DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are pending.
This action is in response to the amendment filed 12/10/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations in claim 11 (no reference numerals shown for the structural recited features) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: in claim 11, the limitations, the outer wall of the tank housing has a protruding wall that protrudes therefrom in a direction away from the interior space of the tank housing and that surrounds a portion of the cavity, and wherein when the second electronics housing part is connected to the first electronics housing part, a side wall of the second electronics housing part overlaps with and surrounds an outer periphery of the protruding wall, with the seal being positioned between the side wall of the second electronics housing part and the outer periphery of the protruding wall, are not supported in the specification, however, appear to be in Figure 5, and therefore may be added to the specification as long as no new matter is added.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the prior objection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the prior objection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Virtanen et al. (US 3433072).
Regarding claim 1, Virtanen et al. disclose a coolant tank (the tank connected to cover 8) “for a coolant conducting system of a motor vehicle” (intended use, see also , col. 1, lns 32-36, ships; water), the coolant tank comprising:
A tank sensor (2-5),
tank electronics (transmitter, transistor, resistances, col. 2, lns. 37-40);
a seal (see fig. 1, the rectangular seal shown un-numbered between 7 and 8);
a tank housing (8) with an outer wall (the outer wall of 8 that connects to 7) and an interior space (the space within 8) that is arranged in the tank housing “for storing a coolant for the coolant conducting system”, the outer wall being a first electronics housing part for the tank electronics (the outer wall connects with 7 and 9 and is therefore a first electronics housing part for the tank electronics since it mates the connector 7 to the tank 8), and,
a second electronics housing part (9), which is an electronics housing cover for the tank electronics (transmitter, transistor, resistances, col. 2, lns. 37-40), wherein when the second electronics housing part is connected to the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part form a cavity (the space within 9) that encloses the tank electronics so as to be sealed against environmental influences, directly or indirectly via the seal (as shown in Figure 1), and wherein the first electronics housing part, that is the outer wall of the tank housing, provides a barrier (the wall thickness of 8,see Fig. 1) between the tank electronics and the interior space of the tank housing, such that prior to the second electronics housing part being connected to the first electronics housing part, the tank electronics are sealed from the interior space of the tank housing by the first electronics housing part (as shown in Figure 1, the thickness of the wall 8 provides the barrier as shown and therefore, the limitations of, “the first electronics housing part, that is the outer wall of the tank housing, provides a barrier between the tank electronics and the interior space of the tank housing, such that prior to the second electronics housing part being connected to the first electronics housing part, the tank electronics are sealed from the interior space of the tank housing by the first electronics housing part” are met), and
wherein the tank sensor (3,4,5) extends through the outer wall of the tank housing and connects to the tank electronics, such that a first portion (5, within 9, see Fig. 1) of the tank sensor is provided in the cavity formed between the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part, and a second portion (3-5 within 8, see Fig. 1,2) of the tank sensor is provided in the interior space of the tank housing.
Regarding "for a coolant conducting system of a motor vehicle", and “for storing a coolant for the coolant conducting system”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 2, Virtanen et al. disclose the tank housing is multipart (as seen in fig. 1, the housing has inherent sides, and, bottom and that 8 is disclosed as the cover) tank housing that includes a tank cover (8, col. 2, lns. 34-36), and wherein the outer wall (of 8) that is the first electronics housing part is the tank cover of the tank housing.
Claim(s) 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al. (US 7064560).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto et al. disclose a coolant tank (the tank LT, see Fig. 5-8) “for a coolant conducting system of a motor vehicle” (intended use, see also , col. 12, lns 32-38, col. 15,lns. 4-7 “water”), the coolant tank comprising:
A tank sensor (100),
tank electronics (163, col. 14,ln.53-61);
a seal (see fig. 6, the o-ring seal shown un-numbered between LT and 121);
a tank housing (LT) with an outer wall (the outer wall of LT that connects to 121) and an interior space (the space within LT) that is arranged in the tank housing “for storing a coolant for the coolant conducting system”, the outer wall being a first electronics housing part for the tank electronics (the outer wall of LT connects with 121 and is therefore a first electronics housing part for the tank electronics since it mates the connector 121 to the tank LT), and,
a second electronics housing part (121), which is an electronics housing cover for the tank electronics (163), wherein when the second electronics housing part is connected to the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part form a cavity (the space within 121) that encloses the tank electronics so as to be sealed against environmental influences, directly or indirectly via the seal (as shown in Figure 6), and wherein the first electronics housing part, that is the outer wall of the tank housing, provides a barrier (when viewing a line/plane through the wall thickness of LT to 121 and to 163,see Fig. 6) between the tank electronics and the interior space of the tank housing, such that prior to the second electronics housing part being connected to the first electronics housing part, the tank electronics are sealed from the interior space of the tank housing by the first electronics housing part (as shown in Figure 6, the thickness of the wall LT provides the barrier as shown and therefore, the limitations of, “the first electronics housing part, that is the outer wall of the tank housing, provides a barrier between the tank electronics and the interior space of the tank housing, such that prior to the second electronics housing part being connected to the first electronics housing part, the tank electronics are sealed from the interior space of the tank housing by the first electronics housing part” are met), and
wherein the tank sensor (111,181 ,see Fig. 6-8) extends through the outer wall of the tank housing and connects to the tank electronics, such that a first portion (113,111,181,171,131,180 within LT, see Fig. 6,7A,8) of the tank sensor is provided in the cavity formed between the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part, and a second portion (141,143,145,155,132,163, see Fig. 8) of the tank sensor is provided in the interior space of the tank housing.
Regarding "for a coolant conducting system of a motor vehicle", and “for storing a coolant for the coolant conducting system”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 12, Yamamoto et al. disclose the tank electronics include a printed circuit board (163), and wherein the first portion of the tank sensor is connected directly to the printed circuit board (as shown in Fig. 5-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Virtanen et al. (US 3433072) in view of Getman et al. (US 5730025).
Regarding claim 3, Virtanen et al. disclose all of the features of the claimed invention although are silent to having, the outer wall that is the first electronics housing part is inclined, at least in a receptacle area for the tank electronics, such that liquid dripping onto the tank housing from above runs off the aforementioned receptacle area as a result of gravity.
Getman et al. disclose the outer wall that is the first electronics housing part is inclined (as shown in figure 3 the wall is vertical and therefore considered as being inclined in a broadest reasonable interpretation), at least in a receptacle area (the area of wall 12 as shown in figure 3 where 13 is located) for the tank electronics, such that liquid dripping onto the tank housing from above runs off the aforementioned receptacle area as a result of gravity (liquid that contacts this outer wall region will runoff this area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sensor of Virtanen et al., being located in an inclined wall as taught by Getman et al., to have, the outer wall that is the first electronics housing part is inclined, at least in a receptacle area for the tank electronics, such that liquid dripping onto the tank housing from above runs off the aforementioned receptacle area as a result of gravity, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 4, Virtanen et al. disclose all of the features of the claimed invention, including, the tank housing is a multipart tank housing (as seen in fig. 1, the housing has the top 8 and inherently a side(s) and a bottom and therefore considered as a multipart tank housing), although are silent to having, all parts of the tank housing are each designed as a one-piece plastic part are each one-piece plastic.
Getman et al. disclose the tank housing is a multipart tank housing (as seen in fig. 1, the housing has 4 sides and therefore considered as a multipart tank housing), and wherein all parts of the tank housing are each designed as a one-piece plastic part (col.4, lns. 58-61) are each one-piece plastic.
When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). See MPEP 2125.
Here, the drawings clearly show the tank housing parts are each one part in the cited reference.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to substitute a plastic material from Getman et al. for the material in Virtanen et al., since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, as an example for the proper material compatibility with the fluid being used in the system. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claim(s) 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carney et al. (US 7343884) in view of Virtanen et al. (US 3433072).
Regarding claim 5, Carney et al. disclose a coolant conducting system for a motor vehicle (see Fig. 1) with multiple coolant circuits, a coolant tank (208); and
at least two coolant passages (210/154 and the passage to pump 206) that deliver a coolant from the coolant tank into at least one coolant circuit (within 140,142), although are silent to having,
wherein the coolant tank comprises,
the tank electronics to control the coolant conducting system,
a tank sensor; a seal; a tank housing with an outer wall and an interior space that is arranged in the tank housing for storing the coolant for the coolant conducting system, the outer wall being a first electronics housing part for the tank electronics: and a second electronics housing part, which is an electronics housing cover for the tank electronics, wherein when the second electronics housing part is connected to the first electronics housing part, the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part form a cavity therebetween that encloses the tank electronics so as to be sealed against environmental influences, directly or indirectly via the seal, wherein the first electronics housing part, that is the outer wall of the tank housing, provides a barrier between the tank electronics and the interior space of the tank housing, such that prior to the second electronics housing part being connected to the first electronics housing part, the tank electronics are sealed from the interior space of the tank housing by the first electronics housing part and wherein the tank sensor extends through the outer wall of the tank housing and connects to the tank electronics, such that a first portion of the tank sensor is provided in the cavity formed between the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part, and a second portion of the tank sensor is provided in the interior space of the tank housing.
Virtanen et al. teach the use of a tank sensor (2-5),
tank electronics (transmitter, transistor, resistances, col. 2, lns. 37-40);
a seal (see fig. 1, the rectangular seal shown un-numbered between 7 and 8);
a tank housing (8) with an outer wall (the outer wall of 8 that connects to 7) and an interior space (the space within 8) that is arranged in the tank housing “for storing a coolant for the coolant conducting system”, the outer wall being a first electronics housing part for the tank electronics (the outer wall connects with 7 and 9 and is therefore a first electronics housing part for the tank electronics since it mates the connector 7 to the tank 8), and,
a second electronics housing part (9), which is an electronics housing cover for the tank electronics (transmitter, transistor, resistances, col. 2, lns. 37-40), wherein when the second electronics housing part is connected to the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part form a cavity (the space within 9) that encloses the tank electronics so as to be sealed against environmental influences, directly or indirectly via the seal (as shown in Figure 1), and wherein the first electronics housing part, that is the outer wall of the tank housing, provides a barrier (the wall thickness of 8,see Fig. 1) between the tank electronics and the interior space of the tank housing, such that prior to the second electronics housing part being connected to the first electronics housing part, the tank electronics are sealed from the interior space of the tank housing by the first electronics housing part (as shown in Figure 1, the thickness of the wall 8 provides the barrier as shown and therefore, the limitations of, “the first electronics housing part, that is the outer wall of the tank housing, provides a barrier between the tank electronics and the interior space of the tank housing, such that prior to the second electronics housing part being connected to the first electronics housing part, the tank electronics are sealed from the interior space of the tank housing by the first electronics housing part” are met), and wherein the tank sensor (3,4,5) extends through the outer wall of the tank housing and connects to the tank electronics, such that a first portion (5, within 9, see Fig. 1) of the tank sensor is provided in the cavity formed between the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part, and a second portion (3-5 within 8, see Fig. 1,2) of the tank sensor is provided in the interior space of the tank housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a sensor as taught by Virtanen et al. into the device of Carney et al. to have a tank sensor; a seal; a tank housing with an outer wall and an interior space that is arranged in the tank housing for storing the coolant for the coolant conducting system, the outer wall being a first electronics housing part for the tank electronics: and a second electronics housing part, which is an electronics housing cover for the tank electronics, wherein when the second electronics housing part is connected to the first electronics housing part, the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part form a cavity therebetween that encloses the tank electronics so as to be sealed against environmental influences, directly or indirectly via the seal, wherein the first electronics housing part, that is the outer wall of the tank housing, provides a barrier between the tank electronics and the interior space of the tank housing, such that prior to the second electronics housing part being connected to the first electronics housing part, the tank electronics are sealed from the interior space of the tank housing by the first electronics housing part and wherein the tank sensor extends through the outer wall of the tank housing and connects to the tank electronics, such that a first portion of the tank sensor is provided in the cavity formed between the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part, and a second portion of the tank sensor is provided in the interior space of the tank housing, in order to measure the level of the liquid and transmit the information to a “suitable registering device or to an adjusting mechanism (Virtanen et al., col 1, lns. 37-47).
Regarding claim 7, Virtanen et al. disclose the tank electronics (transmitter, transistor, resistances, col. 2, lns. 37-40), are connected in a signal-transmitting manner (sensor end cable 5 is connected to the electronics) to the tank sensor of the coolant conducting system or wherein the tank sensor (sensor end 5 is connected to the electronics) is connected directly to the tank electronics in a signal-transmitting manner (via cable 5, as shown in Fig. 1).
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over and Carney et al. (US 7343884) in view of Virtanen et al. (US 3433072) and further in view of Kerkewitz et al. (US 20180274965).
Regarding claim 6, Carney et al. and Virtanen et al. disclose all of the features of the claimed invention, although, are silent to having, the electronics housing cover is designed such that the tank electronics arranged in the electronics housing are connected in a signal-transmitting manner via at least one connector to a control unit of the motor vehicle or to at least one control valve of the coolant conducting system such that the electronics housing cover has at least one connector housing for the at least one connector.
Kerkewitz et al. disclose the electronics housing cover is designed such that the tank electronics arranged in the electronics housing are connected in a signal-transmitting manner via at least one connector (28) to a control unit (60) of the motor vehicle (see Fig. 2,5, cap 20 is connected to controller 60 via cable 62 that is connected to connector 28 and cap 20, para.0053,0054) or to at least one control valve of the coolant conducting system such that the electronics housing cover has at least one connector housing for the at least one connector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a connector as taught Kerkewitz et al. into the combined device of Carney et al. and Virtanen et al. to have the electronics housing cover is designed such that the tank electronics arranged in the electronics housing are connected in a signal-transmitting manner via at least one connector to a control unit of the motor vehicle or to at least one control valve of the coolant conducting system such that the electronics housing cover has at least one connector housing for the at least one connector, in order to evaluate the signals for measurement purposes (Kerkewitz et al., para.0054,0033), so that countermeasures may be initiated (Kerkewitz et al., para.0032).
Regarding claim 10, Carney et al. disclose a motor vehicle (see Fig. 1) comprising a coolant conducting system (see Fig. 1,2), the coolant conducting system comprising: a coolant tank (208); and at least two coolant passages (210/154 and the passage to pump 206) that deliver a coolant from the coolant tank into at least one coolant circuit (within 140,142),
although is silent that the coolant tank comprises
tank electronics to control the coolant conducting system;
a tank sensor; a seal; a tank housing with an outer wall and an interior space that is arranged in the tank housing for storing the coolant for the coolant conducting system, the outer wall being a first electronics housing part for the tank electronics; and a second electronics housing part, which is an electronics housing cover for the tank electronics, wherein when the second electronics housing part is connected to the first electronics housing part, the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part form a cavity therebetween that encloses the tank electronics so as to be sealed against environmental influences, directly or indirectly via the seal, wherein the first electronics housing part, that is the outer wall of the tank housing, provides a barrier between the tank electronics and the interior space of the tank housing, such that prior to the second electronics housing part being connected to the first electronics housing part, the tank electronics are sealed from the interior space of the tank housing by the first electronics housing part, and wherein the tank sensor extends through the outer wall of the tank housing and connects to the tank electronics, such that a first portion of the tank sensor is provided in the cavity formed between the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part, and a second portion of the tank sensor is provided in the interior space of the tank housing.
Firstly, Virtanen et al. teach the use of a tank sensor (2-5),
tank electronics (transmitter, transistor, resistances, col. 2, lns. 37-40);
a seal (see fig. 1, the rectangular seal shown un-numbered between 7 and 8);
a tank housing (8) with an outer wall (the outer wall of 8 that connects to 7) and an interior space (the space within 8) that is arranged in the tank housing “for storing a coolant for the coolant conducting system”, the outer wall being a first electronics housing part for the tank electronics (the outer wall connects with 7 and 9 and is therefore a first electronics housing part for the tank electronics since it mates the connector 7 to the tank 8), and,
a second electronics housing part (9), which is an electronics housing cover for the tank electronics (transmitter, transistor, resistances, col. 2, lns. 37-40), wherein when the second electronics housing part is connected to the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part form a cavity (the space within 9) that encloses the tank electronics so as to be sealed against environmental influences, directly or indirectly via the seal (as shown in Figure 1), and wherein the first electronics housing part, that is the outer wall of the tank housing, provides a barrier (the wall thickness of 8,see Fig. 1) between the tank electronics and the interior space of the tank housing, such that prior to the second electronics housing part being connected to the first electronics housing part, the tank electronics are sealed from the interior space of the tank housing by the first electronics housing part (as shown in Figure 1, the thickness of the wall 8 provides the barrier as shown and therefore, the limitations of, “the first electronics housing part, that is the outer wall of the tank housing, provides a barrier between the tank electronics and the interior space of the tank housing, such that prior to the second electronics housing part being connected to the first electronics housing part, the tank electronics are sealed from the interior space of the tank housing by the first electronics housing part” are met), and wherein the tank sensor (3,4,5) extends through the outer wall of the tank housing and connects to the tank electronics, such that a first portion (5, within 9, see Fig. 1) of the tank sensor is provided in the cavity formed between the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part, and a second portion (3-5 within 8, see Fig. 1,2) of the tank sensor is provided in the interior space of the tank housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a sensor as taught by Virtanen et al. into the device of Carney et al. to have a tank sensor; a seal; a tank housing with an outer wall and an interior space that is arranged in the tank housing for storing the coolant for the coolant conducting system, the outer wall being a first electronics housing part for the tank electronics: and a second electronics housing part, which is an electronics housing cover for the tank electronics, wherein when the second electronics housing part is connected to the first electronics housing part, the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part form a cavity therebetween that encloses the tank electronics so as to be sealed against environmental influences, directly or indirectly via the seal, wherein the first electronics housing part, that is the outer wall of the tank housing, provides a barrier between the tank electronics and the interior space of the tank housing, such that prior to the second electronics housing part being connected to the first electronics housing part, the tank electronics are sealed from the interior space of the tank housing by the first electronics housing part and wherein the tank sensor extends through the outer wall of the tank housing and connects to the tank electronics, such that a first portion of the tank sensor is provided in the cavity formed between the first electronics housing part and the second electronics housing part, and a second portion of the tank sensor is provided in the interior space of the tank housing, in order to measure the level of the liquid and transmit the information to a “suitable registering device or to an adjusting mechanism (Virtanen et al., col 1, lns. 37-47).
Secondly, Kerkewitz et al. disclose the electronics (28,51,53) of a level sensor connected to a control unit (60) of the motor vehicle (see Fig. 2,5, cap 20 is connected to controller 60 via cable 62 that is connected to connector 28 and cap 20, para.0053,0054) to control the coolant conducting system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a connector and controller as taught Kerkewitz et al. into the combined device of Carney et al. and Virtanen et al. to have tank electronics to control the coolant conducting system, in order to evaluate the signals for measurement purposes (Kerkewitz et al., para.0054,0033), so that countermeasures may be initiated (Kerkewitz et al., para.0032).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over and Carney et al. (US 7343884) in view of Virtanen et al. (US 3433072) and further in view of Besprozvanny et al. (US 5627523).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Carney et al. and Virtanen et al. disclose all of the features of the claimed invention, although, are silent to having, the tank electronics are designed and configured such that all control tasks of the coolant conducting system are performed entirely via the tank electronics, and, the tank electronics are designed and configured such that a processing or preprocessing of signals present at the tank electronics are performed by the tank electronics.
Besprozvanny et al. disclose a level sensor that teach that the tank electronics are designed and configured such that all control tasks of the coolant conducting system are performed entirely via the tank electronics (col. 3, lns. 52-65,col.5, lns. 13-21), and, the tank electronics are designed and configured such that a processing or preprocessing of signals present at the tank electronics are performed by the tank electronics (col. 6, lns. 1-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the electronics as taught Besprozvanny et al. into the combined device of Carney et al. and Virtanen et al. to have the tank electronics are designed and configured such that all control tasks of the coolant conducting system are performed entirely via the tank electronics, and, the tank electronics are designed and configured such that a processing or preprocessing of signals present at the tank electronics are performed by the tank electronics, in order to provide a highly reliable level sensor, which also detects faulty sensor switches for repair or replacement (Besprozvanny et al. , col. 2, lns 30-39).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art of record discloses or renders as obvious, “the outer wall of the tank housing has a protruding wall that protrudes therefrom in a direction away from the interior space of the tank housing and that surrounds a portion of the cavity, and wherein when the second electronics housing part is connected to the first electronics housing part, a side wall of the second electronics housing part overlaps with and surrounds an outer periphery of the protruding wall, with the seal being positioned between the side wall of the second electronics housing part and the outer periphery of the protruding wall”, in combination with the claim 10 from which it depends in its entirety.
The patent to Blankenship (US 4827242) discloses the closest prior art, but is not seen as having, a side wall of the second electronics housing part overlaps with and surrounds an outer periphery of the protruding wall.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753