DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner respectfully disagrees Moon does not teach “the the electronic lock is unlocked, the motor stops and then drives the transmission gear to rotate along a second direction, and the bolt remains in the unlocked position”. Moon teaches the motor stopping a and then rotating in as second direction once an lock command is received and the bolt remains in the unlocked position since during at least a part of the rotation of the transmission gear (such as from Figs 19a to 19c), there is enough play in the system such that the bolt isn’t moved. The examiner recognizes the differences argued by the applicant however these differences are not required by the claim. The examiner would also like to note that in the instant application the motor is reversed in the second direction to prevent interference with manual actuation of the turn piece. Moon does not teach this.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: ““the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate along the first direction, and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate along the first direction, such that the electronic lock is unlocked” should be omitted as they are redundant repetitions of limitations present in the independent claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In regards to claims 1 and 11 “the identical circle be able to be drawn including a point on each of the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure” is new matter.
Claim 9-10 and 12-20 are rejected due to their dependencies on the rejected claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The previous 112 rejections have been overcome by the present amendments. However new issues have arisen.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 1 and 11, “an identical circle, the identical circle be able to be drawn including a point on each of the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure” is unclear. It’s unclear if the “identical circle” is a physical element or a part of a functional limitation. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is assumed to be a functional limitation requiring the “first transmission structure and the second transmission structure” to be located on a conceptual circle.
Claim 9-10 and 12-20 are rejected due to their dependencies on the rejected claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon et al. US 20170122007 A1 (hereinafter Moon).
In regards to claim 1, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Moon teaches an electronic lock comprising: a motor (222); a transmission gear (320) connected to the motor, the transmission gear having a first transmission structure (336) and a first geometric structure (330 and space between 330), the first geometric structure comprising a plurality of first characteristic portions (330) and a plurality of first relative portions (space between 330) symmetrically arranged (see fig 7); a transmission shaft (340, 360 and 380) rotatably connected to the transmission gear, the transmission shaft having a second transmission structure (347) and a second geometric structure (365 and space between 365), the second geometric structure comprising a plurality of second characteristic portions (365) and a plurality of second relative portions (space between 365) symmetrically arranged (see fig 9), the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure being located on an identical circle (see fig 15a), the identical circle be able to be drawn including a point on each of the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure (see fig 15a) the second transmission structure being located between two side walls of the first transmission structure (see fig 7); a first sensor (401 and/or 404) disposed with respect to the first geometric structure, the first sensor sensing a position of the transmission gear through the first geometric structure (see fig 16); and a second sensor (402 and/or 403) disposed with respect to the second geometric structure, the second sensor sensing a position of the transmission shaft through the second geometric structure (see fig 16); wherein the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate according to sensing results of the first sensor and the second sensor (see paras 80-82), and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate by pushing the second transmission structure through one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure (see fig 16) wherein, when the electronic lock is locked (para 102), a bolt (para 132) is in a locked position (para 53); wherein, when the motor receives an unlock command (para 90), the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate along a first direction (clockwise see fig 16), and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate along the first direction (see fig 17) to move the bolt from the locked position to an unlocked position , such that the electronic lock is unlocked (para 90); wherein, after the electronic lock is unlocked, the motor stops (para 96) and then drives the transmission gear to rotate along a second direction (counterclockwise once a locking command is received;), and the bolt remains in the unlocked position (at least during a portion as 336 wouldn’t rotate 347 for a portion; such as from Figs 19a to 19c; also note para 69); wherein the first direction is opposite to the second direction (clockwise v counterclockwise).
In regards to claim 2, Moon teaches the electronic lock of claim 1, wherein, when one of the plurality of first characteristic portions moves to a position corresponding to the first sensor, the first sensor outputs a first status signal (contacted, see fig 16C); wherein, when one of the plurality of first relative portions moves to a position corresponding to the first sensor, the first sensor outputs a second status signal (uncontacted, see fig 16a); wherein, when one of the plurality of second characteristic portions moves to a position corresponding to the second sensor, the second sensor outputs the first status signal (contacted; see fig 16a); wherein, when one of the plurality of second relative portions moves to a position corresponding to the second sensor, the second sensor outputs the second status signal (uncontacted; see fig 16e).
In regards to claim 3, Moon teaches the electronic lock of claim 2, wherein, when the electronic lock is locked (see fig 20f para 103), the second sensor outputs the first status signal (see fig 20f, para 103); wherein, when the motor receives an unlock command (para 90), the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate along the first direction (clockwise see fig 16), and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate along the first direction (see fig 17), such that the electronic lock is unlocked; wherein, when the first sensor outputs the second status signal (see fig 17a), the first status signal (see fig 17c) and the second status signal (see fig 17e) in sequence, the motor stops (para 96) and then drives the transmission gear to rotate along the second direction (counterclockwise once a locking command is received); wherein, when the first sensor outputs the second status signal (see fig 17a), the first status signal (see fig 17c) and the second status signal in sequence (see fig 17e), the motor stops (see fig 17).
In regards to claim 4, Moon teaches the electronic lock of claim 2, wherein, when the electronic lock is unlocked (when moving to fig 17f; para 96; note “unlocked” can be a verb), the second sensor outputs the second status signal (see fig 16b); wherein, when the motor receives a lock command (para 102), the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate along the second direction (counterclockwise), and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate along the second direction (see fig 19), such that the electronic lock is locked (para 102); wherein, when the second sensor outputs the second status signal (see fig 20c) and the first status signal in sequence (see fig 20e), the motor stops (para 103) and then drives the transmission gear to rotate along the first direction (when an unlocked command is received); wherein, when the first sensor outputs the second status signal (see fig 20a), the first status signal (see fig 20c) and the second status signal (see fig 20e) in sequence, the motor stops (para 103).
In regards to claim 5, Moon teaches the electronic lock of claim 2, wherein, when the electronic lock is unlocked note “unlocked” can be a verb), the second sensor outputs the second status signal (see fig 16f); wherein, when the motor receives a lock command (para 102), the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate along the second direction (counterclockwise), and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate along the second direction (see figs 19-20), such that the electronic lock is locked; wherein, when the first sensor outputs the second status signal (see fig 20a), the first status signal (see fig 20c) and the second status signal in sequence (see fig 20e), the motor stops (para 103) and then drives the transmission gear to rotate along the first direction (when a unlocking command is received); wherein, when the first sensor outputs the second status signal (see fig 20a), the first status signal (see fig 20c) and the second status signal (see fig 20e) in sequence, the motor stops (para 103).
In regards to claim 6, Moon teaches the electronic lock of claim 2, wherein one of the first characteristic portion and the first relative portion is a convex portion (characteristic is convex see fig 7), the other one of the first characteristic portion and the first relative portion is a concave portion (see fig 7), one of the second characteristic portion and the second relative portion is a convex portion (see fig 9 second characteristic is convex), and the other one of the second characteristic portion and the second relative portion is a concave portion (see fig 9).
In regards to claim 7, Moon teaches the electronic lock of claim 1, wherein, when the electronic lock is locked or unlocked, the second transmission structure abuts against one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure and is separated from the other one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure (see fig 16c).
In regards to claim 8, Moon teaches the electronic lock of claim 1, further comprising a turnpiece (154), wherein the turnpiece has a non-circular shaft portion (see fig 1), the transmission shaft has a non-circular hole (see fig 15), and the non-circular shaft portion is inserted into the non-circular hole (see fig 15).
In regards to claim 9, Moon teaches the electronic lock of claim 8, wherein, when the electronic lock is unlocked (such as in fig 17e) and the turnpiece drives the transmission shaft to rotate (para 61) , the electronic lock is locked and the second sensor outputs the second status signal (since it’s removed like in fig 19f) and the first status signal (such as in fig 16a) in sequence; wherein, when the electronic lock is locked and the turnpiece drives the transmission shaft to rotate, the electronic lock is unlocked and the second sensor outputs the first status signal (such as from fig 16a) and the second status signal in sequence (such as in fig 16e).
In regards to claim 10, Moon teaches the electronic lock of claim 1, wherein the first sensor and the second sensor are contact sensors (see fig 12).
In regards to claim 11, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Moon teaches a driving method of an electronic lock, the electronic lock comprising a motor (222), a transmission gear (230), a transmission shaft (340, 360, and 380), a first sensor (401 and/or 404) and a second sensor (402 and/or 403), the transmission gear having a first transmission structure (336) and a first geometric structure (330 and space between 330), the first geometric structure comprising a plurality of first characteristic portions (330) and a plurality of first relative portions (space between 330) symmetrically arranged, the transmission shaft having a second transmission structure (347) and a second geometric structure (365 and space between 365), the second geometric structure comprising a plurality of second characteristic portions (365) and a plurality of second relative portions (space between 365) symmetrically arranged (see fig 9), the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure being located on an identical circle (see fig 15a) the identical circle be able to be drawn including a point on each of the first transmission structure and the second transmission structure (see fig 15a), the second transmission structure being located between two side walls of the first transmission structure (see fig 7), the first sensor being disposed with respect to the first geometric structure, the second sensor being disposed with respect to the second geometric structure (see figs 16-17), the driving method of the electronic lock comprising steps of the first sensor sensing a position of the transmission gear through the first geometric structure, and the second sensor sensing a position of the transmission shaft through the second geometric structure (see figs 16-17, 19-20 and paras 80-82); the motor driving the transmission gear to rotate according to sensing results of the first sensor and the second sensor (paras 80-82); and the transmission gear driving the transmission shaft to rotate by pushing the second transmission structure through one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure, so as to lock or unlock the electronic lock (see figs 16-17 and 19-20) wherein: when the electronic lock is locked (para 102), a bolt (para 132) is in a locked position (para 53); when the motor receives an unlock command (para 90), the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate along a first direction (clockwise see fig 16), and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate along the first direction (see fig 17) to move the bolt from the locked position to an unlocked position, such that the electronic lock is unlocked (para 90); and after the electronic lock is unlocked, the motor stops (para 96) and then drives the transmission gear to rotate along a second direction (counterclockwise once a locking command is received), and the bolt remains in the unlocked position (at least during a portion as 336 wouldn’t rotate 347 for a portion; such as from Figs 19a to 19c; also note para 69), wherein the first direction is opposite to the second direction (clockwise v counterclockwise).
In regards to claim 12, Moon teaches the driving method of the electronic lock of claim 11, further comprising steps of: when one of the plurality of first characteristic portions moves to a position corresponding to the first sensor, the first sensor outputs a first status signal (contacted see fig 16C); when one of the plurality of first relative portions moves to a position corresponding to the first sensor, the first sensor outputs a second status signal (uncontacted see fig 16a); when one of the plurality of second characteristic portions moves to a position corresponding to the second sensor, the second sensor outputs the first status signal (contacted; see fig 16a); and when one of the plurality of second relative portions moves to a position corresponding to the second sensor, the second sensor outputs the second status signal (uncontacted; see fig 16e).
In regards to claim 13, Moon teaches the driving method of the electronic lock of (currently amended): The driving method of the electronic lock of further comprising steps of: when the electronic lock is locked (see fig 20f and para 103), the second sensor outputs the first status signal (see fig 20f, para 103); when the motor receives an unlock command (para 90), the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate along the first direction (clockwise see fig 16), and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate along the first direction (see fig 17), such that the electronic lock is unlocked (para 96); when the first sensor outputs the second status signal (see fig 17a), the first status signal (see fig 17c) and the second status signal in sequence (see fig 17e), the motor stops (see fig 17, para 96) and thenstatus signal (see fig 17c) and the second status signal in sequence (see fig 17e), the motor stops (para 96).
In regards to claim 14, Moon teaches the driving method of the electronic lock of the electronic lock of further comprising steps of: when the electronic lock is unlocked (moved to fig 17f; note “unlocked” can be a verb), the second sensor outputs the second status signal (see fig 16b); when the motor receives a lock command (para 102), the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate along the second direction (counterclockwise), and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate along the second direction (see fig 19), such that the electronic lock is locked (para 102); when the second sensor outputs the second status signal (see fig 20c) and the first status signal (see fig 20e) in sequence, the motor stops (para 103) and then drives the transmission gear to rotate along the first direction (Clockwise; when an unlocked command is received), (clockwise vs counterclockwise); and when the first sensor outputs the second status signal (see fig 20a), the first status signal (see fig 20c) and the second status signal (see fig 20e) in sequence, the motor stops (para 103).
In regards to claim 15, Moon teaches the driving method of the electronic lock further comprising steps of: when the electronic lock is unlocked (note “unlocked” can be a verb), the second sensor outputs the second status signal (see fig 16f); when the motor receives a lock command (para 102), the motor drives the transmission gear to rotate along the second direction (counterclockwise), and the transmission gear drives the transmission shaft to rotate along the second direction (see fig 19), such that the electronic lock is locked (para 102); when the first sensor outputs the second status signal (see fig 20c), the first status signal (see fig 20c) and the second status signal in sequence (see fig 20e), the motor stops and then drives the transmission gear to rotate along the first direction (when a unlocking command is received); and when the first sensor outputs the second status signal (see fig 20a), the first status signal (see fig 20c) and the second status signal in sequence (see fig 20e), the motor stops (para 103).
In regards to claim 16, Moon teaches the driving method of the electronic lock of claim 12, wherein one of the first characteristic portion and the first relative portion is a convex portion (characteristic is convex see fig 7), the other one of the first characteristic portion and the first relative portion is a concave portion (see fig 7), one of the second characteristic portion and the second relative portion is a convex portion (see fig 9 second characteristic is convex), and the other one of the second characteristic portion and the second relative portion is a concave portion (see fig 9).
In regards to claim 17, Moon teaches the driving method of the electronic lock of claim 11, wherein, when the electronic lock is locked or unlocked, the second transmission structure abuts against one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure and is separated from the other one of the two side walls of the first transmission structure (see fig 16c).
In regards to claim 18, Moon teaches the driving method of the electronic lock of claim 11, wherein the electronic lock further comprises a turnpiece (154), the turnpiece has a non-circular shaft portion (see fig 1), the transmission shaft has a non-circular hole (see fig 15), and the non-circular shaft portion is inserted into the non-circular hole (see fig 15).
In regards to claim 19, Moon teaches the driving method of the electronic lock of claim 18, wherein, when the electronic lock is unlocked (such as in fig 17e) and the turnpiece drives the transmission shaft to rotate (para 61), the electronic lock is locked and the second sensor outputs the second status signal (since it is removed like in fig 19f) and the first status signal (such as in fig 16a) in sequence; wherein, when the electronic lock is locked and the turnpiece drives the transmission shaft to rotate, the electronic lock is unlocked and the second sensor outputs the first status signal (such as from 16a) and the second status signal in sequence (such as in fig 16e).
In regards to claim 20, Moon teaches the driving method of the electronic lock of claim 11, wherein the first sensor and the second sensor are contact sensors (see fig 12).
Conclusion
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675