DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1,5-7,9,10,26, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoick et al (USPN 6399006) in view of CN205716186 (English machine translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Stoick et al teach:
1. A method of manufacturing a substrate block (Stoick et al: the molded wall of component 20 constitutes the substrate block; fig 1-5; since the instant disclosure does not structurally define the block, the molded wall of component 20 of Stoick et al can constitute the block) comprising:
providing a mold, the mold comprising a cavity (Stoick et al: figs 1-5);
filling the cavity of the mold with a fluoropolymer to form the substrate block, the substrate block having an exterior surface (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; col 3:50-52; the entire outer surface of component 20 including the surfaces defining the nose portions 30,32 constitutes an exterior surface);
withdrawing a curved insert form the substrate block (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; core assembly 42 including segments 50 and 51) to form a fluid passageway in the substrate block (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; the curved section forming portion 35 of the component between the forming portions 40,41) extending from an inlet port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; nose portion 32) to an outlet port in the substrate (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; nose portion 30), wherein the inlet port and the outlet port both define in the exterior surface (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; since the entire outer surface of component 20 constitutes the claimed exterior surface, and nose portions 30 and 32 open up to the outer surface of the component, the nose portions constitutes ports that face the exterior surface), the fluid passageway extending between the inlet port and the outlet port in a smooth arc free of corners or angular walls (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; the curved section forming portion 35 is a smooth arc free of corners or angular walls).
However, Stoick et al do not teach forming a first ring around the inlet port and a first channel surrounding the first ring; and forming a second ring around the outlet port and a second channel surrounding the second ring. CN205716186 teaches an elbow pipe having a connecting disc 4 at each end of the pipe, wherein a sealing ring groove 5 surrounding the opening of the elbow pipe is found in each connecting pipe (short specification; figs 1-2). The groove 5 allows for a sealing ring to be placed at each end of the elbow pipe. Since Stoick et al and CN205716186 are analogous with respect to elbow pipes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the sealing ring grooves of CN205716186 into each nose portion of Stoick et al in order to surround each opening of Stoick et al with a sealing ring.
Regarding claim 5, such is taught by Stoick et al (Stoick et al: figs 1-5).
Regarding claim 6, such is taught by Stoick et al (Stoick et al: figs 1-5).
Regarding claim 7, such is taught by Stoick et al (Stoick et al: figs 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, such is taught by Stoick et al (Stoick et al: figs 1-5).
Regarding claim 10, such is taught by Stoick et al (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; forming portion 41 has an inner vertical wall portion that is along an inlet port axis, which would intersect the path such that the inlet port axis is non-tangent to the path).
Regarding claim 26, Stoick et al do not teach withdrawing a second curved insert from the substrate block to form a second fluid passageway in the substrate block extending from a second inlet port to a second outlet port in the substrate. The mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Since elbow pipes having two passageways are well-known in the pipe art for its improved efficiency, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to design the mold of Stoick et al to incorporate a second curved insert to form a second fluid passageway adjacent to the first passageway of Stoick et al that extends from a second inlet port to a second outlet port in order to improve flow amount and efficiency.
Regarding claim 28, Stoick et al do not teach the ports facing the same direction. Since elbow pipe with openings facing the same direction are well-known in the pipe art for allowing a U-turned/returned flow, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to design the nose portion/ports of Stoick et al to face the same direction in order to form elbow pipes that meet diverse needs.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoick et al in view of CN205716186 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of JP63-56426 (English machine translation provided). The above combined teachings of Stoick et al and CN205716186 are incorporated hereinafter.
Stoick et al (modified) do not teach forming at least one through hole in the substrate block configured to receive a fastener. JP63-56426 teaches an elbow pipe having a molded flange at each end, wherein a screw hole 7/33 are formed into the flange to allow for the pipe to be attached to a body (short specification; figs 1,2, 4, and 6). Since Stoick et al (modified) and JP63-56426 are analogous with respect to elbow pipes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the formation of a screw hole as taught by JP63-56426 into the elbow pipe of Stoick et al (modified) in order to allow the pipe of Stoick et al (modified) to be attached to a body.
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoick et al in view of JP63-56426.
Regarding claim 17, Stoick et al teach:
17. A method of manufacturing a substrate block (Stoick et al: the molded wall of component 20 constitutes the substrate block (fig 1-5; it should be noted that the instant disclosure does not structurally define the block; thus, the molded wall of component 20 of Stoick et al can constitute the block) comprising:
providing a mold, the mold comprising a cavity and a curved insert (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; core assembly 42 including segments 50 and 51) within the cavity (Stoick et al: figs 1-5);
filling the cavity of the mold with a fluoropolymer to form a substrate block around the curved insert (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; col 3:50-52);
withdrawing the curved insert from the substrate block to form a substrate fluid passageway in the substrate block extending from an inlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; nose portion 32) to an outlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; nose portion 30);
forming a first conical portion in the substrate block in communication with the inlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 3-3a; as shown in fig 3 and 3a, nose portion 32 has a conical-shaped end portion); and
forming a second conical portion in the substrate block in communication with the outlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 3-3a; as shown in fig 3 and 3a, nose portion 30 has a conical-shaped end portion).
However, Stoick et al do not teach forming at least one through hole in the substrate block configured to receive a fastener. JP63-56426 teaches an elbow pipe having a molded flange at each end, wherein a screw hole 7/33 are formed into the flange to allow for the pipe to be attached to a body (short specification; figs 1,2, 4, and 6). Since Stoick et al (modified) and JP63-56426 are analogous with respect to elbow pipes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the formation of a screw hole as taught by JP63-56426 into the elbow pipe of Stoick et al (modified) in order to allow the pipe of Stoick et al (modified) to be attached to a body.
Regarding claim 18, such is taught by Stoick et al (Stoick et al: figs 1-5).
Regarding claim 19, such is taught by Stoick et al (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; both forming portions 41 and 40 have portions forming the upper surface).
Claims 11-15 are allowed.
Claims 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 11, the prior art of record including the closest prior art Stoick et al neither teaches nor renders obvious every claimed limitation including forming the substrate block comprising a first side, a second side, and a plurality of lateral sides extending between the first side and the second side; forming each of the inlet substrate port and the outlet substrate port into the first side of the substrate block; forming a first groove in the first side that surrounds the inlet substrate port; and forming a second groove in the first side that surrounds the outlet substrate port.
Regarding claim 24, the prior art of record including the closest prior art Stoick et al neither teaches nor renders obvious every claimed limitation including positioning a first replaceable insert seal in the first channel and the first conical portion, wherein the first replacement seal has a first groove defined therein that receives the first ring; and positioning a second replaceable insert seal in the second channel and the second conical portion, wherein the second replacement seal has a second groove defined therein that receives the second ring.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,5-7,9,10,17-19, and 26-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach molding a product having conduits: USPs 6635214 (using mandrels that extend out of the mold cavity), 7093859 (using a mandrel that is removed after molding), 4740018 (manifold), 20080202614 (a block having curved channels), 20070295401 (block having a curved channel), 3360008 (manifold), 3683960 (block having curved channels)***, and 20060011246 (block made from PTFE or PFA)***; WO82/02020 (block having a curved channel); and GB2358368 (manifold having a mandrel that is dissolved to form channels); USPNs 3796407**, 3545718, 4184834 teach components having conical portions. CN112049991 teach concrete and fluoropolymers are substitutable alternatives for pipes.
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744