DETAILED ACTION
In response to remarks filed on 19 September 2026
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 and 11-19 are pending;
Claims 1 and 16 are currently amended;
Claims 2-7, 11-15 and 17-19 were previously presented;
Claims 8-10 and 20 are cancelled;
Claims 1-7 and 11-19 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 19 September 2026 have been fully considered. The new limitations presented in claim 1 necessitate the new grounds of rejection with a new reference. The new limitations presented in claim 16 necessitate the reinterpretation of the reference used. Claim 11 was not amended and examiner had indicated how the prior art’s elements are being interpreted in view of the claim limitations and therefore the rejection for this claim is sustained. The claims are too broad and use broad terminology like “pillar”, “base” which allow unrelated inventions to read on the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Imhof (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 4,456,144).
As to Claim 1, Imhof discloses a floating apparatus (Figure 2; Abstract: “In an arrangement for removal of precipitation from the vertical inner wall 1 of a tank having a floating roof”), comprising:
A plurality of bases (9);
A plurality of pillars (2), each connected to a respective one of the plurality of bases (9);
A platform (1) connected to the plurality of pillars, wherein the platform (1) and the plurality of pillars (2) define an interior space of the floating apparatus configured to collect and accommodate waste (Element 1 is a tank and therefore its interior -defined by the tank’s walls that include the pillars as they are fixed thereto- is capable of collecting and accommodating waste as “configured to” only requires capability); and
A watertight structure (7; The structure of 7 -i.e. the material making up the structure 7- is by itself watertight which is why apertures 8 are provided for water to pass through) formed on at least one of the plurality of bases or at least one of the plurality of pillars (2), the watertight structure comprising:
A first layer (4); and
A second layer (3) in direct contact with an inner surface of the first layer, wherein the second layer is more absorbent than the first layer (Second layer 3 is permeable while first layer 4 is impermeable. Therefore, the second layer is more absorbent than the first layer).
As to Claim 2, Imhof discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Imhof also discloses wherein the first layer (4) is substantially non-absorbent.
As to Claim 3, Imhof discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Imhof also discloses wherein the second layer (3) is made of superabsorbent polymers.
As to Claim 4, Imhof discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Imhof also discloses wherein the second layer (3) comprises a compressible material.
As to Claim 5, Imhof discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Imhof also discloses wherein the second layer (3) substantially completely covers the inner surface of the first layer (4).
As to Claim 6, Imhof discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Imhof also discloses wherein the watertight structure further comprises a third layer (Figures 2 and 3 show a plurality of layers), the second layer is disposed between the first layer and the third layer, and the first layer and the third layer are made of the same material.
As to Claim 7, Imhof discloses the invention of Claim 6 (Refer to Claim 6 discussion). Imhof also discloses wherein a thickness of the first layer is different from a thickness of the third layer (Manufacturing errors can lead to extremely small differences in thickness).
Claims 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salama (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0067037).
As to Claim 11, Salama discloses a floating apparatus (Paragraph 0003: “Additionally, composite risers can be specifically designed for each application to provide a better system oriented solution. The potential weight reduction can provide significant benefits for floating systems”), comprising:
A base (Lower 22); and
A pillar (12, 28) disposed on the base (Lower 22), wherein the pillar comprises a watertight structure (Paragraph 0026: “Fluid impregnable layer 44 is made from any fluid impermeable material such as rubber or polymeric material. The same material as used for the shear ply can be used as the fluid impregnable layer. The purpose of layer 44 is to prevent water from impregnating the main outer layer 42”), and the watertight structure comprises:
A first layer (44) in contact with water (Since first layer 44 is to prevent water from passing through, it is inherent that water is able to penetrate towards the layer until contacting the layer); and
A second layer (46) disposed on an inner side of the first layer, wherein the second layer is absorbent (Paragraph 0027: “Thus, scuff absorbing layer 46 is designed to protect the fluid impermeable layer 44 to prevent cuts and gouges which would compromise the integrity of fluid impermeable layer 44”).
As to Claim 12, Salama discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Salama also discloses wherein a density of the base (Lower 22) is greater than a density of the pillar (Base 22 is made of metal which is denser than polymeric and rubber materials).
As to Claim 13, Salama discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Salama also discloses wherein a diameter of the base (Lower 22) is greater (Figure 1) than a diameter of the pillar (12, 28).
As to Claim 14, Salama discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Salama also discloses further comprising a frame (Upper 22) connected to a top portion of the pillar (12, 28).
As to Claim 15, Salama discloses the invention of Claim 11 (Refer to Claim 11 discussion). Salama also discloses further comprising a fluid ejection element (12), wherein flow out of the fluid ejection element flows toward a space inside the floating apparatus for collecting waste (Mud -a waste material- in risers flows upwards towards the apparatus on top for ejection).
Claims 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yocum (U.S. Patent No. 3,904,528).
As to Claim 16, Yocum discloses a floating apparatus (Column 3, Lines 52-56: “In use, the element is placed on the surface of the body of water on which the contaminant has been spilled, and because of its shape and because the absorber 14 is a sponge material, the element will float with one of the flat surfaces down”), comprising:
A hollow pillar (10; Column 2, Lines 29-32: “The pick-up element according to the present invention comprises an outer container 10 which is water impervious and which is pervious to oily contaminants in liquid form”. Outer container 10 by itself is a hollow structure and it contains a space therein to accommodate the layers 11, 13, 14);
A watertight structure comprising one or more odd layers (11, 13) made of a first material (Column 3, Lines 1-15: “A number of materials in sheet form which are pervious to oily contaminants but not to water are known which are satisfactory for the container. In addition, the material should be resistant to deterioration by fresh and salt water to a degree that it will last from several months to several years in the water. One material which has been found to be very satisfactory is a multi-layer sheet material formed of fiberglass in a polyethylene binder. Four layers of this material in a single sheet have been found to give satisfactory strength to the element of the invention. One advantage of this particular material is that it can be heat sealed, so that during the assembly of the element three sides of the upper and lower sheets 11 and 12 can be heat sealed as well as stitched to provide a seal against the ingress of water”) and one or more even layers (14) made of a second material that is different from the first material (Column 3, Lines 20-24: “The material of the absorber 14 is preferably a sponge material, such as cellulose sponge which is resistant to deterioration by oil. Sponge material of other plastic material can also be used”), wherein a strength of the first material is greater than a strength of the second material (The first material is an outer container for protection and therefore it is inherent that its strength is greater than the strength of the second material made of sponge within);
Wherein the one or more odd layers (11, 13) and the one or more even layers (14) form at least a portion (Interior of 10) of the hollow pillar (10).
As to Claim 17, Yocum discloses the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). Yocum also discloses wherein the first material is substantially non-absorbent (Column 3, Lines 1-15: “A number of materials in sheet form which are pervious to oily contaminants but not to water are known which are satisfactory for the container. In addition, the material should be resistant to deterioration by fresh and salt water to a degree that it will last from several months to several years in the water. One material which has been found to be very satisfactory is a multi-layer sheet material formed of fiberglass in a polyethylene binder. Four layers of this material in a single sheet have been found to give satisfactory strength to the element of the invention. One advantage of this particular material is that it can be heat sealed, so that during the assembly of the element three sides of the upper and lower sheets 11 and 12 can be heat sealed as well as stitched to provide a seal against the ingress of water”).
As to Claim 18, Yocum discloses the invention of Claim 17 (Refer to Claim 17 discussion). Yocum also discloses wherein the first material comprises steel, aluminum, concrete, reinforced concrete (RC), steel reinforced concrete, fiber reinforced plastic (Column 3, Lines 1-15: “A number of materials in sheet form which are pervious to oily contaminants but not to water are known which are satisfactory for the container. In addition, the material should be resistant to deterioration by fresh and salt water to a degree that it will last from several months to several years in the water. One material which has been found to be very satisfactory is a multi-layer sheet material formed of fiberglass in a polyethylene binder. Four layers of this material in a single sheet have been found to give satisfactory strength to the element of the invention. One advantage of this particular material is that it can be heat sealed, so that during the assembly of the element three sides of the upper and lower sheets 11 and 12 can be heat sealed as well as stitched to provide a seal against the ingress of water”), or a combination thereof.
As to Claim 19, Yocum discloses the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). Yocum also discloses wherein the second material comprises superabsorbent polymers (Column 3, Lines 20-24: “The material of the absorber 14 is preferably a sponge material, such as cellulose sponge which is resistant to deterioration by oil. Sponge material of other plastic material can also be used”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678