DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 5/13/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 14, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 96/15774 (WO ‘774) in combination with Andreasen (US 2014/0112979) and Morrison (US 5,827,531).
Applicant asserts the prior art does not teach depressurizing the materials to ambient pressure in a microgravity environment and forming phospholipids nanosomes having an average diameter between 0.001 and 20 nanometers, where the microgravity environment is critical and only available on the ISS.
Examiner disagrees. First, WO ‘774 teaches the liposomes formed in supercritical fluids are nanosized, which makes obvious liposomes in the nanoscale. While it does not teach the use of microgravity, Morrison was relied upon for demonstrating that it was known to perform drug encapsulation in microgravity, such as in space aboard the space shuttle (col 21 lines 15-20, and col 21 line 45-col 22 line 9). Thus, the skilled artisan would know that liposomes could be formulated in microgravity, such as in space, and apply that to known methods of making liposomes, such as taught by WO ‘774. With regards to de-pressurizing the contents of the reaction, WO ‘774 teaches that de-pressurizing was a known step. Thus, when the de-pressurizing step is performed in microgravity, the result will inherently be that the pressure in the reaction will be the same as the environment, i.e. microgravity.
To overcome a rejection of obviousness, Applicant can either show why the skilled artisan would not follow the reasonable logic discussed in the Office Action mailed 2/13/2026 and discussed above, or can show evidence that overcomes the obviousness, See MPEP 716.02 and 2145 for a discussion of potential arguments and evidence. In this case, the obviousness rejection is based on the modification of the primary reference by adding “freezing and thawing” and using microgravity. Evidence could include a showing that the “freezing and thawing” process results in unexpected size and distribution or the process in microgravity yields results unexpected compared to the process in regular gravity. But such results need to be supported by evidence and support the breadth of the claim as discussed in MPEP 716.02.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 14, 15, and 18 stand rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 5,776,486 (‘486) (reference application) in view of WO 96/15774 (WO '774), Andreasen (US 2014/0112979) and Morrison (US 5,827,531).
Applicant assert ‘486 does not claim or disclose a microgravity environment and therefore the double patenting rejection should be withdrawn.
Examiner disagrees. While ‘486 does not teach microgravity, it would have been obvious for the skilled artisan to practice the method of ‘486 in ways modified as well known in the art. As explained in the Office Action mailed 2/13/2026 and discussed above, the use of microgravity for encapsulation processes was known. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use microgravity when performing the method of ‘486. As no evidence has been presented to demonstrate unexpected results with regards to the use of microgravity, then it appears varying gravity is simply an obvious variant.
To overcome this rejection, the response will likely be the same as the obviousness rejection above because this is not a statutory double patenting, but a non-statutory double rejection, also known as an obviousness double patenting.
Conclusion
This action is a final rejection and closes the prosecution of this application. Applicant’s reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to this action is limited to an appeal to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, an amendment complying with the requirements set forth below, or a request for continued examination (RCE) to reopen prosecution where permitted. Please note that the Office also offers initiatives that are available to applicants after the close of prosecution. See https://www.uspto.gov/patents/initiatives/uspto-patent-applications-iniatives-timeline for more information.
General information on the Patent Trial and Appeal Board is available at: www.uspto.gov/patents/ptab. The information at this page includes guidance on time limited options that may assist the applicant contemplating appealing an examiner’s rejection. It also includes information on pro bono (free) legal services and advice available for those who are under-resourced and considering an appeal at: https://www.uspto.gov/patents/ptab/free-legal-assistance. The page is best reviewed promptly after applicant has received a final rejection or the claims have been twice rejected because some of the noted assistance must be requested within one month from the date of the latest rejection. See MPEP § 1204 for more information on filing a notice of appeal.
If applicant should desire to appeal any rejection made by the examiner, a Notice of Appeal must be filed within the period for reply. The Notice of Appeal must be accompanied by the fee required by 37 CFR 41.20(b)(1). The current fee amount is available at: www.uspto.gov/Fees.
If applicant should desire to file an after-final amendment, entry of the proposed amendment cannot be made as a matter of right unless it merely cancels claims or complies with a formal requirement made in a previous Office action. Amendments touching the merits of the application which otherwise might not be proper may be admitted upon a showing of good and sufficient reasons why they are necessary and why they were not presented earlier.
A reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to a final rejection must include cancellation of or appeal from the rejection of, each rejected claim. The filing of an amendment after final rejection, whether or not it is entered, does not stop the running of the statutory period for reply to the final rejection unless the examiner holds all of the claims to be in condition for allowance.
If applicant should desire to continue prosecution in a utility or plant application filed on or after May 29, 2000 and have the finality of this Office action withdrawn, an RCE under 37 CFR 1.114 may be filed within the period for reply. See MPEP § 706.07(h) for more information on the requirements for filing an RCE.
The application will become abandoned unless a Notice of Appeal, an after final reply that places the application in condition for allowance, or an RCE has been filed properly within the period for reply, or any extension of this period obtained under either 37 CFR 1.136(a) or (b).
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612