DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 96/15774 (WO ‘774) in combination with Andreasen (US 2014/0112979) and Morrison (US 5,827,531).
WO ’774 discloses a method of making nanosized liposomes containing phospholipids using supercritical fluid (page 6, lines 28-30, page 8, lines 5-8, page 9, lines 20-24, page 15, lines23-28) for encapsulating hydrophobic active agents using an apparatus (Abstract). The method involves dissolving the phospholipids in the supercritical fluid with or without the entrainer and adding the aqueous medium, de-pressurizing the contents. The sizes of the formed liposomes are also controlled with pressures (lowering the pressures and the nozzle sizes (Figures, Examples and claims). The hydrophobic drugs taught are bryostatin-1, camptothecins, toxoids and cisplatin (page 5, lines 14-18). The cosolvents and entrainers (ethanol) which are added to phospholipids and aqueous phases (page 6, lines, lines 28-30), lines 19-25, page 14, line 27).
WO ’774 does not teach step b, ‘freezing and thawing’ of the formed liposomes; (instant step e) or a step in microgravity.
Anreasen discloses a process of preparation of liposomes using supercritical fluid technology (Abstract, 0001, 0076, 0091 and Example 2). According to Andreasen that the freezing and thawing of sonicated phospholipid mixtures produces liposomes with large trapping capacity is known in the art of liposomes (0110).
Morrison discloses methods of forming multi-lamellar liposomes under the conditions of microgravity (Abstract, col. 3, line 30 through col. 4, line 42, col. 5, lines 9-32, col. 12, lines 43-64, Examples, Examples I and II).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to introduce a step of freezing and thawing after the formation of liposomes taught by WO ’774, with a reasonable expectation of success since Andreasen teaches that such a method to increase the trapping capacity of liposomes is known in the art.
The encapsulation of water-soluble active agents, as recited in claim 20, would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
One or ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prepare the liposomes in a microgravity environment, with a reasonable expectation of success since Morrison teaches that liposomes can also be prepared under microgravity conditions.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 96/15774 (WO ‘774) in combination with Andreasen (US 2014/0112979) and Morrison (US 5,827,531), the combination further in view of Frederiksen (Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences (1997).
The teachings of WO ‘774, Morrison and Andreasen are discussed above. They do not teach the encapsulation of a water-soluble active agent prepared by the method using supercritical carbon dioxide.
Fredericksen teaches encapsulation of a water-soluble active agent prepared by the method using supercritical carbon dioxide (see Abstract and Experimental section).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, to encapsulate a hydrophilic active agent prepared by the process of WO ‘773, using the method of Fredericksen since liposomes can encapsulate both hydrophobic and hydrophilic compounds.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 5,776,486 (‘486) in view of WO 96/15774 (WO ‘774), Andreasen (US 2014/0112979), Morrison (US 5,827,531), and Frederiksen (Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences (1997). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘486 does not teach the addition of an alcohol fluid, the step of freezing and thawing, or adjusting the gravity. The secondary references are discussed above for teaching all the missing steps and it would have been obvious to incorporate known encapsulation steps into the process in patent ‘486.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612