DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 11-14, and 16-17 have been amended.
Response to Amendment
Objection to Claims: Applicant has submitted claim amendments that address the concerns with regards to the claims. The objection to the claims is withdrawn.
Double Patenting Rejections: Applicant has submitted claim amendments that address the concerns with regards to the claims. The double patenting rejections to the claims are withdrawn.
Objection to Specification: Applicant has submitted amendments that address the concerns with regards to the specification. The objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §102, 103: Claims 1, 11, and 17 have been amended to change the scope of the claimed invention. Specifically, amended claim 1 recites “determines whether the energy grid is operating in an emergency state, and in response to determining that the energy grid is operating in the emergency state, place the EV in a limited frequency sensitive mode for functioning as the power source for the energy grid”, which changes the scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dow (US 20230408273 A1) in view of Koudelka et al. (NPL).
Regarding claim 1, Dow teach A system, located onboard an electric vehicle (EV) (see at least FIG. 2: electric vehicle 250), comprising:
a memory (see at least [0033]: “a machine-readable storage medium”) that stores computer executable components; and
a processor (see at least [0033]: “a processor”) that executes at least one of the computer executable components (see at least [0033]: “a machine-readable storage medium, including executable instructions, that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations that include”):
receives an instruction (see at least FIG. 10 step S1001: “PERFORM MUTUAL AUTHENTICATION AND SECURITY PROCEDURE VIA ESTABLISHED COMMUNICATION CHANNEL”) indicating whether a vehicle to grid (V2G) operation can be performed at the EV on an energy grid associated with a defined location (see at least [0119]: “a power grid code … corresponding to the current location”), wherein the EV has an initial operating condition of V2G operation is disabled (see at least [0145]: “The electric vehicle 250 may transmit information on a valid contract certificate to the smart wired/wireless charging station 240 before receiving the wired/wireless power from the smart wired/wireless charging station 240”), the instruction is received from an external system (see at least FIG. 2: combination of smart wired/wireless charging station 240 and charging station operating (CSO) system 230) remotely located to the EV, wherein the vehicle to grid (V2G) operation comprises the EV operating as a power source (see at least [0100]: “The electric vehicle may implement a vehicle-to-grid (V2G) by reversely transmitting the power via application of an on-board charger (OBC).”) to provide power to the energy grid;
processes the instruction to determine whether the instruction enables or disables V2G operation (see at least [0142]: “When it is confirmed that there is no problem in all of the certificates, the TLS session may be successfully established.”); and
in the event of determining the instruction indicates that V2G operation is enabled (see at least [0238]: “when the mutual authentication and the security procedure are successfully completed”; [0240]: “The smart wired/wireless charging station 240 may generate the predetermined reference power signal and transmit the reference power signal to the electric vehicle 250”),
adjusts the operating condition to V2G is enabled, thereby enabling the EV to function as (see at least FIG. 10: step S1001 [Wingdings font/0xE0] S1013: “discharge power signal”; [0248]: “perform power transmission—that is, discharge power signal transmission- to the smart wired/wireless charging station 240 (S1012 to S1013)”) the power source for the energy grid (see at least [0100]: “The electric vehicle may implement a vehicle-to-grid (V2G) by reversely transmitting the power via application of an on-board charger (OBC). In the V2G, the electric vehicle is seen as a consuming entity that receives and consumes the power, as well as a supply entity that is able to provide the power stored in the battery to another entity as one of distributed power sources”);
.
However, Dow does not explicitly teach determine whether the energy grid is operating in an emergency state, and
in response to determining that the energy grid is operating in the emergency state, place the EV in a limited frequency sensitive mode for functioning as the power source for the energy grid
Koudelka teach determine whether the energy grid is operating in an emergency state (see at least Third paragraph of I. Introduction: “when the frequency deviates from the normal limits of 49.8–50.2 Hz and the system would be in the emergency state.”), and
in response to determining that the energy grid is operating in the emergency state, place the EV in a limited frequency sensitive mode (see at least First paragraph of I. Introduction: “battery energy storage system (BESS)”; Third paragraph of I. Introduction: “The ability to react to frequency deviations applies not only to large BESS connected to high and medium voltage networks, but also to small BESS in households and enterprises, and even for electric vehicles charging stations – of course with certain limitations. A so-called limited frequency sensitivity mode (LFSM) would be adopted for them, i.e. they would react by changing the power only when the frequency deviates from the normal limits of 49.8–50.2 Hz and the system would be in the emergency state.”) for functioning as the power source for the energy grid (see at least Fourth paragraph of I. Introduction: “charging stations and electric vehicles enable the energy stored in batteries to be discharged to the grid”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dow to incorporate the teachings of Koudelka to use electric vehicle charging stations as grid frequency control means. Doing so would provide “a suitable means for frequency control and could be helpful in the first states after disturbances. Dispatchers will thus have time to activate other power reserves to cover the unbalance”, as recognized by Koudelka in the third paragraph if IV. Conclusion.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Dow and Koudelka teaches The system of claim 1.
Dow further teaches wherein the at least one of the computer executable components further:
in response to determining the instruction does not enable V2G operation, maintain the operating condition as V2G disabled, thereby preventing the EV to function as a power source for the energy grid *Examiner’s interpretation: if authentication is unsuccessful, process in Dow FIG. 10 will not progress to reach power transmission to grid step S104*.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Dow and Koudelka teaches The system of claim 1
Dow further teaches further comprising one or more onboard batteries (see at least FIG. 3: high voltage battery 380) located on the EV, wherein the one or more onboard batteries are configured to function as the power source for the energy grid.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Dow and Koudelka teaches The system of claim 1.
Dow further teaches wherein the at least one of the computer executable components further comprising a location component (see at least FIG. 3: global navigation satellite system GNSS 320), configured to: determines a current location (see at least [0213]: “the vehicle state information may include at least one of the current location information of the corresponding vehicle”; [0095]: “obtain current GPS coordinate information from the GPS satellite signal and provide the current GPS coordinate information”) of the EV.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Dow and Koudelka teaches The system of claim 4.
Dow further teaches wherein the at least one of the computer executable components further:
determines the current location of the EV based on at least one of global positioning system (GPS) location data (see at least [0095]: “obtain current GPS coordinate information from the GPS satellite signal and provide the current GPS coordinate information”) or location information provided by electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) to which the EV is connected to enable connection of the EV to the energy grid.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Dow and Koudelka teaches The system of claim 5.
Dow further teaches wherein the instruction further includes a first grid code (see at least FIG. 8 step S802: “CODE INFORMATION ON EACH OF IDENTIFIED AT LEAST ONE POWER GRID…”; [0215]: “The charging station operating system 230 may transmit code information on the identified at least one power grid … to the electric vehicle 250 (S804)”) to be implemented at the current location by the EV during the V2G operation.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Dow and Koudelka teaches The system of claim 6.
Dow further teaches further comprising an onboard charger (see at least FIG. 3: charging/discharging device 360) connected to one or more batteries located on the EV, wherein the at least one of the computer executable components further:
generates (see at least [0147]: “the electric vehicle charging controller 340 may exchange various information by performing communication with the charging station operating system 230 via the network 260. For example, the electric vehicle charging controller 340 may make a request for … the power grid code information”; [0106]: “the network 260 may include … a Wi-Fi communication network”) a second grid code, wherein the second grid code is a copy *Examiner’s interpretation: network communication inherently involves creating a copy of information received. See cs.gmu.edu article “Transmission control Protocol/Internet Protocol TCP/IP”: “The basic communication protocol of the internet is called TCP/IP (Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol). TCP /IP is a two-layered program. the higher layer, TCP, manages the assembling of a message or file into smaller packets that are transmitted over the internet and received by a TCP layer that reassembles the packets into the original message.”* of the first grid code; and
implements the second grid code on the onboard charger to facilitate operation (see at least FIG. 4 step S430: “PERFORM CHARGING / DISCHARGING BASED ON SYSTEM PARAMETERS …”) of the one or more batteries in accordance with (see at least [0235]: “FIG. 10 is a flowchart for illustrating a … discharging procedure of an electric vehicle”; FIG. 10, [0239]: “system parameters … may be transmitted to the electric vehicle 250 (S1002)”; [0171]: “system parameters … corresponding to … the grid code”) an operational requirement of the energy grid.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Dow and Koudelka teaches The system of claim 7.
Dow further teaches wherein, prior to implementation of the second grid code on the onboard charger, the at least one of the computer executable components further:
confirms the first grid code received from the external system matches (see at least [0182]: “when at least two of frequency values—that is, an L1 frequency value, an L2 frequency value, and an L3 frequency value-measured for AC 3-phase input match with the received operating frequency values, the electric vehicle 250 may determine the measured frequency values as valid operating frequency values.”) the second grid code to be implemented at the onboard charger; and
in response to a determination that the second grid code does not match (see at least [0182]: “the electric vehicle 250 may determine a smaller frequency value among the effectively measured operating frequency value and the received operating frequency value as the final operating frequency value and correct the smaller frequency value for protecting the system”) the first grid code, cancels (see at least [0182]: “when the received operating frequency value included in the system parameter is 49.5 Hz and the operating frequency value measured by the OBC of the electric vehicle 250 is 50 Hz, for the system protection purpose, 49.5 Hz, which is a lower value, may be determined as the final operating frequency value”; [0026]: “system parameters may include an operating frequency”; [0171]: “information on the system parameters … corresponding to … the power grid code”) *Examiner’s interpretation: if implemented grid code information (including operating frequency) does not match received grid code information, the applied grid code information is changed, or canceled and replaced.* implementation of the second grid code on the onboard charger.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Dow and Koudelka teaches The system of claim 6.
Dow further teaches wherein the first grid code complies with at least one of a specification or regulation implemented at the grid to ensure safe operation (see at least [0312]: “the various embodiments according to the present disclosure have the advantage of being able to safely protect the power system by dynamically correcting the system parameters for each …power grid… based on the current location”) of the energy grid.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Dow and Koudelka teaches The system of claim 1.
Dow further teaches wherein the external system is one of a centralized system (see at least FIG. 8: charging station operating system 230) controlling at least one operation of the EV (see at least FIG. 8, [0215]: “The charging station operating system 230 may transmit … the information on the charging/discharging fee rate policy extracted corresponding to the corresponding power grid code to the electric vehicle 250 (S804)”; [0216]: “The electric vehicle 250 may determine an optimal power grid based on the received charging/discharging fee rate policy for each power grid code”), a cloud-based system controlling at least one operation of the EV, or a remote system operated by an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) of the EV.
Regarding Claim 11, Dow teaches A computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving, by a system (see at least FIG. 3: electric vehicle charging controller (EVCC)) of an electric vehicle (EV) (see at least FIG. 2: electric vehicle 250), an instruction (see at least FIG. 10 step S1001: “PERFORM MUTUAL AUTHENTICATION AND SECURITY PROCEDURE VIA ESTABLISHED COMMUNICATION CHANNEL”) indicating whether a vehicle to grid (V2G) operation can be performed at the EV on an energy grid associated with a defined location (see at least [0119]: “a power grid code … corresponding to the current location”), wherein the EV has an initial operating condition of V2G operation is disabled (see at least [0145]: “The electric vehicle 250 may transmit information on a valid contract certificate to the smart wired/wireless charging station 240 before receiving the wired/wireless power from the smart wired/wireless charging station 240”), the instruction is received from an external system (see at least FIG. 10: smart wired/wireless charging station) remotely located to the EV, wherein the vehicle to grid (V2G) operation comprises the EV operating as a power source (see at least [0100]: “The electric vehicle may implement a vehicle-to-grid (V2G) by reversely transmitting the power via application of an on-board charger (OBC).”) to provide power to the energy grid; and
in response to determining the instruction enables V2G operation (see at least [0238]: “when the mutual authentication and the security procedure are successfully completed”; [0240]: “The smart wired/wireless charging station 240 may generate the predetermined reference power signal and transmit the reference power signal to the electric vehicle 250”):
adjusting, by the system, the operating condition to V2G is enabled, thereby enabling the EV to function as (see at least FIG. 10: step S1001 [Wingdings font/0xE0] S1014: “INITIATE REVERSE POWER TRANSMISSION TO GRID”) the power source for the energy grid (see at least [0100]: “The electric vehicle may implement a vehicle-to-grid (V2G) by reversely transmitting the power via application of an on-board charger (OBC). In the V2G, the electric vehicle is seen as a consuming entity that receives and consumes the power, as well as a supply entity that is able to provide the power stored in the battery to another entity as one of distributed power sources”);
However, Dow does not explicitly teach determining, by the system, whether the energy grid is operating in an emergency state, and
in response to determining that the energy grid is operating in the emergency state, placing, by the system, the EV in a limited frequency sensitive mode for functioning as the power source for the energy grid.
Koudelka teach determining, by the system, whether the energy grid is operating in an emergency state (see at least Third paragraph of I. Introduction: “when the frequency deviates from the normal limits of 49.8–50.2 Hz and the system would be in the emergency state.”), and
in response to determining that the energy grid is operating in the emergency state, placing, by the system, the EV in a limited frequency sensitive mode (see at least First paragraph of I. Introduction: “battery energy storage system (BESS)”; Third paragraph of I. Introduction: “The ability to react to frequency deviations applies not only to large BESS connected to high and medium voltage networks, but also to small BESS in households and enterprises, and even for electric vehicles charging stations – of course with certain limitations. A so-called limited frequency sensitivity mode (LFSM) would be adopted for them, i.e. they would react by changing the power only when the frequency deviates from the normal limits of 49.8–50.2 Hz and the system would be in the emergency state.”) for functioning as the power source for the energy grid (see at least Fourth paragraph of I. Introduction: “charging stations and electric vehicles enable the energy stored in batteries to be discharged to the grid”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dow to incorporate the teachings of Koudelka to use electric vehicle charging stations as grid frequency control means. Doing so would provide “a suitable means for frequency control and could be helpful in the first states after disturbances. Dispatchers will thus have time to activate other power reserves to cover the unbalance”, as recognized by Koudelka in the third paragraph if IV. Conclusion.
Regarding Claim 12, Dow teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 11, further comprising:
in response to determining the instruction does not enable V2G operation, maintaining, by the system, the operating condition as V2G disabled (see at least [0145]: “The electric vehicle 250 may transmit information on a valid contract certificate to the smart wired/wireless charging station 240 before receiving the wired/wireless power from the smart wired/wireless charging station 240”) *Examiner’s interpretation: if step S1001 in FIG. 10 of Dow is not completed successfully, the process depicted in FIG. 10 will not progress to the S1013 discharge power signal step.*, thereby preventing the EV to function as a power source for the energy grid.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Dow and Koudelka teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 11.
Dow further teaches further comprising:
identifying, by the system, a location (see at least [0213]: “the vehicle state information may include at least one of the current location information of the corresponding vehicle”; [0095]: “obtain current GPS coordinate information from the GPS satellite signal and provide the current GPS coordinate information”) of the EV;
transmitting (see at least [0133]: “The electric vehicle 250 according to an embodiment may transmit information on the current location … to the charging station operating system 230”), by the system, the location of the EV to the remotely located system;
receiving, by the system, a grid code (see at least FIG. 8 step S802: “CODE INFORMATION ON EACH OF IDENTIFIED AT LEAST ONE POWER GRID…”; [0215]: “The charging station operating system 230 may transmit code information on the identified at least one power grid … to the electric vehicle 250 (S804)”) configured for the location of the EV (see at least [0119]: “The electric vehicle 250 may perform optimal charging/discharging scheduling based on charging/discharging fee rate policy information based on … a power grid code … corresponding to the current location thereof”), wherein the grid code is received from the remotely located system; and
implementing, by the system, the grid code to control V2G operation (see at least [0212]: “FIG. 8 is a flowchart for illustrating a procedure for controlling the charging/discharging based on the charging/discharging schedule of the electric vehicle determined based on the charging/discharging fee rate policy for each power grid code in the V2G system”) of the EV.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Dow and Koudelka teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 11.
Dow further teaches further comprising:
receiving, by the system, an adjustment (see at least FIG. 10 step S1006: “correct measured operating frequency based on system parameters”) to the grid code, wherein the adjustment is applied at the EV;
transmitting, by the system, the adjustment to (see at least FIG. 10 step S1010: “power control request message”; [0245]: “the electric vehicle 250 may generate a power control request message and transmit the message to the smart wired/wireless charging station 240 (S1009 to S1010)”) the remotely located system;
receiving, by the system, an instruction (see at least [0246]: “the smart wired/wireless charging station 240 may transmit a power-controlled reference power signal.”) from the remotely located system;
determining, by the system, whether the instruction denies implementation (see at least [0247]: “The electric vehicle 250 may perform the above-described operations S1005 to S1007 on the reference power signal received after the power control request so as to determine again whether the power control is required.”; FIG. 10 step S1008: “is power control required?”) of the adjustment to the grid code; and
in response to determining the instruction denies implementation of the adjustment to the grid code, preventing, by the system, adjustment (see at least [0248: “When the power control is no longer required as a result of the determination, the electric vehicle 250 may set initial discharge power to an active power value corresponding to the final corrected operating frequency to perform power transmission”) *Examiner’s interpretation: the electric vehicle of Dow will only apply an operating frequency for power transmission once the active power value matches the power value of the system parameters.* of the grid code.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Dow and Koudelka teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 11.
Dow further teaches wherein the external system is one of a centralized system (see at least FIG. 8: charging station operating system 230) controlling at least one operation of the EV (see at least FIG. 8, [0215]: “The charging station operating system 230 may transmit … the information on the charging/discharging fee rate policy extracted corresponding to the corresponding power grid code to the electric vehicle 250 (S804)”; [0216]: “The electric vehicle 250 may determine an optimal power grid based on the received charging/discharging fee rate policy for each power grid code”), a cloud-based system controlling at least one operation of the EV, or a remote system operated by an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) of the EV.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Dow and Koudelka teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 11.
Dow further teaches wherein the EV is located at a first location, the method further comprising:
terminating (see at least FIG. 8 step S807: “is charging and/or discharging terminated?” [Wingdings font/0xE0] YES; [0230]: “when the charging and/or the discharging is terminated”), by the system, V2G operation of the EV at the first location (see at least FIG. 8 step S801: “current location information”);
identifying, by the system, a second location (see at least FIG. 17 step S1701: “determine whether vehicle has passed border in association with navigation system during travel”) of the EV;
transmitting (see at least FIG. 17 step S1703: “transmit information on current location … to server”), by the system, the second location of the EV to the remotely located system;
receiving, by the system, a second grid code (see at least [0150]: “The electric vehicle charging controller 340 according to an embodiment may determine whether the corresponding vehicle has passed the border based on the current location measured during the travel of the corresponding vehicle, and automatically update, in association with the charging station operating system 230, the power grid code”) configured for the second location of the EV, wherein the second grid code is received from the remotely located system; and
implementing, by the system, the second grid code to control V2G operation of (see at least FIG. 17: step S1702 “has vehicle pass border?” [Wingdings font/0xE0] YES [Wingdings font/0xE0] [Wingdings font/0xE0] step S1706: “perform charging/discharging based on updated charging/discharging schedule”) the EV at the second location.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dow (US 20230408273 A1) in view of Shin (US 20220212559 A1) and Koudelka et al. (NPL).
Regarding claim 17, Dow teach A computer program product stored on a (see at least [0033]: “a machine-readable storage medium”) and comprising machine-executable instructions, wherein, in response to being executed, the machine-executable instructions cause a system (see at least FIG. 3: electric vehicle charging controller (EVCC)) of an electric vehicle (EV) (see at least FIG. 2: electric vehicle 250) to perform operations (see at least [0033]: “a machine-readable storage medium, including executable instructions, that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations that include”), comprising:
receiving an instruction (see at least FIG. 10 step S1001: “PERFORM MUTUAL AUTHENTICATION AND SECURITY PROCEDURE VIA ESTABLISHED COMMUNICATION CHANNEL”) indicating whether a vehicle to grid (V2G) operation can be performed at the EV on an energy grid associated with a defined location (see at least [0119]: “a power grid code … corresponding to the current location”), wherein the EV has an initial operating condition of V2G operation is disabled (see at least [0145]: “The electric vehicle 250 may transmit information on a valid contract certificate to the smart wired/wireless charging station 240 before receiving the wired/wireless power from the smart wired/wireless charging station 240”), the instruction is received from an external system (see at least FIG. 2: combination of smart wired/wireless charging station 240 and charging station operating (CSO) system 230) remotely located to the EV, wherein the vehicle to grid (V2G) operation comprises the EV operating as a power source (see at least [0100]: “The electric vehicle may implement a vehicle-to-grid (V2G) by reversely transmitting the power via application of an on-board charger (OBC).”) to provide power to the energy grid; and
in response to determining the instruction enables V2G operation (see at least [0238]: “when the mutual authentication and the security procedure are successfully completed”; [0240]: “The smart wired/wireless charging station 240 may generate the predetermined reference power signal and transmit the reference power signal to the electric vehicle 250”):
adjusting the operating condition to V2G is enabled, thereby enabling the EV to function as (see at least FIG. 10: step S1001 [Wingdings font/0xE0] S1013: “discharge power signal”; [0248]: “perform power transmission—that is, discharge power signal transmission- to the smart wired/wireless charging station 240 (S1012 to S1013)”) the power source for the energy grid (see at least [0100]: “The electric vehicle may implement a vehicle-to-grid (V2G) by reversely transmitting the power via application of an on-board charger (OBC). In the V2G, the electric vehicle is seen as a consuming entity that receives and consumes the power, as well as a supply entity that is able to provide the power stored in the battery to another entity as one of distributed power sources”);
However, Dow does not explicitly teach determining whether the energy grid is operating in an emergency state, and
in response to determining that the energy grid is operating in the emergency state, placing the EV in a limited frequency sensitive mode for functioning as the power source for the energy grid.
Koudelka teach determining whether the energy grid is operating in an emergency state (see at least Third paragraph of I. Introduction: “when the frequency deviates from the normal limits of 49.8–50.2 Hz and the system would be in the emergency state.”), and
in response to determining that the energy grid is operating in the emergency state, placing the EV in a limited frequency sensitive mode (see at least First paragraph of I. Introduction: “battery energy storage system (BESS)”; Third paragraph of I. Introduction: “The ability to react to frequency deviations applies not only to large BESS connected to high and medium voltage networks, but also to small BESS in households and enterprises, and even for electric vehicles charging stations – of course with certain limitations. A so-called limited frequency sensitivity mode (LFSM) would be adopted for them, i.e. they would react by changing the power only when the frequency deviates from the normal limits of 49.8–50.2 Hz and the system would be in the emergency state.”) for functioning as the power source for the energy grid (see at least Fourth paragraph of I. Introduction: “charging stations and electric vehicles enable the energy stored in batteries to be discharged to the grid”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dow to incorporate the teachings of Koudelka to use electric vehicle charging stations as grid frequency control means. Doing so would provide “a suitable means for frequency control and could be helpful in the first states after disturbances. Dispatchers will thus have time to activate other power reserves to cover the unbalance”, as recognized by Koudelka in the third paragraph if IV. Conclusion.
However, Dow does not explicitly teach non-transitory.
Shin teach a non-transitory (see at least [0192]: “The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium may include a hardware device specially configured to store and execute program commands, such as … RAM”) computer-readable medium.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dow to incorporate the teachings of Shin to use RAM for memory storage. “[W]hen a RAM Disk is implemented in non-volatile memory, additional benefits may be realized, such as increasing the speed of power state transitions as well as increased security solutions for a computer system”, as recognized by Crossland et al. (US 20140013045 A1) in paragraph [0012].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Dow, Shin, and Koudelka teach The computer program product according to claim 17.
Dow further teach the operations further comprising:
identifying a location (see at least [0213]: “the vehicle state information may include at least one of the current location information of the corresponding vehicle”; [0095]: “obtain current GPS coordinate information from the GPS satellite signal and provide the current GPS coordinate information”) of the EV;
transmitting (see at least [0133]: “The electric vehicle 250 according to an embodiment may transmit information on the current location … to the charging station operating system 230”) the location of the EV to the remotely located system;
receiving, from the remotely located system, a grid code (see at least FIG. 8 step S802: “CODE INFORMATION ON EACH OF IDENTIFIED AT LEAST ONE POWER GRID…”; [0215]: “The charging station operating system 230 may transmit code information on the identified at least one power grid … to the electric vehicle 250 (S804)”) configured for the location of the EV (see at least [0119]: “The electric vehicle 250 may perform optimal charging/discharging scheduling based on charging/discharging fee rate policy information based on … a power grid code … corresponding to the current location thereof”); and
implementing the grid code to control V2G operation (see at least [0212]: “FIG. 8 is a flowchart for illustrating a procedure for controlling the charging/discharging based on the charging/discharging schedule of the electric vehicle determined based on the charging/discharging fee rate policy for each power grid code in the V2G system”) of the EV.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Dow, Shin, and Koudelka teach The computer program product according to claim 18.
Dow further teach wherein the EV is located at a first location, the operations further comprising, the method further comprising:
terminating (see at least FIG. 8 step S807: “is charging and/or discharging terminated?” [Wingdings font/0xE0] YES; [0230]: “when the charging and/or the discharging is terminated”) V2G operation of the EV at the first location (see at least FIG. 8 step S801: “current location information”);
identifying a second location (see at least FIG. 17 step S1701: “determine whether vehicle has passed border in association with navigation system during travel”) of the EV;
transmitting (see at least FIG. 17 step S1703: “transmit information on current location … to server”) the second location of the EV to the remotely located system;
receiving a second grid code (see at least [0150]: “The electric vehicle charging controller 340 according to an embodiment may determine whether the corresponding vehicle has passed the border based on the current location measured during the travel of the corresponding vehicle, and automatically update, in association with the charging station operating system 230, the power grid code”; [0307]: “When system parameters corresponding to the area code to be updated based on the border entry are different from the system parameters corresponding to the preset area code, the server according to an embodiment may transmit information on the system parameters corresponding to the new area code to the electric vehicle 250. In this regard, a description of the types of the system parameters and the method for correcting the system parameters will be replaced”) configured for the second location of the EV, wherein the second grid code is received from the remotely located system; and
implementing the second grid code to control V2G operation of (see at least FIG. 17: step S1702 “has vehicle pass border?” [Wingdings font/0xE0] YES [Wingdings font/0xE0] [Wingdings font/0xE0] step S1706: “perform charging/discharging based on updated charging/discharging schedule”) the EV at the second location.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Dow, Shin, and Koudelka teach The computer program product according to claim 17.
Dow further teach wherein the external system is one of a centralized system (see at least FIG. 8: charging station operating system 230) controlling at least one operation of the EV (see at least FIG. 8, [0215]: “The charging station operating system 230 may transmit … the information on the charging/discharging fee rate policy extracted corresponding to the corresponding power grid code to the electric vehicle 250 (S804)”; [0216]: “The electric vehicle 250 may determine an optimal power grid based on the received charging/discharging fee rate policy for each power grid code”), a cloud-based system controlling at least one operation of the EV, or a remote system operated by an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) of the EV.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prior art previously presented:
Jung (US 20230356622 A1) teaches determining grid code information from a map using vehicle location for use in vehicle to grid power supply (see FIG. 4, [0059]).
Horn et al. (US 20240072544 A1) teaches restricting a power source from exporting to a grid if not in grid code compliance (see paragraph [0102]).
Hafiz et al. (US 20230182605 A1) teaches a system that prevents over-voltage violations (see paragraph [0006]), such as violations of grid codes (see paragraph [0011]), by adding constraints (see FIG. 4 step 440).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner Interview are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
571-272-1000.
/GEORGE A ALCORN III/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662