Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of locking holes must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tan et al. (CN112274307).
With respect to claim 1, Tan et al. discloses a medical walking boot (1000) comprising a boot body (30) and a toes shield (40, 20); the toes shield is removably connected (by means of 401) with the boot body (see figures 5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. in view of Romo et al. (10,993,826).
Tan et al. substantially discloses the invention, please see above; Tan et al. also discloses an inflatable cushion (304) is provided inside the boot body (see figure 6) and an air discharging valve (1001) is provided (see figure 6).
Tan et al. does specifically disclose inflating pumps on both sides of the boot body. However, Romo et al. teaches the boot body is provided with inflating pump (603) to inflate the inflatable cushion (607). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tan et al. to have inflating pump over the boot body to inflate the inflatable cushion as taught by Romo et al. to provide easily available pump over the boot body to inflate cushion; further to have this pumps placed on both sides of boot body as required by the claim as it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify as merely a matter of engineering design choice, and thus does not serve to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d.553, 188USPQ7 (CCPA 1975).
Allowable Subject Matter
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claims 2 and 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claim 2, the subject matter of the independent claims could either not be found or was not suggested in the prior art of record. The subject matter not found was the boot body comprises a plurality of locking holes arranged in at least one row where each row comprise more than one of said plurality of locking holes and where each row is arranged linearly along a direction from a rear end of the boot body towards a front end of the boot body; said at least one locking stud is locked to at least one of said plurality of locking holes so that the toes shield is fixedly mounted to the boot body, in combination with the other elements (or steps) of the apparatus and method recited in the claims.
With respect to claims 5-6, the subject matter of the independent claims could either not be found or was not suggested in the prior art of record. The subject matter not found was a tightening device is provided between the boot body and each of two ends of the rear strap to loosen or tighten the rear strap; wherein each tightening device comprises locking protrusions fixed to the boot body and a plurality of adjustment holes provided on a corresponding end of the two ends of the rear strap; by locking the locking protrusions to different adjustment holes, the rear strap is loosen or tightened, in combination with the other elements (or steps) of the apparatus and method recited in the claims.
Conclusion
/TARLA R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786