DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by TACHIBANA (US 2024/0340379 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
As to claim 1, TACHIBANA (US 2024/0340379 A1) discloses an image forming apparatus (see figure 1, and see par 30, i.e., printing system 100) comprising: a reading device (see par 66, reading unit 307, see fig. 4) to read a printed matter printed by a printing apparatus (see figure 4, and par 66 and see figure 1); and circuitry (see par 0121 i.e., “circuitry” and see par 0044, 0049 and 0059, i.e., “CPU”) configured to: generate a first image to be inspected, based on reading of the printed matter by the reading device (see par 0020, 0027, 0029, 0059, and 0066 i.e., reading unit 307 reads with reading devices respective sides of the sheet conveyed from printer to generate an inspection target image, see fig. 4 printed image reading unit 307); detect a defect on the printed matter based on a master image (see par 67, “master image”) and the first image (i.e., inspection target image), the master image (see par 67, “master image”) being generated from print data of the printed matter (see par 0006, i.e., “determines a defect in the printed matter, based on the first inspection target image and a master image generated from print data of the printed matter”, see par 67, 308 generates a master image, and see par 0071, first defect determination processing unit 355 detect defect during printing detection mode and pars 67 and 68 unit 309 generates a differential image between the master image and inspection target image, and unit 308 generates a master image); detect a defect on a second image to be inspected, the second image being generated by the reading device without a sheet being passed (see pars 0004, 0022, 0024, and 0025, i.e., detects a defect in the second inspection target image generated without passing a sheet, and see par 72, no-sheet-passing and second defect determination processing unit 357 and see figure 4); set an inspection exclusion area where a defect is not to be detected on the first image, the inspection exclusion area including a position of the defect detected on the second image (see pars 73-74, and see figure 4 “exclusion area setting unit 356, i.e., [0073] The exclusion area setting unit 356 excludes a position of the defect detected by the second defect determination processing unit 357 or a position of the defect set by the user from an area where the first defect determination processing unit 355 detects a defect. [0074] That is, the exclusion area setting unit 356 sets the inspection exclusion area where the first defect determination processing unit 355 does not detect a defect.); and display, on a display, a position of the defect (see claims 3 and 5) on the printed matter in a different manner based on a determination result indicating whether the defect on the printed matter is detected in the inspection exclusion area or in an area other than the inspection exclusion area (see claims 3 and 5, i.e., wherein the user interface displays a position of the detected defect in the case where the defect is detected in the second inspection target image, and wherein the user interface displays an area surrounding the position of the detected defect, as the area to be excluded from the area where a defect in the printed matter is inspected, and displays an area having been changed in response to an operation on the display component, as the area to be excluded).
As to claim 4, TACHIBANA (US 2024/0340379 A1) discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to, in a case that the defect is detected on the second image (see figure 4, second defect determination processing unit 357), display the position of the detected defect and the inspection exclusion area surrounding the position of the detected defect (see claims 3 and 5, i.e., wherein the user interface displays a position of the detected defect in the case where the defect is detected in the second inspection target image, and wherein the user interface displays an area surrounding the position of the detected defect, as the area to be excluded from the area where a defect in the printed matter is inspected, and displays an area having been changed in response to an operation on the display component, as the area to be excluded).
As to claim 5, TACHIBANA (US 2024/0340379 A1) discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to, in a case that the defect on the printed matter is detected in the inspection exclusion area, receive a setting as to whether to display the position of the defect detected in the inspection exclusion area (see figure 4, exclusion area setting unit 356 and see pars 0073-0074, unit 356 sets the inspection exclusion area, and see claims 3 and 5, i.e., wherein the user interface displays a position of the detected defect in the case where the defect is detected in the second inspection target image, and wherein the user interface displays an area surrounding the position of the detected defect, as the area to be excluded from the area where a defect in the printed matter is inspected, and displays an area having been changed in response to an operation on the display component, as the area to be excluded).
As to claim 6, TACHIBANA (US 2024/0340379 A1) discloses wherein the circuitry (see par 0121 i.e., “circuitry” and see par 0044, 0049 and 0059, i.e., “CPU”) is configured to, in a case that the defect on the printed matter includes a first defect detected in the inspection exclusion area and a second defect detected in the area other than the inspection exclusion area, display positions of the first defect and the second defect in different manners on one screen (see page 8, 1st col. at claims 3, 5 and 7, and see figure 4 exclusion area setting unit 356 and see pars 0073-0074).
As to claim 7, TACHIBANA (US 2024/0340379 A1) discloses an image forming system (see figure 1, and see par 30, i.e., printing system 100) comprising: a reading device (see par 66, reading unit 307, see fig. 4) to read a printed matter printed by a printing apparatus (see figure 4, and par 66 and see figure 1); and circuitry (see par 0121 i.e., “circuitry” and see par 0044, 0049 and 0059, i.e., “CPU”) configured to: generate a first image to be inspected, based on reading of the printed matter by the reading device (see par 0020, 0027, 0029, 0059, and 0066 i.e., reading unit 307 reads with reading devices respective sides of the sheet conveyed from printer to generate an inspection target image, see fig. 4 printed image reading unit 307); detect a defect on the printed matter based on a master image (see par 67, “master image”) and the first image (i.e., inspection target image), the master image (see par 67, “master image”) being generated from print data of the printed matter (see par 0006, i.e., “determines a defect in the printed matter, based on the first inspection target image and a master image generated from print data of the printed matter”, see par 67, 308 generates a master image, and see par 0071, first defect determination processing unit 355 detect defect during printing detection mode and pars 67 and 68 unit 309 generates a differential image between the master image and inspection target image, and unit 308 generates a master image); detect a defect on a second image to be inspected, the second image being generated by the reading device without a sheet being passed (see pars 0004, 0022, 0024, and 0025, i.e., detects a defect in the second inspection target image generated without passing a sheet, and see par 72, no-sheet-passing and second defect determination processing unit 357 and see figure 4); set an inspection exclusion area where a defect is not to be detected on the first image, the inspection exclusion area including a position of the defect detected on the second image (see pars 73-74, and see figure 4 “exclusion area setting unit 356, i.e., [0073] The exclusion area setting unit 356 excludes a position of the defect detected by the second defect determination processing unit 357 or a position of the defect set by the user from an area where the first defect determination processing unit 355 detects a defect. [0074] That is, the exclusion area setting unit 356 sets the inspection exclusion area where the first defect determination processing unit 355 does not detect a defect.); and display, on a display, a position of the defect (see claims 3 and 5) on the printed matter in a different manner based on a determination result indicating whether the defect on the printed matter is detected in the inspection exclusion area or in an area other than the inspection exclusion area (see claims 3 and 5, i.e., wherein the user interface displays a position of the detected defect in the case where the defect is detected in the second inspection target image, and wherein the user interface displays an area surrounding the position of the detected defect, as the area to be excluded from the area where a defect in the printed matter is inspected, and displays an area having been changed in response to an operation on the display component, as the area to be excluded).
As to claim 8, TACHIBANA (US 2024/0340379 A1) discloses an inspection method (see figure 1, and see par 2, and see par 31, i.e., inspection apparatus 103) comprising: generating a first image to be inspected based on reading of a printed matter by the reading device (see par 0020, 0027, 0029, 0059, and 0066 i.e., reading unit 307 reads with reading devices respective sides of the sheet conveyed from printer to generate an inspection target image, see fig. 4 printed image reading unit 307), the printed matter being printed by a printing apparatus (see par 66, i.e., reading unit 307, and see fig. 4, and see figure 1, and see par 35 line 2, printed matter out by printer 101); detecting a defect on the printed matter based on a master image (see par 67, “master image”) and the first image (i.e., inspection target image), the master image (see par 67, “master image”) being generated from print data of the printed matter (see par 0006, i.e., “determines a defect in the printed matter, based on the first inspection target image and a master image generated from print data of the printed matter”, see par 67, 308 generates a master image, and see par 0071, first defect determination processing unit 355 detect defect during printing detection mode and pars 67 and 68 unit 309 generates a differential image between the master image and inspection target image, and unit 308 generates a master image); detecting a defect on a second image to be inspected, the second image being generated by the reading device without a sheet being passed (see pars 0004, 0022, 0024, and 0025, i.e., detects a defect in the second inspection target image generated without passing a sheet, and see par 72, no-sheet-passing and second defect determination processing unit 357 and see figure 4); setting an inspection exclusion area where a defect is not to be detected on the first image, the inspection exclusion area including a position of the defect detected on the second image (see pars 73-74, and see figure 4 “exclusion area setting unit 356, i.e., [0073] The exclusion area setting unit 356 excludes a position of the defect detected by the second defect determination processing unit 357 or a position of the defect set by the user from an area where the first defect determination processing unit 355 detects a defect. [0074] That is, the exclusion area setting unit 356 sets the inspection exclusion area where the first defect determination processing unit 355 does not detect a defect.); and displaying, on a display, a position of the defect (see claims 3 and 5) on the printed matter in a different manner based on a determination result indicating whether the defect on the printed matter is detected in the inspection exclusion area or in an area other than the inspection exclusion area (see claims 3 and 5, i.e., wherein the user interface displays a position of the detected defect in the case where the defect is detected in the second inspection target image, and wherein the user interface displays an area surrounding the position of the detected defect, as the area to be excluded from the area where a defect in the printed matter is inspected, and displays an area having been changed in response to an operation on the display component, as the area to be excluded).
As to claim 9, TACHIBANA (US 2024/0340379 A1) discloses a non-transitory recording medium (see par 2) storing a plurality of program codes which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform the method according to claim 8 (see pars 2 and 6 and see page 8, 2nd col. at claim 9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, TACHIBANA (US 2024/0340379 A1) does not disclose, teach or suggest, wherein the circuitry is configured to display the position of the defect detected on the first image in a different color based on the determination result, as recited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, TACHIBANA (US 2024/0340379 A1) does not disclose, teach or suggest, wherein the circuitry is further configured to surround the position of the defect detected on the first image in a different type of a line based on the determination result, as claimed in claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KAWAMOTO (US 2013/0136315 A1) teaches an image inspection method, master image generator and scanning a print sheet (see figure 2).
Ikuta (US 10,788,777 B2) teaches an image inspection system and display inspection area setting screen (see figure 13).
/DOV POPOVICI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681