DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the liquid near a bottom surface” and “the liquid near a liquid surface” lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokota et al. (2010/0085396).
Regarding claim 1, Yokota teaches a degassing device which removes air dissolved in a liquid under a pressure decreased atmosphere, the degassing device comprising:
a liquid tank (fig. 9, item 120) in which the liquid is stored (see fig. 9) to be supplied to a recording head (see fig. 9);
a pressure decreasing device which decreases pressure in the liquid tank (fig. 9, item 204126/128);
a circulation flow pass (fig. 9, item 200) which communicates different positions of the liquid tank (see fig. 9);
a circulation device (fig. 9, item 204) which circulates the liquid through the circulation flow pass (see fig. 9);
a dissolved gas amount measuring device ([0129], note the dissolved oxygen meter measures disclosed oxygen throughout the whole system and therefore in the tank) which measures an amount of dissolved gas of the liquid in the liquid tank ([0129]); and
a control device (fig. 6, item 10) which controls the circulation device in accordance with the amount of dissolved gas measured by the dissolved gas amount measuring device ([0129]) such that the liquid near a bottom surface of the liquid tank where the amount of the dissolved gas is large is replaced with the liquid near a liquid surface of the liquid tank where the amount of dissolved gas is small, and the liquid surface of the liquid is exposed to pressure decreased atmosphere to remove the air dissolved in the liquid near the liquid surface (see fig. 9, Note that pressure decreased atmosphere is provided by 126/128. Note that liquid is circulated from the bottom of the tank to the top of the tank).
Regarding claim 6, Yokota teaches an inkjet recording apparatus comprising: the degassing device according to claim 1; and a recording head which ejects the liquid degassed by the degassing device (see fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano in view of Bretmersky (2006/0090538).
Regarding claim 2, Yokota teaches the degassing device according to claim 1. Yokota does not teach wherein both bubbles and temperature are measured to obtain flow characteristics of a liquid. Bretmersky teaches a temperature measuring device which measures a temperature of the liquid in the liquid tank, and the control device controls the circulation device in accordance with a gas saturation degree corresponding to the amount of the dissolved gas measured by the dissolved gas amount measuring device and the temperature measured by the temperature measuring device (Bretmersky, see fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use temperature as well as bubble concentration, as disclosed by Bretmersky, in the device disclosed by Yokota because doing so would allow for even more precise monitoring of bubble and liquid characteristics, thereby facilitating more effective circulation.
Regarding claim 3, Yokota in view of Bretmersky teaches the degassing device according to claim 2, wherein the control device controls a flow rate of the circulation device in accordance with the gas saturation degree (Yokota, [0129]).
Regarding claim 4, Yokota in view of Bretmersky teaches the degassing device according to claim 2, wherein the control device stops the circulation device when the gas saturation degree reaches a target value (Yokota, [0129]).
Regarding claim 5, Yokota in view of Bretmersky teaches the degassing device according to claim 2, wherein the circulation device is a circulation pump (Yokota, see fig. 9), and a voltage value supplied to the circulation pump is determined to be higher as the gas saturation degree is higher (Yokota, [0129], see fig. 9, Note that the pump is operated in circulation only when bubbles are detected, and thus the voltage during circulation is non-zero, and the voltage when no bubbles are detected is zero).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853