DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 and 30-34 are presented for examination.
Claims 1 and 30 are amended.
Claims 16-29 are canceled.
Claims 31-34 are new.
Response to Arguments
The examiner notes that claims 31-34 have the incorrect identifier (NEW). Claims are indicated as new even though they were originally presented in 04/15/2024 and previously rejected in the Non-Final rejection. For clarity and consistency, the examiner recommends using the correct identifier (Previously Presented).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
The Applicant argues:
(1) Hoang fails to teach determining a priority for the SL-PRS based on the QoS parameters, as recited in claim 5, [Remarks, pages 6-7].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Hoang discloses wherein the determining a priority for the SL-PRS is based on control signaling, which includes at least one of Radio Resource Control (RRC), Medium Access Control Element (MAC CE), or Sidelink Control Information (SCI) [paragraphs 0098, 0131, 0166, 0184, wherein the determining a priority for the SL-PRS is based on control signaling, which includes at least one of Radio Resource Control (RRC), Medium Access Control Element (MAC CE), or Sidelink Control Information (SCI) (QoS parameters of the SL-PRS resource/transmission: SCI; MAC CE; RRC; and NAS message)].
Regarding determining a priority for the SL-PRS is based on control signaling which includes at least one of Radio Resource Control (RRC), Medium Access Control Element (MAC CE), or Sidelink Control Information (SCI), Hoang discloses in paragraphs 0076, 0131, 0164, 0166, and 0184.
[0076] For channel design, each sidelink transmission span within one slot consisting of PSSCH and PSCCH. PSSCH and PSCCH are FDM and TDM multiplexing. Sidelink control information (SCI) is divided into two parts which are the first stage SCI and the second stage SCI. The first stage SCIs indicate the resource used for sidelink transmission, the QoS of the transmission (e.g., priority), DMRS, PTRS used for the sidelink transmission and the second SCI format. The second stage SCI indicate the remaining control information. SCI can be used to reserve the resource for future transmission within a resource pool.
[0131] …. The WTRU may use the (pre-)configured sidelink resource pool for data transmission/reception to transmit the request message. The request message may be multiplexed with the normal sidelink data. The WTRU may use PC5 RRC, MAC CE and/or SCI to convey the parameters associated with the SL-PRS transmission/reception.
[0164] For implicit/explicit indication from another WTRU or from gNB, in one example, a WTRU (e.g., P-WTRU) may request the WTRU (e.g., A-WTRU) to transmit SL-PRS. The QoS parameters of the SL-PRS resource/transmission may be indicated in the request message. For example, the WTRU may indicate the expected SL-PRS reception window to other WTRUs. The other WTRU, upon receiving the request, may perform SL-PRS resource allocation and transmission within the requested window. Alternatively, one WTRU may indicate the QoS of the SL-PRS transmission of another WTRU during the control signaling exchange procedure (e.g., PC5-RRC messages).
[0166] The WTRU may indicate the QoS parameters of the SL-PRS resource/transmission. In one solution, the WTRU may indicate the QoS parameters of the SL-PRS resource in an associated transmission, which may be used to indicate SL-PRS transmission. Specifically, the WTRU may use one or any combination of the following to indicate the QoS parameters of the SL-PRS resource/transmission: SCI; MAC CE; RRC; and NAS message.
[0184] The WTRU may reserve SL-PRS transmission resources for a group of WTRUs. …. In the SL-PRS reservation transmission, the WTRU may use the first stage SCI to reserve SL-PRS resources for a group of A-WTRU s. In one approach, the WTRU may then use second stage SCI, MAC CE, or PSSCH data to indicate mapping between WTRU in the group and each reserved SL-PRS resources. In another approach, the mapping between each reserved SL-PRS resources may be (pre-)determined based on the WTRU ID in the group (e.g., member ID in the group), (pre-)defined during the positioning service establishment procedure.
In other words, Hoang discloses wherein WTRU may reserve SL-PRS transmission resources based on the QoS of the transmission (e.g., priority); the QoS parameters indicated via at least one of SCI; MAC CE; RRC; or NAS message.
Therefore, given that Hoang discloses determining a priority for the SL-PRS is based on the QoS parameters indicated via at least one of SCI; MAC CE; RRC; or NAS message, then Hoang clearly discloses determining a priority for the SL-PRS is based on control signaling which includes at least one of Radio Resource Control (RRC), Medium Access Control Element (MAC CE), or Sidelink Control Information (SCI).
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 30-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al., (hereinafter Hoang), U.S. Publication No. 2024/0188153, in view of Ren et al., (hereinafter Ren), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0048608.
As per claim 1, Hoang discloses a method for wireless communication [fig. 1A, 1C, 4, paragraphs 0017, 0021, 0067, 0092, a method for wireless communication (a device operating on wireless networks; a method 400 configured for a WTRU)], comprising:
determining a priority for a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) [paragraphs 0100, 0120, 0160, 0162, 0163, 0170, determining a priority for a sidelink positioning reference signal (the WTRU may determine the QoS of a SL-PRS transmission/resource and the priority level of the SL-PRS)];
communicating the SL-PRS based on the determined priority [paragraphs 0100, 0120, 0160, 0162, 0163, 0170, communicating the SL-PRS based on the determined priority (WTRU may use QoS parameters of SL-PRS resource/transmission to perform prioritization between UL and SL)].
Hoang does not explicitly discloses transmitting a phase-tracking reference signal (PT-RS) in symbols not overlapping the SL-PRS.
However, Ren teaches transmitting a phase-tracking reference signal (PT-RS) in symbols not overlapping the SL-PRS [paragraphs 0044, 0062-0065, 0123-0127, 0145-0149, transmitting a phase-tracking reference signal (PT-RS) in symbols not overlapping the SL-PRS (when a resource occupied by the sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) collides with a resource occupied by at least one type of information in a first information set (wherein the first information set includes: a sidelink reference signal that includes: at least one of a sidelink phase tracking reference signal (SL PT-RS)), the S-PRS is not transmitted on the collided resource; not receiving the S-PRS on the symbol or the slot occupied by at least one type of information in the first information set (e.g., SL PT-RS))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Hoang by transmitting a phase-tracking reference signal (PT-RS) in symbols not overlapping the SL-PRS as taught by Ren because it would provide the Hoang's method with the enhanced capability of improving the positioning accuracy and spectral efficiency of the sidelink [Ren, paragraphs 0044, 0063, 0226].
As per claim 2, Hoang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the determining a priority for the sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) is based on at least one of a configuration, a default, a scenario, or an indication [paragraphs 0084, 0163, 0165, 0170, wherein the determining a priority for the sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) is based on at least one of a configuration, a default, a scenario, or an indication (QoS parameters (e.g., priority, reliability) of the SL-PRS resource/transmission may be (pre-)configured)].
As per claim 3, Hoang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the determining establishes that the SL-PRS has a highest priority, for which the communicating prioritizes the SL-PRS before communicating the other signal(s) or channel(s) [paragraphs 0162, 0165, 0170, 0193, wherein the determining establishes that the SL-PRS has a highest priority, for which the communicating prioritizes the SL-PRS before communicating the other signal(s) or channel(s) (the WTRU may prioritize UL transmission or SL-PRS transmission based on the priority of each transmission; the priority associated with the SL-PRS resource is fixed to be the highest priority (e.g., priority 1) or lowest priority (e.g., priority 8))].
As per claim 4, Hoang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the determining establishes that the SL-PRS has a lowest priority, for which the communicating prioritizes any other signal(s) or channel(s) before the SL-PRS [paragraphs 0162, 0165, 0170, 0193, wherein the determining establishes that the SL-PRS has a lowest priority, for which the communicating prioritizes any other signal(s) or channel(s) before the SL-PRS (the WTRU may prioritize UL transmission or SL-PRS transmission based on the priority of each transmission; the priority associated with the SL-PRS resource is fixed to be the highest priority (e.g., priority 1) or lowest priority (e.g., priority 8); the WTRU may prioritize UL transmission or SL-PRS transmission based on the priority of each transmission … WTRU may drop the transmission with lower priority)].
As per claim 5, Hoang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the determining a priority for the SL-PRS is based on control signaling, which includes at least one of Radio Resource Control (RRC), Medium Access Control Element (MAC CE), or Sidelink Control Information (SCI) [paragraphs 0076, 0098, 0131, 0166, 0184, wherein the determining a priority for the SL-PRS is based on control signaling, which includes at least one of Radio Resource Control (RRC), Medium Access Control Element (MAC CE), or Sidelink Control Information (SCI) (QoS parameters of the SL-PRS resource/transmission: SCI; MAC CE; RRC; and NAS message)].
As per claim 6, Hoang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the determined priority comprises a integer number value between 1 and 8, wherein 1 is highest priority, 8 is the lowest priority [paragraphs 0162, 0165, 0170, 0193, wherein the determined priority comprises a integer number value between 1 and 8, wherein 1 is highest priority, 8 is the lowest priority (the WTRU may prioritize UL transmission or SL-PRS transmission based on the priority of each transmission; the priority associated with the SL-PRS resource is fixed to be the highest priority (e.g., priority 1) or lowest priority (e.g., priority 8))].
As per claim 7, Hoang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the communicating is from a first communication device to a second communication device [fig. 1A, paragraphs 0018, 0021, 0059, 0060, wherein the communicating is from a first communication device to a second communication device (base stations 114a, 114b may communicate with one or more of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d over an air interface 116, which may be any suitable wireless communication link)].
As per claim 8, Hoang discloses the method of claim 7,
wherein the first or second communication device comprises a user equipment (UE) or a network node [fig. 1A, paragraphs 0018, 0019, 0021, 0059, 0060, wherein the first or second communication device comprises a user equipment (UE) or a network node (base stations 114a, 114b may communicate with one or more of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d over an air interface 116, which may be any suitable wireless communication link; WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c and 102d may be interchangeably referred to as a UE; the base stations 114a, 114b may include any number of interconnected base stations and/or network elements)].
As per claim 9, Hoang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the communicating further comprises sending [fig. 2, 4, paragraphs 0059, 0083, 0132, 0144, wherein the communicating further comprises sending (the network 210 sends DL PRS configuration information 222)].
As per claim 10, Hoang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein a priority for the SL-PRS is configured by at least one of a high layer parameter, a parameter in Radio Resource Control (RRC), a parameter in sidelink control information (SCI), a parameter in downlink control information (DCI), a parameter in Medium Access Control Elements (MAC CE), a Non Access Stratum (NAS) layer parameter, or a parameter in system information blocks x (SIBx), where x is an integer [paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0166, wherein a priority for the SL-PRS is configured by at least one of a high layer parameter, a parameter in Radio Resource Control (RRC) (WTRU may obtain the sidelink positioning configuration information by one or more of (pre-)configuration, by the network via SIB or RRC message)].
As per claim 11, Hoang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the SL-PRS is used for calculating a location [paragraphs 0080, 0085, 0134, wherein the SL-PRS is used for calculating a location (position can be calculated based on SL-PRS measurement)].
As per claim 12, Hoang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the determined priority for the SL-PRS comprises at least one of the priority for the SL-PRS is higher than a first set of other signal(s) or channel(s), or the priority for the SL-PRS lower than a second set of the other signal(s) or channel(s) [paragraphs 0120, 0162, 0165, 0169, 0170, wherein the determined priority for the SL-PRS comprises at least one of the priority for the SL-PRS is higher than a first set of other signal(s) or channel(s), or the priority for the SL-PRS lower than a second set of the other signal(s) or channel(s) (the WTRU may prioritize UL transmission or SL-PRS transmission based on the priority of each transmission)].
As per claim 13, Hoang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the communicating deprioritizes the SL-PRS and communicates the SL-PRS after the second set of the other signal(s) or channel(s) [fig. 5, paragraphs 0101, 0111, 0112, 0128, 0161, wherein the communicating deprioritizes the SL-PRS and communicates the SL-PRS after the second set of the other signal(s) or channel(s) (a plurality of DL-PRS are deprioritized during a reporting period 264)].
As per claim 14, Hoang discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the communicating prioritizes the SL-PRS and communicates the SL-PRS before communicating the first set of the other signal(s), or channel(s) [paragraphs 0162, 0165, 0170, 0193, wherein the communicating prioritizes the SL-PRS and communicates the SL-PRS before communicating the first set of the other signal(s), or channel(s) (the WTRU may prioritize UL transmission or SL-PRS transmission based on the priority of each transmission; the priority associated with the SL-PRS resource is fixed to be the highest priority (e.g., priority 1) or lowest priority (e.g., priority 8))].
As per claim 15, Hoang discloses the method of claim 12,
wherein the first set of other signal(s) or channel(s) has no intersection with the second set of other signal(s) or channel(s) [paragraphs 0040, 0170, wherein the first set of other signal(s) or channel(s) has no intersection with the second set of other signal(s) or channel(s) (the WTRU cannot perform UL transmission and SL-PRS reception simultaneously)].
As per claim 30, Hoang discloses a wireless communication device [fig. 1A, 1C, 4, paragraphs 0017, 0021, 0067, 0092, a wireless communication device (a device operating on wireless networks)], comprising: at least one processor [fig. 1B, paragraphs 0031, 0032, 0036, at least one processor (the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118)] configured to:
determine a priority for a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) [paragraphs 0100, 0120, 0160, 0162, 0163, 0170, determine a priority for a sidelink positioning reference signal (the WTRU may determine the QoS of a SL-PRS transmission/resource and the priority level of the SL-PRS)];
communicate the SL-PRS based on the determined priority [paragraphs 0100, 0120, 0160, 0162, 0163, 0170, communicate the SL-PRS based on the determined priority (WTRU may use QoS parameters of SL-PRS resource/transmission to perform prioritization between UL and SL)].
Hoang does not explicitly discloses transmitting a phase-tracking reference signal (PT-RS) in symbols not overlapping the SL-PRS.
However, Ren teaches transmitting a phase-tracking reference signal (PT-RS) in symbols not overlapping the SL-PRS [paragraphs 0044, 0062-0065, 0123-0127, 0145-0149, transmitting a phase-tracking reference signal (PT-RS) in symbols not overlapping the SL-PRS (when a resource occupied by the sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) collides with a resource occupied by at least one type of information in a first information set (wherein the first information set includes: a sidelink reference signal that includes: at least one of a sidelink phase tracking reference signal (SL PT-RS)), the S-PRS is not transmitted on the collided resource; not receiving the S-PRS on the symbol or the slot occupied by at least one type of information in the first information set (e.g., SL PT-RS))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the device described in Hoang by transmitting a phase-tracking reference signal (PT-RS) in symbols not overlapping the SL-PRS as taught by Ren because it would provide the Hoang's device with the enhanced capability of improving the positioning accuracy and spectral efficiency of the sidelink [Ren, paragraphs 0044, 0063, 0226].
As per claim 31, Hoang discloses the device of claim 30,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the priority for the SL-PRS based on control signaling, which includes at least one of Radio Resource Control (RRC), Medium Access Control Element (MAC CE), or Sidelink Control Information (SCI) [paragraphs 0098, 0131, 0166, 0184, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the priority for the SL-PRS based on control signaling, which includes at least one of Radio Resource Control (RRC), Medium Access Control Element (MAC CE), or Sidelink Control Information (SCI) (QoS parameters of the SL-PRS resource/transmission: SCI; MAC CE; RRC; and NAS message)].
As per claim 32, Hoang discloses the device of claim 30,
wherein the determined priority comprises a integer number value between 1 and 8, wherein 1 is highest priority, 8 is the lowest priority [paragraphs 0162, 0165, 0170, 0193, wherein the determined priority comprises a integer number value between 1 and 8, wherein 1 is highest priority, 8 is the lowest priority (the WTRU may prioritize UL transmission or SL-PRS transmission based on the priority of each transmission; the priority associated with the SL-PRS resource is fixed to be the highest priority (e.g., priority 1) or lowest priority (e.g., priority 8))].
As per claim 33, Hoang discloses the device of claim 30,
wherein the communicating is from a first communication device to a second communication device [fig. 1A, paragraphs 0018, 0021, 0059, 0060, wherein the communicating is from a first communication device to a second communication device (base stations 114a, 114b may communicate with one or more of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d over an air interface 116, which may be any suitable wireless communication link)].
As per claim 34, Hoang discloses the device of claim 30,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to send the SL-PRS based on the determined priority [paragraphs 0100, 0120, 0160, 0162, 0163, 0170, wherein the at least one processor is configured to send the SL-PRS based on the determined priority (WTRU may use QoS parameters of SL-PRS resource/transmission to perform prioritization between UL and SL)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zewali et al., U.S. Publication No. 2021/0352698 discloses a configuration for a non-overlapping relationship between a first resource for receiving a DMRS and a second resource for receiving a PTRS.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469