DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9-11, and 14-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
The instant application is a CON of 18/051,447 filed on 10/31/2022 which has PRO 63/377,857 filed on 09/30/2022.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-11, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al., Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0108264 (hereinafter Zhang) in view of Boal, Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0180826 (hereinafter Boal) and Tu et al., Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0185626 (hereinafter Tu).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches:
A method comprising: presenting a user interface comprising a plurality of user interface elements for configuring generation of a data dictionary for a listing offering shared data through a data marketplace (Zhang Paragraph [0005], dictionary data stored in systems mainly storing hospital services, and national standards, professional standards, local standards, hospital departments, service units, service personnel, service items and other user-defined metadata, which are used in the hospital services, Paragraph [0007], The data market is a warehouse of collecting data from a piece of operated data and other data source serving a certain special professional group (Zhang teaches a user interface, user-defined metadata, and a data dictionary as shown in the cited portions, Boal explicitly teaches a user-interface with views and user interaction)), the shared data including a first data object (Zhang Paragraph [0012], extracting corresponding professional metadata from the data warehouse, to form a data market; mapping metadata of a knowledge base to dictionary data of a service system by matching and merging logics, to provide uniform analysis paths and data services), the listing being visible across one or more regions associated with one or more data exchanges (Zhang Paragraph [0012], extracting corresponding professional metadata from the data warehouse, to form a data market; mapping metadata of a knowledge base to dictionary data of a service system by matching and merging logics, to provide uniform analysis paths and data services);
generating the data dictionary for the listing based on input received via the user interface (Zhang Paragraph [0005], dictionary data stored in systems mainly storing hospital services, and national standards, professional standards, local standards, hospital departments, service units, service personnel, service items and other user-defined metadata, which are used in the hospital services), the data dictionary comprising metadata describing the first data object (Zhang Paragraph [0025], mapping metadata of a knowledge base to dictionary data of a service system by matching and merging logics, to provide uniform analysis paths and data services), the metadata being based on a set of data fields selected from the plurality of user interface elements of the user interface (Zhang Paragraph [0005], dictionary data stored in systems mainly storing hospital services, and national standards, professional standards, local standards, hospital departments, service units, service personnel, service items and other user-defined metadata, which are used in the hospital services);
Zhang does not expressly disclose:
based on the update, updating the listing to change, at the particular time, visibility of the listing in the region;
determining that a first consumer is a member of an individual data exchange associated with the region at the particular time;
after the particular time when the update was received, allowing the first consumer to resolve and view the listening;
determining that a second consumer is a new member of the individual data exchange after the particular time; and
preventing the second consumer from resolving an viewing the listing after the particular time when the update was received in response to determining that the second consumer is the new member of the individual data exchange after the particular time.
However, Boal teaches:
based on the update, updating the listing to change, at the particular time, visibility of the listing in the region (Boal Paragraph [0332], such as a complex event for adding a certain item to a shopping list within a certain amount of time of purchasing another item or visiting a certain website);
determining that a first consumer is a member of an individual data exchange associated with the region at the particular time (Boal Paragraph [0851], the first consumer record and the second consumer record include, in addition to the one or more particular credentials, metadata includes at least one of: location data, basket data, or time or day of the week);
after the particular time when the update was received, allowing the first consumer to resolve and view the listening (Boal Paragraph [0037], FIG. 21 illustrates an example flow of storing and accessing consumer records for differentiating between consumers by resolving credentials to consumer entities);
determining that a second consumer is a new member of the individual data exchange after the particular time (Boal Paragraph [0851], the first consumer record and the second consumer record include, in addition to the one or more particular credentials, metadata includes at least one of: location data, basket data, or time or day of the week); and
preventing the second consumer from resolving an viewing the listing after the particular time when the update was received in response to determining that the second consumer is the new member of the individual data exchange after the particular time (Boal Paragraph [0591], Consumer-specific rules may include rules for turning on or off the auto-activation capability for only a subset of consumers based on predefined conditions, rules to prevent auto-activations for consumers who have not looked at any requested digital receipts in a previous period of time (e.g. the past 60 days), and rules to prevent auto-activations for consumers who have had more than a certain number of offers (e.g. 20) auto-activated in a previous period of time (e.g. 30 days) without any redemptions).
The claimed invention and Boal are from the analogous art of systems using data exchanges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having the teachings of Zhang and Boal to have combined Zhang and Boal. Boal teaches increasing the value and benefits derived by consumers from digital offers and improving the ability of offer providers (Paragraph 14).
Zhang in view of Boal does not expressly disclose:
detecting, at a particular time, an update from a data provider, the update causing the listing that was previously visible in a region to no longer be visible in the region;
However, Tu teaches:
detecting, at a particular time (Tu Paragraph [0061], a description of the content item, an indication of the size of the content item, a timestamp indicating when the content item was last modified), an update from a data provider (Tu Paragraph [0071], if a content item is added or removed from folder 402, folder web view 702 can be dynamically and automatically updated to present an added content item or hide a removed content item), the update causing the listing that was previously visible in a region to no longer be visible in the region (Tu Paragraph [0071], if a content item is added or removed from folder 402, folder web view 702 can be dynamically and automatically updated to present an added content item or hide a removed content item);
The claimed invention and Tu are from the analogous art of updating data. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having the teachings of Zhang in view of Boal and Tu to have combined Zhang in view of Boal and Tu. Tu teaches the improvement of relieving a user from the burden of updating the web page with new links to reflect changes in content items stored in the online content management system (Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Boal and Tu further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving input that selects the set of data fields to include in the listing based on the plurality of user interface elements of the user interface (Boal Paragraph [0800], The display 912 may directly or indirectly provide a graphical user interface (GUI) adapted to facilitate presentation of data to a user and/or to accept input from a user).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Boal and Tu further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating the metadata, the metadata describing a set of data objects included in shared data offered by a listing, the metadata describing the set of data objects includes a set of values indicating a number of data objects in the set of data objects that are in each of a set of distinct data object types (Boal Paragraph [0077], The information may include identifiers such as Universal Product Codes (UPCs) and/or stock-keeping unit (SKU) numbers, taxonomical categorizations, names, descriptions, nutritional information, product specifications, price histories, inventory levels, and/or any other suitable metadata).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of Boal and Tu further teaches:
The method of claim 5, wherein the set of distinct data object types includes at least one of a data table (Boal Paragraph [0512], Other offers are digital offers, which are processed by offer business logic and loaded into offer tables in the ODS), a data schema, a data view, a function, and a stored procedure.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Boal and Tu further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first data object is a data table and the metadata describing the first data object includes at least one of a table name assigned to the data table, a description of the data table (Boal Paragraph [0077], The information may include identifiers such as Universal Product Codes (UPCs) and/or stock-keeping unit (SKU) numbers, taxonomical categorizations, names, descriptions, nutritional information, product specifications, price histories, inventory levels, and/or any other suitable metadata, Paragraph [0512], Other offers are digital offers, which are processed by offer business logic and loaded into offer tables in the ODS), a size of the data table, a number of rows included in the data table, and a number of columns included in the data table.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Boal and Tu further teaches:
The method of claim 7, wherein the metadata describing the first data object further includes metadata describing each column in the data table, the metadata describing each column in the data table including at least one of a name assigned to the column, a description of the column, a data type of values stored in the column (Boal Paragraph [0077], The information may include identifiers such as Universal Product Codes (UPCs) and/or stock-keeping unit (SKU) numbers, taxonomical categorizations, names, descriptions, nutritional information, product specifications, price histories, inventory levels, and/or any other suitable metadata, Paragraph [0512], Other offers are digital offers, which are processed by offer business logic and loaded into offer tables in the ODS), an example value stored in the column, a range of the values stored in the column, and a frequency of the values stored in the column.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Boal and Tu further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first data object is a function or a stored procedure and the metadata describing the first data object includes at least one of a name assigned to the function or stored procedure, a description of the function or stored procedure, parameter names included in the function or stored procedure, and parameter types used by the function or stored procedure (Boal Paragraph [0448], Each consumer identity is assumed to be associated with a suitable electronic address either because of procedures followed when registering the consumer identities, or because the server features logic for providing electronic addresses such as personalized web pages for each consumer identity).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Boal and Tu further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: prioritizing presentation of metadata describing a set of featured data selected by the data provider (Boal Paragraph [0481], Email 100 may be displayed in the depicted manner by, for example, a client-based or web-based email application that interprets various fields, metadata, and or markup language included in email 100).
Claims 11 and 14-20 are rejected in the same manner as claims 1, 2 and 5-10 but are merely directed to a different embodiment of the same invention (method, system, computer-storage medium). Boal further teaches elements such as memory, a processor, and storage media (Paragraph 738).
Claim(s) 3-4 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Boal, Tu, and Manson et al., Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0258881 (hereinafter Manson).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Boal and Tu teaches parent claim 2.
Zhang in view of Boal and Tu further teaches:
The method of claim 2, further comprising: detecting a modification to the shared data offered by the listing (Boal Paragraph [0424], One or more of the offer attributes may be modified based on at least a subset of the historical transaction records);
Zhang in view of Boal and Tu does not expressly disclose:
generating an updated data dictionary for the listing; and
in response to receiving a subsequent request to view the listing, causing presentation of an updated description of the listing based on the updated data dictionary.
However, Manson teaches:
generating an updated data dictionary for the listing (Manson Paragraph [0226], automatic updates of data dictionary 112 without the necessity of a user actively managing the data dictionary); and
in response to receiving a subsequent request to view the listing, causing presentation of an updated description of the listing based on the updated data dictionary (Manson Paragraph [0229], a message may be displayed informing the user that a new data dictionary (e.g., 112) is available. However, the new data dictionary will not be used until the user saves the GIS data currently being collected).
The claimed invention and Manson are from the analogous art of systems using data dictionaries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having the teachings of Zhang in view of Boal, Tu, and Manson to have combined Zhang in view of Boal, Tu, and Manson. Manson teaches the improvement of increased response time by using data dictionaries (Paragraph 95).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Boal, Tu, and Manson further teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein generating the updated data dictionary for the listing comprises (Manson Paragraph [0226], automatic updates of data dictionary 112 without the necessity of a user actively managing the data dictionary):
generating updated metadata describing a new data object added to the shared data provided by the listing (Boal Paragraph [0286], Correlation metadata identifying the correlations is stored separately, or in a master consumer record as described below. Correlations may be reevaluated on an ongoing basis), wherein the updated description of the listing includes the updated metadata describing the new data object (Boal Paragraph [0286], Correlation metadata identifying the correlations is stored separately, or in a master consumer record as described below. Correlations may be reevaluated on an ongoing basis).
Claims 12-13 are rejected in the same manner as claims 3-4 but are merely directed to a different embodiment of the same invention (method vs system).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-14, filed 11/03/2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 14-16, filed 11/03/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amendment and the newly cited Zhang reference. Zhang teaches a marketplace, data dictionary, and metadata. Zhang discloses user-defined metadata and a user interface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen et al., Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0332696 (hereinafter Chen). Chen teaches a user or administrator that inputs data into the metadata fields (Paragraph 29). Chen further teaches metadata of a dataset such as the description of the data set and/or data dictionary (Paragraph 57).
/DUSTIN D EYERS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2164
/AMY NG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2164