DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1,5-7,9-10,21,24, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stoick et al (USPN 6399006).
1. A method of manufacturing a substrate block (Stoick et al: the molded wall of component 20 constitutes the substrate block; fig 1-5; since the instant disclosure does not structurally define the block, the molded wall of component 20 of Stoick et al can constitute the block) comprising:
providing a mold, the mold comprising a cavity (Stoick et al: figs 1-5);
filling the cavity of the mold with a fluoropolymer to form the substrate block, the substrate block having an exterior surface (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; col 3:50-52; the entire outer surface of component 20 including the surfaces defining the nose portions 30,32 constitutes an exterior surface);
withdrawing a curved insert form the substrate block (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; core assembly 42 including segments 50 and 51) to form a substrate fluid passageway in the substrate block (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; the curved section forming portion 35 of the component between the forming portions 40,41) extending from an inlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; nose portion 32) to an outlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; nose portion 30), wherein the inlet substrate port and the outlet substrate port both face the exterior surface (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; since the entire outer surface of component 20 constitutes the claimed exterior surface, and nose portions 30 and 32 open up to the outer surface of the component, the nose portions constitutes ports that face the exterior surface), the substrate fluid passageway extending between the inlet substrate port and the outlet substrate port in a smooth arc free of corners or angular walls (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; the curved section forming portion 35 is a smooth arc free of corners or angular walls).
5. The method of claim 1 wherein the curved insert is withdrawn along an arcuate path (Stoick et al: figs 1-5).
6. The method of claim 1 wherein the step of providing further comprises positioning the curved insert within the cavity (Stoick et al: figs 1-5).
7. The method of claim 1 wherein the step of filling further comprises flowing the fluoropolymer around the curved insert (Stoick et al: figs 1-5).
9. The method of claim 1 wherein, in the step of withdrawing, the substrate fluid passageway extends from the inlet substrate port to the outlet substrate port along a path, the arc of the path having a constant radius (Stoick et al: figs 1-5).
10. The method of claim 9 wherein the inlet substrate port extends along an inlet port axis, the inlet port axis intersecting the path such that the inlet port axis is non-tangent to the path (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; forming portion 41 has an inner vertical wall portion that is along an inlet port axis, which would intersect the path such that the inlet port axis is non-tangent to the path).
21. The method of claim 1, further comprising: forming a first groove in the exterior surface that surrounds the inlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; the grooves between the threads at the nose portion 32 constitutes the claimed groove); and forming a second groove in the exterior surface that surrounds the outlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; the grooves between the threads at the nose portion 30 constitutes the claimed groove).
24. The method of claim 1, further comprising: forming a first conical portion in the substrate block in communication with the inlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 3-3a; as shown in fig 3 and 3a, nose portion 32 has a conical-shaped end portion); and forming a second conical portion in the substrate block in communication with the outlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 3-3a; as shown in fig 3 and 3a, nose portion 30 has a conical-shaped end portion).
25. The method of claim 24, further comprising: forming a first groove in the exterior surface that surrounds the inlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; the grooves between the threads at the nose portion 32 constitutes the claimed groove); and forming a second groove in the exterior surface that surrounds the outlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; the grooves between the threads at the nose portion 30 constitutes the claimed groove).
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stoick et al (USPN 6399006).
11. A method of manufacturing a substrate block (Stoick et al: the molded wall of component 20 constitutes the substrate block (fig 1-5; it should be noted that the instant disclosure does not structurally define the block; thus, the molded wall of component 20 of Stoick et al can constitute the block) comprising:
providing a mold, the mold comprising a cavity and a curved insert (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; core assembly 42 including segments 50 and 51) within the cavity (Stoick et al: figs 1-5);
filling the cavity of the mold with a fluoropolymer to form the substrate block, the substrate block having an exterior surface (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; col 3:50-52; the entire outer surface of component 20 including the surfaces defining the nose portions 30,32 constitutes an exterior surface);
withdrawing the curved insert from the cavity to form a substrate fluid passageway in the substrate block (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; the curved section forming portion 35 of the component between the forming portions 40,41) extending from an inlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; nose portion 32) to an outlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; nose portion 30), each of the inlet substrate port and the outlet substrate port formed into the exterior surface of the substrate block (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; since the entire outer surface of component 20 constitutes the claimed exterior surface, and nose portions 30 and 32 open up to the outer surface of the component, the nose portions constitutes ports that are formed into the exterior surface);
forming a first groove in the exterior surface that surrounds the inlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; the grooves between the threads at the nose portion 32 constitutes the claimed groove);
forming a second groove in the exterior surface that surrounds the outlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; the grooves between the threads at the nose portion 30 constitutes the claimed groove).
12. The method of claim 11 wherein in the step of withdrawing, the substrate fluid passageway extends along a single arc from the inlet substrate port to the outlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5).
13. The method of claim 12 wherein the arc has a constant radius (Stoick et al: figs 1-5).
14. The method of claim 11 wherein in the step of withdrawing, the curved insert is withdrawn along an arcuate path (Stoick et al: figs 1-5).
15. The method of claim 11 wherein the curved insert has a constant radius (Stoick et al: figs 1-5).
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stoick et al (USPN 6399006).
17. A method of manufacturing a substrate block (Stoick et al: the molded wall of component 20 constitutes the substrate block (fig 1-5; it should be noted that the instant disclosure does not structurally define the block; thus, the molded wall of component 20 of Stoick et al can constitute the block) comprising:
providing a mold, the mold comprising a cavity and a curved insert (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; core assembly 42 including segments 50 and 51) within the cavity (Stoick et al: figs 1-5);
filling the cavity of the mold with a fluoropolymer to form a substrate block around the curved insert (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; col 3:50-52);
withdrawing the curved insert from the substrate block to form a substrate fluid passageway in the substrate block extending from an inlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; nose portion 32) to an outlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; nose portion 30);
forming a first conical portion in the substrate block in communication with the inlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 3-3a; as shown in fig 3 and 3a, nose portion 32 has a conical-shaped end portion); and
forming a second conical portion in the substrate block in communication with the outlet substrate port (Stoick et al: figs 3-3a; as shown in fig 3 and 3a, nose portion 30 has a conical-shaped end portion).
18. The method of claim 17 wherein in the step of withdrawing, the substrate fluid passageway comprises an arc, the arc having a constant radius (Stoick et al: figs 1-5).
19. The method of claim 17 wherein in the step of withdrawing, the inlet substrate port and the outlet substrate port are formed into the upper surface of the substrate block (Stoick et al: figs 1-5; both forming portions 41 and 40 have portions forming the upper surface).
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoick et al (USPN 6399006) as applied to claims 1 and 21. The above teachings of Stoick et al are incorporated hereinafter.
Regarding claim 22, Stoick et al do not teach first and second replaceable insert seals in the first and second grooves. Since it is well-known in the fitting art to use replaceable seals to make fittings fluid-tight, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate seals into the grooves of Stoick et al in order to ensure the fitting of Stoick et al is fluid-tight.
Regarding claim 23, Stoick et al do not teach mounting a valve to the substrate block such that the valve sealingly engages the first and second replaceable seals. Since it is well-known in the fitting art to mount valves, in a fluid-tight manner, on a fitting in order to control the flow of material through the fitting, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to mount a
valve on the replaceable seals of Stoick et al (modified) in order to control the flow of material through the fitting.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,5-8,9-10,11-15,17-19, and 21-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach molding a product having conduits: USPs 6635214 (using mandrels that extend out of the mold cavity), 7093859 (using a mandrel that is removed after molding), 4740018 (manifold), 20080202614 (a block having curved channels), 20070295401 (block having a curved channel), 3360008 (manifold), 3683960 (block having curved channels)***, and 20060011246 (block made from PTFE or PFA)***; WO82/02020 (block having a curved channel); and GB2358368 (manifold having a mandrel that is dissolved to form channels); USPNs 3796407**, 3545718, 4184834 teach components having conical portions. CN112049991 teach concrete and fluoropolymers are substitutable alternatives for pipes.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744