DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The preliminary amendment filed June 26, 2024 has been received and entered.
Claims 1-53 have been canceled.
Claims 54-74 have been added.
Claims 54-74 are pending and under consideration.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
This application is a continuation of PCT/US2022/078178 filed 10/14/2022, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/256,122 filed 10/15/2021.
However, Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the provisional application fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) first paragraph, for one or more claims of this application.
Claims 54 and 73 are drawn to a conditionally active binding protein comprising a binding moiety (M) which comprises a non-CDR loop, a cleavable linker (L), and a first target antigen binding domain (T1) wherein the cleavable linker (L) links the binding moiety (M) with the first target antigen binding domain (T1), wherein the binding moiety (M) is capable of masking the binding of the first target antigen binding domain (T1) to its target, wherein the cleavable linker comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 90% sequence identity to a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 910-931, 1077, 1079, 1081, 1083, 1086, 1088-1089, 1091, 1093, 1095, 1119, and 1125-1128.
The specification of prior application 63/256,122 does not disclose the subject matter of the presently claimed invention. Specifically, the prior application does not contemplate cleavable linkers comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NOs: 1077, 1079, 1081, 1083, 1086, 1088-1089, 1091, 1093, 1095, 1119, and 1125-1128. The first disclosure of the instant invention as recited is in PCT/US2022/078178 filed 10/14/2022.
Should Applicant disagree with the examiner’s factual determination as to the disclosure of the various claim limitations, Applicant may point out the particular places within application 63/256,122 which discloses the specific subject matter.
Therefore, claims 54-71 and 73-74 have an earliest effective filing date of 10/14/2022, corresponding to PCT/US2022/078178, as all claims require or depend from claims that require a cleavable linker selected from SEQ ID NOs: 1077, 1079, 1081, 1083, 1086, 1088-1089, 1091, 1093, 1095, 1119, and 1125-1128. Independent claim 72 has an earliest effective filing date of 10/15/2021, corresponding to prior application 63/256,122, as the claim does not require the aforementioned cleavable linker sequences.
Claim Objections
Claims 54-55, 58-59, 64-65, 67-68, and 70-74 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 54, 58-59, and 71-74 – should read “cleavable linker (L)” upon each occurrence in order to be consistent with the other claims.
Claim 55 (line 3) – should read “an asparagine”.
Claim 64 (line 4) – the first configuration (M:L:T1:T2) contains an extra space in between “M:” and “L”.
Claims 54, 65, 67-68, 70, and 72-73 – should read “binding moiety (M)” upon each occurrence in order to be consistent with the other claims.
Claim 71 – should read “the cleavable linker (L) amino acid sequence”
Claim 72 (line 3) – should read “first target antigen binding domain (T1)” in order to be consistent with the other claims.
Claim 74 – should read “a cleavable linker (L) comprising an amino acid sequence”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 54-63, 65-71, and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 54 and 73 recite “a binding moiety (M) which comprises a non-CDR loop, a cleavable linker (L), and a first target antigen binding domain (T1) linking the binding moiety (M) with the first target antigen binding domain (T1)”.
The claims do not make sense as written. Specifically, how can a first antigen binding domain link the binding moiety and the first target antigen binding domain?
Based on the configurations recited in claim 64, the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claims is that the binding moiety (M) comprises: “a non-CDR loop, a cleavable linker (L), and a first target antigen binding domain (T1), wherein the cleavable linker (L) links the binding moiety (M) with the first target antigen binding domain (T1)”.
Claims 55-63 and 65-71 are included in the rejection because they depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of a rejected independent claim.
Claims 54 and 73 recite “the cleavable linker comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 90% sequence identity to a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 910-931, 1077, 1079, 1081, 1083, 1086, 1088-1089, 1091, 1093, 1095, 1119, and 1125-1128”. The 37 recited amino acid sequences range from 7 to 19 amino acids in length, with cleavable linker sequences 10 to 19 amino acids long allowing for one substitution. Therefore, it is unclear how a sequence could be 90% identical to an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 911-912, 918-923, or 925-931, when they are 7 to 9 amino acids long, which does not allow for any substitution to be made while still maintaining 90% identity.
Claims 55-57 and 60-71 are included in the rejection because they depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of a rejected independent claim.
Claim 61 recites the limitation "the second target antigen binding domain (T2)". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation as the claim depends from claim 54 which does not mention a second target antigen binding domain (T2).
Claim 71 recites the active binding protein of claim 54, wherein the cleavable linker (L) amino acid sequence lacks an arginine.
The cleavable linkers recited in claim 54 comprise SEQ ID NOs: 910-931, 1077, 1079, 1081, 1083, 1086, 1088-1089, 1091, 1093, 1095, 1119, and 1125-1128.
How can the cleavable linker lack an arginine residue when SEQ ID NOs: 910-919 have one arginine residue and SEQ ID NO: 930 has two arginine residues? Furthermore, as stated above, SEQ ID NOs: 911-912, 918-919, and 930 are less than 10 amino acids in length, so the arginine residue(s) cannot be substituted while maintaining 90% or greater sequence identity to the parent sequence as recited in claim 54.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
WRITTEN DESCRIPTION # 1
Claims 54-68 and 71-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 54 is drawn to a conditionally active binding protein comprising a binding moiety (M) which comprises a non-CDR loop, a cleavable linker (L), and a first target antigen binding domain (T1) wherein the cleavable linker (L) links the binding moiety (M) with the first target antigen binding domain (T1), wherein the binding moiety (M) is capable of masking the binding of the first target antigen binding domain (T1) to its target.
Claims 60-61 and 63-64 recite the conditionally active binding protein further comprises a second target antigen (T2).
The instant claims above are drawn to a genus of binding moieties to include a first, and optionally, a second binding domain. These binding moieties are defined by function such as “is capable of masking the binding of the first target antigen binding domain (T1) to its target”.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See MPEP § 2163.
Applicant’s claims are rejected because they lack structure and function correlation between the claimed genus of the claimed complex binding proteins and their function of masking the binding of the first target antigen binding domain (T1) to its target.
Additionally, Applicant is invited to explain the mechanism of action of the claimed molecule and the specific aspects of “masking the binding”.
The specification discloses the binding moiety is a natural peptide, a synthetic peptide, an engineered scaffold, or an engineered bulk serum protein. Engineered scaffolds comprise an sdAb, an scFv, a Fab, a VHH, a fibronectin type III domain, an immunoglobulin-like scaffold, a DARPin, a cystine knot peptide, a lipocalin, a three-helix bundle scaffold, a protein G-related albumin-binding module, a DNA aptamer scaffold, or an RNA aptamer scaffold. In some embodiments, the binding moiety further comprises complementarity determining regions (CDRs). In some embodiments, the binding moiety comprises a binding site specific for a bulk serum protein. In some cases, the bulk serum protein is selected from albumin, transferrin, IgGi, IgG2, IgG4, IgG3, IgA monomer, Factor XIII, Fibrinogen, IgE, and pentameric IgM [0009].
The specification further discloses the binding moiety is capable of masking the interaction of binding molecules with their targets. The binding moiety is capable of synergistically expanding a therapeutic window of a molecule that comprises the moiety, by both steric masking (binding to a bulky serum albumin) and specific masking (via non-CDR loops binding to the CDRs of an anti-CD3 scFv domain). In some examples, the binding molecule is a protein belonging to an immunoglobulin superfamily, such as a target antigen binding domain comprising an immunoglobulin fold [0089].
Figure 1 of the specification illustrates a variable domain of an exemplary immunoglobulin domain, comprising complementarity determining regions (CDR1, CDR2, and CDR3), and non-CDR loops connecting the beta strand (AB, CC', C" D, EF, and DE) [0014]. Figure 4B shows an exemplary sequence for the protease cleavable site in a linker tethered to an anti-albumin binding moiety [0015]. The constructs are described as having an anti-human serum albumin sdAb that contains a mask in the CC' loop [0236].
Thus, the specification contemplates a large genus of molecules that must have a function of masking the binding of the first target antigen binding domain (T1) to its “target”, wherein the conditionally active binding protein is activated by cleavage of the linker followed by subsequent binding to its target antigen.
When considering Applicant’s exemplary examples comprising an anti-albumin single domain antibody (sdAb), Rossotti et al. (2022) teach generating single domain antibodies is a complex and unpredictable process. Single domain antibodies are found in camelid species (camels, llamas, and alpacas) and are devoid of light chains, possessing a single variable VHH domain responsible for antigen recognition. Antigen binding by VHH domains is mediated by only three complementarity-determining regions (CDRs) rather than the six CDRs of conventional antibodies [Introduction, par. 1]. Rossotti further teach many sdAb undergo humanization due to high immunogenicity [Table 1]. Because of the complexity and variable success of sdAb humanization, sometimes requiring multiple attempts and engineering steps, several strategies have been developed to circumvent the need for humanization entirely. These technologies fall into three categories: (a) synthetic sdAb libraries constructed using humanized or fully human sdAb scaffolds, (b) attempts to bias VHH isolation toward rare molecules with VH-like sequence characteristics, and (c) transgenic animals producing sdAbs with fully human variable domains [pg. 4319, col. 1, par. 1].
The specification discloses only two examples targeting EpCAM and EGFR tumor antigens comprising protease cleavable linkers and an anti-albumin single domain antibody.
Therefore, the instant application has not provided a sufficient description showing possession of the necessary functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the genus of binding moieties encompassing various structures, specificities and functions. Further, the Court has interpreted 35 U.S.C. § 112, first paragraph, to require the patent specification to “describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognize what is claimed. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 63 USPQ2d 1609 and 1618 (Fed. Cir. 2002). In evaluating whether a patentee has fulfilled this requirement, our standard is that the patent’s “disclosure must allow one skilled in the art ‘to visualize or recognize the identity of’ the subject matter purportedly described.” Id. (quoting Regents of Univ. of Cal. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 48 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed Cir. 1997)).
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See Vas-Cath, p. 1117). The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath, p. 1116).
Also, it is noted that the Court has held that the disclosure of screening assays and general classes of compounds was not adequate to describe compounds having the desired activity: without disclosure of which peptides, polynucleotides, or small organic molecules have the desired characteristic, the claims failed to meet the description requirement of § 112. See University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., Inc., 69 USPQ2d 1886,1895 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Meeting the written description threshold requires showing that the applicant was in “possession” of the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.2d at 1563-1564. Support need not describe the claimed subject matter in exactly the same terms as used in the claims. Eiselstein v. Frank, 52 F.3d 1035, 1038 (Fed. Cir. 1995). This support cannot be based on obviousness reasoning —i.e., what the written description and knowledge in the art would lead one to speculate as to modifications the inventor might have envisioned, but failed to disclose. Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Ariad points out, the written description requirement also ensures that when a patent claims a genus by function, the specification recites sufficient materials to accomplish that function - a problem that is particularly acute in biological arts." Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1352-3. Note the following Court Decisions regarding the written description of antibodies in the context of the current claims.
Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, as here, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus to provide a representative number of species. Since each genus recited in the instant claims is large, it would be very challenging to describe sufficient species to cover the structures of the entire genus. One species is certainly not adequate.
Absent the conserved structure provided by all six or three CDRs of a parental antibody in the context of appropriate framework sequences, the skilled artisan generally would not be able to visualize or otherwise predict, a priori, what an antibody with a particular set of functional properties would look like structurally. Without knowledge of the structures responsible for binding in each species of binding domain encompassed, one of ordinary skill in this cannot recognize possession of the same.
Since only a single species of binding domain is taught (i.e., serum albumin) within the claimed genera above, the instant claims above clearly fail the written description requirement. A representative number of species has not been taught to describe these genera. One of skill in the art would conclude that the specification fails to disclose a representative number of species to describe the claimed genera of every type of binding domain encompassed by the claims for any target, including EpCAM and EGFR.
While applicant has described one species within each of the genera recited, and the art may provide more, each genus is very large and would encompass structures that cannot be visualized from the prior art or instant disclosure. One of skill in this art cannot determine the structures encompassed by the claimed genera only defined by function. Any future structure may or may not be encompassed, and if it is, it would not have been represented in Applicant’s disclosed species. Thus, the described species cannot be considered representative of the recited genera of binding domain. AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co. v. Janssen Biotech, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2014) and the specification at best describes plan for making antibodies with the “limitations above” and then identifying those that satisfy claim limitations, but mere “wish or plan” for obtaining claimed invention is not sufficient. Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Laboratories, 97 USPQ2d 1870 (Fed. Cir. 2011). There is insufficient written description of the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding makeup of the claimed antibodies to demonstrate possession. Also, see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, Aventisub LLC, No. 2017-1480 (Fed. Cir. 2017). Thus, one of skill in the art would conclude that the specification fails to provide adequate written description to demonstrate that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F. 3d 1559, 43, USPQ2d 1398.
Claims 55-59, 62, 65-68, and 71-73 are included in the rejection because they depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of a rejected independent claim.
WRITTEN DESCRIPTION #2 – New Matter
Claims 54-57, 60-71, and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 54 and 73 recite “the cleavable linker comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 90% sequence identity to a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 910-931, 1077, 1079, 1081, 1083, 1086, 1088-1089, 1091, 1093, 1095, 1119, and 1125-1128”.
The instant specification does not explicitly mention sequences having 90% identity to the recited sequences, or provide a clear description that would allow such a range. The only mention of any variants of the recited sequences pertains to SEQ ID NOs: 910-931, wherein the cleavable linker comprises a sequence selected from the group consisting of: SEQ ID NOs: 910-931, or a sequence comprising one or more mutations in a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 910-931. However, it is not explicitly stated that the one or more mutations results in an amino acid sequence that is 90% identical to the parent sequence. And as stated above, even a single substitution in any one of SEQ ID NOs: 911-912, 918-919, and 930 would not be possible, as one or more mutations would result in a cleavable linker having less than 90% identity to SEQ ID NOs: 911-912, 918-919, and 930.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with
reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession
of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description’ inquiry, whatever is now
claimed." (See Vas-Cath, p. 1117). The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in
the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath, p. 1116). Meeting the written description threshold requires showing that the applicant was in “possession” of the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.2d at 1563-1564. Support need not describe the claimed subject matter in exactly the same terms as used in the claims. Eiselstein v. Frank, 52 F.3d 1035, 1038 (Fed. Cir. 1995). This support cannot be based on obviousness reasoning — i.e., what the written description and knowledge in the art would lead one to speculate as to modifications the inventor might have envisioned, but failed to disclose. Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Claims 55-57 and 60-71 are included in the rejection because they depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of a rejected independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 54, 60-61, 63, 65, 67-70, and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wesche (WO 2020/232303; cited IDS 7/16/2024).
Regarding claims 54 and 60 – Wesche discloses a conditionally active binding protein comprising a binding moiety (M) which comprises a non-CDR loop, a cleavable linker (L), a first target antigen binding domain (T1), and a second target antigen binding domain (T2), wherein the binding moiety is capable of masking the binding of the first target antigen binding domain (T1) or the second target antigen binding domain (T2) to its target [claim 39]. Wesche further discloses that the linker comprises a sequence selected from SEQ ID NOs: 425-471, 503-506, and 581, or a sequence comprising one or more substitutions relative to a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 425-471, 503-506, and 581 [claim 41].
Regarding claim 61 – Wesche discloses a conditionally active multispecific protein comprising an EpCAM tumor antigen binding domain and a CD3 binding domain [claim 55], wherein the EpCAM binding domain selectively binds to tumor cells expressing EpCAM [claim 77].
Regarding claim 63 – Wesche discloses the conditionally active multispecific protein is in an anti-CD3: anti-EpCAM orientation [claim 57].
Regarding claim 65 – Wesche discloses wherein the non-CDR loop binds the first target antigen binding domain (T1) or the second target antigen binding domain (T2) [claim 39].
Regarding claims 67-69 – Wesche discloses the conditionally active multispecific protein further comprises a bulk serum protein binding domain [claim 7], wherein the bulk serum protein is a serum albumin protein [claim 8]. The anti-albumin domain comprises an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 472 [claim 60].
Regarding claim 70 – Wesche discloses the masking moiety comprises a sequence selected from 380-424 [claim 40].
Regarding claim 73 – Wesche discloses methods for treating or ameliorating a proliferative disease or tumorous disease comprising administering the conditionally active protein or a pharmaceutical composition comprising said conditionally active protein [claim 73].
The cleavable linker comprising SEQ ID NO: 468 (Db) disclosed by Wesche is 92.5% identical to the cleavable linker comprising SEQ ID NO: 912 (Qy) as recited in the instant claims.
The masking moiety comprising SEQ ID NO: 380 disclosed by Wesche is 100% identical to the masking moiety comprising SEQ ID NO: 281 recited in the instant claims. Wesche discloses the anti-albumin sdAb comprising SEQ ID NO: 472 comprises the masking sequence (SEQ ID NO: 380). Wesche discloses all the recited limitations of a conditionally active binding protein comprising a cleavable linker with an amino acid sequence having at least 90% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 912. Therefore, absent a showing of any difference, the conditionally active binding protein disclosed by Wesche is deemed to anticipate the claimed product.
Claims 54, 57-59, and 74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (WO 2021/097060; cited IDS 7/16/2024).
Regarding claims 54, 57-59, and 74 – Lin discloses a pro immune modulating molecule comprising a dual binding moiety comprising a cleavable linker, a non-CDR loop, and a binding site specific for a bulk serum protein, an immune agonistic antibody or an antigen binding fragment thereof that comprises a binding site specific for an epitope within an antibody target, wherein the dual binding moiety is capable of masking binding of the immune agonistic antibody or an antigen binding fragment thereof to the antibody target, and wherein upon cleavage of the linker the immune agonistic antibody or an antigen binding fragment thereof binds to the antibody target [claim 1]. Lin discloses the cleavable linker comprises a protease cleavage site [claim 15]. Lin discloses the cleavable linker comprises the amino acid sequence of a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 73-82 [claim 18].
The 10 exemplary cleavable linker amino sequences (SEQ ID NOs: 73-82) taught by Lin [Table 3] are 100% identical to SEQ ID NOs: 1077, 1079, 1081, 1083, 1086, 1088-1089, 1091, 1093, and 1095, respectively, as recited in the instant claims.
Lin teaches all the recited limitations of a conditionally active binding protein comprising a cleavable linker with an amino acid sequence selected from SEQ ID NOs: 73-82, which are 100% identical to the cleavable linker sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 1077, 1079, 1081, 1083, 1086, 1088-1089, 1091, 1093, and 1095, respectively, as recited in the instant claims. Therefore, absent a showing of any difference, the conditionally active binding protein disclosed by Lin is deemed to anticipate the claimed product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 54-56, 62, 64, 66, and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wesche (WO 2020/232303; cited IDS 7/16/2024).
The teachings of Wesche are set forth above.
Specifically, Wesche teaches a conditionally active binding protein comprising a binding moiety (M) which comprises a non-CDR loop, a cleavable linker (L), a first target antigen binding domain (T1), and a second target antigen binding domain (T2), wherein the binding moiety is capable of masking the binding of the first target antigen binding domain (T1) or the second target antigen binding domain (T2) to its target [claim 39]. Wesche further teaches a cleavable linker comprising SEQ ID NO: 469 that is 90% identical to the cleavable linker comprising SEQ ID NO: 912 as recited in the instant claims (instant claim 54).
Wesche teaches the cleavable linker comprises a protease cleavable linker recognized and cleaved in a sequence-specific manner by a protease. Proteases include but are not limited to serine proteases, cysteine proteases, aspartate proteases, threonine proteases, glutamic acid proteases, metalloproteases, asparagine peptide lyases, serum proteases, and cathepsins. Proteases are secreted by tumor or cancer cells, creating a microenvironment that is rich in proteases. Therefore, T cells will not be bound by the antigen binding protein except in the protease rich microenvironment of the targeted cells or tissue. Wesche teaches the matrix metalloprotease (MMP), MMP9, recognizes the cleavable linker sequence comprising amino acid sequence PR(S/T)(L/I)(S/T) or LEATA [00168-00169] (instant claims 55-56).
Wesche teaches the conditionally active binding proteins reduce the growth of tumor cells in vivo [00248]. Wesche carried out T cell dependent cellular cytotoxicity (TDCC) assays demonstrating the efficacy of the conditionally active binding proteins in varying configurations [00276] (instant claim 62). Wesche teaches that the conditionally active binding protein comprises, from N-terminus to C-terminus, a binding moiety (M) that is an anti-albumin domain comprising a non-CDR loop with a binding site for a CD3 binding domain, a cleavable linker (L), a CD3 binding domain, and an anti-EpCAM binding domain [00148] (instant claim 64).
Wesche further teaches that the binding moiety is a heavy chain only antibody (VHH) comprising non-CDR loops comprise AB, CC', EF, FG, BC, and EC' loops of an lg or an lg-like molecule [00160]. Wesche teaches the VHH is derived from a camel, llama, shark, or alpaca [0078] (instant claim 66).
The instant specification discloses that SEQ ID NOs: 985-996 are protease cleavage sites [Table 16, pg. 74-75]. The cleavable linker comprising SEQ ID NO: 468 (PQASTGRSGG) taught by Wesche, comprises the protease cleavage site PQAS (SEQ ID NO: 986) recited in the instant claims (instant claim 72).
Further, cleavable linker comprising SEQ ID NO: 468 (PQASTGRSGG), which is 92.5% identical to the cleavable linker comprising SEQ ID NO: 912 (PQASTGRA), is not recognized by the MMP9 protease, which cleaves sequences comprising PR(S/T)(L/I)(S/T) or LEATA.
Wesche teaches all the recited limitations of a conditionally active binding protein comprising a cleavable linker with an amino acid sequence having at least 90% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 912. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 54-74 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 155-160, 166-171, 175-176, and 179-180 of U.S. Provisional Application No. 18/525,574, in view of Wesche (WO 2020/232303; cited IDS 7/16/2024).
Copending claim 155 is drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising an extended-release binding protein, wherein the extended-release binding protein comprises a half-life extended immune cell engaging protein, a masking peptide, and a cleavable linker; wherein the half-life extended immune cell engaging protein comprises a first domain (A), a second domain (B), and a third domain (C), wherein: (i) the first domain (A) comprises an immune cell engaging domain, (ii) the second domain (B) comprises a half-life extended domain, and (iii) the third domain (C) specifically binds to a target antigen; wherein the cleavable linker covalently links the masking peptide to the N-terminus or the C-terminus of the half-life-extended immune cell engaging protein. Copending claims 156-157 recite the possible configurations, N-terminus to C-terminus, of the components of the binding protein. Copending claims 158-160 are drawn to the immune cell engaging domain that engages T cells by binding CD3. Copending claim 166 recites the masking peptide inhibits or reduces the binding of the first domain (A) to the human CD3 or the binding of the third domain (C) to the target antigen. Copending claim 167 recites the masking peptide comprises an amino acid sequence having an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOS: 3663-3682. Copending claim 168 recites the cleavable linker comprises a cleavage site recognizable by a protease, and wherein the protease is selected from the group consisting of a serine protease, a cysteine protease, an aspartate protease, a threonine protease, a glutamic acid protease, a metalloproteinase, a gelatinase, and an asparagine peptide lyase. Copending claim 169 recites the cleavable linker comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 80% homology to any one of SEQ ID NOs: 3688-3770 and 3878. Copending claim 170 recites the target antigen is a tumor antigen. Copending claim 171 recites he target antigen comprises CD19, CD20, CD33, FLT3, PSMA, MSLN, BCMA, DLL3, EGFR, or EpCAM. Copending claims 175-176 recite the amino acid sequences of the half-life extended immune cell engaging domain. Claims 179-180 are directed to methods of treatment or amelioration of a disease comprising administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising the binding protein.
The amino acid sequences for the cleavable linkers, masking peptides, and albumin recited by the copending claims are 100% identical to the amino acid sequences of the instantly claimed conditionally active binding protein. Additionally, some of the cleavable linkers do not comprise an arginine residue. The copending claims differ from the instant claims in that the copending claims do not recite that the cleavable linker lacks an MMP9 recognition site, or the non-CDR loop is a VHH domain or sdAb.
These differences are remedied by Wesche as set forth above. Specifically, Wesche teaches the matrix metalloprotease (MMP), MMP9, recognizes the cleavable linker sequence comprising amino acid sequence PR(S/T)(L/I)(S/T) or LEATA [00168-00169]. Wesche further teaches that the binding moiety is a heavy chain only antibody (VHH) comprising non-CDR loops comprise AB, CC', EF, FG, BC, and EC' loops of an lg or an lg-like molecule [00160]. Wesche teaches the VHH is derived from a camel, llama, shark, or alpaca [0078] (instant claim 66). As such, the instant claimed invention is an obvious modification of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MAUREEN VARINA DRISCOLL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1642
/SAMIRA J JEAN-LOUIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1642