DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 2/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first exposed pad” & “the second exposed pad” as described in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4, 5 and 6 state, “the second thermal pad remains unoccupied…the first thermal pad remains unoccupied…both the first and the second thermal pads remain unoccupied”. However this would appear to contradict the claim language of claim 1 stating “a first thermal pad on a first side of the PCB for a first integrated circuit (IC)…a second thermal pad on a second side of the PCB for a second integrated circuit (IC)”. If the first and second ICs are present then the “unoccupied” feature will conflict with the already claimed structure. Applicant is encouraged to review the claim language and amend to remove the ambiguity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stutzman et al. (US Patent 6212076).
Regarding claim 1 – Stutzman teaches a printed circuit board (PCB) (figs. 3-4, 13 [column 3 line 28-29] Stutzman states, “a printed circuit board 13”) comprising: a first thermal pad (fig. 4, 16A [column 3 lines 62-65] Stutzman states, “contact pads 16A have a dual purpose. A predetermined number of leads and contact pads function as electrical signal contacts and the remainder of the contacts serve as thermal and ground contacts”) on a first side (top side) of the PCB (13) for a first integrated circuit (IC) (15C [column 3 & 1 lines 56 & 12-13] Stutzman states, “memory component 15A includes external leads 17A…A memory component comprises a memory integrated circuit (IC)”) having a first exposed pad (17A); and a second thermal pad (fig. 3, 16C [column 5 line 5-6] Stutzman states, “contact pads 16C”) on a second side (bottom side) of the PCB (13) for a second integrated circuit (IC) (15C [column 5 lines 4-6] Stutzman states, “memory component 15C has leads 17C connected to contact pads 16C”) having a second exposed pad (17C), wherein the first thermal pad (16A) and the second thermal pad (16C) overlap at least partially in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the PCB (13; claimed structure shown in figure 3), a first geometric center of the first thermal pad (16A) and a second geometric center of the second thermal pad (16C) are aligned and overlap in the direction perpendicular to the plane of the PCB (13; overlap structure show in figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 3 – Stutzman teaches the PCB according to claim 1, wherein the first thermal pad (figs 3-4, 16A) and the second thermal pad (16C) are substantially identical (figures 3 and 4 show the pads having the same structural features and are considered “substantially identical”).
Regarding claim 8 – Stutzman teaches a layout structure for the PCB according to claim 1, the layout structure comprising: a first footprint (fig. 3, see footprint on top surface) on a first side of the layout structure for the first IC (15A) to be populated on the PCB (13); and a second footprint (see footprint on bottom surface) on a second side of the layout structure for the second IC (15C) to be populated on the PCB (13); wherein the first footprint and the second footprint overlap at least partially in the direction perpendicular to the plane of the PCB (13; claimed structure shown in figure 3).
Regarding claim 9 – Stutzman teaches the layout structure according to claim 8, wherein first and second geometric centers of the first footprint and the second footprint, respectively, are aligned and overlap in the direction perpendicular to the plane of the PCB (13; claimed structure shown in figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stutzman in view of Hashemi et al. (US PG. Pub. 2002/0149102).
Regarding claim 2 – Stutzman teaches the PCB according to claim 1, further comprising a plurality of thermal vias (fig. 3, 6A & 6C [columns 4 & 5 lines 1-2 & 5-6] Stutzman states, “a thermally conductive aperture 6A…thermally conductive apertures 6C”).
Stutzman fails to explicitly teach a plurality of thermal vias, with a first end of each thermal via connecting to the first thermal pad and a second end of each thermal via connecting to the second thermal pad.
Hashemi teaches a plurality of thermal vias (fig. 1, 128 [paragraph 0036] Hashemi states, “vias 128 can comprise a thermally conductive material”), with a first end (top end) of each thermal via (128) connecting to the first thermal pad (111 [paragraph 0058] Hashemi states, “die attach pad 111”) and a second end (bottom end) of each thermal via (128) connecting to the second thermal pad (148).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the PCB having thermal vias as taught by Stutzman with the thermal vias connecting between the first and second thermal pads as taught by Hashemi because Hashemi states, “Thus, through the utilization of support pad 817, vias 829, and heat spreader 859, structure 800 provides an effective mechanism to dissipate heat generated by semiconductor die 810.” [paragraph 0110]. These via connections will improve heat dissipation of the first and second ICs and the PCB.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stutzman in view of Hoffmeyer et al. (US Patent 5769989).
Regarding claim 4 – Stutzman teaches the PCB according to Claim 1, wherein the PCB (fig. 3, 13) further comprises the first IC (15A), the first exposed pad (17A) of the first IC (15A) is connected to the first thermal pad (16A) of the PCB (13).
Stutzman does not teach wherein the second thermal pad remains unoccupied.
Hoffmeyer teaches wherein the second thermal pad (fig. 1, pad shown on lower end of thermal via 50) remains unoccupied (claimed structure shown in figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the PCB having a first IC connected to a first thermal pad of a PCB and second thermal pads as taught by Stutzman with the second thermal pad remaining unoccupied as taught by Hoffmeyer because Hoffmeyer states regarding this configuration, “This configuration allows an integrated circuit device to be easily removed from the carrier board by the local application of heat to the back side of the carrier board” [column 3 lines 20-23].
Regarding claim 5 – Stutzman teaches the PCB according to claim 1, wherein the PCB further comprises the second IC (fig. 3, 15C), the second exposed pad (17C) of the second IC (15C) is connected to the second thermal pad (16C) of the PCB (13).
Stutzman does not teach wherein the first thermal pad remains unoccupied.
Hoffmeyer teaches wherein the first thermal pad (fig. 1, pad shown on lower end of thermal via 50) remains unoccupied (claimed structure shown in figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the PCB having a second IC connected to a second thermal pad of a PCB and first thermal pads as taught by Stutzman with the first thermal pad remaining unoccupied as taught by Hoffmeyer because Hoffmeyer states regarding this configuration, “This configuration allows an integrated circuit device to be easily removed from the carrier board by the local application of heat to the back side of the carrier board” [column 3 lines 20-23].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stutzman in view of Paul et al. (US PG. Pub. 2007/0285898).
Regarding claim 6 – Stutzman teaches the PCB according to Claim 1, but fail to teach wherein both the first and the second thermal pads remain unoccupied.
Paul teaches wherein both the first (fig. 4, 490 [paragraph 0025] Paul states, “heat spreaders 490 and 495”) and the second thermal pads (495) remain unoccupied (claimed structure shown in figure 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the PCB having a first and second thermal pads connected by a via as taught by Stutzman the first and second thermal pads remaining unoccupied as taught by Paul because Paul states, “as indicated by arrows 491, 492 and 493, heat from electrical power planes (indicated by dotted line 480) is dissipated into the heat spreaders 490 and 495 mounted on substrate using the thermal connection provided by vias (shown as dotted lines)” [paragraph 0029]. These unoccupied thermal pads will radiate heat away from the PCB.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stutzman in view of Eckhardt et al. (US PG. Pub. 2003/0142233).
Regarding claim 7 – Stutzman teaches the PCB according to Claim 1, wherein the PCB (fig. 3, 13) further comprises the first IC (15A) and the second IC (15C).
Stutzman fails to teach wherein the first IC and the second IC are video serializer and video deserializer, respectively.
Eckhardt teaches wherein the first IC and the second IC are video serializer (fig. 4 [paragraph 0036] Eckhardt states, “Fig. 4 is a block diagram of an exemplary video serializer 200…The serializer 200 is preferably included on a single integrated circuit (IC)”) and video deserializer (fig. 1 [paragraph 0011] Eckhardt states, “Fig. 1 is a block diagram of an exemplary auto-configurable video deserializer 10…The deserializer 10 is preferably included on a single integrated circuit (IC)”), respectively.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the PCB having a first and second IC as taught by Stutzman with the first and second IC being a video serializer and a video deserializer as taught by Eckhardt because these types of IC devices allow for video processing/converting while maintaining signal quality of the video.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nah et al. (US PG. Pub. 2006/0131732) discloses a discrete electronic component arrangement including anchoring, thermally conductive pads.
Nakamura (US PG. Pub. 2025/0048552) discloses a circuit board and image forming apparatus.
Silvano De Sousa (US PG. Pub. 2019/0110356) discloses a heat capacitive component carrier.
Selna (US Patent 5640048) discloses a ball grid array package for an integrate circuit
/STEVEN T SAWYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847