points targeting the scene data; segmenting a plurality of instances in the scene data; and sampling one or more anchor points on at least one instance from among the plurality of segmented instances.
Limitations (a)-(b) and (d) can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper; therefore the limitations fall within the mental processes grouping, and the claim recites an abstract idea. Limitation (c) is an act of calculating using mathematical methods to determine a variable (transformed 3D data), and is a mathematical calculation. (Step 2A – Prong 1: Yes).
Step 2A – Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements are no more than insignificant extra-solution activity and no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
The claims recite the additional element of receiving original 3D data and anchor point number information, and acquiring a number of sampled anchor points in limitation (a). The additional element represents mere data gathering that is necessary for use of the recited judicial exception and is recited at a high level of generality. Limitation (a) in the claim is thus insignificant extra-solution activity.
Limitations (b) and (c) is an algorithm to sample at least one transformation parameter and transformation parameter category, and calculate a non-rigid transformation matrix and acquire three-dimensional data transformed by using the non-rigid transformation matrix, but the process is recited so generically that it represents no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions on a computer. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception.
Regarding limitation (d), it recites “further receiving scene data.” The limitation “further receiving scene data” is nothing more than an insignificant extra solution activity and not integrated into a practical application. The limitation “sampling…” is a function that can reasonably be performed by the human mind, and is a mental process. The limitation “segmenting…” is a function that can reasonably be performed by the human mind (data organization), and is a mental process. Further, the claim does not recite any additional element. (Step 2A – Prong 2: No).
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the processor(s), memory, network interface, and storage are at best the equivalent of merely adding the words "apply it" to the judicial exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims lack affirmative recitation a specific, unconventional technical means. There is no detail that the transformation parameter sampling step, calculation of a non-rigid transformation matrix, or transformation of three-dimensional data by using the non-rigid transformation matrix uses novel algorithms, hardware optimization, or produces a concrete technological improvement (e.g., enhanced memory efficiency, optimized matrix multiplication, reduced bandwidth through a novel data structure). Therefore, when considered separately and in combination, without the aforementioned details, a court is likely to view the steps as routine computer implementation. (Step 2B: No).
Regarding claim 2, it recites: a step (a-1) of performing preprocessing on the original 3D data; and a step (a-2) of sampling a plurality of anchor points that serve as local transformation references on the original 3D data or 3D data subsequent to processing. The limitation “performing preprocessing…” can reasonably be performed by the human mind, and is a mental process or by a human using pen and paper (labeling, segmentation, data cleaning). The limitation “sampling a plurality of anchor points…” can reasonably be performed by the human mind (data organization). Further, the claim does not recite any additional element.
Regarding claim 3, it recites: performing at least one preprocessing of vertex sampling, centralization, or denoising on the original 3D data. The limitation “performing…” can reasonably be performed by the human mind, and is a mental process. Further, the claim does not recite any additional element.
Regarding claim 4, it recites: sampling a first arbitrary anchor point on the original 3D data or 3D data subsequent to processing; and sampling a second anchor point that is present at a position farthest away from the first anchor point on the original 3D data or 3D data subsequent to processing. The limitations “sampling a first arbitrary anchor point…” and “sampling a second anchor point…” are functions that can reasonably be performed by the human mind (data organization), and is a mental process. Further, the claim does not recite any additional element.
Regarding claim 6, it recites: wherein the transformation parameter comprises at least one of rotation transformation, scaling, and translation. The limitation “wherein the transformation parameter comprises…” does not recite steps of a process. Further, the claim does not recite any additional element.
Regarding claim 7, it recites: wherein the sampled transformation parameter values are random values extracted from within the transformation parameter category. The limitation “wherein the sampled transformation parameter values are…” does not recite steps of a process. Further, the claim does not recite any additional element.
Regarding claim 8, it recites: the step (c) comprises: a step (c-1) of applying transformation parameters extracted from N anchor points to calculate N local transformation matrices; a step (c-2) of linearly combining the N local transformation matrices to acquire a non-rigid transformation matrix; and a step (c-3) of applying the non-rigid transformation matrix to the 3D data subsequent to processing to acquire transformed 3D data. The limitation “applying transformation parameters…” is an act of calculating using mathematical methods to determine variables (local transformation matrices), and is a mathematical calculation. The limitation “linearly combining...” is an act of calculating using mathematical methods to determine a variable (non-rigid transformation matrix), and is a mathematical calculation. The limitation “applying the non-rigid transformation matrix...” is an act of calculating using mathematical methods to determine a variable (transformed 3D data), and is a mathematical calculation. (Step 2B: No).
Therefore, claims 1-10 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Examiner note: A claim that recites a judicial exception may comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C 101 “if it also recites additional elements demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application,” (MPEP 2106.04(d)(1)).
“One way to demonstrate such integration is when the claimed invention improves the functioning of a computer or improves another technology or technical field,” (MPEP 2106.04(d)(1)). Where “…if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement,” MPEP 2106.04(d)(1). In this situation the claim itself must reflect the disclosed improvement. The Examiner asserts that the claims as filed do not include the technological improvement described in the specification. The Examiner suggests including a “generating” or “producing” step that articulates what the technological improvement is as a result of the steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juppe (US 20210366205 A1) in view of Kim et al. (Kim et al., "Point Cloud Augmentation with Weighted Local Transformations", 11 Oct. 2021, pages 1-9) (Hereinafter referred to as Kim) in further view of Sheshappanavar et al. (Sheshappanavar et al., “PatchAugment: Local Neighborhood Augmentation in Point Cloud Classification”, 2021, 2021 IEEE/CVF International Conference on Computer Vision Workshops (ICCVW), pages 2118-2127) (Hereinafter referred to as Sheshappanavar) in further view of Zhao et al. (Zhao et al., Divide and Conquer: 3D Point Cloud Instance Segmentation With Point-Wise Binarization, 20 Mar. 2023, pages 1-10) (Hereinafter referred to as Zhao) in further view of Zhang (CN 115937458 A).
Regarding claim 9, Juppe teaches a 3D data augmentation apparatus, the apparatus comprising: one or more processors ("In some embodiments of the present technology, the processor may be a general purpose processor, such as a central processing unit (CPU) or a processor dedicated to a specific purpose," para [0062].);
a network interface ("The input/output interface 150 may allow enabling networking capabilities such as wire or wireless access. As an example, the input/output interface 150 may comprise a networking interface such as, but not limited to, a network port, a network socket, a network interface controller and the like," para [0082].);
a memory configured to load a computer program executed by the processor ("According to implementations of the present technology, the solid-state drive 120 stores program instructions suitable for being loaded into the random access memory 130 and executed by the processor 110 for augmenting the 3D objects training dataset," para [0083].); and
a storage configured to store network data and the computer program ("According to implementations of the present technology, the solid-state drive 120 stores program instructions suitable for being loaded into the random access memory 130 and executed by the processor 110 for augmenting the 3D objects training dataset," para [0083]. The solid-state drive is mapped to the storage. The program instructions read on the computer program.
"The solid-state drive 120 may also store various databases including 3D objects training dataset, metadata, user information such as login, activity history or the like," para [0083]. The 3D objects training dataset and metadata read on the large-capacity network data.),
Juppe is not relied upon teaching but Kim teaches wherein the computer program executes, by the one or more processors, a first operation of receiving original 3D data and anchor point number information (Kim; The original point cloud as input reads on receiving original 3D data. (page 4, Algorithm 1 PointWOLF). The “# anchor points M” as input reads on receiving anchor point information (Kim; page 4, Algorithm 1 PointWOLF).), and acquiring, based on the original 3D data and the anchor point number information, 3D data Kim teaches that anchor points are sampled by using the Farthest Point Sampling (FPS) algorithm (page 3, Sampling Anchor Points). FPS uses the original point cloud (mapped to original 3D data) as a parameter (page 4, Algorithm 1 PointWOLF). FPS uses the number of anchor points M as a parameter (page 4, Algorithm 1 PointWOLF).
The set of anchor points (PA) that are the result of FPS are thus based on the anchor point number information (number of anchor points M), and the number of sampled anchor points resulting from FPS corresponds to the anchor point number information.);
a second operation of receiving at least one transformation parameter (Kim; "S is a diagonal matrix with three positive real values, i.e., S = diag(sx, sy, sz) to allow different scaling factors for different axes." The diagonal matrix S indicates at least one transformation parameter. (pages 3-4, Local Transformations).) and transformation parameter category (Kim; "Input: range for scaling ρs, range for rotation ρr, range for translation ρt," (page 4, Algorithm 1 PointWOLF). The ranges read on at least one transformation parameter category.), and acquiring sampled transformation parameters (Kim; "Local transformations in our framework are centered at the anchor points. At each anchor point, we randomly sample a local transformation that includes scaling from the anchor point, changing aspect ratios, translation, and rotation around the anchor point," (pages 3-4, Local Transformations). Randomly sampling local transformation reads on the sampled transformation parameters.) and sampled transformation parameter values (Kim; (page 4, Algorithm 1 PointWOLF). The values for scaling, rotation, and translation, represented as s, θ, and b in Algorithm 1 are sampled from the ranges that read on transformation parameter category in steps 3-5 of Algorithm 1.) by sampling the transformation parameter and transformation parameter category (Kim; "Local transformations in our framework are centered at the anchor points. At each anchor point, we randomly sample a local transformation that includes scaling from the anchor point, changing aspect ratios, translation, and rotation around the anchor point," (pages 3-4, Local Transformations). The local transformations such as scaling, translation and rotation read on the transformation parameter.
Kim; (page 4, Algorithm 1 PointWOLF). The values for scaling, rotation, and translation, represented as s, θ, and b in Algorithm 1 are sampled from the ranges that read on transformation parameter category in steps 3-5 of Algorithm 1.); and
a third operation of calculating a non-rigid transformation matrix based on the 3D data “Given M local transformations {Tj }M j =1, our smoothly varying transformation at an arbitrary point pi is given as:
where Kh( · , · ) is a kernel function with bandwidth h, and Tj is the local transformation in (2) centered at pjA . To define
T
^
(pi) at any point in the 3D space, we use a kernel function that has a strictly positive value for any pair of points…”(page 4, Smooth Deformations; page 4, Eq. (3)).
The local transformation Tj reads on sampled transformation parameter. Variable pjA (seen in equation 3) is an anchor point in PA, (pages 3-4, Local Transformations); “the anchor points PA ⊂ P are selected by the Farthest Point Sampling (FPS) algorithm,” and thus pjA represents sampled anchor points, which are used in the calculation of the non-rigid transformation matrix. The examiners interpretation is that point pi is an arbitrary point from the 3D data (page 4, Smooth Deformations).
T
^
is used to calculate a non-rigid transformation matrix), and acquiring 3D data transformed by using the non-rigid transformation matrix (“Thus, our framework can be implemented in two ways: (1) Transforming each point once by a smoothly varying transformation
T
^
in Eq. (3) and (2) Transforming each point M times by the local transformations {Tj }M j =1 and interpolate these M augmented points by the adaptive weights K( p , pjA) / ∑k K( p , pkA ) . Although both approaches re-quire O ( M N ) complexity if we mainly consider M anchor points and N points, the second approach is slightly more efficient in practice since this only involves operations on points (vector) while the first approach involves operations on transformation matrices. Thus, we show the pseudocode of the second approach in Algorithm 1 and show the first approach’s pseudocode in the supplement,”
(page 4, Proposition1); (page 4, Algorithm 1 PointWOLF). Algorithm 1 shows the augmented point cloud as output after applying Eq. 3. The augmented point cloud is mapped to 3D data transformed by using the non-rigid transformation matrix),
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Kim to Juppe. The motivation would have been to generate “diverse and realistic local deformations such as a person with varying postures,” (Kim; page 2; Introduction) and to maximize the coverage of anchor points and allow diverse transformations (Kim; page 3, Sampling Anchor Points).
Juppe in view of Kim is not relied upon teaching but Sheshappanavar teaches wherein the first operation further comprises: receiving scene data (Sheshappanavar; "We evaluate our method of patch augmentation using synthetic (ModelNet40 [10], ModelNet10 [10], and SHREC’16 [14]) and real-world (ScanObjectNN [11]) datasets," (page 2119, Introduction). "ScanObjectNN is a more complex dataset consisting of 2902 real-world objects spread across 15 classes. ScanObjectNN has 700 unique scenes developed from two popular scene object datasets i.e., SceneNN [44] and Scan-Net [8] with 100 and 1513 objects respectively… Each perturbed variant consists of five randomly sampled objects from the ground truth objects enlarging ScanObjectNN dataset into 14,510 perturbed objects," (Sheshappanavar; page 2123, 4.3 Datasets));
sampling a plurality of anchor points targeting the scene data (Sheshappanavar; “This paper focuses on augmenting each sample’s different local neighborhoods... Our PatchAugment augments the neighborhood points as follows; first, it randomly drops a small fraction of the queried neighborhood points. Second, it randomly scales these neighborhood points, followed by a random perturb rotation by small angles and a random rotation along the up-axis direction. Then, it randomly translates each augmented neighborhood group. Note that this random translation is common to all points within a patch neighborhood but different for points belonging to different neighboring patches/grouped points,” (page 2119, 1. Introduction; page 2121 Fig. 2). Every point that does not get dropped is mapped to sampling a plurality of anchor points since the points in a neighborhood are used for local transformation. “We evaluate our method of patch augmentation using synthetic (ModelNet40 [10], ModelNet10 [10], and SHREC’16 [14]) and real-world (ScanObjectNN [11]) datasets,” (Sheshappanavar; page 2119, 1. Introduction). The patch augment method, which includes the aforementioned steps, is applied to ScanObjectNN data which contains scene data.); scene objects ((Sheshappanavar; page 2119, 1. Introduction; page 2121 Fig. 2). Every point that does not get dropped is mapped to sampling one or more anchor points since the points in a neighborhood are used for local transformation.
“In patch augmentation a sample object as shown in Figure 2(a) undergoes a series of DA techniques at patch level, i.e., random points dropout (λ), random scale (S), random rotations (both perturbed R and up-axis rotations Rθ), random translation (T), and random jittering (J) as shown in part (b) to (g) of Figure 2 respectively,” (Sheshappanavar; page 2120, 3. Method). The sample object reads on instance; thus, the patch augment method, including the steps that read on sampling one or more anchor points, is applied to an instance.
“From the several variants of ScanObjectNN dataset we have considered the six prominently used variants for our experiments… Each perturbed variant consists of five randomly sampled objects from the ground truth objects enlarging ScanObjectNN dataset into 14,510 perturbed objects,” (Sheshappanavar; page 2123, 4.3 Datasets). The patch augment method, including the steps that read on sampling one or more anchor points, is applied to ScanObjectNN data which contains a plurality of scene objects.).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Sheshappanavar to Juppe in view of Kim. The motivation would have been to “enhance the overall augmentation of the sample object, thereby improving the learning of local geometry by the deep neural network…,” (Sheshappanavar; page 2119, 1. Introduction).
Juppe in view of Kim in further view of Sheshappanavar does not explicitly disclose segmenting a plurality of instances in the scene data, wherein the plurality of segmented instances correspond to the scene objects.
Zhao teaches segmenting a plurality of instances in the scene data, wherein the plurality of segmented instances correspond to the scene objects (Zhao; "…we propose a novel proposal generation framework to better segment adjacent objects and complete instances," (page 1, Introduction; page 3, Architecture Overview). Figure 6 shows more than one instance that has been segmented in a scene by Zhao's method (page 7, Fig. 6; page 5, Experiment Setting). Figure 6 shows that the segmented instances correspond to scene objects.).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Zhao to Juppe in view of Kim in further view of Sheshappanavar. The motivation would have been to allow for the application of object-based augmentations.
Juppe in view of Kim in further view of Sheshappanavar in further view of Zhao does not explicitly disclose that the acquired 3D data is subsequent to processing or that the 3D data that calculating a non-rigid transformation matrix is based on is subsequent to processing.
Zhang teaches the 3D data is subsequent to processing (“Step 102, preprocessing the acquired point cloud data. In order to improve the modeling accuracy, the method of preprocessing the acquired point cloud data may include filtering, denoising and repairing the acquired point cloud data,” (Detailed Ways, para 3-24). Zhang discloses 3D point cloud data preprocessing. After combination, preprocessing occurs before the main algorithm and the 3D data is utilized subsequent to processing.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Zhang to Juppe in view of Kim in further view of Sheshappanavar in further view of Zhao. The motivation would have been “to improve the modeling accuracy,” (Zhang; Detailed Ways, para 17).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, they are rejected using the same citations and
rationales described in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 2, Juppe in view of Kim in further view of Sheshappanavar in further view of Zhao in further view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the step (a) comprises: a step (a-1) of performing preprocessing on the original 3D data (Zhang; “Step 102, preprocessing the acquired point cloud data. In order to improve the modeling accuracy, the method of preprocessing the acquired point cloud data may include filtering, denoising and repairing the acquired point cloud data,” (Zhang; Detailed Ways, para 3-24). The acquired point cloud data is mapped to original 3D data); and a step (a-2) of sampling the plurality of anchor points that serve as local transformation references on the original 3D data or the 3D data subsequent to processing (Kim; “To minimize the redundancy between local transformations, the anchor points PA ⊂ P are selected by the Farthest Point Sampling (FPS) algorithm.” (page 3, Sampling Anchor points). "Local transformations in our framework are centered at the anchor points. At each anchor point, we randomly sample a local transformation ... Given an anchor point pjA in PA, the local transformation for an input point pi can be written as…" (pages 3-4, Local Transformations). "Figure 2. PointWOLF Framework Illustration. Given an original sample, PointWOLF has multiple local transformations at each anchor point (red). PointWOLF produces smoothly varying non-rigid deformations based on the weighted local transformations," (page 3, Figure 2). The original sample reads on original 3D data.).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Juppe in view of Kim in further view of Sheshappanavar in further view of Zhao in further view of Zhang with the feature of sampling a plurality of anchor points from Kim for the benefit minimizing the redundancy between local transformations (Kim; page 3, Sampling Anchor points).
Regarding claim 3, Juppe in view of Kim in further view of Sheshappanavar in further view of Zhao in further view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the step (a-1) is performing at least one preprocessing of vertex sampling, centralization, or denoising on the original 3D data (Zhang; “Step 102, preprocessing the acquired point cloud data. In order to improve the modeling accuracy, the method of preprocessing the acquired point cloud data may include filtering, denoising and repairing the acquired point cloud data,” (Zhang; Detailed Ways, para 3-24). The acquired point cloud data is mapped to original 3D data).).
Regarding claim 4, Juppe in view of Kim in further view of Sheshappanavar in further view of Zhao in further view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the step (a-2) comprises: sampling a first arbitrary anchor point on the original 3D data or the 3D data subsequent to processing; and sampling a second anchor point that is present at a position farthest away from the first anchor point on the original 3D data or the 3D data subsequent to processing (Kim; “Sampling anchor points is the first step of our framework to locate multiple local transformations. To minimize the redundancy between local transformations, the anchor points PA ⊂ P are selected by the Farthest Point Sampling (FPS) algorithm. FPS randomly chooses the first point and then sequentially chooses the farthest points from previous points. This maximizes the coverage of anchor points and allows diverse transformations,” (page 3, Sampling Anchor Points). “Randomly chooses the first point” reads on “sampling a first arbitrary anchor point.” P refers to the original point cloud (page 4, Algorithm 1 PointWOLF). The original point cloud reads on original 3D data.).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Juppe in view of Kim in further view of Sheshappanavar in further view of Zhao in further view of Zhang with the feature of sampling a first arbitrary anchor point and sampling a second anchor point from Kim for the benefit of minimizing the redundancy between local transformations (Kim; page 3, Sampling Anchor points).
Regarding claim 6, Juppe in view of Kim in further view of Sheshappanavar in further view of Zhao in further view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the transformation parameter comprises at least one of rotation transformation, scaling, and translation (Kim; "S is a diagonal matrix with three positive real values, i.e., S = diag(sx, sy, sz) to allow different scaling factors for different axes." The diagonal matrix S indicates at least one transformation parameter. (pages 3-4, Local Transformations).)).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Juppe in view of Kim in further view of Sheshappanavar in further view of Zhao in further view of Zhang with the feature of the transformation parameter comprising at least one of rotation transformation, scaling, and translation from Kim for the benefit of expanding and diversifying the original data.
Regarding claim 7, Juppe in view of Kim in further view of Sheshappanavar in further view of Zhao in further view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the sampled transformation parameter values are random values extracted from within the transformation parameter category (Kim; "Local transformations in our framework are centered at the anchor points. At each anchor point, we randomly sample a local transformation that includes scaling from the anchor point, changing aspect ratios, translation, and rotation around the anchor point," (pages 3-4, Local Transformations). Lines 3-5 of Algorithm 1 show that the transformation parameter values are sampled within the ranges that read on transformation parameter category (Kim; page 4, Algorithm 1 PointWOLF).).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Juppe in view of Kim in further view of Sheshappanavar in further view of Zhao in further view of Zhang with the feature of sampled transformation parameter values being random values extracted from within the transformation parameter category from Kim for the benefit of allowing diverse transformations.
Regarding claim 8, Juppe in view of Kim in further view of Sheshappanavar in further view of Zhao in further view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the step (c) comprises: a step (c-1) of applying transformation parameters extracted from N anchor points to calculate N local transformation matrices (Kim; "At each anchor point, we randomly sample a local transformation that includes scaling from the anchor point, changing aspect ratios, translation, and rotation around the anchor point," (pages 3-4, Local Transformations). This step provides transformation parameters from the anchor points. “Given an anchor point pjA in PA, the local transformation for an input point pi can be written as:"
(pages 3-4, Local Transformations; page 4, Eq. 2). This is a one-to-one mapping of an anchor point to a local transformation matrix; this reads on N anchor points to calculate N local transformation matrices.); a step (c-2) of linearly combining the N local transformation matrices to acquire a non-rigid transformation matrix (Kim; “Given M local transformations { Tj } M j =1, our smoothly varying transformation at an arbitrary point pi is given as:
(page 4, Smooth Deformations; page 4, Eq. 3). M local transformations reads on N local transformation matrices. Eq 3 shows the linear combination of the M local transformations to acquire a non-rigid transformation matrix.); and a step (c-3) of applying the non-rigid transformation matrix to the 3D data subsequent to processing to acquire transformed 3D data (Kim; “Thus, our framework can be implemented in two ways: (1) Transforming each point once by a smoothly varying transformation
T
^
in Eq. (3)…” (page 4, Proposition1; page 4, Algorithm 1 PointWOLF). The “each point” language reads on the 3D data. Zhang teaches the 3D data is subsequent to processing (Detailed Ways, para 3-24).).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Juppe in view of Kim in further view of Sheshappanavar in further view of Zhao in further view of Zhang with the feature of applying transformation parameters, linearly combining the N local transformation matrices, and applying the non-rigid transformation matrix from Kim for the benefit of allowing smooth transformations under mild conditions (Kim; page 4, Smooth Deformations).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERICA G THERKORN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2618
/DEVONA E FAULK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2618