DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "an expansion device" in claim 1.
The “expansion device” is sufficiently described in the specification as an expansion valve (see paragraph 65, specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (KR 20230008576 A) and in view of Spalink (US 2006/0111816 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Hwang teaches an air conditioner (air conditioner 1, see fig. 3 and abstract) comprising: a housing (main body 10, see figs. 1-3 and paragraph 24) comprising:
an outdoor air inlet (outside air inlet 51, 52, fig. 3) configured to draw in outdoor air (paragraph 31); an indoor air inlet (indoor air inlets 31, 32, fig. 3 and paragraph 40) configured to draw in indoor air (paragraph 40); and an outlet (outlets 21, 41, see fig. 3 and paragraph 46) configured to discharge air introduced into the outdoor air inlet and the indoor air inlet (air introduced through 51 and 31 is discharged through outlets 21, 41, see figs. 3-7); a blower fan (blowers 25, 45, see fig. 3) in the housing (see fig. 3) and configured to generate an air flow (see figs. 3-7 and paragraph 49); a total heat exchanger (heat exchanger 60, figs. 3-7) in the housing (see fig. 3) and configured to exchange heat between the outdoor air drawn through the outdoor air inlet and the indoor air drawn through the indoor air inlet (see heat exchange between outdoor air and indoor air at HX 60, figs. 4-7 and paragraphs 49-51); a compressor (72) in the housing (see fig. 3) and configured to compress a refrigerant (see paragraph 35); a condenser (73) configured to condense the refrigerant as compressed by the compressor (see fig. 3 and paragraphs 31-32); an expansion device (74) configured to expand the refrigerant as condensed in the condenser (see paragraph 35); and an evaporator (71) configured to evaporate the refrigerant as discharged from the expansion device (see paragraph 35),
wherein the outlet comprises:
a first outlet (outlet 21, see figs. 3-7) configured to discharge the outdoor air, which passes through the total heat exchanger and the evaporator, into an indoors (outlet 21 discharging outdoor air to the indoors, see fig. 4); and
a second outlet (outlet 41, see fig. 3-7) configured to discharge the indoor air, which passes through the condenser, to the outdoors (outlet 41 discharging indoor air to the outdoors, see fig. 4), and
wherein the indoors and the outdoors are both outside of the air conditioner (outside air entering air conditioner main body 10 through outside air unit 52, and air supplied into the room through fan 25 and ventilation unit 31 from the main body 10, which implies that outdoor space with outside air and indoor space of the room are external to the air conditioner 1, see figs. 3-7 and paragraph 28), the indoors has a first air pressure (indoor air pressure is at least just below or just above or at atmospheric air pressure), the outdoors has a second air pressure (outdoor air pressure is atmospheric air pressure), and the air conditioner further comprises a damper (at least dampers 52a, 51a, 41a, 32a, 31a, see figs. 3-7) and a processor (control unit 100) configured to control the damper to, based on determining that the temperature difference between the indoor and outdoor spaces exists (see paragraphs 36-41), obstruct a first air flow through the air conditioner (see dampers opening and closing operation obstructing airflow through AC 1, by control unit 100, paragraphs 28, 30, 36, 39, 40 and figs. 3-7).
However, Hwang does not explicitly teach controlling air flow through air conditioner based on first air pressure of the indoor being different from the second air pressure of the outdoors.
Spalink discloses an air conditioner (HVAC system/equipment, see paragraphs 67, 85 and 92) comprising: indoor and outdoor spaces to the HVAC system (see paragraphs 27, 83, 89 and fig. 2); and a controller (controller 205, 125, 303), configured to measure and determine a pressure difference between a first air pressure indoors and a second pressure outdoors (indoor and outdoor sensors to obtain pressure differential between indoor and outdoor spaces, see paragraph 38; Also see pressure differential between outside wall surface and inside of the compartment, paragraph 38); where a positive pressure differential exists between indoor and outdoor spaces, which indicates that the first indoor air pressure is different from the second outdoor air pressure (see paragraphs 38, 55); and the air conditioner further comprises a damper (parameter such as damper position, paragraphs 40, 12) and a processor (controller 205) configured to control the damper to (damper position, see paragraphs 40, 12), based on determining that the first air pressure of the indoors is different than the second air pressure of the outdoors (damper position controlled to maintain pressure differential between indoor and outdoor based on measured indoor and outdoor pressure values, see paragraphs 40, 12 and 38), obstruct a first air flow through the air conditioner (controlling amount of air supplied to the indoor space through the air conditioner by damper positions, see paragraphs 40, 55-56, 12 and abstract).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air conditioner of Hwang by providing a positive/negative pressure differential between indoors and outdoors that are both outside of the air conditioner; a damper and a processor configured to control the damper to, based on determining that the first air pressure of the indoors is different than the second air pressure of the outdoors, obstruct a first air flow through the air conditioner based on the teachings of Spalink in order to reduce energy cost and increase air conditioner efficiency by preventing conditioned air from easily and quickly escaping the controlled indoor environment (see paragraph 3-4, Spalink).
In regards to claim 2, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the outdoor air inlet (outside air inlet 51, 52, figs. 3-7) comprises: an outdoor air ventilation inlet (52) configured to pass the outdoor air (air introduced through inlet 52) into an outdoor air ventilation flow path (air flow path indicated by solid line, see fig. 6) discharged to the first outlet (through first outlet 21, see figs. 6-7); and an outdoor air circulation inlet (51) configured to pass the outdoor air (air from outdoor through 51, 51a, see fig. 5) into an outdoor air circulation flow path (air flow path indicated by dotted line, see fig. 5) discharged to the second outlet (through second outlet 41, see figs. 5-7), and wherein the outdoor air circulation inlet is spaced apart from the outdoor air ventilation inlet (outdoor air inlets 51 and 52 space apart from each other, see figs. 3-7).
In regards to claim 15, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a partition (11, 12) disposed between the first outlet (21) and the second outlet (41) and configured to prevent mixing of air in the housing (HX 60 does not allow mixing of airflow streams, see paragraph 27, 49 and figs. 3-7).
Claim(s) 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Spalink as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Lee (US 2012/0216982 A1).
In regards to claim 3, Hwang teaches the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses that the outdoor air ventilation flow path (air flow path indicated by solid line, see fig. 6) comprises a first space (S4) formed upstream of the total heat exchanger (S4 upstream of HX 60, fig. 6), and a second space (S1) formed downstream of the total heat exchanger (S1 downstream of HX 60, see fig. 6), wherein the outdoor air ventilation inlet (air flow path indicated by solid line, see fig. 6) comprises:
a first outdoor air ventilation inlet (52) configured to draw in the outdoor air into the first space (providing outdoor air through inlet 52 into first space S4, figs. 4, 6); and the outdoor air ventilation flow path configured to draw in the outdoor air into the second space (providing outdoor air through inlet 52 into second space S1, figs. 4, 6).
However, Hwang does not explicitly teach a second outdoor inlet for space downstream of the heat exchanger.
Lee discloses a first outdoor air ventilation inlet (12) configured to draw in the outdoor air into the first space (space 10 upstream of total HX 50, fig. 1); and a second outdoor air ventilation inlet (air inlet through duct 60 and via filter 62 into blower 25, fig. 1) configured to draw in the outdoor air into the second space (pinto space 20 downstream of the total heat exchanger 50, fig. 1 and paragraphs 6 and 55).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor air ventilation inlet of the air conditioner of Hwang by providing a second outdoor air ventilation inlet configured to draw in the outdoor air into the second space downstream of the total heat exchanger based on the teachings of Lee in order to conserve energy by introducing outdoor air through the bypass passage to the supply air blower when the outdoor air temperature is lower than the indoor air temperature (see paragraph 6, Lee).
In regards to claim 4, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3 and further discloses a first outdoor air ventilation inlet damper (damper 52a, see fig. 4) configured to open and close the first outdoor air ventilation inlet (see paragraphs 33, 36-42 and 58). Lee teaches the second outdoor air ventilation inlet (see fig. 1, Lee) and a filter on the second air ventilation passage (62, fig. 1, Lee), which are configured to allow air to flow through second outdoor air ventilation passage (see fig. 1, Lee). In addition, Spalink describes the damper as the return damper for outdoor air inlet (see paragraph 40).
Hwang does not explicitly teach a second damper for the outdoor air ventilation inlet.
However, Hwang discloses plurality of dampers (dampers 581a, 32a, 31a) for each of the outdoor and indoor air flow inlets (see figs. 3-7, Hwang) and the controlled damper is one of the first or second outdoor air ventilation inlet dampers (at least dampers 52a, 51a, 41a, 32a, 31a, see figs. 3-10).
Based on the additional teachings of Hwang, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor air ventilation inlet of the air conditioner of Hwang by providing a second outdoor air ventilation inlet damper for the second outdoor air ventilation inlet to open and close the second outdoor air ventilation inlet based on the need to supply fresh air only when necessary.
In regards to claim 5, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 4 and further discloses that the blower fan (blowers 25, 45, see fig. 3) comprises: a first blower fan (blower 25) configured to generate an air flow to discharge the outdoor air, which is drawn into the outdoor air ventilation inlet (outdoor air entering through inlet 52, see fig. 4), to the first outlet (21); and a second blower fan (blower 45) configured to generate an air flow to discharge the outdoor air, which is drawn into the outdoor air circulation inlet (outdoor air entering through inlet 51, see fig. 5), to the second outlet (outlet 41); wherein the first air flow is one of the air flow to discharge the outdoor air, which is drawn into the outdoor air ventilation inlet, to the first outlet (see airflow shown by solid line and arrow from inlet 52a to first outlet 21, fig. 4), and the air flow to discharge the outdoor air, which is drawn into the outdoor air circulation inlet, to the second outlet (this is an alternative limitation, see MPEP 2173.05(h)).
In regards to claim 6, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 5 and further discloses that the outlet (outlets 21, 41, see fig. 3 and paragraph 46) is further configured to discharge the indoor air (indoor air through inlet 32, see fig. 4), which is drawn into the indoor air inlet (32) and passes through the total heat exchanger (as indicated by dotted line passing through HX 60, fig. 4), to the outdoors (via outlet 41 to the outdoors, see fig. 4 and paragraph 38-39).
However, Hwang does not explicitly teach an outlet to discharge indoor air passing through the total heat exchanger, to the outdoors.
Lee teaches an outlet (42) configured to discharge the indoor air (indoor air at opening 32, fig. 1), which is drawn into the indoor air inlet (into chamber 30, see fig. 1) and passes through the total heat exchanger (through total heat exchanger 50, 55, see fig. 1), to the outdoors (to the outdoor area via opening 42, see figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 5-6, 15).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outlet of the air conditioner of Hwang by providing a third outlet configured to discharge the indoor air, which is drawn into the indoor air inlet and passes through the total heat exchanger, to the outdoors based on the teachings of Lee in order to remove excess humidity and heat by exhausting a portion of the return air to the outdoors to avoid uncomfortably humid indoor environment for comfort of the occupants of the indoor space.
In regards to claim 7, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses that the indoor air inlet (indoor air inlets 31, 32, fig. 3 and paragraph 40) comprises: an indoor air circulation inlet (inlet 31) configured to pass the indoor air (indoor air entering through inlet 31, fig. 5) into an indoor air circulation flow path discharged to the first outlet (to the indoor space through first indoor outlet 21, see fig. 5); and an indoor air ventilation inlet (indoor air inlet 32) configured to pass the indoor air (indoor air entering through inlet 32, fig. 4) into an indoor air ventilation flow path discharged to the outlet (indoor air entering through inlet 32 is discharged through outlet 41), and wherein the indoor air ventilation inlet is spaced apart from the indoor air circulation inlet (indoor air inlets 31 and 32 are spaced apart from each other, see figs. 3-7). In addition, Lee teaches an outlet (42) configured to discharge the indoor air (indoor air at opening 32, fig. 1), which is drawn into the indoor air inlet (into chamber 30, see fig. 1) and passes through the total heat exchanger (through total heat exchanger 50, 55, see fig. 1), to the outdoors (to the outdoor area via opening 42, see figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 5-6, 15).
In regards to claim 8, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 7 except a blower fan to discharge air to the third outlet.
However, Lee teaches an additional blower fan (45) configured to generate an air flow to discharge the indoor air (indoor air at opening 32, see figs. 1-2), which is drawn into the indoor air ventilation inlet (indoor air entering chamber 30, see figs. 1-2), to the third outlet (via fan 45 and outdoor air exhaust opening 42, see figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the blower fan of the air conditioner of Hwang by providing a third blower fan configured to generate an air flow to discharge the indoor air, which is drawn into the indoor air ventilation inlet, to the third outlet based on the teachings of Lee in order to efficiently, effectively and quickly remove excess humidity and heat by periodically exhausting a portion of the return air to the outdoors with the help of a dedicated blower based on the comfort of the occupants of the indoor space.
In regards to claim 9, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 8 and further discloses an indoor air circulation inlet damper (dampers 31a) configured to open and close the indoor air circulation inlet (open inlet 31 by opening damper 31a, see figs. 3-7); and an indoor air ventilation inlet damper (damper 32a) configured to open and close the indoor air ventilation inlet (open inlet 32 by opening damper 32a, see figs. 3-7).
In regards to claim 10, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9 and further discloses a processor (control unit 100) electrically connected to the first outdoor air ventilation inlet damper, the indoor air ventilation inlet damper, the first blower fan, and the second/third blower fan (see control unit 100 connected to the plurality of dampers and blower fans, figs. 3, 10 and paragraphs 36-42). In addition, Spalink teaches a differential pressure sensor (sensors to obtain pressure differential, see paragraph 38) configured to measure an outdoor air pressure and an indoor air pressure (pressure differential between outside wall surface and inside of the compartment, paragraph 38); wherein the processor (processor 138, memory 139, controller 303, fig. 1A) is electrically connected to the differential pressure sensor (sensors connected to processor through module 123, see figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 38, 55), the first indoor/outdoor air ventilation damper (controller 303 connected to damper, see paragraph 75), the first/second/third blower fans (fans connected to controller, see paragraph 89 and fig. 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air conditioner of Hwang as modified by providing a differential pressure sensor configured to measure an outdoor air pressure and an indoor air pressure; and a processor electrically connected to the differential pressure sensor as taught by Spalink in order to allow the air conditioner to establish a positive or negative pressure differential between the outside and inside of the housing of the air conditioner to improve efficiency of the air conditioning operations.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Spalink and Lee as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Shyu (US 5228306A).
In regards to claim 11, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 and further discloses a processor (control unit 100) configured to close the first outdoor air ventilation inlet damper (damper 52a closed, see fig. 5) and control a blower fan (fan 25) to exhaust air (see operation of fan 45 to exhaust air, fig. 5), wherein controlling the damper to obstruct the first air flow through the air condition (through outdoor air inlet 52) comprises controlling the first outdoor air ventilation inlet damper (damper 52a) to close at least the portion of the first outdoor air ventilation inlet (damper 52a closed, see figs. 5, 7, 12 and paragraphs 40-41). In addition, Spalink discloses a processor (processor 138, memory 139, figs. 1) configured to: obtain information related to the outdoor air pressure and the indoor air pressure from the differential pressure sensor (sensors to measure pressure values and determine pressure differential, see paragraph 38, and obtain predetermined pressure differential between indoor and outdoor spaces, see paragraphs 12, 30; and fig. 2), and the processor configured to control damper position (paragraphs 40) and increase the exhaust fan speed (see paragraphs 81, 88-89) to create a negative interior pressure (see paragraphs 88-89 and 55-56).
However, Hwang does not explicitly teach damper closure and fan speed increase based on outdoor pressure greater than indoor pressure.
Shyu discloses a processor (controller 60) configured to: obtain information (pressure) related to the outdoor air pressure (via outdoor pressure sensor 61) and the indoor air pressure (via indoor pressure sensor 64) from the differential pressure sensor (via pressure sensors 61, 64), and based on the outdoor air pressure being greater than the indoor air pressure (reducing interior air pressure below atmospheric pressure, see fig. 4), control the first outdoor air ventilation inlet damper to close at least a portion of the first outdoor air ventilation inlet (exhaust mode operation, wherein the exhaust fan 31 is operated and the outdoor air ventilation inlet damper 12c is closed, see col. 5, lines 1-17) and control the third exhaust blower fan (fan 31, fig. 1) to increase a rotation speed thereof (exhaust fan 31 operated to exhaust air through vent 11 and reduce interior pressure, see fig. 1 and col. 4, lines 5-15; wherein the air-exchange process including the exhausting of air by fan 31 is performed at higher speed, see col. 6, lines 14-26).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Hwang as modified to obtain information related to the outdoor air pressure and the indoor air pressure from the differential pressure sensor, and based on the outdoor air pressure being greater than the indoor air pressure, control the first outdoor air ventilation inlet damper to close at least a portion of the first outdoor air ventilation inlet and control the third blower fan to increase a rotation speed based on the teachings of Spalink and Shyu in order to maintain negative pressure within the interior space to prevent toxic gasses and refrigerant from leaving the housing enclosure of the air conditioner into the occupant spaces.
In regards to claim 12, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 and further discloses a processor (control unit 100) configured to close the first outdoor air ventilation inlet damper (damper 52a closed, see fig. 5) and control a blower fan (fan 25) to exhaust air (see operation of fan 45 to exhaust air, fig. 5), wherein controlling the damper to obstruct the first air flow through the air condition (through indoor air inlet 32) comprises controlling the indoor air ventilation inlet damper (damper 32a) to close at least the portion of the indoor air ventilation inlet (damper 32a closed, see figs. 5-7, 12-14 and paragraphs 40-41). In addition, Spalink discloses a processor (processor 138, memory 139, figs. 1) configured to: obtain information related to the outdoor air pressure and the indoor air pressure from the differential pressure sensor (sensors to measure pressure values and determine pressure differential, see paragraph 38, and obtain predetermined pressure differential between indoor and outdoor spaces, see paragraphs 12, 30; and fig. 2), and the processor configured to control damper position (paragraphs 40) and increase the exhaust fan speed (see paragraphs 81, 88-89) to create a negative interior pressure (see paragraphs 88-89 and 55-56).
However, Hwang does not explicitly teach damper closure and fan speed increase based on indoor pressure greater than outdoor pressure.
Shyu discloses a processor (controller 60) configured to: obtain information (pressure) related to the outdoor air pressure (via outdoor pressure sensor 61) and the indoor air pressure (via indoor pressure sensor 64) from the differential pressure sensor (via pressure sensors 61, 64), and based on the indoor air pressure being greater than the outdoor air pressure (interior pressure above atmospheric pressures, see figs. 2-3), control the indoor air ventilation inlet damper to close at least a portion of the first outdoor air ventilation inlet (exhaust mode operation, wherein the indoor air ventilation inlet damper 83 is closed, see col. 5, lines 1-17) and control the first blower fan (fan 24, fig. 1) supplying air to the indoor space, to increase a rotation speed thereof (speed of airflow as indicated by the size of the indoor airflow 23A, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Hwang as modified to obtain information of the outdoor air pressure and the indoor air pressure from the differential pressure sensor, and based on the indoor air pressure being greater than the outdoor air pressure, control the indoor air ventilation inlet damper to close at least a portion of the indoor air ventilation inlet and control the first blower fan to increase a rotation speed based on the teachings of Spalink and Shyu in order to protect occupants of the interior spaces from low outdoor temperature and to maintain efficiency of the air conditioner by prevent extremely low temperature air from entering the air conditioned spaces.
Claim(s) 13, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Spalink and Lee as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kamio (US 5638695 A).
In regards to claim 13, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the housing (housing 10, 10a, 41 with plurality of partition walls 11-16, see paragraph 47) comprises an upper housing (housing 10a, 10b with partition walls 11, 12and 14, see fig. 3) and a lower housing (lower housing 10, 15, 16, see fig. 3) removably coupled to the upper housing (bulkhead 15 and housing part 41, placed on the housing 10, see paragraphs 26, 30 and fig. 3), and wherein the compressor (72), the expansion device (74), and the evaporator (71) are disposed in the lower housing (see figs. 1-3 and 10).
However, Hwang does not explicitly teach that the condenser is disposed withing the lower housing.
Kamio discloses an air conditioner (1) comprising a housing (2) with a removable partition plate (20, 120, see col. 7, lines 34-45), wherein compressor (12), condenser (condenser 7, 107) and capillary (13) are disposed in the lower housing below the partition plate (compressor 12, capillary 13, and condensers 7, 107 below partition plates, see figs. 1 and 8-14).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of the air conditioner of Hwang as modified by providing a removable partition within the housing of Hwang and provide the condenser and capillary tube within the lower housing based on the teachings of Kamio in order to provide the refrigerant carrying components of the air conditioner away from the airflow circuit and towards the bottom of the housing to reduce interaction between airflow and refrigerant in case of a leak.
In regards to claim 14, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13 and further discloses that the total heat exchanger (HX 60) is in the upper housing (HX 60 above the partition plate 14 and in contact with the upper housing plate 12, see fig. 3).
In regards to claim 19, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14 and further discloses that the total heat exchanger (HX 60) is entirely in the upper housing (HX 60 entirely above partition plate 14, see figs. 3-14).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Spalink and Lee as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Woolaway (US 2024/0230124 A1).
In regards to claim 16, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses controlling the first outdoor air ventilation inlet damper to close at least the portion of the first outdoor air ventilation inlet (closed damper 52a, see fig. 5); however, Hwang does not explicitly teach controlling the inlet damper to be anywhere from 20% to 50% closed.
Woolaway teaches controlling the supply of outdoor air to the indoor space (at least outside air 3300, figs. 21-22 and paragraph 138) through the air conditioner (see HVAC 2001, abstract and figs. 21-23), wherein controlling the first outdoor air ventilation inlet to become anywhere from 20% to 50% closed by actuating the first outdoor air ventilation inlet damper (outdoor air inlet damper 7500 with blade 805, figs. 21-23, in a 45 degree partially closed position, see paragraphs 147 and fig. 23; wherein the 45 degrees closed position is equivalent to 50% outdoor air inlet damper closed state).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Hwang as modified to control the first outdoor air ventilation inlet damper to close at least the portion of the first outdoor air ventilation inlet by controlling the first outdoor air ventilation inlet to become anywhere from 20% to 50% closed by actuating the first outdoor air ventilation inlet damper based on the teachings of Woolaway in order to improve efficiency of the air conditioner by introducing measured volume of outdoor air through the controlled position of the damper at specific temperature suitable for improving condition of the indoor space.
In regards to claim 17, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses controlling the indoor air ventilation inlet damper (32a) to close at least the portion of the indoor air ventilation inlet (closed damper 32a, see fig. 5); however, Hwang does not explicitly teach controlling the inlet damper to be anywhere from 20% to 50% closed.
Woolaway teaches controlling the supply of indoor air (indoor supply air dampers 6100, 6200, 6300, see figs. 21-22 and paragraph 144) through the air conditioner (see HVAC 2001, abstract and figs. 21-23), wherein controlling the indoor air ventilation inlet (air dampers 6100, 6200, 6300, and respective damper blades 805, see figs. 21-22 and paragraphs 144-146) to become anywhere from 20% to 50% closed by actuating the indoor air ventilation inlet damper (indoor supply air inlet dampers 6100, 6200, 6300 with blades 805, figs. 21-23, in a 45 degree partially closed position, see paragraphs 147 and fig. 23; wherein the 45 degrees closed position is equivalent to 50% indoor air inlet damper closed state).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Hwang as modified to control the indoor air ventilation inlet damper to close at least the portion of the indoor air ventilation inlet by controlling the indoor air ventilation inlet to become anywhere from 20% to 50% closed by actuating the indoor air ventilation inlet damper based on the teachings of Woolaway in order to improve efficiency of the air conditioner by introducing measured volume of outdoor air through the controlled position of the damper at specific temperature suitable for improving condition of the indoor space.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Spalink and Lee and Kamio as applied to claim 13 above and further in view of Choi (KR 20210063065 A).
In regards to claim 18, Hwang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13 except that the condenser is entirely disposed in the lower housing.
However, Choi discloses an air conditioner (cooling unit 110) with condenser (122) within a housing (100), wherein the condenser is entirely disposed in the lower housing (condenser 122 entirely disposed in the lower housing below the partition 130, see fig. 3a and paragraphs 12-14).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air conditioner of Hwang as modified to provide a condenser entirely disposed within the lower housing based on the teachings of Choi in order to improve efficiency of the air conditioner using natural convection by placing the condenser in the lower housing to allow heat dissipating from the condenser to rise within the air conditioner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Hwang or Shyu references applied in the prior rejection of record for any new teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim 1 has now been rejected under 35 USC 103 over Hwang in view of Spalink, where Spalink is used, especially to teach the newly added limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763