DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/15/2024, 09/17/2025, and 03/05/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Application on 04/15/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 12-13, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shanghai Jiao Tong University (CN 102777450 A).
With regards to claim 1:
Shanghai Jiao Tong University discloses (refer to Fig. 1-2 below) an object surface structure for reducing fluid resistance and rectifying fluid, comprising a basic surface of an object (11) and an arc protrusion (12) on the basic surface, wherein the arc protrusion is a rotatable arc protrusion (12) or a fixed arc protrusion; the basic surface is provided with a pit (not shown and labeled), the rotatable arc protrusion (12) is an arc-shaped part (14) where a rotatable object with an arc-shaped surface in the pit is exposed outside the pit; the fixed arc protrusion is an arc-shaped object fixed on the basic surface, or is an arc-shaped protrusion part integrated with the basic surface; and wherein a plurality of arc protrusions (12) are arranged on the basic surface (11) and distributed in an array.
Fig. 1
Fig. 2
With regards to claim 2:
Shanghai Jiao Tong University discloses the surface structure of claim 1, wherein the basic surface (11) is a flat or/and smooth surface, or/and a streamlined shape.
With regards to claim 3:
Shanghai Jiao Tong University discloses (refer to Fig. 1 above) the surface structure of claim 1, wherein the arc protrusions (12) have equal heights or equal height differences, or/and a line connecting the highest points of the plurality of arc protrusions in a same direction is a straight line or streamlined line; the height of the arc protrusions is a relative height between the highest point of an outer surface of the arc protrusion (12) relative to the basic surface (11) and the basic surface.
With regards to claim 6:
Shanghai Jiao Tong University discloses the surface structure of claim 1, wherein the rotatable object (12) is centrosymmetric (ball, cylindrical roller), a rotatable direction of the rotatable object is a single direction or a multi-direction, and the single rotatable direction is consistent with a moving direction of fluid (15) in relative to the object (11).
With regards to claim 7:
Shanghai Jiao Tong University discloses the surface structure of claim 6, wherein a shape of the rotatable object (14) is an orthosphere, or an ellipsoid, or a cylinder, or a combination of a cylinder and a sphere, or a combination of a cone and a sphere, or a combination of a cone and a cylinder.
With regards to claim 8:
Shanghai Jiao Tong University discloses the surface structure of claim 1, wherein a shape of each pit is a shape of a remaining structure after a part of the hollow structure of the rotatable object (14) amplified proportionally is cut by the surface having the same shape with the basic surface (11) where the pit is located (the pit is the indentation of the basic surface having the same curvature of the hollow structure of the rotatable object, so it is part of the remaining structure to house the rotatable object).
With regards to claim 9:
Shanghai Jiao Tong University discloses (refer to Fig. 1 and 2 above) the surface structure of claim 1, wherein the rotatable object (14) is restrained in the pit and is able to rotate: an caliber of an external opening of the pit is less than an outer diameter of the rotatable object, or/and the surface of the rotatable object and an inner wall of the pit are smoothed, or/and a lubricating agent is smeared on the surfaces of the rotatable object and the inner wall of the pit, or/and a plurality of support members (13) for supporting the rotatable object (14) are arranged on the inner wall of the pit; and the support members are stationary fixed protrusions fixed to the inner wall of the pit or a ball arranged on the inner wall of the pit, or a bearing arranged in the pit.
With regards to claim 10:
Shanghai Jiao Tong University discloses (refer to Fig. 1 and 2 above) the surface structure of claim 1, wherein the rotatable object (14) is restrained in the pit (not shown and labelled) and is able to rotate: a cross bar (13) is arranged perpendicularly to the relative movement direction of fluid (15) and the object in the pit, the cross bar is a long cross bar or two short cross bars, the long cross bar is arranged in the pit, both ends of the long cross bar are in contact with the inner wall of the pit while passing through a symmetry axis of the rotatable object, the two short cross bars are positioned between the rotatable object and the inner wall of the pit, and two ends or one end of the long cross bar or the short cross bar are in contact with the inner wall of the pit or/and the surface of the rotatable object in a rotatable and immovable manner.
With regards to claim 12:
Shanghai Jiao Tong University discloses (refer to Fig. 1 and 2 above) the surface structure of claim 1, wherein a shape of the fixed arc protrusion (12) is the shape of any one of two structural bodies, formed in a manner that any shape in an ellipsoid, a cylinder, a combination of the cylinder and the sphere, a combination of the cone and the sphere and a combination of the cone and the cylinder is transversely cut by the surface having the same shape with the basic surface where the fixed arc protrusions are located.
With regards to claim 13:
Shanghai Jiao Tong University discloses (refer to Fig. 1 and 2 above) the surface structure of claim 1, wherein a proportion of the rotatable arc protrusion (12) on the basic surface (11) to all arc protrusions on the basic surface is more than 50%.
With regards to claim 17:
In making and/or using the device of Shanghai Jiao Tong University, one would necessarily perform a method for preparing the object surface structure of claim 1, comprising: manufacturing a covering with the arc protrusion (12), and covering the covering on the surface of the target object (11) to realize the formation of the surface structure of the target object.
With regards to claim 20:
Shanghai Jiao Tong University discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the covering is a preset uniform size covering, or a covering designed for the whole surface of the target object, or a covering with a particular size for the surface of a part of the target object.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanghai Jiao Tong University as disclosed in claim 1 above, and further in view of Jilin University (CN 101457767).
With regards to claim 4:
Shanghai Jiao Tong University discloses the surface structure of claim 1 (see rejected claim1 above).
Shanghai Jiao Tong University does not disclose the arc protrusions are any one or a combination of a matrix layout, a quincunx layout, a matrix supplementary layout and a quincunx supplementary layout; the matrix layout is that each arc protrusion on the basic surface is both a unit of each row of arc protrusions and a unit of each line of arc protrusions, the quincunx layout is that the arc protrusions on even-numbered lines and the arc protrusions on odd-numbered lines are located on different arc protrusion rows in respective, the matrix supplementary layout is that another arc protrusion fitting with the basic surface between the adjacent arc protrusions is supplemented among four adjacent arc protrusions in the matrix layout, and the quincunx supplementary layout is that another arc protrusion fitting with the basic surface between the adjacent arc protrusions is supplemented among three adjacent arc protrusions in the quincunx layout.
Jilin University discloses (refer to Fig. 3 below) an object surface structure for reducing fluid resistance and rectifying fluid, comprising a basic surface of an object and an arc protrusion (P) on the basic surface, wherein the arc protrusions (P) are any one or a combination of a matrix layout, a quincunx layout, a matrix supplementary layout and a quincunx supplementary layout; the matrix layout is that each arc protrusion on the basic surface is both a unit of each row of arc protrusions and a unit of each line of arc protrusions, the quincunx layout is that the arc protrusions on even-numbered lines and the arc protrusions on odd-numbered lines are located on different arc protrusion rows in respective, the matrix supplementary layout is that another arc protrusion fitting with the basic surface between the adjacent arc protrusions is supplemented among four adjacent arc protrusions in the matrix layout, and the quincunx supplementary layout is that another arc protrusion fitting with the basic surface between the adjacent arc protrusions is supplemented among three adjacent arc protrusions in the quincunx layout.
Fig. 3
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surface structure of Shanghai Jiao Tong University to have the arc protrusions (12) are any one or a combination of a matrix layout, a quincunx layout, a matrix supplementary layout and a quincunx supplementary layout; the matrix layout is that each arc protrusion on the basic surface is both a unit of each row of arc protrusions and a unit of each line of arc protrusions, the quincunx layout is that the arc protrusions on even-numbered lines and the arc protrusions on odd-numbered lines are located on different arc protrusion rows in respective, the matrix supplementary layout is that another arc protrusion fitting with the basic surface between the adjacent arc protrusions is supplemented among four adjacent arc protrusions in the matrix layout, and the quincunx supplementary layout is that another arc protrusion fitting with the basic surface between the adjacent arc protrusions is supplemented among three adjacent arc protrusions in the quincunx layout as disclosed by Jilin University as an alternative layout to provide the same expected functional result of reducing fluid resistance over the surface of the object.
With regards to claim 5:
Shanghai Jiao Tong University, as modified, discloses the surface structure of claim 4, wherein the arc protrusion rows of the matrix layout, quincunx layout, matrix supplementary layout and quincunx supplementary layout are parallel to a line formed by the fluid projected on the surface of the object in relative to a relative movement direction of the object, the arc protrusion lines of the matrix layout, quincunx layout, matrix supplementary layout and quincunx supplementary layout are perpendicular to the line formed by the fluid projected on the surface of the object in relative to a relative movement direction of the object; and the relative movement direction is the object moving in a single direction or a direction pointed by a resultant force of a multi-directional acting force generated by a plurality of relative movement directions of the object moving in a plurality of directions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 14-16, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MINH Q LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753