Claim Status
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 – 9 in the reply filed on 07/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10 – 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sareen et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 20170362574; hereinafter Sareen).
Regarding claim 1, Sareen discloses a novel and efficient method for reprogramming blood to induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSC), in which the blood cells (BC) (para. [0050], BC-iPSCs are derived from…) that are used include monocytes and non-monocytes (T cells) (para. [0052]). Sareen discloses the separation of the whole blood (Fig 1; para. [0026]) into cellular components and the defined media conditions for the reprogramming process (para. [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sareen in view of Kremer et al. (C.N. Patent Application Publication No. 1643137-A, hereinafter Kremer) and Sonoda (Sonoda Y. Human CD34-negative hematopoietic stem cells: The current understanding of their biological nature. Exp Hematol. 2021 Apr;96:13-26; hereinafter Sonoda). The claims are mapped to the machine translation of CN1643137-A.
Regarding claim 2, Sareen teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except explicitly disclosing separating the first raw material cells into CD34+ and non-CD34+ cells or culturing the separated non-CD34+ cells in a second culture medium to prepare a second raw material cells. Sareen does disclose that the CD34+ cell population is roughly 0.01 – 0.1% of the total peripheral blood cells (para. [0028]) and that these cells can be used for reprogramming.
Kremer discloses, in an invention related to reprogramming monocytes, the use of CD34+ and non-CD34+ (CD34-) (p. 3, 2nd full paragraph) cells for the process. Kremer further discloses that their method prefers stem cells that do not express CD34 (p. 4, bottom of the page).
Sonoda provides the motivation for generating CD34- stem cells, in a review on CD34- hematopoietic stem cells, by disclosing that CD34- stem cells have potent megakaryocyte/erythrocyte differentiation potential (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the use of the CD34+ and CD34- cells of Kremer with the reprogramming method of Sareen under the motivation of Sonoda on the megakaryocyte/erythrocyte differentiation potential of the CD34- stem cells.
Regarding claims 3 – 6, Sareen discloses (para. [0052]; [0026] “mature T cells”) the use of T cells to reprogram into iPSCs and mature T cells are non-CD34+ cells. Sareen further discloses (Example 5, para; [0069 – 0070]), Table 1) T cell media with Il-2 (T-cell growth factor) and a non-T cell media (Table 2) for culturing BC precursor cells.
Regarding Claims 7 – 9, Kremer discloses and provides the motivation for the technique by disclosing that programmable stem cells derived from mononuclear cell de-differentiation are cultured in parallel with stem cells derived from liver cells (p. 22, bottom of the page).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize Kremer’s method for testing multiple conditions (e.g., cell types, different media, supplements, or drugs) simultaneously in the combined cell reprogramming protocol of Sareen, Kremer, and Sonoda. This maximizes the use of time and resources while keeping conditions consistent and allows for comparative analysis.
Conclusion
/WALTER JACKSON III/Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638