DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-Final office action in merits. Claims 1-20, as originally filed, are presently pending and have been elected and considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/15/2024 and 6/28/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 5, 10-11, 15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0154129 A1, Su et al. (hereinafter Su) in view of US 2018/0131959 A1, Chang et al. (hereinafter Chang).
As to claim 1, Su discloses an image processing apparatus, comprising:
a storage, configured to store a current frame and a reference frame; and
a processor, coupled to the storage (Fig 6), configured to execute the following operations:
downsizing the current frame and the reference frame to generate a down-sized current frame and a downsized reference frame respectively (Fig 4; pars 0038-0042, down-sampling the current frame and the reference frame respectively);
marking at least one of a plurality of first blocks in the down-sized current frame as at least one first periodic pattern block with at least one first label respectively (par 0059, the block being labeled based on condition being met),
performing a first motion estimation on the down-sized current frame and the down-sized reference frame based on the at least one first label to generate a plurality of first motion vectors (Figs 2, 5, 7, perform motion estimation on the down-sized current and reference frames; pars 0006-0010, 0022, 0024-0028);
marking at least one of a plurality of n-th blocks in the current frame as at least one n-th block with at least one n-th label respectively (par 0059, the labeling blocks based on meeting preset condition),
performing an n-th motion estimation on the current frame and the reference frame based on the first motion vectors and the at least one n-th label to generate a plurality of n-th motion vectors (Figs 2, 4, 7; pars 0006-0009, 0025-0032, performing motion estimation based on motion vectors on the current frame and reference frame).
Su does not expressly disclose the frames being divided into different blocks based on their periodic patterns, wherein the at least one n-th periodic pattern block has a n-th periodic feature; and performing a motion compensation on the current frame and the reference frame based on the n-th motion vectors to generate a compensated frame between the current frame and the reference frame.
Chang, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches the at least one first periodic pattern block has a first periodic feature and periodic pattern, or the at least one n-th periodic pattern block has a n-th periodic feature (Figs 3-5; pars 0003-0007, 0013-0017, periodic blocks being divided based on periodic patterns and/or features); performing a motion compensation on the current frame and the reference frame based on the n-th motion vectors to generate a compensated frame between the current frame and the reference frame (Figs 1-2; pars 0003, 0028-0029, motion compensation being achieved via interpolation or accurate motion vector and motion estimation fo improve image quality of a video including periodic pattern).
Therefore, consider Su and Chang’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Chang’s teachings in Su’s apparatus to provide motion estimation based on different patterns and features in repetitive or periodic characteristics.
As to claim 5, Su as modified discloses the image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the n-th motion estimation comprises a plurality of a plurality of scanning operations, and the scanning operations further comprises:
generating a searching window corresponding to each of the n-th blocks in the current frame (Su: pars 0022, 0031, 0033-0034, 0036, 0046, determining a search range or area);
generating a plurality of candidate vectors in the searching window (Chang: Fig 3; pars 0005-0006, 0013, 0016-0020); and
selecting then-th motion vectors corresponding to each of the at least one n-th periodic pattern block from the candidate vectors (Chang: par 0028, claim 8).
As to claim 10, Su as modified discloses the image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the operation of marking the at least one of the n-th blocks in the current frame as the at least one n-th periodic pattern block with the at least one n-th label respectively but does not expressly teach performing an OR operation on the at least one n-th label and the at least one first label to update the at least one n-th label. However, grouping or combining (e.g. OR operations) labels for objects with similar class, characters, patterns, or features is a common practice in the field (e.g. group labeling or class labeling), see a listed but not cited reference (US 2018/0342073, Matsumura et al.).
As to claim 11, it is a method claim necessitated claim 1. Rejection of claim 1 is therefore incorporated herein.
As to claim 15, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
As to claim 20, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
Claims 2, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Chang and further in view of US 2015/0003528 A1, Toichi (hereinafter Toichi).
As to claim 2, Su as modified discloses the image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the operation of marking the at least one first periodic pattern block and
determining whether to mark the pixels as the at least one first periodic pattern block or not based on a minimum difference of the differences and a threshold (Su: pars 0050-0051, 0054-0055, 0076), but does not expressly teach determination is via comparing a plurality of pixels and a plurality of shifted pixels in the down-sized current frame to calculate a plurality of differences, wherein the shifted pixels are the pixels after being shifted based on a plurality of different shifting values, and each of the differences is corresponding to one of the different shifting values.
Toichi, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches determination is via comparing a plurality of pixels and a plurality of shifted pixels in the down-sized current frame to calculate a plurality of differences (pars 0007, 0040, 0056-0059, 0063-0064), wherein the shifted pixels are the pixels after being shifted based on a plurality of different shifting values, and each of the differences is corresponding to one of the different shifting values (pars 0056-0059, 0063-0065, 0108).
Therefore, consider Su as modified and Toichi’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Toichi’s teachings in Su as modified’s apparatus to properly mark or label the blocks by properly align image blocks.
As to claim 12, it is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6-9, 13-14, 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Prior art of record (Su, Chang, and Toichi) neither discloses alone nor teaches in combination functions and features as recited in claims 3-4, and claim 6, respectively. Claims 7-9 depend from claim 6. Claims 13-14 recite similar limitations as claims 3-4. Claims 17-19 recite similar limitations as claims 7-9.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular column, line number, paragraphs and/or figure(s) in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the reference(s) in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
/QUN SHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662