DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “each first coupling portion and a corresponding second coupling portion are located on a same side of the female connector in the width direction”. This limitation is indefinite for several reasons. First it is unclear whether it refers to one of the prior claimed pair of second coupling portions, or if it is a new additional second coupling portion. Second it is unclear whether Applicant is claiming both first coupling portions are located on the same side as one of the second coupling portions, if Applicant is claiming that each first coupling portion is on a same side and each second coupling portion is on the same side, or if Applicant is claiming that one each of the first and second coupling portions are located on the same side. Appropriate clarification and correction is required. For examination purposes Examiner assumes Applicant intended to claim “each first coupling portion is located on a same side of the female connector in the width direction as a corresponding one of the second coupling portions”. Examiner notes other interpretations would result in 112a rejections and drawing objections.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the pair of abutting surfaces”. This limitation is indefinite as it lacks antecedent basis and is unclear if it is intended to be newly claimed here or if claim 16 was intended to depend on claim 15, which does recite such. Appropriate clarification and correction is required. For examination purposes Examiner assumes Applicant intended claim 16 to depend on claim 15.
Claim 17 is indefinite at least by virtue of depending on indefinite claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 12-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bantle (US 6,406,235).
With regard to claim 1, Bantle discloses a female connector (20), configured to be fixed to a first article and be coupled to a male connector fixed to a second article, so as to connect the first article to the second article (as seen in Figs. 3-5 it is capable of this intended use limitation in the preamble), wherein the female connector comprises: a main body portion (e.g. including 23, 29, 31, etc.), comprising a pair of side walls (e.g. each wall of 20 above 29 separated by slits 34) spaced apart in a width direction (as seen in Fig. 2) to define, between the pair of side walls, an insertion groove (i.e. the central opening thereof as seen in Fig. 2) for an insertion portion of the male connector to be inserted (as seen in Figs. 3-5 it is capable of this intended use limitation), and the insertion portion comprising, downward in sequence, an abutting portion and a head portion (as seen in Figs. 3-5 it is capable of this intended use limitation as these are limitations directed toward the male connector that it can be used with); and a pair of elastic walls (e.g. the lower walls below 29 and separated by slits 34 or the lower walls below lower 22 and separated by slits 34), extending downward and inward respectively from the pair of side walls (as see in Fig. 2, etc. at least at 26) to respectively form a pair of abutting ends (i.e. the inward ends of 26) extending in the insertion groove (as seen in Fig. 2), wherein the pair of elastic walls are configured to be capable of elastically deforming outward when the pair of elastic walls are pressed outward by the head portion inserted in downward (as seen in Figs. 3-5 it is capable of this intended use limitation), such that the pair of abutting ends allow the head portion to pass between the pair of abutting ends (as seen in Figs. 3-5 it is capable of this intended use limitation), and is capable of abutting against the abutting portion after the head portion has passed between the pair of abutting ends so as to prevent the head portion from being pulled out upward (as seen in Figs. 3-5 it is capable of this intended use limitation).
With regard to claim 2, Bantle discloses that each elastic wall has a cross section shape of an arc which is convex outward (i.e. at least at the curved convex portion axially above 35).
With regard to claim 3, Bantle discloses that a curvature of each elastic wall increases downward (as seen in Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 4, Bantle discloses that a thickness of each elastic wall decreases downward (as seen in Fig. 2 at least near the axial bottom portion).
With regard to claim 5, Bantle discloses that the female connector further comprises a plurality of coupling portions (i.e. two 22s), and the plurality of coupling portions extends outward from an outer side surface of the main body portion and/or extends outward from two outer side surfaces of the pair of elastic walls (as seen in Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 7, Bantle discloses that the plurality of coupling portions comprise a pair of first coupling portions (as seen in Fig. 2 two 22’s (e.g. two radially opposite 22s separated by 34), the pair of first coupling portions extend outward from the two outer side surfaces of the pair of elastic walls respectively (as seen in Fig. 2), and that an end surface of each abutting end extends outward while extending downward (as seen in Fig. 3).
With regard to claim 8, Bantle discloses that the plurality of coupling portions further comprises a pair of second coupling portions (two other 22s (e.g. e.g. two radially opposite 22s separated by 34)), and the pair of second coupling portions extend outward respectively from two outer side surfaces of the pair of side walls (as seen in Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 12, Bantle discloses that the female connector further comprises a skirt portion (at 24/25) which is located at an upper end of the main body portion and extends outward from an outer side surface of the main body portion (as seen in Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 13, Bantle discloses that the skirt portion and the main body portion together define a guide surface (e.g. including 33 and the axial upper portion adjacent thereto as this complex surface is capable of guiding something (e.g. the male member)), the guide surface extends inward while extending downward from an upper side surface of the skirt portion to an inner side surface of the main body portion (as seen in Fig. 2), and an upper edge of the guide surface is located further outward than the outer side surface of the main body portion (as seen in Fig. 2 at the outer radial portion thereof).
With regard to claim 14, Bantle discloses a male connector (15), configured to be coupled to the female connector according to claim 1 fixed to a first article, so as to connect a second article fixed to the male connector to the first article (Examiner notes Bantle discloses these claimed intended use limitations in the preamble as the male connector is capable of such as shown in Figs. 3-5), wherein the male connector comprises an insertion portion (e.g. including 11-13, 16-17, etc.), the insertion portion comprises, downward in sequence, an abutting portion (e.g. including 16-17 and/or 12) and a head portion (e.g. including at least 11); the head portion is capable of pressing, by inserting downward into the insertion groove of the female connector, the pair of elastic walls of the female connector to make the pair of elastic walls elastically deform outward (as seen in Figs. 3-5 it is capable of this intended use limitation), such that the pair of abutting ends of the pair of elastic walls allow the head portion to pass through the pair of abutting ends, and is capable of abutting against the abutting portion after the head portion has passed through the pair of abutting ends so as to prevent the head portion from being pulled out upward (as seen in Figs. 3-5 it is capable of this intended use limitation).
With regard to claim 19, Bantle discloses a connection device (including 15 and 20), wherein the connection device comprises: the female connector according to claim 1 (20, as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above), configured to be fixed to the first article (as seen in Figs. 3-5 it is capable of this intended use limitation); and a male connector (15), configured to be fixed to a second article (as seen in Figs. 3-5 it is capable of this intended use limitation), and comprising an insertion portion (e.g. including 11-13, 16-17, etc.) suitable for being inserted into the insertion groove of the female connector (as seen in Figs. 3-5 it is capable of this intended use limitation), wherein the insertion portion comprises, downward in sequence, an abutting portion (e.g. including 16-17 and/or 12) and a head portion (e.g. including at least 11); the pair of elastic walls of the female connector are configured to be capable of elastically deforming outward when the pair of elastic walls are pressed by the head portion being inserted downward (as seen in Figs. 3-5 it is capable of this intended use limitation), so that the pair of abutting ends of the pair of elastic walls allow the head portion to pass between the pair of abutting ends (as seen in Figs. 3-5 it is capable of this intended use limitation), and is capable of abutting against the abutting portion after the head portion has passed between the pair of abutting ends so as to prevent the head portion from being pulled out upward (as seen in Figs. 3-5 it is capable of this intended use limitation).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sawano (US 2022/0325738).
With regard to claim 14, Sawano discloses a male connector (22), configured to be coupled to the female connector according to claim 1 fixed to a first article, so as to connect a second article fixed to the male connector to the first article (Examiner notes Sawano discloses these claimed intended use limitations in the preamble as the male connector (22) is capable of such as shown in Figs. 11-14 as it can be used with a female connector (40)), wherein the male connector comprises an insertion portion (e.g. including 34, 36, etc.), the insertion portion comprises, downward in sequence, an abutting portion (e.g. including one or more of 34B, 36B, etc.) and a head portion (e.g. including at least the portion between 34B and 26A); the head portion is capable of pressing, by inserting downward into the insertion groove of the female connector, the pair of elastic walls of the female connector to make the pair of elastic walls elastically deform outward (as seen in Figs. 11-14 it is capable of this intended use limitation), such that the pair of abutting ends of the pair of elastic walls allow the head portion to pass through the pair of abutting ends, and is capable of abutting against the abutting portion after the head portion has passed through the pair of abutting ends so as to prevent the head portion from being pulled out upward (as seen in Figs. 11-14 it is capable of this intended use limitation).
With regard to claim 15, Sawano discloses that the abutting portion comprises a pair of abutting surfaces (34B and 36B, as seen in Fig. 4), the pair of abutting surfaces are respectively located on two opposite sides of the abutting portion in the width direction (as seen in Fig. 4 as they are annular they each have a portion opposite each other in the width (i.e. radial) direction), and each abutting surface extends outward while extending downward (as seen in Fig. 4 as they each have at least a portion inclined in such a manner).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bantle (US 6,406,235) alone.
With regard to claim 6, Bantle discloses each coupling portion has an upper side surface (as seen in Fig. 2) that extends outward (as seen in Fig. 2), but is silent as to whether the upper portions are flat or have a slight incline and thus fails to explicitly disclose that the upper side surface of each coupling portion also extends downward. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the upper side surfaces of the coupling portions to also extend downward (e.g. even if just at an exceedingly small angle) as a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Such a modification would provide the expected benefit of allowing for greater manufacturing tolerances thereby reducing costs, allowing for slightly easier insertion, etc..
Additionally and/or alternatively it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the upper side surfaces of the coupling portions to also extend downward (e.g. even if just at an exceedingly small angle) as Examiner hereby takes Official Notice that the art is replete with examples of upper sides of coupling portions (e.g. barbs) extending outward and downward. Such a modification would provide the expected benefit of allowing for greater manufacturing tolerances thereby reducing costs, allowing for slightly easier insertion, etc..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, 18, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Additionally claims 9, 16, and 17 would only be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected claim upon overcoming the above 112(b) rejections of these claims in the manner as interpreted by Examiner.
Examiner’s Recommendations
Examiner recommends incorporating claim 11 into claim 1, and claims 15-16 into claim 15, as upon overcoming the above 112(b) rejections it is believed such should place all claims in condition for allowance. Any final determination on patentability would depend on the exact language of any claim amendment and may require additional search and/or consideration depending on such language.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides additional examples of similar connector assemblies with male and female elements with many of the same features as those claimed in the instant invention..
/NICHOLAS L FOSTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675