DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pi: 7437286 further in view of Kulis: 20100241963 hereinafter Ku and further in view of Torok: 20140180697 hereinafter Tor.
Regarding claim 1
Pi teaches:
A computer-implemented method executed on data processing hardware that causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising:
outputting, from an assistant-enabled device, a first text-to-speech (TTS) utterance generated from a first output transcription comprising a sequence of terms (Pi: Col 3:4-3:9: voice output device plays voice prompt to a user; said voice prompt generated by a TTS engine to generate speech output);
while outputting the first TTS utterance from the assistant-enabled device (Pi: Col 4:45-4:65, 5:50-5:55: system monitors an input signal while the TTS is delivered, output, etc.):
for each respective term of the sequence of terms, determining a corresponding playback status of the respective term (Pi: 4:45-4:65, 5:50-5:55, 6:49-55; Fig 3: system effectively monitors the waveform of the TTS output by monitoring the input signal thereby determining frames of the output signal to detect echo frame-by-frame and estimate a time delay based thereon for cancellation of the output signal at the input the framewise monitoring effectively arrives at a term by term monitoring of the waveform);
receiving a barge-in utterance spoken by a user (Pi: Abstract: system monitors and responds to a voice barge in from the user); and
identifying, based on the corresponding playback status of portions of the output, a portion output from the assistant-enabled device audibly output as synthesized speech before the user spoke the barge-in utterance (Pi: Col 1:47-1:53, 4:45-4:65, 5:50-5:55, 6:49-55; Fig 3: system effectively monitors the waveform of the TTS output by monitoring the input signal thereby determining frames of the output signal to detect echo frame-by-frame and estimate a time delay based thereon for cancellation of the output signal at the input the framewise monitoring effectively arrives at a term by term monitoring of the waveform; incident upon a particular portion of an output waveform, frame thereof, the system ceases output and records the user input for the purpose of providing a second, etc. response, output, etc. to a user; wherein the subset of terms comprises terms output to the user before user barge in utterance, that is, the terms output before the utterance are known, and used to subtract the user speech from particular portions of the output speech to improve the clarity, accuracy, etc. of the input speech such as for aiding response thereto);
determining, based on the identified subset of terms, a second output transcription responsive to the barge-in utterance spoken by the user (Pi: ¶ Col 5:6-5:22; Fig 3: such as a response based on barge in user speech recognized in response to the barge-in utterance at 340); and
outputting, from the assistant-enabled device, a second TTS utterance generated from the second output transcription (Pi: ¶ Col 5:6-5:22, 6:23-6:36; Fig 3: such as a prompt output to a user in response to commands, etc. recognized in the barge in utterance).
Pi does not explicitly teach tracking progress term by term to delineate between terms output before the barge in and terms not output due to occurring after the barge in, such as for determining context of the and a per term status of term playback status which indicates whether the respective term has been audibly output from the assistant-enabled device as synthesized speech; to thereby determine a subset of terms which have been audibly output as synthesized speech.
In a related field of endeavor Ku teaches a system, method, and device for generation of interactive audio (Ku: Abstract) comprising:
outputting utterances generated from a selected and segmented first output transcription comprising a sequence of terms (Ku: ¶ 77, 79, 87, 88; Fig 2A, 2B);
while outputting the first utterance from a device: for each respective term of the sequence of terms, determining a corresponding playback status of the respective term (Ku: ¶ 80: a segmentation engine generates a list of timestamps corresponding to time boundaries of each word in speech based audio and generates metadata thereof thereby segmenting the output content in concert with stamped, marked, etc. time boundaries) indicates whether the respective term has been audibly output from the assistant-enabled device as synthesized speech (Ku: ¶ 63, 80, 236, 244, etc.; Fig 16A: words stored in concert with stamps, markers, etc. to maintain a current playback position robust to pause operations such that the system operates to return to a tracked pause point effectively maintaining whether words in a transcript have been output or are yet to be output by maintaining relations of word stamps, markers, etc. to a pause point time value)
receiving utterances spoken by a user (Ku: ¶ 236; Fig 16A, etc.: such as a user command which instantiates the figure 16A, etc. process)
identifying, based on the corresponding playback status of each respective term of the sequence of terms, a subset of terms which have been audibly output as synthesized speech from a device before the user spoke the barge-in utterance (Ku: ¶ 80, 166, 167, etc.; Fig 16A, etc.: a segmentation engine generates a list of timestamps corresponding to time boundaries of each word in speech based audio and generates metadata thereof; the system handles a request during playback by pausing and entering into a handle command process such as that of Fig 16A and subsequently operates to resume playback without discontinuity such as from a paused point);
determining, based on the identified subset of terms, a second output transcription responsive to the utterance spoken by the user (Ku: ¶ 80, 166, 210 etc.; Fig 11, 16A, etc.: such as by providing voice response such as in response to the command or voice output of the resumed content after response to the voice command); and outputting, from the assistant-enabled device, a second TTS utterance generated from the second output transcription (Ku: ¶ 80, 162, 166, 167, 210 etc.; Fig 11, 16A-16D, etc.: such as by providing voice response such as in response to the command or voice output of the resumed content after response to the voice command).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize the Ku taught timestamped word boundaries to improve the Pi taught tracking of waveform output to thereby improve a system and method for providing a response to a user based on tracking words output with respect to a user barge in thereby determining which terms have been presented prior to a pause of playback dictated by a user entry of instructions as discussed by Pi and to thereby determine a word border time stamp for the barge in utterance and word borders, timestamps etc. denoting which portions of a prompt have and have not been output to a user for at least the purpose of explicitly tracking output in the playback of a prompt with respect to a user utterance such as to determine a context for a next, subsequent, etc. user interaction; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Pi in view of Ku does not explicitly teach the recited term level monitoring for the purpose of determining based on the identified subset of terms a second output response to the barge in for output of a prompt based thereon to a user.
In a related field of endeavor Tor teaches a system and method for generating a TTS presentation of a user text for audible presentation to a user (Tor: Abstract; ¶ 28, etc.; Fig 1: system generates a TTS presentation of a set of user tasks); comprising a sequence of terms with corresponding indicators (Tor: ¶ 28, 48; system generates text for audio presentation based on a user request and further generates data regarding the output of the presentation such as beginning and end points for items in the set of tasks); while outputting the system maintains an identifier tracking the element of the presentation is currently being output (Tor: ¶ 31: “As each element is presented and an identifier is encountered, the identifier may be stored such that the identifier may be transmitted to the speech service,”); such that during or subsequent to output of audio the system remains operative to receive user voice input, such as a barge-in or response input to the output audio (Tor: ¶ 12) and the system determines markers for particular portions of the output audio to which the user response input refers such as in concert with a last received marker indicating an element which was presented during or prior to the user voice input (Tor: ¶ 20, 21) and thereby determine a subsequent, second, etc. output based thereon (Tor: ¶ 41, 45: system determines intent of the user voice input and responds by executing a particular application, generating a relevant response, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to improve the Pi in view of Kul system and method to include tracking identifiers of per item playback states as taught or suggested by Tor for at least the purpose of flagging particular output words, phrases, sentences, etc. of a voice output to a user such as for returning to an appropriate place in a barged in upon output after responding appropriately to the user barge in; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 2
Pi in view of Ku in view of Tor teaches or suggests:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving an initial utterance spoken by the user; and determining the first output transcription based on the initial utterance (Pi: such as operating the input output loop of figure 2); (Tor: ¶ 28, 48; system generates text for audio presentation based on a user request and further generates data regarding the output of the presentation such as beginning and end points for items in the set of tasks). The claim is considered obvious over Pi as modified by Ku and Tor as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Pi, Ku, and/or Tor to the modified device of Pi, Ku, and Tor; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 3
Pi in view of Ku in view of Tor teaches or suggests:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprising determining the first output transcription without receiving an initial utterance spoken by the user (Ku: ¶ 215; Fig 13: such as in response to a user interface element); (Ku: ¶ 266: such as by instructing the system to generate a response based on manual entry upon a user interface element). The claim is considered obvious over Pi as modified by Ku and Tor as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Pi, Ku, and/or Tor to the modified device of Pi, Ku, and Tor; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 5
Pi in view of Ku in view of Tor teaches or suggests:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein, while outputting the first TTS utterance from the assistant-enabled device, the operations further comprise:
identifying, based on the corresponding playback status of each respective term of the of the sequence of terms, a second subset terms from the sequence of terms not output by the assistant-enabled device before the user spoke the barge-in utterance (Pi: 4:45-4:65, 5:50-5:55, 6:49-55; Fig 3: such as by monitoring the waveform of the prompt output played with respect to a pause necessitated by a barge in signal); (Ku: ¶ 63, 80, 162, 166, 210 etc.; Fig 11, 16A-16D, etc.: such as by determining a remainder of a paused media subsequent to a user command; such as from a timestamp position); and in response to receiving the barge-in utterance, terminating output of the second subset of terms (Ku: ¶ 63, 80, 162, 166, 210 etc.; Fig 11, 16A-16D, etc.: such as when a user input skips a media or continues from a media to a response to the user utterance). The claim is considered obvious over Pi as modified by Ku and Tor as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Pi, Ku, and/or Tor to the modified device of Pi, Ku, and Tor; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 6
Pi in view of Ku in view of Tor teaches or suggests:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein receiving the barge-in utterance spoken by the user occurs: after the assistant-enabled device begins outputting the first TTS utterance; and before the assistant-enabled device finishes outputting the first TTS utterance (Pi: 4:45-4:65, 5:50-5:55, 6:49-55; Fig 3: such as by monitoring the waveform of the prompt output played with respect to a pause necessitated by a barge in signal); (Ku: ¶ 63, 80, 162, 166, 210 etc.; Fig 11, 16A-16D, etc.: such as by determining a remainder of a paused media subsequent to a user command; such as from a timestamp position). The claim is considered obvious over Pi as modified by Ku and Tor as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Pi, Ku, and/or Tor to the modified device of Pi, Ku, and Tor; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 7
Pi in view of Ku in view of Tor teaches or suggests:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining, based on the subset of terms, a context of the barge-in utterance wherein determining the second output transcription is further based on the context of the barge-in utterance (Pi: Col 5:15-5:23; Fig 3: such as by speech recognition sufficient to generate a prompt based on at least the content of the recognized speech and additionally on parameters thereof); (Ku: Figs 16A-16Dsuch as directly wherein the system shifts context based on a user command corresponding thereto, e.g. change publication or section, tag, get status, etc.), (Tor: ¶ 28, 41, 45, 48; system determines intent of the user voice input and responds by executing a particular application, generating a relevant response, etc. such as by generating text for audio presentation based on a user request, intent thereof and with respect to data regarding an output of the system with respect to the user voice input such as by maintaining beginning and end points for items in the system output). The claim is considered obvious over Pi as modified by Ku and Tor as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Pi, Ku, and/or Tor to the modified device of Pi, Ku, and Tor; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 8
Pi in view of Ku in view of Tor teaches or suggests:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
assigning a corresponding playback timestamp to each respective term of the sequence of terms as the respective term is output from the assistant-enabled device (Pi: 4:45-4:65, 5:50-5:55, 6:49-55; Fig 3: such as by monitoring the waveform of the prompt output played with respect to a pause necessitated by a barge in signal); (Ku: ¶ 62, 63, 80, 162, 166, 167, 210 etc.; Fig 11, 16A-16D, etc.: such as by managing output and interrupt with respect to time based word boundary markers, timestamps, etc., such as to resume a paused media after responding to a user) and determining a barge-in timestamp of the barge-in utterance as the assistant- enabled device receives the barge-in utterance (Pi: 4:45-4:65, 5:50-5:55, 6:49-55; Fig 3: such as by monitoring the waveform of the prompt output played with respect to a pause necessitated by a barge in signal); (Ku: ¶ 62, 63, 80, 162, 166, 167, 210 etc.; Fig 11, 16A-16D, etc.: such as by managing output and interrupt with respect to time based word boundary markers, timestamps, etc., such as to resume a paused media after responding to a user). The claim is considered obvious over Pi as modified by Ku and Tor as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Pi, Ku, and/or Tor to the modified device of Pi, Ku, and Tor; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 9
Pi in view of Ku in view of Tor teaches or suggests:
The computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein identifying the subset of terms is further based on the corresponding playback timestamp of each respective term of the sequence of terms and the barge-in timestamp. Please see claim 1 supra and additionally: Pi: 4:45-4:65, 5:50-5:55, 6:49-55; Fig 3: such as by monitoring the waveform of the prompt output played with respect to a pause necessitated by a barge in signal; Ku: ¶ 62, 63, 80, 162, 166, 167, 210 etc.; Fig 11, 16A-16D, etc.: such as by managing output and interrupt with respect to time based word boundary markers, timestamps, etc., such as to resume a paused media after responding to a user; Tor: ¶ 28, 41, 45, 48; system determines intent of the user voice input and responds by executing a particular application, generating a relevant response, etc. such as by generating text for audio presentation based on a user request, intent thereof and with respect to data regarding an output of the system with respect to the user voice input such as by maintaining beginning and end points for items in the system output. The claim is considered obvious over Pi as modified by Ku and Tor as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Pi, Ku, and/or Tor to the modified device of Pi, Ku, and Tor; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 10
Pi in view of Ku in view of Tor teaches or suggests:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the barge-in utterance comprises a hotword-free utterance. Neither Pi, Ku nor Tor discuss hotword type commands in the user input, merely parameters, context, etc. Pi in view of Ku in view of Tor does not explicitly teach the system, method, etc. wherein the utterance does not contain hot words however Examiner considers such a solution obvious to try. Consider that Pi in view of Ku in view of Bae has recognized the need to contextually respond to a user based on context at the time of a user utterance and that the predictable solutions proffered by Pi and Bae rely on speech recognition and natural language understanding and the solution of Ku relies on a hotword oriented command structure. Therefore it would have been obvious to try to effect a system with one solution, i.e. a menu of commands, hot words, etc.; a separate solution, i.e. based on natural language understanding or indeed a hybrid system combining elements of both. Certainly one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation thereon. The claim is considered obvious over Pi as modified by Ku and Tor as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Pi, Ku, and/or Tor to the modified device of Pi, Ku, and Tor; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 11—the claim is considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 1 and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 12—the claim is considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 2 and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 13—the claim is considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 3 and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 15—the claim is considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 5 and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 16—the claim is considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 6 and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 17—the claim is considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 7 and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 18—the claim is considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 8 and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 19—the claim is considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 9 and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 20—the claim is considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 10 and is similarly rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in concert with claim amendments, see Remarks and Claims, filed 1/6/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 103 over Pi in view of Kulis in view of Baeuml have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pi, Kulis, and Torok.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL C MCCORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692