DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/19/2026 are partially persuasive. Examiner agrees that the previously cited references do not teach all the limitations of claims 1 or 7 including the mold hole being at the side of the lower mold and additional details regarding the bag being sealed to the process table with a sealing agent. After further consideration, additional references, Jackson and Zhong, have been found which teach these limitations. Jackson describes a pressure molding apparatus with a lower pocket die for holding molding material, a heating carbon fabric element, and a vacuum bag which is shown as being attached to a base underneath the pocket die. Additionally, while Sheng describes a hole in the side of the mold for the sensors, Jackson specifies that the sensors should connect to the bottom of the mold where the material is located in the pocket. Zhong describes a vacuum bag sealed to a worktable using a sealant material. The combination of these features with the previously cited references would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art. Applicant also presents arguments regarding Oba and Higuchi but these references are no longer cited in the rejection, and these arguments are considered moot. The dependent claims also remain rejected.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-6 are directed to an apparatus but some of these claims limitations which are related to either the process intended to be performed by the apparatus or the material worked on by the apparatus. In apparatus claims, only the structure of the claimed invention is considered patentably distinct from the prior art. Limitations related to the material being worked upon or the intended use of the apparatus are not patentably distinct, see MPEP §2114(II) and §2115. For example, limitations describing the epoxy composition or the method of packaging are not considered patentably distinct from the prior art as long as the prior art has the structural limitations claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konishi (US 5,635,115) modified by Sheng (CN115507973A, see English translation previously provided,) Jackson (WO 00/54949, see copy provided), and Zhong (CN101992545, see translation provided.)
Regarding claim 1, Konishi meets the claimed, An electronic package molding device comprising: a planar heating element (Konishi col. 18 line 41 and Figure 11B and C describe press heater 35b) configured to mold an electronic package by approaching one surface of an electronic package to melt an epoxy molding compound disposed on the one surface of the electronic package and apply pressure to bring the epoxy molding compound into close contact with the electronic package, (Konishi col. 18 lines 38—66 describe moving the press heater 35b downward to contact and cure a resin sheet 25 on top of a circuit board 10) a gas pressure regulator configured to adjust a gas pressure between the electronic package and the planar heating element; (Konishi col. 18 lines 40-46 describe a vacuum chamber which necessarily has a vacuum for adjusting the pressure, see Figure 11B/C showing the vacuum chamber 35c surrounds both the press heater 35b and the circuit board 10) a mold configured to accommodating the planar heating element and the electronic package (Konishi Figure 11B/C show the mold as heat pressing apparatus 35) the planar heating element being attached to a lower surface of the upper mold, and the upper mold moving toward the lower mold together with the planar heating element (Konishi col. 18 lines 38-66 describe moving the press heater 35b downward) and wherein the epoxy molding compound is prepared to contain silica (SiO2), thermosetting epoxy, anhydrous acid, phenol, amines, coupling, a silane catalyst and wax, melts at about 80° C. or higher, has a thermal conductivity of about 0.5 W/mk to 2 W/mk, has an elastic modulus of about 30.71 GPa within an error range of about 3.4 GPa at 25° C., has an elastic modulus of about 1.85 GPa within an error range of about 0.26 GPa at 150° C., has a thermal expansion coefficient of about 8.2×10−6/° C. within an error range of about 0.78×10−6/° C. below 145° C., and has a thermal expansion coefficient of about 26.5×10−6/° C. within an error range of 0.63×10−6/° C. above 145° C (Konishi col. 10 lines 11-12 describe epoxy resins however the exact properties of the epoxy are details of the material worked upon by the apparatus, not structural limitations of the actual apparatus, and are therefore not patentably distinct from the prior art.)
Konishi does not specify a closed mold or described sensors and does not meet the claimed, a closed mold accommodating the planar heating element and the electronic package, and including a mold hole communicating with an interior and an exterior of the closed mold; a strain sensor configured to measure a strain of the epoxy molding compound; and a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the epoxy molding compound, wherein the closed mold includes: a recess configured to receive the electronic package and the epoxy molding compound therein; and an upper mold configured to seal the recess to prevent the epoxy molding compound from leaking out of the closed mold, the upper mold moving toward the lower mold to cover the recess, the upper mold to cover the recess wherein the strain sensor and the temperature sensor are introduced into the recess of the closed mold via the mold hole, and are inserted into the epoxy molding compound received in the recess.
Analogous in the field of electronic encapsulation, Sheng meets the claimed, a closed mold configured to accommodate the electronic package, (Sheng Figure 1 shows a closed mold having a top mold 1 and a bottom mold 2, which accommodates a chips 4/5, see [0052]) and to have a mold hole communicating with an interior and an exterior of the closed mold; (Sheng Figure 1 shows the cables 6 for the sensors run through the mold, therefore a hole necessarily exists, see also Figure 2) a strain sensor configured to measure a strain of the epoxy molding compound; and a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the epoxy molding compound, (Sheng [0058] describes both an optical temperature and strain sensor) a recess configured to receive the electronic package and the epoxy molding compound therein; (Sheng Figure 1 shows the closed mold having a recess) and an upper mold configured to seal the recess to prevent the epoxy molding compound from leaking out of the closed mold, and the upper mold to cover the recess (Sheng Figure 1 shows the upper mold is sealed over the lower mold thereby closing the cavity) wherein the strain sensor and the temperature sensor are introduced into the recess of the mold via the mold hole, (Sheng Figure 1 shows the cables 6 of the sensors entering the mold) and are inserted into the epoxy molding compound disposed in the closed mold (Sheng Figure 1 and [0058]-[0059] describe the temperature and strain sensors directly contact and measure the epoxy molding compound.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the molding apparatus of Konishi with the closed mold of Sheng in order to properly position the sensors, see Sheng [0058] and the optical temperature and strain sensors of Sheng in order to monitor changes in stress and strain in real-time and prevent damage and failure, see Sheng [0004]-[0006].
Sheng describes a molding device with an upper and lower mold, a recess, a mold hole, and strain/temperature sensors which enter the recess through the mold hole. Sheng does not describe; a process table on which the closed mold is supported, a lower mold including a recess formed at an upper portion of the lower mold and configured to receive the electronic package and the epoxy molding compound therein; wherein the mold hole is formed at a side wall of the lower mold and communicates with the recess in the lower mold, and wherein the gas pressure regulator includes: a space bag disposed above the process table and enclosing the closed mold, the space bag having an edge connected to the process table; and a gas inflow and outflow device attached to the space bag and configured to control inflow and outflow of gas inside the space bag.
Analogous in the field of compression molding apparatus, Jackson meets the claimed, a process table on which the closed mold is supported, (Jackson Figure 1 shows a table labeled 12 where the die 15 is supported) a lower mold including a recess formed at an upper portion of the lower mold and configured to receive the electronic package and the epoxy molding compound therein; (Jackson Figure 1 shows die 15 which has a cavity for receiving material 16) and wherein the gas pressure regulator includes: a space bag disposed above the process table and enclosing the closed mold, the space bag having an edge connected to the process table; (Jackson page 4 lines 10-14 describes a vacuum bag 13, Figure 1 shows the bag 13 covers the die 15 and is connected to the table structure, 12, below) and a gas inflow and outflow device attached to the space bag and configured to control inflow and outflow of gas inside the space bag (Jackson page 5 lines 23-24 describe inlet 13a on the vacuum bag 13, the inlet is also described as being capable of forming a vacuum meaning it also functions as an outlet.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the apparatus of modified Konishi with the table of Jackson in order to close the vacuum bag within the pressure vessel, see Jackson Figure 1 and page 4 lines 10-14. It would have been further obvious to combine modified Konishi with the lower mold having the cavity of Jackson in order to be able to apply pressure while the material 16 is held by the pocket die, see Jackson page 5 lines 3-6. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine modified Konishi with the pressure regulator including the bag and inlet/outlet as described in Jackson ibn order to apply pressure to compress the material 16 being formed, see page 5 lines 36.
Jackson does not explicitly disclose a hole in the mold where the temperature sensor, thermocouple 33, is located and does not explicitly meet the claimed, wherein the mold hole is formed at a side wall of the lower mold and communicates with the recess in the lower mold, however Sheng previously described the hole for the strain and temperature sensors is located on the side of the mold. Jackson Figure 1 and page 4 lines 18-20 describe the temperature sensor 33 is located at the side of the lower mold where the material 16 is located. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to simply relocate the hole from the top portion of the mold as shown in Sheng to the bottom of the mold as shown in Jackson because having the material 16 in the bottom of the mold to be compressed is known in the art and the temperature sensors should be located so that they can measure the material, see Jackson page 4 lines 18-20 and page 5 lines 7-23.
None of the references disclose gluing the vacuum bag down to the table and do not meet the claimed, a sealing agent provided between the edge of the space bag and the process table to form a closed space around the closed mold.
Analogous in the field of vacuum forming, Zhong meets the claimed, a sealing agent provided between the edge of the space bag and the process table to form a closed space around the closed mold (Zhong [0020] describes a vacuum nag 4 placed over a worktable 1 to mold a honeycomb substrate. Zhong [0020] describes the vacuum bag 4 is sealed to the worktable via a sealant 5.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the apparatus of modified Konishi with the sealant to seal to vacuum bag to the workbench because it is a known method of successfully sealing the bag to the table, see Zhong [0020]. The courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
Regarding claim 2, Konishi meets the claimed, The electronic package molding device of claim 1, further comprising a conductor plate that is attached to a lower surface of the planar heating element and receives heat from the planar heating element, (Konishi Figures 11B/C show the mold 35d under the press heater 35b, see also col. 18 lines 25-34) wherein the conductor plate is disposed on an upper side of the electronic package so that a lower surface of the conductor plate faces an upper surface of the electronic package in parallel, and the lower surface of the conductor plate is configured to apply the heat and the pressure by directly contacting the epoxy molding compound while the planar heating element moves downward along with the conductor plate (Konishi col. 18 lines 25-45 describe the molding process, see also Figure 11B/C showing the press heater 35b and mold 35d being lowered to contact the resin sheet 25.)
Regarding claim 4, Konishi does not describe the material of the heating element and does not meet the claimed, The electronic package molding device of claim 1, wherein the planar heating element includes at least one of CNT, carbon fiber, and carbon black.
Jackson meets the claimed, The electronic package molding device of claim 1, wherein the planar heating element includes at least one of CNT, carbon fiber, and carbon black (Jackson page 5 lines 15-17 describe carbon fabric (fiber) is the heating element.)
The courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the mold of Konishi with the carbon fabric (fiber) heating element of Jackson because temperature feedback and control can be applied to the carbon fabric, see Jackson page 5 lines 7-17.
Regarding claim 6, Sheng meets the claimed, The electronic package molding device of claim 1, wherein the strain sensor includes one of a strain gauge and a fiber optic sensor (Sheng [0058] describes optical fiber for the strain sensor.)
Sheng does not describe a thermocouple as the temperature sensor. Jackson meets the claimed, and the temperature sensor includes a thermocouple (Jackson page 5 lines 7-10 describe a thermocouple 33.)
The courts have held that substituting one known prior art element for another according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to substitute the fiber temperature sensor described in Sheng for the thermocouple described in Jackson because it is a known method of measuring temperature, see Jackson page 5 lines 7-23.
Claims 7-8, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konishi modified by Sheng, Jackson (WO 00/54949, see copy provided), Zhong (CN101992545, see translation provided) and Mizushima (WO2019035431A1, see English copy previously provided.)
Regarding claim 7, Konishi meets the claimed, An electronic package molding method comprising: placing an electronic package inside a mold (Konishi col. 18 lines 38-39 describe placing a circuit board 10 into a pressing apparatus 35) in which a planar heating element configured to generate heat, is accommodated, (Konishi col. 18 lines 41-42 and Figure 11B/C describe the press heater 35b) and inserting an epoxy molding compound to be disposed on one surface of the electronic package, (Konishi col. 18 lines 18-21 describe placing a resin sheet 25 on the circuit board 10, col. 10 lines 11-12 describe epoxy); adjusting a gas pressure between the electronic package and the planar heating element; molding the electronic package, (Konishi col. 18 lines 41-46 describe using a vacuum to form a vacuum within the vacuum chamber 35c) the molding of the electronic package including moving the upper mold together with the planar heating element attached on a lower surface of the upper mold toward the one surface of the electronic package to apply heat to the epoxy molding compound and at the same time apply pressure to bring the epoxy molding compound into close contact with the electronic package; (Konishi col. 18 lines 41-49 describe moving the press heater 35b towards the circuit board 10 to contact and cure the resin sheet), wherein the epoxy molding compound is prepared thermosetting epoxy, (Konishi col. 10 lines 11-12 describe thermosetting epoxy.)
Konishi does not describe a closed mold, a recess, or strain and temperature sensors and monitoring and does not meet the claimed, a recess included in a closed mold, and the closed mold further includes an upper mold configured to seal the recess to prevent the epoxy molding compound from leaking out of the closed mold, and measuring a strain and a temperature of the epoxy molding compound to identify a degree of the molding in real time, the measuring of the strain and the temperature including introducing a strain sensor and a temperature sensor into the recess of the lower mold via a mold hole which is formed at the lower mold and communicates with the recess in the lower mold to connect an interior and an exterior of the closed mold; and inserting the strain sensor and the temperature sensor into the epoxy molding compound in the recess.
Analogous in the field of electronics encapsulation, Sheng meets the claimed, a recess included in a closed mold, (Sheng Figure 1 shows a closed mold made of a top mold 1 and bottom mold 2 with a recess) and the closed mold further includes an upper mold configured to seal the recess to prevent the epoxy molding compound from leaking out of the closed mold, (Sheng Figure 1 shows how the upper mold seals the recess) and measuring a strain and a temperature of the epoxy molding compound to identify a degree of the molding in real time, the measuring of the strain and the temperature (Sheng Figure 1 and [0058] describe installing the sensors into the mold, the mold shown in Figure 1 is closed and necessarily includes a hole through the cables for the sensors are wired) including introducing a strain sensor and a temperature sensor into the recess via a mold hole which communicates with the recess an interior and an exterior of the closed mold; (Sheng Figure 1 and [0058] describe installing the sensors into the mold, the mold shown in Figure 1 is closed and necessarily includes a hole through the cables for the sensors are wired) and inserting the strain sensor and the temperature sensor into the epoxy molding compound in the recess (Sheng Figure 1 and [0057]-[0058] describe the optical strain and temperature sensors actually in the epoxy.)
Sheng does not meet the claimed, a recess of a lower mold, wherein the recess is formed at an upper portion of the lower mold, supported on a process table, the adjusting of the gas pressure including: providing a closed space which accommodates the closed mold, the providing of the closed space including: placing a space bag above the process table to enclose the closed mold; and adjusting a gas pressure inside the space bag by using a gas inflow and outflow device attached to the space bag.
Analogous in the field of compression molding, Jackson meets the claimed, a recess of a lower mold, wherein the recess is formed at an upper portion of the lower mold, (Jackson Figure 1 shows die 15 which has a cavity for receiving material 16) supported on a process table, (Jackson Figure 1 shows a table labeled 12 where the die 15 is supported) the adjusting of the gas pressure including: providing a closed space which accommodates the closed mold, the providing of the closed space including: placing a space bag above the process table to enclose the closed mold; page 4 lines 10-14 describes a vacuum bag 13, Figure 1 shows the bag 13 covers the die 15 and is connected to the table structure, 12, below) and adjusting a gas pressure inside the space bag by using a gas inflow and outflow device attached to the space bag (Jackson page 5 beginning at line 23 describe how the pressure is adjusted via an inlet 13a in the bag).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the apparatus of modified Konishi with the table of Jackson in order to close the vacuum bag within the pressure vessel, see Jackson Figure 1 and page 4 lines 10-14. It would have been further obvious to combine modified Konishi with the lower mold having the cavity of Jackson in order to be able to apply pressure while the material 16 is held by the pocket die, see Jackson page 5 lines 3-6. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine modified Konishi with the pressure regulator including the bag and inlet/outlet as described in Jackson ibn order to apply pressure to compress the material 16 being formed, see page 5 lines 36.
Jackson does not explicitly disclose a hole in the mold where the temperature sensor, thermocouple 33, is located and does not explicitly meet the claimed, a mold hole which is formed at a side wall of the lower mold however Sheng previously described the hole for the strain and temperature sensors is located on the side of the mold. Jackson Figure 1 and page 4 lines 18-20 describe the temperature sensor 33 is located at the side of the lower mold where the material 16 is located. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to simply relocate the hole from the top portion of the mold as shown in Sheng to the bottom of the mold as shown in Jackson because having the material 16 in the bottom of the mold to be compressed is known in the art and the temperature sensors should be located so that they can measure the material, see Jackson page 4 lines 18-20 and page 5 lines 7-23.
Modified Konishi does not describe connecting an edge of the space bag to the process table; and providing a sealing agent between the edge of the space bag and the process table.
Analogous in the field of vacuum forming, Zhong meets the claimed, connecting an edge of the space bag to the process table; and providing a sealing agent between the edge of the space bag and the process table. (Zhong [0020] describes a vacuum nag 4 placed over a worktable 1 to mold a honeycomb substrate. Zhong [0020] describes the vacuum bag 4 is sealed to the worktable via a sealant 5.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the apparatus of modified Konishi with the sealant to seal to vacuum bag to the workbench because it is a known method of successfully sealing the bag to the table, see Zhong [0020]. The courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
Konishi does not describe other details of the epoxy and does not meet the claimed, wherein the epoxy molding compound is prepared to contain silica (SiO2), anhydrous acid, phenol, amines, coupling, a silane coupling agent, and wax, melts at about 80° C. or higher, has a thermal conductivity of about 0.5 W/mk to 2 W/mk, has an elastic modulus of about 30.71 GPa within an error range of about 3.4 GPa at 25° C., has an elastic modulus of about 1.85 GPa within an error range of about 0.26 GPa at 150° C., has a thermal expansion coefficient of about 8.2×10−6/° C. within an error range of about 0.78×10−6/° C. below 145° C., and has a thermal expansion coefficient of about 26.5×10−6/° C. within an error range of 0.63×10−6/° C. above 145° C.
Analogous in the field of semiconductor encapsulation, Mizushima describes an epoxy resin composition having silica and meets the claimed, wherein the epoxy molding compound is prepared to contain silica (SiO2), (Mizushima [0051] describes silica fillers) anhydrous acid, phenol, amines, (Mizushima [0041] describes the epoxy resin contains phenol, amine, and acid anhydride curing agents) coupling, a silane coupling agent, (Mizushima [0054] describes coupling agents including a silane based coupling agent) and wax, (Mizushima [0059] describes wax release agents) melts at about 80° C. or higher, (Mizushima [0038] describes melting temperature is between 40°C and 180°C which overlaps the claimed range, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP §2144.04 (I)). Mizushima does not explicitly meet the claimed, has a thermal conductivity of about 0.5 W/mk to 2 W/mk, has an elastic modulus of about 30.71 GPa within an error range of about 3.4 GPa at 25° C., has an elastic modulus of about 1.85 GPa within an error range of about 0.26 GPa at 150° C., has a thermal expansion coefficient of about 8.2×10−6/° C. within an error range of about 0.78×10−6/° C. below 145° C., and has a thermal expansion coefficient of about 26.5×10−6/° C. within an error range of 0.63×10−6/° C. above 145° C, however, Mizushima describes all the components of the epoxy resin and [0052] describes the thermal expansion coefficient, thermal conductivity, and modulus of elasticity broadly. If the epoxy resin compound in Mizushima is the same as that claimed, it would be expected to have the same properties as well, see MPEP §2112.01(II).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the epoxy composition of Konishi with the silica, anhydrous acid, phenol, and amines to act as curing agents, the silane coupling agent to lower dielectric relation values, and wax as a mold release, see Mizushima [0041], [0017], and [0059].
Regarding claim 8, Konishi meets the claimed, The electronic package molding method of claim 7, wherein a lower surface of a conductor plate attached to a lower surface of the planar heating element and an upper surface of the electronic package are vertically disposed to face each other in parallel (Konishi Figures 11B/C show the mold 35d on the bottom of the press heater 35b and facing the resin sheet and circuit board below) and the epoxy molding compound is supplied to the upper surface of the electronic package, (Konishi col. 18 lines 18-21 describe providing the resin) the moving of the planar heating element includes applying the heat and the pressure by bringing the lower surface of the conductor plate into close contact with the epoxy molding compound as the planar heating element descends with the conductor plate (Konishi col. 18 lines 38-49 describe pressing and heating the resin and circuit board with the press heater 35b, see also Figure 11B/C.)
Regarding claim 11, Konishi does not describe the material of the heating element and does not meet the claimed, The electronic package molding method of claim 7, wherein the planar heating element includes at least one of CNT, carbon fiber, and carbon black.
Jackson meets the claimed, The electronic package molding method of claim 7, wherein the planar heating element includes at least one of CNT, carbon fiber, and carbon black (Jackson page 5 lines 15-17 describe carbon fabric (fiber) is the heating element.)
The courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the mold of Konishi with the carbon fabric (fiber) heating element of Jackson because temperature feedback and control can be applied to the carbon fabric, see Jackson page 5 lines 7-17.
Regarding claim 13, Sheng meets the claimed, The electronic package molding method of claim 7, wherein a strain measurement sensor for measuring strain of the epoxy molding compound includes one of a strain gauge and a fiber optic sensor (Sheng [0058] describes optical fiber for the strain sensor.)
Jackson further meets the claimed, and a temperature sensor for measuring temperature of the epoxy molding compound includes a thermocouple (Jackson page 5 lines 7-10 describe a thermocouple 33.)
The courts have held that substituting one known prior art element for another according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to substitute the fiber temperature sensor described in Sheng for the thermocouple described in Jackson because it is a known method of measuring temperature, see Jackson page 5 lines 7-23.
Regarding claim 14, Konishi as modified meets the claimed, A semiconductor package module manufactured by the electronic package molding method of claim 7 (Konishi as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 7 and Konishi describes the substrate made.)
Regarding claim 15, Konishi does not describe a strain or temperature sensor. Sheng meets the claimed, The electronic package molding device of claim 1, wherein the strain sensor and the temperature sensor are attached to a substrate of the electronic package (Sheng [0029] describes the temperature and strain sensors are attached to the semiconductor chip.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the molding apparatus of Konishi with the sensors of Sheng being connected to the semiconductor chip in order to avoid transmission loss and prevent overheating and other problems, see Sheng [0029] and [0044].
Neither Konishi nor Sheng describe that the semiconductor chip in the recess of the lower mold, however, Jackson Figure 1 shows the material 16 in the pocket die 15.
The courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the mold of Konishi to have a lower part and cavity as disclosed in Jackson in order to be able to apply pressure while the material 16 is held by the pocket die, see Jackson page 5 lines 3-6.
Regarding claim 16, Konishi does not describe a strain or temperature sensor. Sheng meets the claimed, The electronic package molding method of claim 7, wherein the measuring of the strain and the temperature includes attaching the strain sensor and the temperature sensor to a substrate of the electronic package (Sheng [0029] describes the temperature and strain sensors are attached to the semiconductor chip.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the molding apparatus of Konishi with the sensors of Sheng being connected to the semiconductor chip in order to avoid transmission loss and prevent overheating and other problems, see Sheng [0029] and [0044].
Neither Konishi nor Sheng describe that the semiconductor chip in the recess of the lower mold, however, Jackson meets the claimed, in the recess of the lower mold, (Jackson Figure 1 shows the die 15 has a pocket for material 16.)
The courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the mold of Konishi to have a lower part and cavity as disclosed in Jackson in order to be able to apply pressure while the material 16 is held by the pocket die, see Jackson page 5 lines 3-6.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konishi modified by Sheng, Jackson, Zhong, and Mizushima as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Li (CN109390241A, see English translation previously provided.)
Regarding claim 10, Konishi does not describe the time or temperature and does not describe molding at 170°C for two hours. Sheng [0059] describes molding the epoxy at 175°C and maintaining the temperature but does not describe maintaining the temperature at about 175° C. for about two hours.
Analogous in the field of electronics packaging, Li meets the claimed, The electronic package molding method of claim 7, wherein the molding of the electronic package further includes curing the epoxy molding compound (Li [0036] describes an epoxy encapsulation material) by increasing temperature of the epoxy molding compound to 175° C (Li [0046] describes heating at 175°C which would ‘gradually’ increase the temperature of the epoxy molding compound as it is being heated) and then maintaining the temperature at about 175° C. for about two hours (Li [0046] describes 6 to 10 hours rather than 2 hours but does disclose curing the shell as quickly as possible to avoid overheating. Since the heating of the epoxy is a result-effective variable affecting the performance, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the heating time through routine optimization to prevent overheating while still curing the epoxy, see Li [0046].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the method of heating and curing the epoxy as described in Konishi with the method of heating the epoxy to 175°C for a prolonged time period as disclosed in Li in order to ensure a cure without overheating, see Li [00046].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744