DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to an application filed on 04/15/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Herkel et al. (US 2022/0017330 A1 and Herkel hereinafter).
As to Claim 1 and 19, Herkel in its teachings as shown in Fig.1-6D an elevator control system for safe brake control operation/ a method of controlling safe brake control of an elevator system (see [Abstract]), comprising:
a brake element (14);
a power source for operating the brake element (see Fig. 3, 4 and [0053]);
a semiconductor switch (22) electrically interposed between the power source and the brake element (see [0053]); and
an electromechanical switch (26, 28) electrically interposed between the semiconductor switch (22) and the brake (14) element (see [0053] – [0054]).
As to Claim 10, Herkel in its teachings as shown in Fig.1-6D an elevator control system for safe brake control operation (see [Abstract]), comprising:
a brake element (14);
a power source for operating the brake element (see Fig. 3, 4 and [0053]);
a semiconductor switch (22) electrically interposed between the power source and the brake element (see [0053]);
a first switch control element configured to control operations of the semiconductor switch (current 20 can selectively be supplied by opening or closing a ‘drive’ switch 22 to break or make a complete circuit – see [0049]);
an electromechanical switch (26, 28) electrically interposed between the semiconductor switch (22) and the brake (14) element (see [0053] – [0054]); and
a second switch (3) control element configured to control operations of the electromechanical switch.
As to Claim 2 and 11, Herkel disclose the elevator control system according to claim 1 and 10, wherein the brake element is configured to prevent rotation of a motor for raising or lowering an elevator car and comprises a brake coil (18: see also [0052]).
As to Claim 3 and 12, Herkel disclose the elevator control system according to claim 2 and 11, wherein: the semiconductor switch (22) is electrically closer to the power source than the electromechanical switch, and the electromechanical switch (26, 28) is electrically closer to the brake coil than the semiconductor switch (see Fig.3 and 4).
As to Claim 4 and 13, Herkel disclose the elevator control system according to claim 1 and 10, wherein: the semiconductor switch (22) comprises a transistor (Mosfet) , and the electromechanical switch (26, 28) comprises at least one of a contactor and a relay (see also [0053] – [0054]).
As to Claim 9, Herkel disclose the elevator control system according to claim 1, further comprising an additional electromechanical switch disposed in series with and downstream from the electromechanical switch (Fig.3 shows two electromechanical switches 26 and 28 in series).
.As to Claim 18 and 20, Herkel disclose the elevator control system according to claim 10 and the method according to claim 19, further comprising an additional electromechanical switch disposed in series with and downstream from the electromechanical switch, the additional electromechanical switch being communicative with the second switch control element and receptive of power from an elevator safety chain (Fig.3 shows two electromechanical switches 26 and 28 in series and see also [0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herkel in view of Rogers (US 2014/0231181 A1)
As to Claim 5 and 14, Herkel disclose the elevator control system according to claim 4 and 13, however, it doesn’t explicitly disclose:
wherein auxiliary force guided contacts of the electromechanical switch are normally closed
Nonethless, Rogers in its teachings as shown in Fig.1 disclose that the controller 44 has a monitoring portion 46 that determines whether the relay switch 30 is closed when all elevator doors are closed (see [0015])
Therefore, it would have been an obvious modification before the effective filing date of the instant application for auxiliary force guided contacts of the electromechanical switch to be closed as thought by Rogers within the teachings of Herkel in order to allow power supply to an electrically activated elevator brake component responsive to the monitored condition.
As to Claim 6 and 15, Herkel in view of Rogers disclose the elevator control system according to claim 1 and 10, further comprising monitoring circuitry to monitor and control operations of the semiconductor switch and the electromechanical switch (Herkel: [0054] – [0055]).
As to Claim 7, 8, 16 and 17, Herkel disclose the elevator control system according to claim 6 and the monitoring circuitry, however, it doesn’t explicitly disclose:
a first microcontroller configured to monitor and control operations of the semiconductor switch; and a second microcontroller configured to monitor and control operations of the electromechanical switch and a feedback line disposed downstream from the semiconductor switch and connected to the first microcontroller
Nonethless, Rogers in its teachings as shown in Fig.1 disclose a first microcontroller (48) configured to monitor and control operations of the semiconductor switch (40); and a second microcontroller (46) configured to monitor and control operations of the electromechanical switch (30) and a feedback line disposed downstream from the semiconductor switch and connected to the first microcontroller (see also [0015] – [0016])
Therefore, it would have been an obvious modification before the effective filing date of the instant application for the monitoring circuitry to include a first and a second microcontroller as thought by Rogers within the teachings of Herkel in order to ensure both safety compliance and operational performance, meeting the strict reliability and regulatory demands of elevator operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (US 2018/0093855 A1: The invention refers to an elevator brake controller, comprising a brake supply circuit comprising a rectifier with a mains input side and a DC link output side, whereby in the mains input side and/or in the DC link output side at least one fuse is connected, a brake control circuit with at least one brake coil of an elevator brake, which brake coil is connected in series with a control switch configured to be controlled by an elevator control, which series connection of brake coil and control switch is connected to the DC link, a brake safety circuit which is connected between the brake supply circuit and the brake control circuit, which brake safety circuit comprises a first safety switch being connected in series with the brake coil as well as a second safety switch which is connected in parallel to the brake coil, whereby the first and second safety switches are configured to be controlled by an elevator safety circuit. This brake controller offers an improved cut-off safety in safety relevant situations – see [Abstract]).
/GABRIEL AGARED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837