DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (Nano Energy 99 ‘2022’ 107424).
Considering claim 1-3, Yang discloses an electrochemical device comprising: an electrically-conductive structure including a TMCCC represented by Formula I - Na1.87Ni0.05Mn0.95[Fe(CN)6]0.98□0.02·4.06H2O as a positive electrode (see page 5 right column first full paragraph summarizing the use of Prussian Blue, PB, and Prussian Blue Analogues, PBA, as cathode materials of sodium-ion batteries, for example) and a negative electrode (see page 8 right column last full paragraph regarding NaTi2(PO4)3.
Na1.87Ni0.05Mn0.95[Fe(CN)6]0.98□0.02·4.06H2O on the instant claim where R(NC)6 includes a coordination complex of hexacyanoferrate (FeCN6), vac corresponds with □ identifying an R(CN)6 vacancy (see paragraph spanning pages 2 and 3). Further, b1 is 1.87, b2 is 0, b3 is 0, b4 is 0, and b5 is 0, and the claim limitations requiring that at least one set of alkali metal parameters {b1, b2} is > 0, for each element of the set {b1, b2, b3, b4, b5} excluding non-zero element of said set of alkali metal parameters, 0 ≤ {b1, b2, b3, b4, b5}, for each element of the set {b1, b2, b3, b4, b5}, {b1, b2, b3, b4, b5} ≤ 2, and b1 + b2 + b3 + b4 + b5 ≤ 2 are all met. Furthermore, a1, a2, a3, a5, a6, a8, a9, a10, and a11 are zero, a4 is 0.95 and a7 is 0.05, which reads on the claim limitations requiring that for each element of the set {a1, a2, a3, a4, a5, a6, a7, a8, a9, a10, a11}, 0 ≤ {a1, a2, a3, a4, a5, a6, a7, a8, a9, a10, a11} ≤ 1 and at least two of {a1, a2, a3, a4, a5, a6, a7, a8, a9, a10, a11} are > 0; Finally, c is 0.98, r is 0.02, and n is 4.06 which meets the claim limitations that 0 < c ≤ 1, 0 ≤ r ≤ 0.25, c + r = 1 and n > 0.
Since in Na1.87Ni0.05Mn0.95[Fe(CN)6]0.98□0.02·4.06H2O, the amount of Fe corresponding with a5 is zero, and Claim 3 allows for the values of d1 and d2 related to Fe(II), and Fe(III), respectively, to also be zero, this claim limitation is also met.
Considering claims 4-6, Yang also discloses K1.85Fe0.33Mn0.67[Fe(CN)6]0.98⋅0.77H2O (Table 3, page 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wessells et al. (US 20140308544 A1).
Considering claims 1-6, Wessells discloses an electrochemical device comprising: an electrically-conductive structure including a TMCCC represented by Formula I - AxPy[R(CN)6-jLj]z·nH2O as a anode and/or cathode [0016], where: A is a monovalent cation such as Na+, K+, Li+, or NH4+,P is a transition metal cation such as Ti3+, Ti4+, V2+, V3+, Cr2+, Cr3+, Mn2+, Mn3+, Fe2+, Fe3+, Co2+, Co3+, Ni2+, Cu+, Cu2+, or Zn2+; R is a transition metal cation such as V2+, V3+, Cr2+, Cr3+, Mn+, Mn2+, Mn3+, Fe2+, Fe3+, Co2+, Co3+, among others; L is a ligand that may be substituted in the place of a CN- ligand, including CO (carbonyl), NO (nitrosyl), or Cl-; 0 ≤ x ≤ 2; 0 ≤ y ≤ 4; 0 ≤ z ≤ 1; 0 ≤ j ≤ 6; and 0 ≤ n ≤ 5 [0016]. Wessells discloses the TMCCC have hexacyanometalate vacancies [0102], which are known to be represented as for example [R(CN)6]z, where z ≤ 1. Particular examples are CuHCF - K0.7Cu[Fe(CN)6]0.7·2.8H2O [0110] and MnHCMn – K0.4Mn[Mn(CN)6]0.6·nH2O, where 0<n<4 [0111].
Wessells teaches that A includes one or more cations and P includes one or more metal cations (claim 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have additional cations P in the TMCCC formula of Wessells, because Wessells discloses only two examples and generally teaches functional equivalents that can be one or more metal cations used for A such as Na+, K+ and for one or more metal cations P such as Fe2+, Fe3+, Mn2+, Mn3+, etc. The general formula of Wessells substantially overlaps the claimed formula I, which makes it obvious as functionally equivalent one for the same purpose of an electrode material.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wessells et al. (US 20140308544 A1).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wessells et al. (US 20140308544 A1).
Considering claim 7, Yang also discloses K1.85Fe0.33Mn0.67[Fe(CN)6]0.98⋅0.77H2O (Table 3, page 10).
Yang does not explicitly disclose that Fed5 includes both Fe(II) and Fe(III).
However, Wessells teaches that A includes one or more cations and P includes one or more metal cations (claim 2), where P includes Fe2+, Fe3+ [0111].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include both Fe2+, Fe3+ in the TMCCC formula of Wessells because Wessells teaches that one or more of the transition metal cations can be included where both Fe2+, Fe3+ can be present, which makes it obvious as functionally equivalent to be used for the same purpose in an electrode material with reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claims 8-10, Yang also discloses K1.85Fe0.33Mn0.67[Fe(CN)6]0.98⋅0.77H2O (Table 3, page 10).
Yang does not explicitly disclose Na and that Fed5 includes both Fe(II) and Fe(III).
However, Wessells teaches that A includes one or more cations and P includes one or more metal cations (claim 2), A is for example Na+, K+, where P includes Fe2+, Fe3+ [0111].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include both Na+, K+ for alkali metal and both Fe2+, Fe3+ in the TMCCC formula of Wessells because Wessells teaches that one or more of the transition metal cations can be included where both Fe2+, Fe3+ can be present, which makes it obvious as functionally equivalent to be used for the same purpose in an electrode material with reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yi et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2021, 31, 2006970).
Considering claim 7, Yang also discloses K1.85Fe0.33Mn0.67[Fe(CN)6]0.98⋅0.77H2O (Table 3, page 10).
Yang does not explicitly disclose that Fed5 includes both Fe(II) and Fe(III).
However, Yi teaches that when the transition metal M is Fe, Co, Mn etc. there exists two types of redox reaction sites, Fe2+/Fe3+ and M2+/M3+, leading to higher capacity delivery (page 8, last paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to that there will be both Fe2+ and Fe3+ in the TMCCC formula of Yang because Yi teaches that when the transition metal M is Fe, Co, Mn etc. there exists two types of redox reaction sites, Fe2+/Fe3+ and M2+/M3+, leading to higher capacity delivery.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wessells et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yi et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2021, 31, 2006970).
Considering claims 8-10, Wessells does not explicitly disclose both Na and K and that Fed5 includes both Fe(II) and Fe(III).
However, Wessells teaches that A includes one or more cations and P includes one or more metal cations (claim 2), A is for example Na+, K+, where P includes Fe2+, Fe3+ [0111].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include both Na+, K+ for alkali metal and both Fe2+, Fe3+ in the TMCCC formula of Wessells because Wessells teaches that one or more of the transition metal cations can be included where both Fe2+, Fe3+ can be present, which makes it obvious as functionally equivalent to be used for the same purpose in an electrode material with reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/WOJCIECH HASKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794