DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (figure 2A; claims 1-3, 5-8, and 11), in the reply filed on 03/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 04/17/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each document listed that is not in the English language (The Office Action of Taiwan Counterpart Application, issued on March 26, 2025). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretations
In claims 2 and 7, the limitation “wherein when the supporting frame is worn on a head of a user, pivot points are located on a vertical plane where eyes of the user are located” appears to be conditional claims. For examining purposes, the examiner assumes the second part of the phrase is no longer valid if the supporting frame is not worn on a head of a user.
In claims 3 and 8, the limitation “wherein when the supporting frame is worn on a head of a user, a distance between pivot points and a vertical plane where eyes of the user are located is between −1.1 cm and 1.1 cm” appears to be conditional claims. For examining purposes, the examiner assumes the second part of the phrase is no longer valid if the supporting frame is not worn on a head of a user.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 110441907).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. (figures 1-5) discloses a supporting frame configured to be assembled to a head-mounted display device, wherein the supporting frame comprises:
a fixing portion (130A) configured to be assembled to the head-mounted display device (The first adjustable fixing assembly 130A includes a first positioning structure 132A and a second positioning structure 134A, a first positioning structure connected to the eyepiece portion 114a, a second positioning structure connected to the first cushion 120A; see at least page 6, 9th paragraph);
a platform portion (122A, 120A; figure 3A) fixed to the fixing portion and configured to lean against a top of the head-mounted display device (When the user wearing the headgear assembly 114 to the head, the first upper side 124A1 the first cushion 120A can contact forehead bone of the user; see at least page 7, 6th paragraph);
two cantilever arms (114; figure 2A), wherein a first end of each of the cantilever arms is fixed to the fixing portion (The first adjustable fixing assembly 130A includes a first positioning structure 132A and a second positioning structure 134A, a first positioning structure connected to the eyepiece portion 114a, a second positioning structure connected to the first cushion 120A; see at least page 6, 9th paragraph); and
two fitting pads (120A; figure 2A), wherein each of the fitting pads is pivotally connected to a second end of the corresponding cantilever arm (At least one cushion (such as the first cushion 120A and the second cushion 120B shown in FIG. 3 A) is floatingly connected to the wearable assembly 110; see at least page 6, 9th paragraph).
“Wherein each of the fitting pads is pivotally connected to a second end of the corresponding cantilever arm” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang et al. (figures 1-5) discloses wherein when the supporting frame is worn on a head of a user, pivot points are located on a vertical plane where eyes of the user are located (when the user wants to wear the wearable assembly 110 worn on the head, the mesh part 114a covered on the eyes of the user, and by rotating the rotating mechanism 114c to drive the extending part 114b tightening or loosening, so as to adjust the total length of the extending part 114b; so that the wearable assembly 110 worn on the head of the user; see at least page 6, 10th paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang et al. (figures 1-5) discloses a head-mounted display device, comprising:
a display portion (112);
a supporting frame (114), comprising:
a fixing portion configured to be assembled to the display portion (The first adjustable fixing assembly 130A includes a first positioning structure 132A and a second positioning structure 134A, a first positioning structure connected to the eyepiece portion 114a, a second positioning structure connected to the first cushion 120A; see at least page 6, 9th paragraph);
a platform portion (122A, 120A; figure 3A) fixed to the fixing portion and configured to lean against a top of the head-mounted display portion (When the user wearing the headgear assembly 114 to the head, the first upper side 124A1 the first cushion 120A can contact forehead bone of the user; see at least page 7, 6th paragraph);
two cantilever arms (114; figure 2A), wherein a first end of each of the cantilever arms is fixed to the fixing portion (The first adjustable fixing assembly 130A includes a first positioning structure 132A and a second positioning structure 134A, a first positioning structure connected to the eyepiece portion 114a, a second positioning structure connected to the first cushion 120A; see at least page 6, 9th paragraph); and
two fitting pads (120A; figure 2A), wherein each of the fitting pads is pivotally connected to a second end of the corresponding cantilever arm (At least one cushion (such as the first cushion 120A and the second cushion 120B shown in FIG. 3 A) is floatingly connected to the wearable assembly 110; see at least page 6, 9th paragraph).
“Wherein each of the fitting pads is pivotally connected to a second end of the corresponding cantilever arm” is a product by process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang et al. (figures 1-5) discloses wherein when the supporting frame is worn on a head of a user, pivot points are located on a vertical plane where eyes of the user are located (when the user wants to wear the wearable assembly 110 worn on the head, the mesh part 114a covered on the eyes of the user, and by rotating the rotating mechanism 114c to drive the extending part 114b tightening or loosening, so as to adjust the total length of the extending part 114b; so that the wearable assembly 110 worn on the head of the user; see at least page 6, 10th paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 8, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 110441907).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang et al. discloses the claimed invention except for wherein when the supporting frame is worn on a head of a user, a distance between pivot points and a vertical plane where eyes of the user are located is between −1.1 cm and 1.1 cm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a distance between pivot points and a vertical plane where eyes of the user are located being between −1.1 cm and 1.1 cm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang et al. discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a distance between the fitting pads and two pivot points of the cantilever arms is between 6 cm and 11 cm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a distance between the fitting pads and two pivot points of the cantilever arms being between 6 cm and 11 cm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang et al. discloses the claimed invention except for wherein when the supporting frame is worn on a head of a user, a distance between pivot points and a vertical plane where eyes of the user are located is between −1.1 cm and 1.1 cm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a distance between pivot points and a vertical plane where eyes of the user are located being between −1.1 cm and 1.1 cm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang et al. discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a distance between the fitting pads and two pivot points of the cantilever arms is between 6 cm and 11 cm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a distance between the fitting pads and two pivot points of the cantilever arms being between 6 cm and 11 cm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim, including are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A.
Conclusion
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871