DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Schaeffer (US 20080243313 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Schaeffer teaches an aircraft emergency descent system, comprising: an aircraft (element 12) having a plurality of rotor assemblies (¶ [0001], elements 14), each of the plurality of rotor assemblies having: a rotor coupled to a motor (Figure 1, rotor 14 coupled to motor 16 as explained in ¶ [0010]); and an actuator operable to adjust a blade pitch angle of the rotor (Figures 1-2C, element 36 as explained in ¶ [0018-0021]); at least one governor in digital communication with the plurality of rotor assemblies (Abstract. ¶ [0013, 0023-0024]), the at least one governor having: a rotor module configured to monitor rotational velocity of the rotor of each of the plurality of rotor assemblies (abstract. ¶ [0003-0004]); a pitch adjustment module configured to adjust a collective blade pitch of the rotor of each of the plurality of rotor assemblies (abstract. ¶ [0003-0004]); and a maximum collective blade pitch module having a pre-set maximum blade pitch (abstract. ¶ [0003-0004]); an aircraft control system in digital communication with the plurality of rotor assemblies and the at least one governor (¶ [0013-0016]), the aircraft control system having: an altitude monitor device configured to monitor an altitude of the aircraft (¶ [0013] teaches that the control system comprises a flight control computer (FCC). Examiner takes official notice that flight control computers are well known in the art to monitor and process airspeed, altitude, and attitude variables, and control the aircraft based on the monitored results. See Wikipedia: Flight Control Computer for extrinsic supporting evidence); and a failure detection module configured to detect a failure associated with one or more of the rotor assemblies (¶ [0010, 0022-0025]); wherein when the failure is detected, the aircraft control system is first configured to command a maximum torque to the motor or maximum blade angle of each rotor assembly such that rotational velocity of one or more functioning rotor assemblies begins to either increase, hold, or decrease (¶ [0026-0030]); wherein an increase in rotational velocity is detected by the rotor module of the at least one governor (abstract. ¶ [0003-0004, 0020-0021]), thereby causing the at least one governor to adjust motor torque or the collective blade pitch to attempt to maintain a pre-set desired rotational velocity that could be determined by a failure condition, a flight condition, or a height above ground (¶ [0020-0032]); and wherein the altitude monitor device is configured to determine when the aircraft approaches a pre-set altitude (inasmuch as applicant has claimed); and wherein when the aircraft is at the pre-set altitude, a plurality of the maximum collective blade pitch modules is activated such that the at least one governor adjusts the collective blade pitch to the pre-set maximum blade pitch (¶ [0020-0032]) to slow a rate of descent of the aircraft before the aircraft touches a ground surface (intended use).
Regarding claim 2, Schaeffer teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the plurality of rotor assemblies further comprises one or more rotor assemblies (abstract. ¶ [0003-0004]).
Regarding claim 3, Schaeffer teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the aircraft control system further comprises at least one operator interface for receiving user input for aircraft operation (¶ [0025]).
Regarding claim 4, Schaeffer teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the pre-set desired rotational velocity is a range of velocities (¶ [0040]).
Regarding claim 5, Schaeffer teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the pre-set desired rotational velocity is a set point rotational velocity (¶ [0040]).
Regarding claim 6, Schaeffer teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the at least one governor is configured to adjust the collective blade pitch of the rotor or motor torque of each of the plurality of rotor assemblies when in a failure mode and when not in a failure mode (¶ [0020-0032] inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 7, Schaeffer teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the pre-set altitude is selected such that a reduced descent rate occurs at a point of touchdown of the aircraft to the ground (intended use).
Regarding claim 8, Schaeffer teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the aircraft comprises a multi-propeller electric vertical take-off and landing aircraft. (¶ [0015] notes that the aircraft conducts vertical take-off and landing. Figure 1 depicts an electric rotor system, and the abstract notes that the aircraft may comprises one or more rotors.)
Regarding claim 9, Schaeffer teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the failure detection control module is configured to determine when one or more of the plurality of rotor assemblies has failed by determining when the rotor of one or more of the plurality of rotor assemblies has slowed in rotational velocity below a threshold level or when the rotor of one or more of the plurality of rotor assemblies has stopped rotating (¶ [0010, 0022-0025] indicate that the flight control system in conjunction with a plurality of sensors, monitors, and processors are used to mitigate failures when they occur. Of which, ¶ [0031] teaches rotation monitor 42 is configured to monitor information related to the rotational velocity of the rotor to include rotational orientation of the rotor, drive shaft, or motor; rotational velocity of the drive shaft, rotor, or motor, via RPM sensors and position sensors. Examiner asserts this satisfies the configuration limitations listed above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-18 are allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Schneider et al. (US 20240391600 A1)- Teaches a rotorcraft failure detection system comprising altitude settings and detecting a change in altitude.
/JUSTIN MICHAEL HESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3644