DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/15/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohta (US 2011/0261928 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ohta discloses a radiographic imaging apparatus (Figs.3 and 13), including:
a) a radiographic imager 24 that performs imaging, thereby capturing a radiographic image;
b) a built-in power storage device 52a that supplies electric power to the radiographic imager 24;
c) an attachment portion 29 to which an external power storage device 58a that supplied electric power to the radiographic imager 24 is to be detachably attached (Fig.3);
d) a connector 17 that is electrically connectable to an external apparatus 13 (par.0030); and
e) a hardware processor 53 that:
i) in a case where the hardware processor 53 is connected to the external apparatus 13 by the connector 17 and the radiographic imager 24 is performing imaging, performs control to supply electric power supplied from the external apparatus 13 to the radiographic imager 24 (par.0061); and
ii) in a case where the hardware processor 53 is connected to the external apparatus 13 by the connector 17 and the radiographic imager 24 is not performing imaging, performs control to supply the electric power supplied from the external apparatus 13 to the built-in power storage device 52a or the external power storage device 58a attached to the attachment portion 29 (at least battery 58a is charged by the console 13 when connected by cable 17 and not acquiring images: par.0061).
With respect to claim 3, Ohta further discloses that the built-in power storage device 52 is a Li-ion capacitor (par.0042) and that the external power storage device 58a is a Li-ion battery (par.0061).
With respect to claim 4, Ohta further discloses that, in a case where the hardware processor 53 is not connected to the external apparatus 13 by the connector 17, the hardware processor 53 performs control to supply electric power from the built-in power storage device 52a (par.0040) or the external power storage device 58a attached to the attachment portion 29 to the radiographic imager 24 (par.0061).
With respect to claim 5, Ohta further discloses that, in the case where the hardware processor 53 is not connected to the external apparatus 13 by the connector 17, the hardware processor 53 performs control to supply electric power from the built-in power storage device 52a to the radiographic imager 24 preferentially in a case where the external power storage device 58a is attached to the attachment portion 29 (par.0061: “Thereby, even when the battery 52a of the first power source 52 runs out, the battery 58a of the second power source 58 can be used to supply electric power. Therefore, it is possible to increase the operation time of the electronic cassette 12 in the state that the cable 17 is not connected to the handle 23.”).
With respect to claim 6, Ohta further discloses that, in a case where the hardware processor 53 is not connected to the external apparatus 13 by the connector 17, and the external power storage device 58a is attached to the attachment portion 29, and the radiographic imager 24 is not performing imaging, and a remaining charge amount of the build-in power storage device 52a is less than a predetermined value, the hardware processor 53 performs control to supply electric power from the external power storage device 58a to the built-in power storage device 52a (pars.0047 and 0061, battery 58a may be used to charge battery 52a when there is no imaging taking place).
With respect to claim 9, Ohta further discloses that the hardware processor 53 displays a remaining charge amount of the built-in power storage device 52a on a display 54 provided on a housing of the radiographic imaging apparatus 24 (pars.0044 and 0055).
With respect to claim 11, Ohta further discloses a radiographic imaging system (Fig.1) having a console 13 that receives information indicating a state of the radiographic imaging apparatus 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta in view of Mako (US 2013/0270913 A1).
With respect to claim 2, Ohta further discloses that, when the hardware processor 53 is connected to the external apparatus 13 by the connector 17 and the radiographic imager 24 is not performing imaging, the hardware processor 53 performs control to supply the electric power supplied from the external apparatus 13 to the built-in power storage device preferentially (par.0040).
Further with respect to claim 2, Ohta does not specifically disclose that the hardware processor further performs control to supply electric power supplied from the external apparatus to the external power storage device in a case where a remaining charge amount of the built-in power storage device is equal to or greater than a predetermined value. Ohta simply says that the battery 58a is intended to be charged when connected to the console 13 by the connector 17 (par.0061).
Mako teaches the practice of preventing a built-in battery 103 from being fully charged when the detector is at an elevated temperature in order to prolong the longevity of the built-in battery (50% SOC or higher, Figs.1-3, see at least par.0007). Mako additionally teaches charging the built-in battery when imaging is not taking place (Fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for Ohta to additionally perform control to supply the electric power from the external apparatus to the external power storage device in a case where a remaining charge amount of the built-in power storage device is equal to or greater than a predetermined value in order to improve the longevity of the built-in power storage device, as taught by Mako.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta in view of Utschig (US 2008/0240358 A1).
With respect to claim 7, Ohta does not specifically disclose that, when the hardware processor is not connected to the external apparatus, the external power storage device is attached, and while imaging, the hardware processor performs control to supply electric power from the external power storage device to the radiographic imager preferentially. Ohta suggests that the internal battery might run out first (par.0061).
Utschig specifically teaches the practice of having a built-in battery (Fig.2, not shown, par.0025), in combination with an external battery 56 attached to the radiographic imager 36. Utschig specifically states in par.0025 that the external battery 56 is preferentially discharged before the built-in battery during imaging for the advantages of having the internal battery maintain continued operation while the external battery is replaced, without having to move the detector (par.0018). The skilled artisan appreciates that, in this manner, the radiographic imager may be available for other imaging and/or for backup or standby functions while the handle (containing external battery 56) may be swapped out or charged separately from the detector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for Ohta to preferentially supply electric power from the external power storage device to the radiographic imager when performing moving image acquisition while the radiographic imager is not connected to the external apparatus and the external power storage device is attached to the attachment portion, as taught by Utschig, in order to enable subsequent utility of the radiographic imager as needed.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta in view of Yokoyama (US 2008/0054182 A1).
With respect to claim 8, Ohta does not specifically disclose that a moving image mode is prohibited when the hardware processor is not connected to the external apparatus and the external power storage device is not attached to the attachment portion. Ohta simply states that the internal battery 52a may have sufficient charge to capture an image that requires a plurality of frames (par.0040).
Yokoyama teaches the practice of having a radiographic imager 20 (Fig.5) having a built-in battery 35 capable of performing still imaging (images requiring only one or a few frames), and having an external battery 36 attached to the radiographic imager 20 in order to enable moving image acquisition by providing additional electric power, as well as additional processing power and memory capacity. In this manner, the portable radiographic imager is capable of performing either imaging mode, while being lightweight when moving imaging is not needed (see at least pars.0006-0010, 0025 and 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for Ohta to prevent moving imaging when the radiographic imager is not connected to a power cord and when the external battery is not connected, as suggested by Yokoyama, in order to maintain a lightweight detector when only still imaging is required.
With respect to claim 15, Ohta does not specifically disclose that the console prohibits the user from selecting a moving image acquisition mode in a case where the external battery is not connected. Ohta simply states that the detector may be capable of acquiring one or more image frames when running on battery 52a alone (par.0040).
Yokoyama teaches the practice of limiting a radiographic imager 20 (Fig.5) from performing moving image acquisition when the external battery 21 (36) is not connected because the internal battery alone is not capable of performing such imaging (pars.0025 and 0034). In this manner, the detector is kept lightweight for still imaging, and only takes on the additional weight of the battery (and other supporting devices) for the more demanding moving image mode (pars.0006-0010). By blocking the moving image mode when the external devices 21 are not attached, time is saved and radiation exposure to the patient is reduced by avoiding exposure to the detector when the detector is not capable of performing moving imaging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the console of Ohta to prevent the user from selecting a moving image mode when the external power storage device is not attached to the attachment portion in order to prevent improper imaging due the detector having insufficient resources, thus reducing unnecessary radiation exposure to the patient.
Claims 10, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta in view of Ohara (US 2009/0232278 A1).
With respect to claim 10, Ohta discloses a display 54 provided on the housing of the radiographic imaging apparatus (Fig.13).
However, Ohta does not specifically disclose providing the attachment or detachment status of the external power storage device to the display.
Ohara teaches the practice of providing a display 25 on the housing of the radiographic imager (Figs.2 and 3) for making it easy for the operator to readily ascertain the charging state of the detachable battery 21 and operating states of the detector (par.0100). The skilled artisan appreciates that the critical nature of the presence of the detachable battery would be advantageously displayed for ready understanding by the user in order to avoid user errors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for Ohta to display whether the external battery is attached in order to minimize user error, as suggested by Ohara.
With respect to claim 12, Ohta does not specifically disclose that the console 13 displays the remaining charge of the batteries of the detector. Ohta generally teaches that the console 13 controls the radiographic imagers based on a received unique ID (par.0062).
Ohara teaches the practice of providing a console 30 (Fig.6) that has a display 32 for displaying information regarding the operating status of the radiographic imager, including the charge state of the battery 21 (par.0118), and particularly displays the charge state of the battery and operating state of the detector when the charge levels are below a predetermined value (pars.0122-0124). Given that Ohta relies on both batteries when the handle is attached, the skilled artisan appreciates that the charge status of both batteries would be critical information for the operator and trivial to implement. In this manner, the operator is appropriately apprised of the condition and availability of the radiographic imager for safe operation of the imaging system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for Ohta to have the console display a message that the remaining charge amount of the external power storage device and the built-in power storage device is equal to or less than a predetermined value in order to ensure that the operator is apprised that the radiographic imager may be unsuitable for the desired imaging operation, as suggested by Ohara.
With respect to claim 14, Ohta does not specifically disclose that the console 13 displays a message that the external power storage device 58a is not attached to the attachment portion 29. Ohta generally teaches that the console 13 controls the radiographic imagers based on a received unique ID (par.0062).
Ohara teaches the practice of providing a console 30 (Fig.6) that has a display 32 for displaying information regarding the operating status of the radiographic imager, including the charge state of the battery 21 (par.0118, also see pars.0122-0124). In this manner, the operator is appropriately apprised of the condition and availability of the radiographic imager for use. The skilled artisan appreciates that the critical nature of the presence of the detachable battery would be advantageously displayed for ready understanding by the user in order to avoid user errors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for Ohta to have the console display a message stating that the external power storage device is not attached to the attachment portion in order to ensure safe operation, as taught by Ohara.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta in view of Shimizukawa (JP 2012-70879 A, pagination from provided translation).
With respect to claim 13, Ohta does not specifically disclose predicting the number of images or imaging duration based on the remaining charge amount of the external and built-in power storage devices and displaying the results on the console display. Ohta generally teaches that the console 13 controls the radiographic imagers based on a received unique ID (par.0062).
Shimizukawa teaches the practice of displaying the remaining charge amount of the battery of a detector on a console, and further displaying the number of images that are estimated to be able to be acquired, and the predicted remaining detector standby time, based on the remaining charge amount of the detector battery. The operator is apprised of the detector status and whether the desired imaging protocol(s) may be performed with the detector, thus avoiding the risk of exposing the patient while the battery runs out and the imaging remains incomplete (see at least Abstract).
The skilled artisan appreciates the fact that Ohta relies upon both batteries 58a and 52a for imaging when the handle is attached, and thus necessarily would benefit from accounting for the states of charge of both batteries to estimate remaining run time, as recommended by Shimizukawa.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for Ohta to display on the console display a number of images that can be captured by imaging and/or a time period for which imaging can be performed, the number and the time period corresponding to a remaining charge amount of the external power storage device and the built-in power storage device, in order to safely start or continue imaging if there is enough charge in both batteries, as recommended by Shimizukawa.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the remaining prior art (see attached PTO-892) teaches various aspects of portable x-ray detectors having two rechargeable energy storage devices, where at least one is detachable.
THOMAS R. ARTMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/THOMAS R ARTMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884