DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
This action is responsive to the amendment dated 7/15/2026. Claims 1-4, 6-13, and 21-25 remain pending. Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 10, and 12 have been amended. The applicant’s amendment has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection below. This action is Final.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's amendment to recite the flow chamber defined between a central section of the housing and a protrusion positioned on an outer section of the housing, the protrusion at least partially radially aligned with the central section and extending towards the central section in the flow chamber, wherein the flow chamber is radially offset from a centerline axis of the housing; and a first sealing member positioned between the poppet and the central section of the housing configured to fluidly disconnect a fluid flow from the inlet port to the outlet port, wherein the first sealing member is retained by the central section of the housing radially inward of the flow chamber has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground(s) of rejection is applied to the claims below. As such, applicant's arguments with respect to the 103 rejection over Blust in view of Liberfarb have not been found persuasive. A new interpretation of Blust in view of Liberfarb as stated below in the 103 rejection teaches each and every limitation including the flow chamber defined between a central section of the housing and a protrusion positioned on an outer section of the housing, the protrusion at least partially radially aligned with the central section and extending towards the central section in the flow chamber, wherein the flow chamber is radially offset from a centerline axis of the housing; and a first sealing member positioned between the poppet and the central section of the housing configured to fluidly disconnect a fluid flow from the inlet port to the outlet port, wherein the first sealing member is retained by the central section of the housing radially inward of the flow chamber.
Applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine Blust and Liberfarb. However, the motivation statement was clearly provided on pages 4 and 5 of the Final Rejection mailed on 1/15/2026. This motivation is provided again below.
Applicant's amendments to the claims have necessitated further search and/or consideration and/or revision of the rejection, and accordingly, this action must be made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-13, 21, 22, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blust (US 1,627,312) in view of Liberfarb (US 2004/0206397) and Thompson (US 2007/0000544).
Regarding claim 1, Blust discloses a check valve assembly (Figs. 4-5), comprising: a housing (including 1, 8, 9, 10) comprising an inlet port (the port in which 8 feeds fluid into 1), an outlet port (the outlet port in which 1 feeds fluid into 10), and a flow chamber (the chamber formed within 1) defined by the housing and fluidly coupling the inlet port to the outlet port, the flow chamber defined between a central section of the housing (the section of the flow housing at the flow chamber which feeds directly to 21) and a protrusion (the protruding part of 11 that is radially outward of 13) positioned on an outer section of the housing, the protrusion at least partially radially aligned with the central section and extending towards the central section in the flow chamber (Fig. 4), wherein the flow chamber is radially offset from a centerline axis of the housing (Fig. 4); a poppet assembly (14, 18, 19) movable between a closed position (as shown in Fig. 4) and an open position (as shown in Fig. 5), the poppet assembly comprising a poppet (14) positioned in the flow chamber and configured to sealingly engage the housing in the closed position to fluidly disconnect the inlet port from the outlet port, the poppet defining a flow channel (15) configured to fluidly couple a portion of the flow chamber upstream of at least a portion of a valve seat (11) and a portion of the flow chamber downstream of at least a portion of the valve seat (Figs. 4 and 5); and a biasing member (18) operably coupled to the poppet, wherein the biasing member is configured to bias the poppet assembly to the closed position (Page 2, lines 6-36), but fails to disclose the poppet defining a flow metering orifice positioned in the flow channel; a first sealing member positioned between the poppet and the central section of the housing configured to fluidly disconnect a fluid flow from the inlet port to the outlet port, wherein the first sealing member is retained by the central section of the housing radially inward of the flow chamber.
Liberfarb teaches a poppet (9) defining a flow metering orifice (10) positioned in a flow channel, the flow metering orifice having a cross-sectional dimension that is less than a cross-sectional dimension of the flow channel upstream and downstream of the flow metering orifice. (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the poppet of Blust to include a metering orifice positioned close to the middle of the flow channel as taught by Liberfarb in order to provide a means to meter the flow through the flow system to ensure the fluid pressure does not reach too high as desired by the user. (para. [0017] – [0018])
Thompson teaches a valve assembly wherein the housing further comprises: a first sealing member (134) positioned between the valve (120, 126, 128) and the central section of the housing (114) configured to fluidly disconnect a fluid flow from the inlet port to the outlet port.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the valve seat portion at 11 of Blust to include a sealing member as taught by Thompson since this is combining prior art elements (seals) according to known methods to yield predictable results (providing a fluid seal). The motivation to do so is to ensure a proper seal is formed between the poppet and valve seat when the poppet is in the closed position.
The combination of Blust and Thompson necessarily disclose wherein the first sealing member is retained by the central section of the housing radially inward of the flow chamber.
Regarding claim 2, Blust in view of Liberfarb further disclose the check valve assembly of claim 1, wherein the inlet port is configured to receive a flow of an operating fluid. (Page 2, lines 6-36)
Regarding claim 3, Blust in view of Liberfarb further disclose the check valve assembly of claim 2, wherein the poppet assembly is configured to move from the closed position to the open position when a pressure of the operating fluid at the inlet port exceeds a threshold value. (Page 2, lines 6-36)
Regarding claim 4, Blust in view of Liberfarb further disclose the check valve assembly of claim 3, wherein the poppet disengages the housing to permit the operating fluid to flow from the inlet port to the outlet port when the poppet assembly is in the open position. (Page 2, lines 6-36; see how 14 disengages from 11 to transition to the open position)
Regarding claim 7, Blust in view of Liberfarb further disclose the check valve assembly of claim 1, wherein the housing includes a central section (the section of 1 that is radially extended and on the left side with reference to Figs. 4 and 5) and outer section (the section of 1 which attaches directly to 19), and wherein the flow chamber is defined between the central section of the housing and the outer section of the housing (at least a portion of the flow chamber is defined between the central section and outer section defined above).
Regarding claim 8, Blust in view of Liberfarb further disclose the check valve assembly of claim 7, wherein the housing further defines a protrusion (the protrusion that extends inwards around 7 that is positioned radially outward of 13 and which 14 abuts against as shown in Exhibit A) radially aligned with at least a portion of the central section of the housing.
Regarding claim 9, Blust discloses a check valve assembly (Figs. 4-5) comprising: a housing (including 1, 8, 9, 10) comprising an inlet port (the port in which 8 feeds fluid into 1), an outlet port (the outlet port in which 1 feeds fluid into 10), and a flow chamber (the chamber formed within 1) defined by the housing and fluidly coupling the inlet port to the outlet port, the flow chamber defined between a central section of the housing (the section of the flow housing at the flow chamber which feeds directly to 21) and an outer section of the housing (the outer section of 1 on the left side with reference to Fig. 4), wherein the flow chamber is radially offset from a centerline axis of the housing (Fig. 4); a poppet assembly (14, 18, 19) movable between a closed position (as shown in Fig. 4) and an open position (as shown in Fig. 5), the poppet assembly comprising a poppet (14) positioned in the flow chamber and configured to sealingly engage the housing in the closed position to fluidly disconnect the inlet port from the outlet port, the poppet assembly further comprising a flow channel (15); and a biasing member (18) operably coupled to the poppet and configured to bias the poppet assembly to the closed position (Page 2, lines 6-36), but fails to disclose the poppet assembly further comprising a flow metering orifice positioned in a flow channel; and a sealing member downstream of at least a portion of the central section, the sealing member having a sealing member radius that is less than an inner radius of the outer section.
Liberfarb teaches a poppet (94) defining a flow metering orifice (100) positioned in a flow channel, the flow metering orifice having a cross-sectional dimension that is less than across-sectional dimension of the flow channel upstream and downstream of the flow metering orifice, the flow metering orifice configured to reduce a range of inlet pressures that result in chattering of the poppet. (Fig. 1; para. [0017] – [0018])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the poppet of Blust to include a metering orifice positioned close to the middle of the flow channel as taught by Liberfarb in order to provide a means to meter the flow through the flow system to ensure the fluid pressure does not reach too high as desired by the user. (para. [0017] – [0018])
Thompson teaches a valve assembly wherein the housing further comprises: a sealing member (134) downstream of at least a portion of the central section (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the valve seat portion at 11 of Blust to include a sealing member as taught by Thompson since this is combining prior art elements (seals) according to known methods to yield predictable results (providing a fluid seal). The motivation to do so is to ensure a proper seal is formed between the poppet and valve seat when the poppet is in the closed position.
The combination of Blust and Thompson necessarily disclose the sealing member having a sealing member radius that is less than an inner radius of the outer section.
Regarding claim 10, Blust in view of Liberfarb further disclose the check valve assembly of claim 9, wherein, when the poppet moves between the closed position and the open position, an inlet pressure of an operating fluid is decreased as the operating fluid flows through the flow metering orifice to reduce movement of the poppet. (the valve of Blust is at least capable of performing this limitation)
Regarding claim 11, Blust in view of Liberfarb further disclose the check valve assembly of claim 9, wherein the biasing member is configured to bias the poppet to the closed position. (Figs. 4 and 5; Page 2, lines 6-36)
Regarding claim 12, Blust in view of Liberfarb further disclose the check valve assembly of claim 9, wherein a decrease in an operating fluid pressure regulates a fluid flow of an operating fluid. (the valve of Blust is at least capable of performing this limitation)
Regarding claim 13, Blust in view of Liberfarb further disclose the check valve assembly of claim 9, wherein a reduction of pressure by the flow metering orifice inhibits movement of the poppet. (the valve of Blust is at least capable of performing this limitation)
Regarding claim 21, Blust discloses a check valve assembly (Figs. 4-5) comprising: a housing (including 1, 8, 9, 10) defining an inlet port (the port in which 8 feeds fluid into 1), an outlet port (the outlet port in which 1 feeds fluid into 10), a central section (the section between the inlet port and outlet port around the protrusion) axially aligned with a protrusion (the protrusion that extends inwards around 7 that is positioned radially outward of 13 and which 14 abuts against as shown in Exhibit A) defined by the housing and defining an opening therebetween, and a flow chamber (the chamber formed within 1) defined by the housing, downstream of the central section, and fluidly coupling the inlet port to the outlet port; a poppet assembly (14, 18, 19) movable between a closed position (as shown in Fig. 4) and an open position (as shown in Fig. 5), the poppet assembly comprising a poppet (14) positioned in the flow chamber and configured to sealingly engage the housing in the closed position to fluidly disconnect the inlet port from the outlet port (Figs. 4 and 5); and a biasing member (18) operably coupled to the poppet and configured to bias the poppet assembly to the closed position, wherein the poppet is configured to move counter to a biasing force of the biasing member when an operating fluid force or an operating fluid pressure at the inlet port exceeds a threshold value, and wherein the poppet is configured to engage the first sealing member to inhibit the operating fluid from flowing from the outlet port to the inlet port when the operating fluid force or the operating fluid pressure at the inlet port is less than the threshold value (Page 2, lines 6-36), but fails to disclose the poppet assembly further comprising a flow metering orifice positioned in a flow channel; a first sealing member between the poppet and the central section of the housing, the first sealing member configured to fluidly disconnect the flow from the inlet port to the outlet port, wherein the opening is radially outward of the first sealing member relative to an axis of the housing.
Liberfarb teaches a poppet (9) defining a flow metering orifice (10) positioned in a flow channel. (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the poppet of Blust to include a metering orifice positioned close to the middle of the flow channel as taught by Liberfarb in order to provide a means to meter the flow through the flow system to ensure the fluid pressure does not reach too high as desired by the user. (para. [0017] – [0018])
Thompson teaches a first sealing member (134) between the valve and the the housing (114), the first sealing member configured to fluidly disconnect the flow from the inlet port to the outlet port (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the valve seat portion at 11 of Blust to include a sealing member as taught by Thompson to be positioned anywhere along the valve seat including radially inward of the opening since this is combining prior art elements (seals) according to known methods to yield predictable results (providing a fluid seal). The motivation to do so is to ensure a proper seal is formed between the poppet and valve seat when the poppet is in the closed position.
Blust when modified by the teaching of Thompson above necessarily disclose wherein the opening is radially outward of the first sealing member relative to an axis of the housing.
Regarding claim 22, Blust in view of Liberfarb and Thompson further disclose the check valve assembly of claim 21, wherein the inlet port is configured to receive a flow of the operating fluid. (Page 2, lines 6-36)
Regarding claim 25, Blust in view of Liberfarb and Thompson further disclose the check valve assembly of claim 21, wherein the operating fluid is upstream of the flow channel and downstream of the central section of the housing when the operating fluid force or the operating fluid pressure at the inlet port is less than the threshold value. (the invention of Blust is capable of meeting this limitation during operation)
Claim(s) 6, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blust in view of Liberfarb, Thompson, and Jukes et al. (US 2016/0124441, hereafter “Jukes”).
Regarding claim 6, Blust in view of Liberfarb and Thompson further disclose the check valve assembly of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the housing further comprises: a second sealing member positioned between the poppet and the housing configured to inhibit the operating fluid from bypassing the flow metering orifice or the first sealing member.
Jukes teaches a valve assembly wherein the housing comprises: a sealing member (133) positioned between the valve (3) and the housing (2) configured to inhibit the operating fluid from bypassing the flow metering orifice or the first sealing member.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the housing at the spot where the poppet moves along of Blust to include a sealing member as taught by Jukes since this is combining prior art elements (seals) according to known methods to yield predictable results (providing a fluid seal). The motivation to do so is to ensure a proper seal is formed between the poppet and housing throughout operation of the valve.
Regarding claim 23, Blust in view of Liberfarb and Thompson further disclose the check valve assembly of claim 21, but fails to disclose wherein the housing further comprises: a second sealing member positioned between the poppet and the housing configured to inhibit the operating fluid from bypassing the flow metering orifice or the first sealing member.
Jukes teaches a valve assembly wherein the housing further comprises: a sealing member (133) positioned between the valve (3) and the housing (2) configured to inhibit the operating fluid from bypassing the flow metering orifice or the first sealing member.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the housing at the spot where the poppet moves along of Blust to include a sealing member as taught by Jukes since this is combining prior art elements (seals) according to known methods to yield predictable results (providing a fluid seal). The motivation to do so is to ensure a proper seal is formed between the poppet and housing throughout operation of the valve.
Regarding claim 24, Blust in view of Liberfarb, Thompson, and Jukes further disclose the check valve assembly of claim 23, wherein the second sealing member is positioned downstream of the central section of the housing and upstream of the biasing member. (Figs. 4 and 5)
Conclusion
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753