DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1,5,6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deno USP 8,820,738 in view of Ando et al. USP 12,037,218.
Deno discloses, regarding claim 1, A sheet conveying device, comprising:
a pair of conveying members (120) which nip and convey a sheet, the pair of conveying members being movably provided along a width direction of the sheet orthogonal to a conveying direction of the sheet;
a detection processing portion (143) which detects a deviation amount of the sheet conveyed by the pair of conveying members in the width direction (see S107 in fig.4, C12/L8-13);
a first movement processing portion (43; fig.3) which causes the pair of conveying members that are nipping the sheet to move along the width direction based on the deviation amount detected by the detection processing portion (see S108 in fig.4, C12/L13-19); and
a second movement processing portion which causes the pair of conveying members that have finished conveying the sheet to move to a predetermined reference position (see S112 in fig.4).
Regarding claim 6, An operation control method executed in a sheet conveying device including a pair of conveying members (120) which nip and convey a sheet, the pair of conveying members being movably provided along a width direction of the sheet orthogonal to a conveying direction of the sheet, the operation control method comprising:
a detection step of detecting a deviation amount of the sheet conveyed by the pair of conveying members in the width direction (see S107 in fig.4, C12/L8-13);
a first movement step of causing the pair of conveying members that are nipping the sheet to move along the width direction based on the deviation amount detected by the detection step (see S108 in fig.4, C12/L13-19); and
a second movement step of causing the pair of conveying members that have finished conveying the sheet to move to a predetermined reference position (see S112 in fig.4).
Deno does not expressly disclose the remaining limitations of the claims.
Ando teaches [regarding claim 1] the use of a determination processing portion (72; fig.9B) which determines whether or not a predetermined movement condition is satisfied when the pair of conveying members are moved by the first movement processing portion (C12/L17-20), and [regarding claim 6] a determination step of determining whether or not a predetermined movement condition is satisfied when the pair of conveying members are moved by the first movement step (C12/L17-20).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a determination processing portion which determines whether or not a predetermined movement condition is satisfied when the pair of conveying members are moved by the first movement processing portion, and a determination step of determining whether or not a predetermined movement condition is satisfied when the pair of conveying members are moved by the first movement step, as taught by Ando, in the device of Deno, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of accuracy of deviation correction can be improved (C12/L27-31).
Deno further discloses, regarding claim 5, An image forming apparatus (fig.10), comprising:
the sheet conveying device according to claim 1; and
an image forming portion (109) which forms an image on the sheet conveyed by the sheet conveying device (see S109 in fig.4).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fujita (USP 7,581,725) discloses a sheet conveying device comprising a pair of conveying members (1102), a detection processing portion (1104), and a movement processing portion (M1107) which causes the pair of conveying members to move the sheet (P) in a direction orthogonal to the sheet conveying direction (see at least fig.6,7).
/LESLIE A NICHOLSON III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 2/27/2026