DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 03 March 2026. Claims 1,4, 6-8, 11-15, 17-20 are pending examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 6-8, 11-12, 14-15, 17-18, 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 11-12, 15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandra et al. (US 2024/0406801 A1) (hereinafter Rama) in view of Lee et al. (US 2024/0407046 A1) (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1 and 15, Rama-Lee teaches a user equipment (Rama, see fig. 6) / a method (Rama, see fig. 3-5), comprising:
Receiving radio resource control (RRC) signaling that configures a first measurement object and a second measurement object for an intra-frequency or inter-frequency measurement of a synchronization signal (SS) and physical
broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB) (Rama, fig. 3-fig. 5, Table 5, [0016]-[0017], [0041]-[0084], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0108], [0109]-[0112]: [0017] The measurement object contains applicable for Synchronization Signal (SS)/Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) block(s) intra/inter-frequency measurements and/or Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) intra/inter-frequency measurements. The content of the IEMeasObjectNR is depicted in FIG. 1. [0086] Embodiments of a method performed by a UE in a connected mode (e.g., Radio Resource Control (RRC) Connected mode) wherein the UE (optionally) receives priorities for different frequencies wherein the priorities indicate the frequencies whose measurements are expected to be sent first. Upon triggering a measurement report, the UE includes an indication (e.g., within the measurement report or in association with the measurement report), wherein the indication indicates whether the UE has already performed measurements on other configured frequencies or not. [0087] Consider an example in which both a first UE (UE1) and a second UE (UE2) are configured with measurements on a first frequency (F1), a second frequency (F2), and a third frequency (F3). UE1 performs measurement on F3 first and then on F2 and fails to find any cells on those frequencies. Then UE1 performs measurements on F1 and finds cells, thus sending a measurement report associated to F1. The measurement report includes an indication that the UE has already performed measurements on F2 and F3. Similarly, UE2 performs measurements on F2 first and then includes a measurement report associated to F2. Table 5, Rama teaches that measurement results are derived based on a reference signal type, and further teaches that SSB-based measurements are used when measurements are available.),
In response to a first reference signal transmission method being not indicated, performing a measurement of the SSB according to the first measurement object (Rama, fig. 3-fig. 5, Table 5, [0016]-[0017], [0041]-[0084], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0108], [0109]-[0112]: [0111] If UE-X is capable of including this indication in the measurement report, the indication related to the frequencies on which the measurements have been performed, upon receiving a measurement report on an inter-frequency measurement, the network node checks if all the higher priority related frequencies have already been measured by UE-X (step 508). If so, the network node transmits a handover request or dual connectivity setup request to a neighbor node without waiting for further measurement reports from UE-X (e.g., for a fixed duration) (step 510). If not, the network node waits for further measurement reports (e.g., for a fixed duration of time) before taking an action (step 506). Where the action may be a mobility event such as transmitting a handover request or to initiate setup of carrier aggregation or dual connectivity setup. Where setting up dual connectivity may comprise requesting a neighbor node to setup dual connectivity. Table 5, Rama teaches that measurement results are derived based on a reference signal type, and further teaches that SSB-based measurements are used when measurements are available.); and
In response to the first reference signal transmission method is indicated, performing the measurement of the SSB according to the second measurement object (Rama, fig. 3-fig. 5, Table 5, [0016]-[0017], [0041]-[0084], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0108], [0109]-[0112]: [0087] Consider an example in which both a first UE (UE1) and a second UE (UE2) are configured with measurements on a first frequency (F1), a second frequency (F2), and a third frequency (F3). UE1 performs measurement on F3 first and then on F2 and fails to find any cells on those frequencies. Then UE1 performs measurements on F1 and finds cells, thus sending a measurement report associated to F1. Table 5, Rama teaches that measurement results are derived based on a reference signal type, and further teaches that SSB-based measurements are used when measurements are available.)
Thus, Rama does not explicitly teach RRC signaling.
Similar to the system of Rama, Lee teaches signaling between a network entity and a UE, including transmission of positioning-related configuration information and signals, wherein the signaling is carried via control-plan protocols including RRC, which can be seen as, RRC signaling (Lee, fig. 9, fig. 13A and fig, 15, [0226]-[0266], [0267]-[0314]: [0240] Referring to FIG. 10, an LPP PDU may be transmitted through a NAS PDU between the MAF and the UE. The LPP may terminate a connection between a target device (e.g. UE in the control plane or SUPL Enabled Terminal (SET) in the user plane) and a location server (e.g. LMF in the control plane or SLP in the user plane). The LPP message may be delivered in the form of a transparent PDU through an intermediate network interface using an appropriate protocol such as NGAP through the NG-C interface, NAS/RRC through the LTE-Uu and NR-Uu interfaces. The LPP protocol enables positioning for NR and LTE based on various positioning methods. [0280] Referring to FIG. 14, in operation 2001 according to an exemplary embodiment, the location server and/or the LMF may transmit configuration information to the UE, and the UE may receive it. [0284] In operation 2007 according to an exemplary embodiment, the TRP may transmit a signal related to configuration information to the UE, and the UE may receive it. For example, the signal related to the configuration information may be a signal for positioning of the UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rama with Lee to improve the accuracy of location measurements by aligning transmission and measurement activities with UE active periods (Lee, [0305]).
Regarding claim 4, Rama teaches a user equipment (Rama, see fig. 6) according to claim 1, comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit a measurement report based on the measurement of the SSB according to the first measurement object or the second measurement object (Rama, fig. 3-fig. 5, Table 5, [0016]-[0017], [0041]-[0084], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0108], [0109]-[0112]: [0090] Step 302: The UE performs measurements in accordance with the received measurement configuration. In one embodiment, the UE performs measurements on at least one, but potentially more than one or even all, of the frequencies indicated by the received measurement configuration. [0091] Optional Step 304: The UE determines that a measurement report is to be transmitted. For example, in one embodiment, the UE determines that a triggering condition for transmitting a measurement report has occurred. Triggering conditions for sending measurement reports are well-known in the art and as such are not further described here. [0092] Step 306: The UE transmits a measurement report (e.g., to the first network node) that includes, in addition the performed measurements, information that indicates the frequency(ies) on which the UE has already performed measurements, e.g., responsive to determining that a measurement report is to be transmitted in step 304. Considering the example above, UE1 would transmit a measurement report that indicates frequencies F1, F2, and F3 as the frequencies on which UE1 has already performed measurements. In contrast, UE2 would transmit a measurement report that indicates that measurements have only been performed on F2. Table 5, Rama teaches that measurement results are derived based on a reference signal type, and further teaches that SSB-based measurements are used when measurements are available.). and (Lee, [0152]-[0160], [0219]-[0230], [0320]-[0340]:
Regarding claim 6, Rama-Lee teaches a user equipment (Rama, see fig. 6) according to claim 4, wherein:
the RRC signaling indicates a first report type and a second report type, the first report type being associated with the first measurement object, the second report type being associated with the second measurement object, the first report type or the second report type triggers transmitting the measurement report, and whether the first reference signal transmission method is indicated is used to determine whether the first report type or the second report type triggers the transmitting a first measurement report (Rama, fig. 3-fig. 5, Table 5, [0016]-[0017], [0041]-[0084], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0108], [0109]-[0112]: [0093] . For example, in one embodiment, the UE determines that a triggering condition for transmitting a measurement report has occurred. Triggering conditions for sending measurement reports are well-known in the art and as such are not further described here. The UE transmits a measurement report (e.g., to the first network node) that includes, in addition the performed measurements, information that indicates the frequency(ies) on which the UE has already performed measurements per the received measurement configuration and those that have higher priority than the measurement frequency(ies) that triggered the measurement report (step 406), e.g., responsive to determining that a measurement report is to be transmitted in step 404.;
on a condition that the first reference signal transmission method is indicated, the first report type triggers the transmitting the first measurement report, and on a condition that the first reference signal transmission method is not indicated, second report type triggers the transmitting the first measurement report (Rama, fig. 3-fig. 5, Table 5, [0016]-[0017], [0041]-[0084], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0108], [0109]-[0112]: [0091] Optional Step 304: The UE determines that a measurement report is to be transmitted. For example, in one embodiment, the UE determines that a triggering condition for transmitting a measurement report has occurred. Triggering conditions for sending measurement reports are well-known in the art and as such are not further described here. [0092] Step 306: The UE transmits a measurement report (e.g., to the first network node) that includes, in addition the performed measurements, information that indicates the frequency(ies) on which the UE has already performed measurements, e.g., responsive to determining that a measurement report is to be transmitted in step 304. Considering the example above, UE1 would transmit a measurement report that indicates frequencies F1, F2, and F3 as the frequencies on which UE1 has already performed measurements. In contrast, UE2 would transmit a measurement report that indicates that measurements have only been performed on F2.).
Thus, Rama does not explicitly teach RRC signaling.
Similar to the system of Rama, Lee teaches signaling between a network entity and a UE, including transmission of positioning-related configuration information and signals, wherein the signaling is carried via control-plan protocols including RRC, which can be seen as, RRC signaling (Lee, fig. 9, fig. 13A and fig, 15, [0226]-[0266], [0267]-[0314]: [0240] Referring to FIG. 10, an LPP PDU may be transmitted through a NAS PDU between the MAF and the UE. The LPP may terminate a connection between a target device (e.g. UE in the control plane or SUPL Enabled Terminal (SET) in the user plane) and a location server (e.g. LMF in the control plane or SLP in the user plane). The LPP message may be delivered in the form of a transparent PDU through an intermediate network interface using an appropriate protocol such as NGAP through the NG-C interface, NAS/RRC through the LTE-Uu and NR-Uu interfaces. The LPP protocol enables positioning for NR and LTE based on various positioning methods. [0280] Referring to FIG. 14, in operation 2001 according to an exemplary embodiment, the location server and/or the LMF may transmit configuration information to the UE, and the UE may receive it. [0284] In operation 2007 according to an exemplary embodiment, the TRP may transmit a signal related to configuration information to the UE, and the UE may receive it. For example, the signal related to the configuration information may be a signal for positioning of the UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rama with Lee to improve the accuracy of location measurements by aligning transmission and measurement activities with UE active periods (Lee, [0305]).
Regarding claim 7 and 17, Rama-Lee teaches a user equipment (Rama, see fig. 6) / a method (Rama, see fig. 3-5), wherein:
the RRC signaling indicates a third report type, the third report type being associated with the first measurement object and the second measurement object, respectively, and the third report type triggers the transmitting a first measurement report (Rama, fig. 3-fig. 5, Table 5, [0016]-[0017], [0041]-[0084], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0108], [0109]-[0112]: [0087] Consider an example in which both a first UE (UE1) and a second UE (UE2) are configured with measurements on a first frequency (F1), a second frequency (F2), and a third frequency (F3). UE1 performs measurement on F3 first and then on F2 and fails to find any cells on those frequencies. Then UE1 performs measurements on F1 and finds cells, thus sending a measurement report associated to F1. The measurement report includes an indication that the UE has already performed measurements on F2 and F3. Similarly, UE2 performs measurements on F2 first and then includes a measurement report associated to F2. In such a measurement report, there is no indication of other frequencies as the UE has not performed any measurements on other frequencies. [0091] Optional Step 304: The UE determines that a measurement report is to be transmitted. For example, in one embodiment, the UE determines that a triggering condition for transmitting a measurement report has occurred. Triggering conditions for sending measurement reports are well-known in the art and as such are not further described here.).
Thus, Rama does not explicitly teach RRC signaling.
Similar to the system of Rama, Lee teaches signaling between a network entity and a UE, including transmission of positioning-related configuration information and signals, wherein the signaling is carried via control-plan protocols including RRC, which can be seen as, RRC signaling (Lee, fig. 9, fig. 13A and fig, 15, [0226]-[0266], [0267]-[0314]: [0240] Referring to FIG. 10, an LPP PDU may be transmitted through a NAS PDU between the MAF and the UE. The LPP may terminate a connection between a target device (e.g. UE in the control plane or SUPL Enabled Terminal (SET) in the user plane) and a location server (e.g. LMF in the control plane or SLP in the user plane). The LPP message may be delivered in the form of a transparent PDU through an intermediate network interface using an appropriate protocol such as NGAP through the NG-C interface, NAS/RRC through the LTE-Uu and NR-Uu interfaces. The LPP protocol enables positioning for NR and LTE based on various positioning methods. [0280] Referring to FIG. 14, in operation 2001 according to an exemplary embodiment, the location server and/or the LMF may transmit configuration information to the UE, and the UE may receive it. [0284] In operation 2007 according to an exemplary embodiment, the TRP may transmit a signal related to configuration information to the UE, and the UE may receive it. For example, the signal related to the configuration information may be a signal for positioning of the UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rama with Lee to improve the accuracy of location measurements by aligning transmission and measurement activities with UE active periods (Lee, [0305]).
Regarding claim 8, Rama teaches a user equipment (Rama, see fig. 6) according to claim 1, wherein:
wherein the first reference signal transmission method is used to determine at least one of a downlink reception time or an uplink transmission time for a first cell, and the second measurement object indicates that a period of measurement for the first cell is a second period (Rama, fig. 3-fig. 5, Table 3, [0016]-[0017], [0041]-[0084], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0108], [0109]-[0112], [0123]-[0133], [0160]-[0180]: Table 3 from Rama teaches the measurement result of PSCell and each SCell, if any, and of the best neighbouring cell on each NR SCG serving frequency. measResultServingMOList Measured results of measured cells with reference signals indicated in the serving cell measurement objects including measurement results of SPCell, configured SCell(s) and best neighbouring cell within measured cells with reference signals indicated in on each serving cell measurement object. [0165] As an example of transmitting data via the OTT connection 1150, in step 1108, the host 1102 provides user data, which may be performed by executing a host application. In some embodiments, the user data is associated with a particular human user interacting with the UE 1106. In other embodiments, the user data is associated with a UE 1106 that shares data with the host 1102 without explicit human interaction. In step 1110, the host 1102 initiates a transmission carrying the user data towards the UE 1106. The host 1102 may initiate the transmission responsive to a request transmitted by the UE 1106. The request may be caused by human interaction with the UE 1106 or by operation of the client application executing on the UE 1106. The transmission may pass via the network node 1104 in accordance with the teachings of the embodiments described throughout this disclosure. Accordingly, in step 1112, the network node 1104 transmits to the UE 1106 the user data that was carried in the transmission that the host 1102 initiated, in accordance with the teachings of the embodiments described throughout this disclosure. In step 1114, the UE 1106 receives the user data carried in the transmission, which may be performed by a client application executed on the UE 1106 associated with the host application executed by the host 1102. [0133] Regardless of the type of sensor, a UE may provide an output of data captured by its sensors, through its communication interface 712, or via a wireless connection to a network node. Data captured by sensors of a UE can be communicated through a wireless connection to a network node via another UE. The output may be periodic (e.g., once every 15 minutes if it reports the sensed temperature), random (e.g., to even out the load from reporting from several sensors), in response to a triggering event (e.g., when moisture is detected an alert is sent), in response to a request (e.g., a user initiated request), or a continuous stream (e.g., a live video feed of a patient).).
Regarding claim 11, Rama teaches a user equipment (Rama, see fig. 6) according to claim 1, wherein:
wherein a reference signal resource indicated by the first measurement object and a reference signal resource indicated by the second measurement object are different, and each of the first measurement object and the second measurement object includes a first cell (Rama, fig. 3-fig. 5, Table 3, [0016]-[0017], [0041]-[0084], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0108], [0109]-[0112], [0123]-[0133], [0160]-[0180]: See above for paragraph [0133] and table 3).
Regarding claim 12 and 18, Rama-Lee teaches a user equipment (Rama, see fig. 6) / a method (Rama, see fig. 3-5), comprising:
the receiver is configured to receive second RRC signaling indicating the first reference signal transmission method, and in response to receiving the second RRC signaling, the UE is configured to perform the measurement only according to the first measurement object (Rama, fig. 3-fig. 5, Table 1, [0016]-[0017], [0041]-[0084], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0108], [0109]-[0112], [0123]-[0133], [0160]-[0180]:; and
the receiver is configured to receive third RRC signaling after the second RRC signaling, the third RRC signaling indicating a stop of the first reference signal transmission method, and in response to receiving the third RRC signaling, the UE is configured to perform the measurement according to the first measurement object (Rama, fig. 3-fig. 5, Table 1, [0016]-[0017], [0041]-[0084], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0108], [0109]-[0112], [0123]-[0133], [0160]-[0180]: [0087] Consider an example in which both a first UE (UE1) and a second UE (UE2) are configured with measurements on a first frequency (F1), a second frequency (F2), and a third frequency (F3). UE1 performs measurement on F3 first and then on F2 and fails to find any cells on those frequencies. Then UE1 performs measurements on F1 and finds cells, thus sending a measurement report associated to F1. The measurement report includes an indication that the UE has already performed measurements on F2 and F3. Similarly, UE2 performs measurements on F2 first and then includes a measurement report associated to F2. In such a measurement report, there is no indication of other frequencies as the UE has not performed any measurements on other frequencies.), and
the second RRC signaling and the third RRC signaling both transmitted via broadcast (Rama, fig. 3-fig. 5, Table 1, [0016]-[0017], [0041]-[0084], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0108], [0109]-[0112], [0123]-[0133], [0160]-[0180]: Rama teaches in table 1, that configuration information related to measurement is conveyed via broadcast system information, such as MIB and SIB messages transmitted on broadcast channels (PBCH)).
Thus, Rama does not explicitly teach RRC signaling.
Similar to the system of Rama, Lee teaches signaling between a network entity and a UE, including transmission of positioning-related configuration information and signals, wherein the signaling is carried via control-plan protocols including RRC, which can be seen as, RRC signaling (Lee, fig. 9, fig. 13A and fig, 15, [0226]-[0266], [0267]-[0314]: [0240] Referring to FIG. 10, an LPP PDU may be transmitted through a NAS PDU between the MAF and the UE. The LPP may terminate a connection between a target device (e.g. UE in the control plane or SUPL Enabled Terminal (SET) in the user plane) and a location server (e.g. LMF in the control plane or SLP in the user plane). The LPP message may be delivered in the form of a transparent PDU through an intermediate network interface using an appropriate protocol such as NGAP through the NG-C interface, NAS/RRC through the LTE-Uu and NR-Uu interfaces. The LPP protocol enables positioning for NR and LTE based on various positioning methods. [0280] Referring to FIG. 14, in operation 2001 according to an exemplary embodiment, the location server and/or the LMF may transmit configuration information to the UE, and the UE may receive it. [0284] In operation 2007 according to an exemplary embodiment, the TRP may transmit a signal related to configuration information to the UE, and the UE may receive it. For example, the signal related to the configuration information may be a signal for positioning of the UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rama with Lee to improve the accuracy of location measurements by aligning transmission and measurement activities with UE active periods (Lee, [0305]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 and 19-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tidestav et al. (US 2025/0047393 A1) abstract discloses Systems and methods for physical layer (L1) Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurement and reporting are disclosed. In one embodiment, a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) comprises performing L1-RSRP measurements for at least a subset of a first set of reference signals configured for L1-RSRP measurements, the subset of the first set of reference signals consisting of reference signals that are both in the first set of reference signals configured for L1-RSRP measurements and in a second set of reference signals identified during Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurements performed by the UE. The method further comprises reporting the L1-RSRP measurements only for the subset of the first set of reference signals configured for L1-RSRP measurements (See fig. 4 and fig. 7).
Ramachandra et al. (US 2025/0048202 A1) abstract discloses methods for user equipment (UE) to provide successful handover reports to a radio access network (RAN). Such methods include receiving, from the RAN, a configuration for successful handover reporting (SHR) by the UE. The SHR configuration includes a single supervision timer threshold that is associated with all measurement objects configured for the UE. Such methods include, upon transmitting to the RAN a measurement report associated with a first one of the measurement objects, initiating a supervision timer based on an initial time value associated with the first measurement object. Such methods include, based on receiving from the RAN a handover command to a target cell, determining whether time elapsed from the supervision timer exceeds the supervision timer threshold included in the SHR configuration and transmitting a successful handover report to the RAN based on determining that the time elapsed exceeds the supervision timer threshold (see fig. 5-7).
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468