DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
After further consideration after the interview the examiner no longer considers the proposed examiner amendments to put the application in condition for allowance. Due to the breadth of “portion” further defining the portions as spaced from one another would not define over the prior art. The proposed examiner amendments have not been entered.
Claim Objections
The previous claim objections have been overcome by the present amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous 112 rejections have been overcome however other issues have become apparent.
Claims 2-6 and 12-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 2-5 and 12-15, it’s unclear how the first sensor and second sensor share the same first status signal and second status signal. Although the spec states the first status signal is an ON signal and the second status signal is an OFF signal, these are two separate sensors and thus would have separate signals. For the purposes of examination, the first sensor and second sensor are assumed to have separate first and second status signals.
In regards to claims 3 and 13, the final recitation of “when the first sensor outputs the second status signal, the first status signal and the second status signal in sequence, the motor stops” is unclear. The limitation appears to be a redundant repetition of the first instance. From the examiner understanding of the specification as best understood the limitation is assumed to be during the transmission gear’s rotation in the second direction.
In regards to claims 5 and 15, the final recitation of “when the first sensor outputs the second status signal, the first status signal and the second status signal in sequence, the motor stops” is unclear. The limitation appears to be a redundant repetition of the first instance. From the examiner understanding of the specification as best understood the limitation is assumed to be during the transmission gear’s rotation in the first direction.
In regards to claims 6 and 16, “the first characteristic portion”, “the first relative portion”, and “the second characteristic portion”, and “the second relative portion” lack antecedent basis in the claim. Previously only a plurality of these portions were introduced. Thus, it’s unclear if the applicant intends to claim that the plurality of these portions are concave/convex or if only a single portion of the plurality is. For the purposes of examination, the former is assumed.
In further regards to claims 9 and 19, the claims recites the limitations "the second status signal" and “the first status signal”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further it’s unclear if the applicant intended the claims to depend on a claim which introduces these terms or for these terms to be introduced in these claims. For the purposes of examination, the latter is assumed and the first instances of "the second status signal" and “the first status signal” are assumed to read "a second status signal" and “a first status signal”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 11-12 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ainley et al. US 20190218824 A1 (hereinafter Ainley) in view of Shen US 20190383061 A1 (hereinafter Shen).
In regards to claim 1, Ainley teaches the electronic lock comprising: a motor (72); a transmission gear (110) connected to the motor, the transmission gear having a first geometric structure (body of 110, 120 , and 130) , the first geometric structure comprising a plurality of first characteristic portions (see reference image 1) and a plurality of first relative portions (other portion of the body of 110; see for instance reference image 1) of symmetrically arranged (see reference image 1; the image is not to scale but to simply illiterate due to the breadth of “portion” the portions can be denied in a way they are symmetrically arranged relative to an axis); a transmission shaft (62) rotatably connected to the transmission gear, the transmission shaft having a second geometric structure (a body of 62), the second geometric structure comprising a plurality of second characteristic portions and a plurality of second relative portions symmetrically arranged (see reference image 2; the image is not to scale but to simply illiterate due to the breadth of “portion” the portions can be denied in a way they are symmetrically arranged relative to an axis); a first sensor (170) disposed with respect to the first geometric structure, the first sensor sensing a position of the transmission gear through the first geometric structure (see para 15); and a second sensor (150) disposed with respect to the second geometric structure, the second sensor sensing a position of the transmission shaft through the second geometric structure (para 15); wherein the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate according to sensing results of the first sensor and the second sensor (see para 15); wherein, when the electronic lock is locked, a bolt (40) is in a locked position (see fig 4); wherein, when the motor receives an unlock command, the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate along a first direction, and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate along the first direction to move the bolt from the locked position to an unlocked position, such that the electronic lock is unlocked (see para 21); wherein, after the electronic lock is unlocked and before the motor receives a lock command, the motor stops and then drives the transmission gear to rotate along a second direction, and the bolt remains in the unlocked position (para 26); wherein the first direction is opposite to the second direction (see para 26).
However, Ainley is silent on the structure of the connection between 110 and 160 although operationally its described in para 16. Therefore Ainley does not teach a first transmission structure, a second transmission structure the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure having curved surfaces with substantially similar curves, the second transmission structure being located between two side walls of the first transmission structure the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate by pushing the second transmission structure through one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure.
Shen teaches a similar device with a first transmission structure (walls of 5.1), a second transmission structure (walls of 6.1) the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure having curved surfaces with substantially similar curves (outer walls of 6.1 and inner walls of 5.1 of substantially similar curves), the second transmission structure being located between two side walls of the first transmission structure (pushing walls, see fig 12) the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate by pushing the second transmission structure through one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure (see figs 12-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Ainley with a first and second transmission structure such as in Shen in order to provide a clutch with high practicability, good hand feeling in operation, and no interference with the stability of power supply, with simple structure, simple control logic and low design cost (see Shen para 5)
Reference image 1
Reference image 2
In regards to claim 2, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Ainley in view of Shen teaches the electronic lock of claim 1, wherein, when one of the plurality of first characteristic portions (Ainley: portion of 120) moves to a position corresponding to the first sensor, the first sensor outputs a first status signal (Ainley: when 170 indicates home); wherein, when one of the plurality of first relative portions moves to a position corresponding to the first sensor, the first sensor outputs a second status signal (not indicating home); wherein, when one of the plurality of second characteristic portions moves to a position corresponding to the second sensor, the second sensor outputs the first status signal (indicating locked or unlocked); wherein, when one of the plurality of second relative portions moves to a position corresponding to the second sensor, the second sensor outputs the second status signal (not indicating locked or unlocked; see Ainley: para 19).
In regards to claim 6, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Ainley In view of Shen teaches the electronic lock of claim 2, wherein one of the first characteristic portion and the first relative portion is a convex portion (see reference image 1; the first characteristic portion being convex), the other one of the first characteristic portion and the first relative portion is a concave portion (see reference image 1), one of the second characteristic portion and the second relative portion is a convex portion (see reference image 2; the second characteristic portion being convex), and the other one of the second characteristic portion and the second relative portion is a concave portion (see reference image 2).
In regards to claim 7, Ainley In view of Shen teaches the electronic lock of claim 1, wherein, when the electronic lock is locked or unlocked, the second transmission structure abuts against one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure and is separated from the other one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure (See Shen fig 19 at least when initially driving).
In regards to claim 8, Ainley in view of Shen teaches the electronic lock of claim 1, further comprising a turnpiece (Ainley: 200), wherein the turnpiece has a non-circular shaft portion (Ainley: see fig 3), the transmission shaft has a non-circular hole (portion for too see fig 3), and the non-circular shaft portion is inserted into the non-circular hole (Ainley: see fig 3).
In regards to claim 9, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Ainley in view of Shen teaches the electronic lock of claim 8, wherein, when the electronic lock is unlocked and the turnpiece drives the transmission shaft to rotate, the electronic lock is locked and the second sensor outputs the second status signal (Ainley when not pressed; moving from the unlocked to the locked position) and the first status signal in sequence (Ainley: locked, para 19, see figs 4-5); wherein, when the electronic lock is locked and the turnpiece drives the transmission shaft to rotate, the electronic lock is unlocked and the second sensor outputs the first status signal and the second status signal in sequence (Ainley: when moving from figs 5 to 4).
In regards to claim 11, Ainley teaches the driving method of an electronic lock, the electronic lock comprising a motor (72), a transmission gear (110), a transmission shaft (62), a first sensor (170) and a second sensor (150), the transmission gear having a first geometric structure body of (110, 120 , and 130), the first geometric structure comprising a plurality of first characteristic portions (see reference image 1) and a plurality of first relative portions symmetrically arranged (other portion of the body of 110; see for instance reference image 1), the transmission shaft having a second geometric structure, the second geometric structure comprising a plurality of second characteristic portions and a plurality of second relative portions symmetrically arranged (see reference image 2; the image is not to scale but to simply illiterate due to the breadth of “portion” the portions can be denied in a way they are symmetrically arranged relative to an axis), the first sensor being disposed with respect to the first geometric structure, the second sensor being disposed with respect to the second geometric structure (see fig 1), the driving method of the electronic lock comprising steps of: the first sensor sensing a position of the transmission gear through the first geometric structure, and the second sensor sensing a position of the transmission shaft through the second geometric structure (see fig 1); the motor driving the transmission gear to rotate according to sensing results of the first sensor and the second sensor (see para 15); and the transmission gear driving the transmission shaft to rotate, so as to lock or unlock the electronic lock (see figs 1 and 2); wherein: when the electronic lock is locked, a bolt is in a locked position; when the motor receives an unlock command, the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate along a first direction, and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate along the first direction to move the bolt from the locked position to an unlocked position, such that the electronic lock is unlocked (see para 21); and after the electronic lock is unlocked and before the motor receives a lock command, the motor stops and then drives the transmission gear to rotate along a second direction (para 26), and the bolt remains in the unlocked position, wherein the first direction is opposite to the second direction (para 26).
However, Ainley is silent on the structure of the connection between 110 and 160 although operationally its described in para 16. Therefore Ainley does not teach a first transmission structure, a second transmission structure the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure having curved surfaces with substantially similar curves, the second transmission structure being located between two side walls of the first transmission structure the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate by pushing the second transmission structure through one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure.
Shen teaches a similar device with a first transmission structure (walls of 5.1), a second transmission structure (walls of 6.1) the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure having curved surfaces with substantially similar curves (outer walls of 6.1 and inner walls of 5.1 of substantially similar curves), the second transmission structure being located between two side walls of the first transmission structure (pushing walls, see fig 12) the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate by pushing the second transmission structure through one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure (see figs 12-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Ainley with a first and second transmission structure such as in Shen in order to provide a clutch with high practicability, good hand feeling in operation, and no interference with the stability of power supply, with simple structure, simple control logic and low design cost (see Shen para 5).
In regards to claim 12, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Ainley in view of Shen teaches the driving method of the electronic lock of claim 1, wherein, when one of the plurality of first characteristic portions (Ainley: 120) moves to a position corresponding to the first sensor, the first sensor outputs a first status signal (Ainley: when 170 indicates home); when one of the plurality of first relative portions moves to a position corresponding to the first sensor, the first sensor outputs a second status signal (not indicating home); , when one of the plurality of second characteristic portions moves to a position corresponding to the second sensor, the second sensor outputs the first status signal (indicating locked or unlocked); and when one of the plurality of second relative portions moves to a position corresponding to the second sensor, the second sensor outputs the second status signal (not indicating locked or unlocked; Ainley: see para 19).
In regards to claim 16, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Ainley In view of Shen teaches driving method of the electronic lock of claim 12, wherein one of the first characteristic portion and the first relative portion is a convex portion (see reference image 1; the first characteristic portion being convex), the other one of the first characteristic portion and the first relative portion is a concave portion (see reference image 1), one of the second characteristic portion and the second relative portion is a convex portion (see reference image 2; the second characteristic portion being convex), and the other one of the second characteristic portion and the second relative portion is a concave portion (see reference image 2).
In regards to claim 17, Ainley in view of Shen teaches the driving method of the electronic lock of claim 11, further comprising steps of: when the electronic lock is locked or unlocked, the second transmission structure abuts against one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure and is separated from the other one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure (See Shen fig 19 at least when initially driving).
In regards to claim 18, Ainley in view of Shen driving method of the electronic lock of claim 18, wherein the electronic lock further comprises a turnpiece (Ainley: 200), the turnpiece has a non-circular shaft portion (Ainley: see fig 3), the transmission shaft has a non-circular hole (Ainley: portion for too see fig 3), and the non-circular shaft portion is inserted into the non-circular hole (Ainley: see fig 3).
In regards to claim 19, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Ainley in view of Shen teaches driving method of the electronic lock of claim 18, wherein, when the electronic lock is unlocked and the turnpiece drives the transmission shaft to rotate, the electronic lock is locked and the second sensor outputs the second status signal (Ainley when not pressed; moving from the unlocked to the locked position) and the first status signal in sequence (Ainley: locked, see para 19 and figs 4-5); wherein, when the electronic lock is locked and the turnpiece drives the transmission shaft to rotate, the electronic lock is unlocked and the second sensor outputs the first status signal and the second status signal in sequence (Ainley: when moving from figs 5 to 4).
Claim(s) 1, 10-11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frolov et al. US 20160258189 A1 (hereinafter Frolov) in view of Shen.
In regards to claim 1, Frolov teaches an electronic lock comprising :a motor (41); a transmission gear (34) connected to the motor, the transmission gear having a first transmission structure (portion with 43A and 43B) and a first geometric structure (portion with 42), the first geometric structure comprising a plurality of first characteristic portions and a plurality of first relative portions symmetrically arranged (see reference image 3); a transmission shaft (36 and 37) rotatably connected to the transmission gear, the transmission shaft having a second transmission structure (48) and a second geometric structure (36), the second geometric structure comprising a plurality of second characteristic portions and a plurality of second relative portions symmetrically arranged (see reference image 4), the second transmission structure being located between two side walls of the first transmission structure (see fig 11); a first sensor (44) disposed with respect to the first geometric structure, the first sensor sensing a position of the transmission gear through the first geometric structure (see fig 12); and a second sensor (39A and/or 39B) disposed with respect to the second geometric structure, the second sensor sensing a position of the transmission shaft through the second geometric structure (see fig 12); wherein the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate according to sensing results of the first sensor and the second sensor (see paras 34 and 35), and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate by pushing the second transmission structure through one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure (see fig 11); wherein, when the electronic lock is locked, a bolt is in a locked position (see para 40); wherein, when the motor receives an unlock command, the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate along a first direction, and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate along the first direction to move the bolt from the locked position to an unlocked position, such that the electronic lock is unlocked (see fig 11 and para 33); wherein, after the electronic lock is unlocked and before the motor receives a lock command, the motor stops and then drives the transmission gear to rotate along a second direction, and the bolt remains in the unlocked position; wherein the first direction is opposite to the second direction (see para 35).
However, Frolov does not teach the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure having curved surfaces with substantially similar curves.
Shen teaches a first transmission structure and a second transmission structure having curved surfaces with substantially similar curves (outer walls of 6.1 and inner walls of 5.1 of substantially similar curves).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have second transmission structure to have a substantially similar curve to the first transmission structure such as in Shen as doing so would amount to a change in shape and involve only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 IV B).
Reference image 3
Reference image 4
In regards to claim 10, Frolov in view of Shen teaches the electronic lock of claim 1, wherein the first sensor and the second sensor are contact sensors (Frolov: see fig 11).
In regards to claim 11, Frolov teaches a driving method of an electronic lock, the electronic lock comprising a motor (41), a transmission gear (34), a transmission shaft (36 and 37), a first sensor (44) and a second sensor (39A and/or 39B), the transmission gear having a first transmission structure (portion with 43A and 43B) and a first geometric structure (portion with 32), the first geometric structure comprising a plurality of first characteristic portions and a plurality of first relative portions symmetrically arranged (see reference image 3), the transmission shaft having a second transmission structure (48) and a second geometric structure (36), the second geometric structure comprising a plurality of second characteristic portions and a plurality of second relative portions symmetrically arranged (see reference image 4), the second transmission structure being located between two side walls of the first transmission structure (see fig 11), the first sensor being disposed with respect to the first geometric structure, the second sensor being disposed with respect to the second geometric structure, the driving method of the electronic lock comprising steps of: the first sensor sensing a position of the transmission gear through the first geometric structure, and the second sensor sensing a position of the transmission shaft through the second geometric structure (see paras 34 and 35); the motor driving the transmission gear to rotate according to sensing results of the first sensor and the second sensor (see paras 34 and 35); and the transmission gear driving the transmission shaft to rotate by pushing the second transmission structure through one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure, so as to lock or unlock the electronic lock (see fig 11 and para 33); wherein: when the electronic lock is locked, a bolt is in a locked position; when the motor receives an unlock command, the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate along a first direction, and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate along the first direction to move the bolt from the locked position to an unlocked position, such that the electronic lock is unlocked (see fig 11 and para 33); and after the electronic lock is unlocked and before the motor receives a lock command, the motor stops and then drives the transmission gear to rotate along a second direction, and the bolt remains in the unlocked position ,wherein the first direction is opposite to the second direction (see para 35).
However, Frolov does not teach the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure having curved surfaces with substantially similar curves.
Shen teaches a first transmission structure and a second transmission structure having curved surfaces with substantially similar curves (outer walls of 6.1 and inner walls of 5.1 of substantially similar curves).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have second transmission structure to have a substantially similar curve to the first transmission structure such as in Shen as doing so would amount to a change in shape and involve only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 IV B).
In regards to claim 20, Frolov in view of Shen teaches the driving method of the electronic lock of claim 11, wherein the first sensor and the second sensor are contact sensors (Frolov: see fig 11).
Allowable Subject Matter
If properly written to overcome 112 rejections claims 3-5 and 13-15 would be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675