Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christoph (WO 2023001702).
Regarding claim-1. Christoph discloses an object orientation adjusting device for a roller conveyor (24-1 to 24-3) configured to convey an object (Fig.1, 3), the object orientation adjusting device comprising:
a first roller group (28) comprising a plurality of rollers (34) configured to rotate in a direction perpendicular to a conveying direction (Fig.3);
a second roller group (28) comprising a plurality of rollers (34) configured to rotate in the direction perpendicular to the conveying direction (Fig.3);
a lifting apparatus (raised and lowered) configured to simultaneously lift the first roller group and the second roller group ([0073]); and
a sensor (30, 38, 40) configured to detect an orientation of the object on a plane ([0027], [0031], [0069-0070]).
Regarding claim-5. Christoph discloses further comprising a plurality of conveyor rollers (24) configured to convey the object in the conveying direction (HF),
wherein the first roller group (28) and the second roller group (28) align in the conveying direction (Fig.3), and when a center of gravity of the object being conveyed in the conveying direction by the plurality of conveyor rollers is positioned between the first roller group and the second roller group in the conveying direction, the lifting apparatus (raised and lowered) is configured to lift the first roller group and the second roller group to a position higher than a height of the plurality of conveying rollers ([0073], Fig.3).
Regarding claim-6. Christoph discloses further comprising a sensor group (30, 38, 40) configured to detect that the center of gravity of the object is positioned between the first roller group and the second roller group in the conveying direction ([0027], [0031], [0069-0070], Fig.3).
Regarding claim-7. Christoph discloses wherein the first roller group (24) and the second roller group (24) are configured to rotate in directions opposite to each other after being lifted to the position higher than the height of the plurality of conveying rollers (one roller group can rotated to deliver object based on conveying direction HF’s 24-1, 24-3 which can be opposite to on another see Fig.1, and 3).
Claim(s) 1, 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Filippo (US 20170029219).
Regarding claim-1. Filippo discloses an object orientation adjusting device for a roller conveyor (MRT configured to convey an object (Fig.8-9, 10A-D), the object orientation adjusting device comprising:
a first roller group (MW) comprising a plurality of rollers (Fig.9) configured to rotate in a direction perpendicular to a conveying direction (Fig.9);
a second roller group (MW) comprising a plurality of rollers (Fig.9) configured to rotate in the direction perpendicular to the conveying direction (Fig.9);
a lifting apparatus (raised and lowered) configured to simultaneously lift the first roller group and the second roller group (([0067], [0146], [0148], Fig.9); and
a sensor (SR) configured to detect an orientation of the object on a plane ([0002], [0012], [0126]).
Regarding claim-4. Filippo discloses further comprising a stopper (Annotated Fig.9) oriented in the direction perpendicular to the conveying direction and disposed on one side of a conveying path (Fig.8-9).
Regarding claim-5. Filippo discloses further comprising a plurality of conveyor rollers (MRT) configured to convey the object in the conveying direction (Fig.8-9),
wherein the first roller group (MW) and the second roller group (MW) align in the conveying direction (Fig.9), and when a center of gravity of the object being conveyed in the conveying direction by the plurality of conveyor rollers is positioned between the first roller group and the second roller group in the conveying direction, the lifting apparatus (raised and lowered) is configured to lift the first roller group and the second roller group to a position higher than a height of the plurality of conveying rollers ([0067], [0146], [0148], Fig.9).
Regarding claim-6. Filippo discloses further comprising a sensor group (SR, SRP) configured to detect that the center of gravity of the object is positioned between the first roller group and the second roller group in the conveying direction ([0108-0109], [0126] Fig.9).
Regarding claim-7. Filippo discloses wherein the first roller group (MW) and the second roller group (MW) are configured to rotate in directions opposite to each other after being lifted to the position higher than the height of the plurality of conveying rollers (one roller group can rotated to adjust the orientation as can be seen in Fig.10A-D).
Regarding claim-8. Filippo further comprising a stopper (Annotated Fig.9) oriented in the direction perpendicular to the conveying direction and disposed on one side of a conveying path (Fig.8-9), wherein the first roller group (MW and the second roller group (MW) are configured to rotate in a same direction as each other to move the object toward the stopper after the orientation of the object is adjusted (See Fig.8-9, 10A-D).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lan (CN 1135260996).
Regarding claim-3. An object orientation adjusting device for a roller conveyor configured to convey an object (Fig.1-3, Abstract), the object orientation adjusting device comprising:
a first belt part (72) comprising: a plurality of pulleys (73) configured to rotate in a direction perpendicular to a conveying direction; and a belt (Fig.2-4);
a second belt part (72) comprising: a plurality of pulleys (73) configured to rotate in the direction perpendicular to the conveying direction; and a belt (Fig.2-4);
a lifting apparatus (8) configured to simultaneously lift the first belt part and the second belt part (Fig.2-3); and
a sensor (14) configured to detect an orientation of the object on a plane (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filippo (US 20170029219) in view of Donald (US 9365361).
Regarding claim-2. Filippo discloses an object orientation adjusting device for a roller conveyor configured to convey an object (Fig.8-9, 10A-D), the object orientation adjusting device comprising:
But doesn’t teaches a first roller chain part comprising: a plurality of sprockets configured to rotate in a direction perpendicular to a conveying direction; and a roller chain; a second roller chain part comprising: a plurality of sprockets configured to rotate in the direction perpendicular to the conveying direction; and a roller chain; a lifting apparatus configured to simultaneously lift the first roller chain part and the second roller chain part; and a sensor configured to detect an orientation of the object on a plane. Instead teaches a first roller group (MW) comprising a plurality of rollers (Fig.9) configured to rotate in a direction perpendicular to a conveying direction (Fig.9); a second roller group (MW) comprising a plurality of rollers (Fig.9) configured to rotate in the direction perpendicular to the conveying direction (Fig.9); a lifting apparatus (raised and lowered) configured to simultaneously lift the first roller group and the second roller group (([0067], [0146], [0148], Fig.9); and a sensor (SR) configured to detect an orientation of the object on a plane ([0002], [0012], [0126]). It is obvious and just a mere of design selection in which person skilled in the art can easily modify/replace rollers with chain/sprocket design based on required specification without involving any inventive step.
Donald discloses a transfer conveying system and also discloses plurality of roller chains (44 having projecting teethes 94) with sprockets/gears configured to be raised and lowered via lifting mechanism (38) (Fig.1-2, 3A-B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify or alternatively provide Filippo’s system with roller chain and sprockets as taught by Donald for purpose of diverting or adjusting the orientation position of objects.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filippo (US 20170029219) in view of Lan (CN 1135260996).
Filippo discloses an object orientation adjusting device for a roller conveyor configured to convey an object (Fig.8-9, 10A-D), the object orientation adjusting device comprising: But doesn’t teaches a first belt part comprising: a plurality of pulleys configured to rotate in a direction perpendicular to a conveying direction; and a belt; a second belt part comprising: a plurality of pulleys configured to rotate in the direction perpendicular to the conveying direction; and a belt; a lifting apparatus configured to simultaneously lift the first belt part and the second belt part; and a sensor configured to detect an orientation of the object on a plane. Instead teaches a first roller group (MW) comprising a plurality of rollers (Fig.9) configured to rotate in a direction perpendicular to a conveying direction (Fig.9); a second roller group (MW) comprising a plurality of rollers (Fig.9) configured to rotate in the direction perpendicular to the conveying direction (Fig.9); a lifting apparatus (raised and lowered) configured to simultaneously lift the first roller group and the second roller group (([0067], [0146], [0148], Fig.9); and a sensor (SR) configured to detect an orientation of the object on a plane ([0002], [0012], [0126]). It is obvious and just a mere of design selection in which person skilled in the art can easily modify/replace rollers with belt/pulley design based on required specification without involving any inventive step.
Lan discloses an object orientation adjusting device for a roller conveyor configured to convey an object (Fig.1-3, Abstract) and also, discloses plurality of belt (72) and pulleys (73) configured to be raised and lowered via lifting mechanism (8) (Fig.2-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify or alternatively provide Filippo’s system with belt and pulley as taught by Lan for purpose of diverting or adjusting the orientation position of objects.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lan (CN 1135260996) in view of Donald (US 9365361).
Regarding claim-2. Lan discloses an object orientation adjusting device for a roller conveyor configured to convey an object (Fig.1-3, Abstract), the object orientation adjusting device comprising:
But doesn’t teaches a first roller chain part comprising: a plurality of sprockets configured to rotate in a direction perpendicular to a conveying direction; and a roller chain; a second roller chain part comprising: a plurality of sprockets configured to rotate in the direction perpendicular to the conveying direction; and a roller chain; a lifting apparatus configured to simultaneously lift the first roller chain part and the second roller chain part; and a sensor configured to detect an orientation of the object on a plane. Instead teaches a first belt part (72) comprising: a plurality of pulleys (73) configured to rotate in a direction perpendicular to a conveying direction; and a belt (Fig.2-4); a second belt part (72) comprising: a plurality of pulleys (73) configured to rotate in the direction perpendicular to the conveying direction; and a belt (Fig.2-4); a lifting apparatus (8) configured to simultaneously lift the first belt part and the second belt part (Fig.2-3); and a sensor (14) configured to detect an orientation of the object on a plane. It is obvious and just a mere of design selection in which person skilled in the art can easily modify/replace belt/pulley with chain/sprocket design based on required specification without involving any inventive step.
Donald discloses a transfer conveying system and also discloses plurality of roller chains (44 having projecting teethes 94) with sprockets/gears configured to be raised and lowered via lifting mechanism (38) (Fig.1-2, 3A-B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify or alternatively provide Lan’s system with roller chain and sprockets as taught by Donald for purpose of diverting or adjusting the orientation position of objects.
Conclusion
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651