Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 4/12/2024 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because there are numerous drawing issues and indefinite claims. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show In figures 1-8, the plurality of hole units are arranged along an axis of the inner distribution pipe are not clearly identified, they have no clear border or identification. Further fig. 4 makes unclear if the units are sperate or overlap. How one identifies or defines the units is unclear in the drawings. Referring to claims 1-10. By adjusting a length of the inner distribution pipe extending into the outer distribution pipe, no adjustment is shown it is unclear if applicant means a step of manufacturing or an adjustment mechanism, neither is shown in the figures. Referring to claim 3, 5, 13, & 15. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “hole unit” in claim 1-4, 7-10, 13-14, and 17-20 is unclear which renders the claim indefinite. The term “hole unit” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The plurality of hole units are arranged along an axis of the inner distribution pipe are not clearly identified in the figures, they have no clear border or identification. Further fig. 4 makes unclear if the units are sperate or overlap. How one identifies or defines the units is unclear in the drawings or the specification.
For examination purposes “hole unit is construed as a section of distribution pipe”—
The term “adjusting” in claim 1, 3-4, and 13-14 is an unclear term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “adjusting” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. it is unclear if applicant is requiring a method of manufacturing or an adjusting mechanism.
For examination purposes “adjusting is construed as a method of manufacturing resulting in the claimed position”—
Claims 2-20 are rejected for depending form one or more of the above rejected claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-16, & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang(US10088254B2).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a refrigerant distribution device, comprising an inner distribution pipe (the first distribution pipe 410 fig. 7 para. 44) and an outer distribution pipe (second distribution pipe 450 fig. 7 para. 44), wherein the outer distribution pipe is sleeved outside the inner distribution pipe (A first end 451 of the second distribution pipe 450 is inserted into or fitted over the first distribution pipe fig. 7 410 para. 44) ; wherein the inner distribution pipe is provided with a plurality of hole units (first distribution pipe 410, including any two holes fig. 7 para. 0039), and each of the plurality of hole units comprises a plurality of inner distribution holes, the plurality of inner distribution holes are arranged at intervals (The pipe wall of the first distribution pipe 410 is provided with the plurality of first distribution holes 413 spaced apart from one another along the axial direction of the first distribution pipe 410 fig. 7 para. 44); the outer distribution pipe is provided with an outer distribution hole (A pipe wall of the second distribution pipe 450 is provided with a plurality of second distribution holes 453 fig. 7 para. 44); and by adjusting a relative position between the inner distribution pipe and the outer distribution pipe (the first drive assembly 430 drives the first distribution pipe 410 to translate relative to the first header 100 along an axial direction of the first header 100 fig. 6 para. 50), the plurality of inner distribution holes of at least one of the plurality of hole units are capable of being in communication with the outer distribution hole correspondingly (Therefore, an overlapping area of the first distribution hole 413 and the second distribution hole 453 may be adjusted to achieve redistribution of the refrigerant flow rate. fig. 7 para. 46).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the refrigerant distribution device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of inner distribution holes of each of the plurality of hole units are arranged at intervals along an axis of the inner distribution pipe (The pipe wall of the first distribution pipe 410 is provided with the plurality of first distribution holes 413 spaced apart from one another along the axial direction of the first distribution pipe 410 fig. 7 para. 44).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the refrigerant distribution device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of hole units are arranged along an axis of the inner distribution pipe (The pipe wall of the first distribution pipe 410 is provided with the plurality of first distribution holes 413 spaced apart from one another along the axial direction of the first distribution pipe 410 fig. 7 para. 44), and by adjusting a length of the inner distribution pipe extending into the outer distribution pipe (the first drive assembly 430 drives the first distribution pipe 410 to translate relative to the first header 100 along an axial direction of the first header 100 fig. 6 para. 50), the plurality of inner distribution holes of at least one of the plurality of hole units are capable of being in communication with the outer distribution hole correspondingly (Therefore, an overlapping area of the first distribution hole 413 and the second distribution hole 453 may be adjusted to achieve redistribution of the refrigerant flow rate fig. 5 para 46).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the refrigerant distribution device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of hole units are arranged along a circumferential direction of the inner distribution pipe (the first row of distribution holes and the second row of distribution holes are staggered in the circumferential direction of the first distribution pipe 410. fig. 6 para. 53), and by adjusting a rotation angle of the inner distribution pipe along the circumferential direction of the inner distribution pipe (When the first distribution pipe 410 rotates under the drive of the first drive assembly 430 para. 61 fig. 6), the plurality of inner distribution holes of at least one of the plurality of hole units are capable of being in communication with the outer distribution hole correspondingly (Therefore, an overlapping area of the first distribution hole 413 and the second distribution hole 453 may be adjusted to achieve redistribution of the refrigerant flow rate fig. 5 para 46).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches the refrigerant distribution device of claim 3, wherein the outer distribution pipe is provided with a plurality of outer distribution holes, and the plurality of outer distribution holes are arranged at intervals along an axis of the outer distribution pipe (A pipe wall of the second distribution pipe 450 is provided with a plurality of second distribution holes 453 spaced apart from one another along an axial direction of the second distribution pipe 450 fig. 7 para. 44).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the refrigerant distribution device of claim 4, wherein the outer distribution pipe is provided with a plurality of outer distribution holes, each of the plurality of outer distribution holes is in a circular shape, and the plurality of outer distribution holes are arranged at intervals along an axis of the outer distribution pipe (A pipe wall of the second distribution pipe 450 is provided with a plurality of second distribution holes 453 fig. 7 para. 44).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the refrigerant distribution device of claim 1, wherein a size of each of the plurality of inner distribution holes in each of the plurality of hole units is the same (fig. 7 shows sections with holes of equal size.).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches the refrigerant distribution device of claim 1, wherein a distance between adjacent two of the plurality of inner distribution holes in each of the plurality of hole units is the same (fig. 7 shows equal along length, It can be understood by those skilled in the art that the number of the first distribution holes 413, angles of the first distribution holes 413 and spaces among the first distribution holes 413 may be set according to specific applications and requirements fig. 7 para. 18).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches the refrigerant distribution device of claim 1, wherein a distance between adjacent two of the plurality of hole units is the same (fig. 7 shows sections with two holes would be equal size.).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches a heat exchanger, comprising a collecting pipe, a plurality of heat exchange pipes and the refrigerant distribution device of claim 1; wherein the collecting pipe is sleeved outside the outer distribution pipe (and a second end 452 of the second distribution pipe 450 extends out of the at least one of the first header 100 and the second header 200 fig. 6 para. 44), and the outer distribution pipe is in communication with the collecting pipe by the outer distribution hole; the plurality of heat exchange pipes extend along an axis of the collecting pipe and are arranged at intervals, and the plurality of heat exchange pipes are in communication with the collecting pipe (the second header 200 and communicated with the first distribution pipe 410 fig. 6 para. 44).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches the heat exchanger of claim 11, wherein the plurality of inner distribution holes of each of the plurality of hole units are arranged at intervals along an axis of the inner distribution pipe (The pipe wall of the first distribution pipe 410 is provided with the plurality of first distribution holes 413 spaced apart from one another along the axial direction of the first distribution pipe 410 fig. 6 para. 44).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches the heat exchanger of claim 11, wherein the plurality of hole units are arranged along an axis of the inner distribution pipe (The pipe wall of the first distribution pipe 410 is provided with the plurality of first distribution holes 413 spaced apart from one another along the axial direction of the first distribution pipe 410 fig. 6 para. 44), and by adjusting a length of the inner distribution pipe extending into the outer distribution pipe (the first drive assembly 430 drives the first distribution pipe 410 to translate relative to the first header 100 along an axial direction of the first header 100 fig. 6 para. 50), the plurality of inner distribution holes of at least one of the plurality of hole units are capable of being in communication with the outer distribution hole correspondingly (Therefore, an overlapping area of the first distribution hole 413 and the second distribution hole 453 may be adjusted to achieve redistribution of the refrigerant flow rate. fig. 6 para. 46).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches the heat exchanger of claim 11, wherein the plurality of hole units are arranged along a circumferential direction of the inner distribution pipe, and by adjusting a rotation angle of the inner distribution pipe along the circumferential direction of the inner distribution pipe (the first row of distribution holes and the second row of distribution holes are staggered in the circumferential direction of the first distribution pipe 410. fig. 6 para. 53), the plurality of inner distribution holes of at least one of the plurality of hole units are capable of being in communication with the outer distribution hole correspondingly (Therefore, an overlapping area of the first distribution hole 413 and the second distribution hole 453 may be adjusted to achieve redistribution of the refrigerant flow rate. fig. 6 para. 46).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches the heat exchanger of claim 13, wherein the outer distribution pipe is provided with a plurality of outer distribution holes, and the plurality of outer distribution holes are arranged at intervals along an axis of the outer distribution pipe (A pipe wall of the second distribution pipe 450 is provided with a plurality of second distribution holes 453 spaced apart from one another along an axial direction of the second distribution pipe 450. fig. 7 para. 44) .
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches the heat exchanger of claim 14, wherein the outer distribution pipe is provided with a plurality of outer distribution holes, each of the plurality of outer distribution holes is in a circular shape, and the plurality of outer distribution holes are arranged at intervals along an axis of the outer distribution pipe (A pipe wall of the second distribution pipe 450 is provided with a plurality of second distribution holes 453 spaced apart from one another along an axial direction of the second distribution pipe 450. fig. 7 para. 44).
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches the heat exchanger of claim 11, wherein a size of each of the plurality of inner distribution holes in each of the plurality of hole units is the same (It can be understood by those skilled in the art that the number of the first distribution holes 413, angles of the first distribution holes 413 and spaces among the first distribution holes 413 may be set according to specific applications and requirements fig. 7 para. 18).
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches the heat exchanger of claim 11, wherein a distance between adjacent two of the plurality of inner distribution holes in each of the plurality of hole units is the same (It can be understood by those skilled in the art that the number of the first distribution holes 413, angles of the first distribution holes 413 and spaces among the first distribution holes 413 may be set according to specific applications and requirements fig. 7 para. 18).
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches the heat exchanger of claim 11, wherein a distance between adjacent two of the plurality of hole units is the same (It can be understood by those skilled in the art that the number of the first distribution holes 413, angles of the first distribution holes 413 and spaces among the first distribution holes 413 may be set according to specific applications and requirements fig. 7 para. 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang(US10088254B2) in view of Jianlong et al.(US20110618440A1) .
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the refrigerant distribution device of claim 4, wherein the outer distribution pipe is provided with one outer distribution hole (second distribution hole 453 para. 10), but does not teach the outer distribution hole is in an elongated shape and the outer distribution hole extends along an axis of the outer distribution pipe. Wang teaches the plurality of inner distribution holes of at least one of the plurality of hole units are capable of being in communication with the elongated-shaped outer distribution hole correspondingly (Therefore, an overlapping area of the first distribution hole 413 and the second distribution hole 453 may be adjusted to achieve redistribution of the refrigerant flow rate fig. 5 para 46).
Jianlong teaches the outer distribution hole is in an elongated shape and the outer distribution hole extends along an axis of the outer distribution pipe (a distribution opening 14 is formed in the distribution tube 1 fig. 3b para. 0025). When combined the elongated shape of Jianlong would be in the claimed location. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outer distribution hole design of Wang to utilize the distribution hole design of Jianlong, the motivation to enhance the distribution of the refrigerant.
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches the heat exchanger of claim 14, wherein the outer distribution pipe is provided with one outer distribution hole (second distribution hole 453 para. 10), but does not teach the outer distribution hole is in an elongated shape and the outer distribution hole extends along an axis of the outer distribution pipe. Wang teaches the plurality of inner distribution holes of at least one of the plurality of hole units are capable of being in communication with the elongated-shaped outer distribution hole correspondingly (Therefore, an overlapping area of the first distribution hole 413 and the second distribution hole 453 may be adjusted to achieve redistribution of the refrigerant flow rate fig. 5 para 46).
Jianlong teaches the outer distribution hole is in an elongated shape and the outer distribution hole extends along an axis of the outer distribution pipe(a distribution opening 14 is formed in the distribution tube 1 fig. 3b para. 0025). When combined the elongated shape of Jianlong would be in the claimed location. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outer distribution hole design of Wang to utilize the distribution hole design of Jianlong, the motivation to enhance the distribution of the refrigerant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants’ disclosure. ARTURO(US2008093051A1) teaches how to enhance even flow distribution from angular placement of the holes of the distribution pipe.
/HENRY FRANCIS CANOVA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763