DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (US 20140144237) in view of Ianelli et al. (US 6788204).
As to claim 1, Komatsu et al.’s figures 1A and 1B show a piezoelectric isolator, comprising: a substrate (602) comprising a piezoelectric material; a piezoelectric transmitter (603) disposed on the substrate; a piezoelectric receiver (604) disposed on the substrate, wherein the piezoelectric transmitter is acoustically coupled to the piezoelectric receiver at least partially through the piezoelectric material; and a dielectric material region (606) disposed between the piezoelectric transmitter and the piezoelectric receiver, wherein: the piezoelectric material has a first dielectric strength, and the dielectric material region has a second dielectric strength greater than the first dielectric strength (¶0058 and ¶0060 teach similar materials with Applicant’s piezoelectric material and dielectric material). The figures fail to show a first circuit included in or electrically coupled to the piezoelectric transmitter (it is inherent that the transmitter receives signal from a not shown driver) is galvanically isolated from a second circuit included in or electrically coupled to the piezoelectric receiver (it is inherent that the receiver provides signal to a not shown load), the first circuit and the second circuit are configured to operate at different reference voltage levels. However, Ianelli et al.’s figure 11 shows a similar device that its first circuit (Chirp Pulse Generator) included in or electrically coupled to the piezoelectric transmitter (16) is galvanically isolated from a second circuit (Zload) included in or electrically coupled to the piezoelectric receiver (9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to galvanically isolate the not shown driver and not shown load in Komatsu et al.’s figures for the purpose of achieving desired output signal amplitude and reducing interference. Ianelli et al.’s figures further shows that the first circuit (16) and the second circuit (9) are configured to operate at different reference voltage levels (see figures 11b and 11c). Therefore, one skilled in the art would have configure Komatsu et al.’s first circuit and the second circuit to be operate at different reference voltage levels for the purpose of achieving desired output voltage and amplitude.
As to claim 2, Komatsu et al.’s figure fails to show that the dielectric material region has a thickness that is between 1 micron and 5 microns. However, selecting the thickness as claimed is seen as an obvious design preference to ensure optimum performance, MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 3, ¶0060 teaches that the dielectric material region comprises silicon dioxide (SiO2).
As to claim 5, ¶0058 teaches that the piezoelectric material is made of lithium niobate or zinc oxide or gallium nitride or aluminum nitride or lithium tantalate or quartz.
As to claim 6, the figure shows that the piezoelectric transmitter comprises a first interdigitated transducer (IDT) and the piezoelectric receiver comprises a second IDT.
Claims 13-20 recite similar limitations in claims above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 4 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (US 20140144237) in view of Ianelli et al. (US 6788204) and Kogai et al. (JP 2011180036 A).
As to claim 4, the modified Komatsu et al.’s figure fails to show that the dielectric material region comprises a well formed into the piezoelectric material. However, Kogai et al.’s figures show a similar device that its transmission region 14 is well formed into the piezoelectric material (11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form Komatsu et al.’s 606 into the piezoelectric material for the purpose of saving space and achieving optimum performance.
As to claim 11, Komatsu et al.’s figure shows that the piezoelectric transmitter defines a primary axis of acoustic propagation that is parallel to a direction of maximum piezoelectric coupling of the substrate (similar device, similar operations).
As to claim 12, Komatsu et al.’s figure shows that the substrate defines a direction of maximum piezoelectric coupling of the substrate and the piezoelectric transmitter defines a primary axis of acoustic propagation, wherein the direction of maximum piezoelectric coupling and the primary axis of acoustic propagation are transverse relative to one another.
Claims 13-20 recite similar limitations in claims above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (US 20140144237) in view of Ianelli et al. (US 6788204) and Onishi et al. (US 5721519).
As to claim 7, Komatsu et al.’s figure fails to show an acoustic reflector, wherein the piezoelectric transmitter is disposed between the acoustic reflector and the piezoelectric receiver. However, Onishi et al.’s figure 4 shows a similar device that transmitter resonator and receiver resonator arranged within reflectors 14 in order to reduce noise. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange Komatsu et al.’s transmitter and receiver within reflectors for the purpose of reducing noise. Therefore, the modified Komatsu et al.’s figure further shows an acoustic reflector (Onishi et al.’s left 14), wherein the piezoelectric transmitter is disposed between the acoustic reflector and the piezoelectric receiver.
As to claim 8, the modified Komatsu et al.’s figure shows an acoustic absorber (Onishi et al.’s right 14), wherein the piezoelectric receiver is disposed between the acoustic absorber and the piezoelectric transmitter.
As to claim 9, Komatsu et al.’s figure fails to show that the piezoelectric transmitter is a first piezoelectric transmitter, and wherein the piezoelectric isolator further comprises a second piezoelectric transmitter. However, Onishi et al.’s figure 6 shows a receive resonator 2 arranged between two transmit resonators 1 and 10. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further add another piezoelectric resonator coupled to the current piezoelectric receiver of Komatsu et al. device for the purpose of converting differential signal to single ended signal.
As to claim 10, the modified Komatsu et al.’s figure shows the piezoelectric receiver is disposed between the first piezoelectric transmitter and the second piezoelectric transmitter (see Onishi et al.’s figure 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
“Galvanically isolated” is a well-known term that defines circuits that are isolated from each other without direct current (DC) flowing while still allow power or signal transferring between them. There is no definition of “galvanically isolated” in Applicant’s specification. Therefore, the well-known definition of “galvanically isolated” is applied. Clearly, there is no direct current between Iamelli et al.’s Chirp Pulse Generator and load Zload. Therefore, the Chirp Pulse Generator and the load are galvanically isolated.
Iamelli et al.’s figures 7b-7c and 11b-11c and col. 7, lines 20-45 teach that input signal Uin and output signal Uout have different voltage levels. Therefore, Iamelli et al.’s figures show that the first circuit (Chirp Pulse Generator) and the second circuit (load) configured to operate at different reference voltage levels.
Applicant states that “Applicant respectfully notes that inherency of a claim element "requires that the missing descriptive material is 'necessarily present,' not merely probably or possibly present, in the prior art." "The mere fact that a certain thing may result from a given set of circumstances is not sufficient." In any case, Komatsu makes clear that the "electrodes 603 and 604 are electrically connected to detector 601A via metal bumps." (Komatsu at para. [0051]). Accordingly, it appears that both the transmitting electrode 603 and receiving electrode 604 of Komatsu are coupled to the same detector 601A. Furthermore, there is no indication in Komatsu that the detector 601A includes circuitry configured to operate at different reference voltage levels”. A “detector” is not a node. It may comprises plurality of internal elements that are galvanically isolated”. Ianelli et al.’s figure 11 is evidence that shows a transducer comprising a driver (Chirp Pulse Generator) coupled to drive transmitter 16 and load (Zload) coupled to receive signal generated by receiver 9, wherein the driver and load operates at different reference voltage levels.
Applicant further argues that “Ianelli nowhere describes, characterizes, or suggest that the generator and the load are galvanically isolated from each other, or that they are configured to operate at different reference voltage levels”. Figure 11 shows that there is no direct connection or DC connection between the generator and load. Thus, they are galvanically isolated. Col7, lines 20-45 also discloses that there is no same DC voltage in Uin and Uout. Therefore, the generator and load are galvanically isolated.
Applicant further argues that “neither Komatsu nor Ianelli discusses or suggests galvanic isolation, let alone discussing or suggesting circuitry configured to operate at different reference votlage levels”. As concluded above, Ianelli generator and load are galvanically isolated. Ianelli’s col. 7, lines 20-44 teaches that input signals Uin and output signal Uout have different voltage levels. Therefore, the generator and load operate at different reference voltage levels.
Applicant further argues that “the Office Action fails to provide an adequate motivation to combine Komatsu and Ianelli to arrive at the galvanic isolation limitation”. Both of Komatsu and Ianelli references teach an acoustic wave sensor having acoustic wave transmitter and acoustic wave receiver. Therefore, one skill in the art would have motivated to employ the teaching of Ianelli to Komatsu in order to reduce leakage current and achieving desired output voltage.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUAN TRA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2843