DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a reply to the request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 7/16/2026, in which Claim(s) 1-21 are presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103:
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallant et al. (US 20160352702 A1; hereinafter Gallant) in view of Zhou et al. (US 20230171248 A1; hereinafter Zhou) further in view of Durya et al. (US 20260075043 A1; hereinafter Durya).
Regarding claim 1, Gallant discloses a computer server for providing secure password reset functionality for a password protected device having a unique identifier (reset server resetting password for secure device [Gallant; ¶21-27; Fig. 1 and associated text]), comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; a processor disposed in communication with said memory [Gallant; Fig. 1 and associated text], wherein said processor upon execution of the instructions is configured to:
receive a request code for enabling password reset functionality for the password protected device (password reset service received request for password reset, the device support service connects to the password reset service and the password reset service enables a connection thereto, e.g., via a login mechanism or other provision of credentials [Gallant; ¶30-31, 38-42; Figs. 2-3, 5C and associated text]);
parse the request code to identify [[metadata]] and a unique identifier associated with the password protected device within the request code (obtaining a device ID corresponding to the secured device that is the subject of the present request and a new password, and optional the CTR value and the RNG value [Gallant; ¶30-31, 38-42; Figs. 2-3, 5C and associated text]). Gallant teaches method are provided for enabling a password reset mechanism for a secured device that verifies a digital signature on a password reset message. Gallant does not explicilty discloses parsing the code to get metadata related to the device; however, in a related and analogous art, Zhou teaches this feature.
In particular, Zhou discloses receiving the password recovery request, and parsing the content of the QR code carried in the request to obtain the device serial number and the encryption challenge string [Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gallant in view of Zhou parsing of the code to obtain device serial number and other information with the motivation to better validate the client device;
generate a recovery string including at least the unique identifier and the metadata (generating a string of information from the new password, the device ID (shown as ID for brevity), the CTR value, and the RND value, with the device serial number and the encryption challenge string [Gallant; ¶43-45; Figs. 6-7 and associated text] [Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts]);
generate a first hash value representation of the recovery string for the password protected device (password reset service accepts the device ID and new password at and generates a password reset message, which includes a hash is generated using the new password, the device ID (shown as ID for brevity), the CTR value, and the RND value, with the device serial number and the encryption challenge string [Gallant; ¶43-45; Figs. 6-7 and associated text] [Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts]);
send the first hash value representation to a separate computer device (provide the message, which include the CTR, RND, device ID and hash, with the device serial number and the encryption challenge string [Gallant; ¶38-45; Figs. 5C, 6-7 and associated text] [Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts]), comparing the first hash value representation to a second hash value wherein the second hash value is representative of a second recovery string including at least the metadata and the unique identifier associated with the password protected device whereby password reset functionality for the password protected device is enabled when determined the first hash value representation and the second hash value are determined to match (the secure device received the message and use the new password with CTR, RND and device ID to generate its own hash’, then compared hash with hash’ to determine match. If matched, enable password reset [Gallant; ¶49-52; Fig. 8 and associated text]). Also, the claims ended at when the first hash send. The comparing function is performed by another device that is not part of this claimed invention.
Gallant-Zhou combination does not explicilty discloses parse the request code to identify metadata and a unique identifier associated with the password protected device within the request code, wherein the metadata includes one or more of 1) a device type or 2) firmware version associated with the password protected device; however, in a related and analogous art, Durya teaches this feature.
In particular, Durya teaches extracting of QR code, containing identifiers and metadata, the metadata contains credentials, profiles and logging with a globally unique event identifier, device identifier and device type, user/session identifier, timestamps, location, etc., [Durya; ¶17-23, 128-130]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gallant-Zhou combination in view of Durya metadata with the motivation to accurately and securely identify the secure device during password reset.
Regarding claim 2, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer server as recited in claim 1, wherein the separate computer device is operatively coupled to the password protected device and is remotely located from the computer server (the devices are of different entities [Gallant; Fig. 1 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 3, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer server as recited in claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive a registration code for the password protected device including at least metadata associated with certain attributes of the password protected device and the unique identifier associated with the password protected device (the public key, device ID and RND during stor
registration message [Gallant; ¶36-38; Figs. 5C, 6-7 and associated text]); and
parse the registration code to separately identify at least the metadata and unique identifier associated with the password protected device (the message includes the public key, device ID and RND [Gallant; ¶36-38; Figs. 5C, 6-7 and associated text]); and
store the metadata and unique identifier associated with the password protected device in memory associated with the computer server for registering the password protected device with the computer server (the device ID and public keys are stored at the password reset server support database [Gallant; ¶30-33; Figs. 3, 6-7 and associated text], receiving the password recovery request, and parsing the content of the QR code carried in the request to obtain the device serial number and the encryption challenge string [Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts]. The motivation to better validate the client device.
Regarding claim 4, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer server as recited in claim 3, wherein the computer server receives, from the separate computer device, the request code and the registration code over a communications network, and wherein the computer server sends the first hash value to the separate computer device over the communications network (communication is send over network 15 [Gallant; ¶21-26; Fig. 1 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 5, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer server as recited in claim 1, wherein the unique identifier is a cryptographically complaint random string (the RNG may also be integral to the password reset message generator, e.g., as part of a cryptographic toolkit, cryptographic hardware, or other cryptographic functionality [Gallant; ¶30; Fig. 3 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 6, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer server as recited in claim 1, wherein the password protected device determines whether the first and second hash values match (the secure device received the message and use the new password with CTR, RND and device ID to generate its own hash’, then compared hash with hash’ to determine match. If matched, enable password reset [Gallant; ¶49-52; Fig. 8 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 7, Gallant discloses a computer-implemented method for enabling secure password reset functionality for a password protected device having a unique identifier, comprising:
receiving, in a password reset server, a request code from a computer device operatively coupled to the password protected device for enabling password reset functionality for the password protected device, wherein the request code includes a one time use Request ID associated with the password protected device and metadata associated with certain attributes of the password protected device whereby the request code does not include the unique identifier associated with the password protected device (password reset service received request for password reset, the device support service connects to the password reset service and the password reset service enables a connection thereto, e.g., via a login mechanism or other provision of credentials, the CTR and the RNG value is one time use [Gallant; ¶31-32, 38-42; Figs. 2-3, 5C, 6-7 and associated text]);
parsing the request code, in the password reset server, to identify a password protected device associated with the request code based on [[the metadata]] retrieved from the parsed request code, and to retrieve a unique identifier associated with the identified password protected device stored in memory coupled to the password reset server (obtaining a device ID corresponding to the secured device that is the subject of the present request and a new password, and optional the RNG value [Gallant; ¶30-31, 38-42; Figs. 2-3, 5C and associated text]). Gallant teaches method are provided for enabling a password reset mechanism for a secured device that verifies a digital signature on a password reset message. Gallant does not explicilty discloses parsing the code to get metadata related to the device; however, in a related and analogous art, Zhou teaches this feature.
In particular, Zhou discloses receiving the password recovery request, and parsing the content of the QR code carried in the request to obtain the device serial number and the encryption challenge string [Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gallant in view of Zhou parsing of the code to obtain device serial number and other information with the motivation to better validate the client device;
generating, in the password reset server, responsive to receiving the request code, a first recovery string including at least the [1) the metadata,] 2) the Request ID and 3) the retrieved unique identifier associated with the identified password protected device to generate a first hash value for the first recovery string (generating a string of information from the new password, the device ID (shown as ID for brevity), the CTR value, and the RND value, with the device serial number and the encryption challenge string [Gallant; ¶43-45; Figs. 6-7 and associated text] [Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts], password reset service accepts the device ID and new password at and generates a password reset message, which includes a hash is generated using the new password, the device ID (shown as ID for brevity), the CTR value, and the RND value, with the device serial number and the encryption challenge string [Gallant; ¶43-45; Figs. 6-7 and associated text] [Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts]);
send, from the password reset server to the computer device, the first hash value such that the password protected device (provide the message, which include the CTR, RND, device ID and hash, with the device serial number and the encryption challenge string [Gallant; ¶38-45; Figs. 5C, 6-7 and associated text] [Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts]), compares the first hash value to a second hash value for enabling password reset functionality for the password protected device when the first hash value matches the second hash value, wherein the second hash value is associated with a second recovery string including at least the [1) the metadata,] 2) the Request ID and 3) the unique identifier associated with the password protected device wherein the second recovery string is determined by a device other than the password reset server (the secure device received the message and use the new password with CTR, RND and device ID to generate its own hash’, then compared hash with hash’ to determine match. If matched, enable password reset [Gallant; ¶49-52; Fig. 8 and associated text]). Also, the claims ended at when the first hash send. The comparing function is performed by another device that is not part of this claimed invention.
Gallant-Zhou combination does not explicilty discloses parse the request code to identify metadata and a unique identifier associated with the password protected device within the request code, wherein the metadata includes one or more of 1) a device type or 2) firmware version associated with the password protected device; however, in a related and analogous art, Durya teaches this feature.
In particular, Durya teaches extracting of QR code, containing identifiers and metadata, the metadata contains credentials, profiles and logging with a globally unique event identifier, device identifier and device type, user/session identifier, timestamps, location, etc., [Durya; ¶17-23, 128-130]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gallant-Zhou combination in view of Durya metadata with the motivation to accurately and securely identify the secure device during password reset.
Regarding claim 8, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 7, wherein the second recovery string is generated by the computer device operatively coupled to the password protected device (the devices are of different entities and are connected over the network [Gallant; Fig. 1 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 10, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 7, wherein the unique identifier is a cryptographically secure complaint string (the RNG may also be integral to the password reset message generator, e.g., as part of a cryptographic toolkit, cryptographic hardware, or other cryptographic functionality [Gallant; ¶30; Fig. 3 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 11, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 10, wherein the password protected device is operative to generate the cryptographically secure complaint string as a SALT (the RN value generated by the RNG [Gallant; ¶30; Fig. 3 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 12, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 7, wherein the request code and the recovery string each include a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) checksum (hash [Gallant; ¶45; Fig. 7 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 13, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 7, wherein the metadata further includes a serial number (parsing the content of the QR code carried in the request to obtain the device serial number and the encryption challenge string [Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts]. The motivation to better validate the client device.
Regarding claim 14, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 7, wherein the computer device is separate from the password protected device (the devices are of different entities [Gallant; Fig. 1 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 15, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 14, wherein the computer device is a laptop computer device (various computing device such as a laptop, tablet, smart phone, or other device having a user interface [Gallant; ¶21]).
Regarding claim 16, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 7, wherein the password reset server is operatively associated with other password protected devices (the password reset server connected to the secure device [Gallant; ¶21; Fig. 1 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 17, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 7, wherein enabling password reset functionality for the password protected device does not include changing the unique identifier of the password protected device (the password reset functionality required match of hash and hash’ [Gallant; ¶49-52; Fig. 8 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 18, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 7, further including:
receiving, in a password reset server, a request code from a computer device operatively coupled to the password protected device for enabling password reset functionality for the password protected device, wherein the request code includes a one time use Request ID associated with the password protected device and metadata associated with certain attributes of the password protected device whereby the request code does not include the unique identifier associated with the password protected device (password reset service received request for password reset, the device support service connects to the password reset service and the password reset service enables a connection thereto, e.g., via a login mechanism or other provision of credentials, the CTR and the RNG value is one time use [Gallant; ¶31-32, 38-42; Figs. 2-3, 5C, 6-7 and associated text]);
registration message [Gallant; ¶36-38; Figs. 5C, 6-7 and associated text]); and
parsing, in the password reset server, the registration code to separately identify at least the metadata and unique identifier associated with the password protected device (the message includes the public key, device ID and RND [Gallant; ¶36-38; Figs. 5C, 6-7 and associated text]); and
storing, in the password reset server, the metadata and unique identifier associated with the password protected device in memory for registering the password protected device with the password reset computer (the device ID and public keys are stored at the password reset server support database [Gallant; ¶30-33; Figs. 3, 6-7 and associated text], parsing the content of the QR code carried in the request to obtain the device serial number and the encryption challenge string [Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts]. The motivation to better validate the client device.
Regarding claim 19, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 18, wherein the registration code is sent from the computer device to the password reset server (communication is send over network 15 [Gallant; ¶21-26; Fig. 1 and associated text]).
Regarding claim 20, Gallant discloses a computer-implemented method for providing secure password reset functionality for a password protected device having a unique identifier (reset server resetting password for secure device [Gallant; ¶21-27; Fig. 1 and associated text]), comprising:
receiving, in a password reset computer server, a request code for enabling password reset functionality for the password protected device (password reset service received request for password reset, the device support service connects to the password reset service and the password reset service enables a connection thereto, e.g., via a login mechanism or other provision of credentials [Gallant; ¶38-42; Figs. 5C, 6-7 and associated text]);
parse the request code to identify [[metadata]] and a unique identifier associated with the password protected device within the request code (obtaining a device ID corresponding to the secured device that is the subject of the present request and a new password, and optional the CTR value and the RNG value [Gallant; ¶30-31, 38-42; Figs. 2-3, 5C and associated text]). Gallant teaches method are provided for enabling a password reset mechanism for a secured device that verifies a digital signature on a password reset message. Gallant does not explicilty discloses parsing the code to get metadata related to the device; however, in a related and analogous art, Zhou teaches this feature.
In particular, Zhou discloses receiving the password recovery request, and parsing the content of the QR code carried in the request to obtain the device serial number and the encryption challenge string [Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gallant in view of Zhou parsing of the code to obtain device serial number and other information with the motivation to better validate the client device;
generate a recovery string including at least the unique identifier and the metadata (generating a string of information from the new password, the device ID (shown as ID for brevity), the CTR value, and the RND value, with the device serial number and the encryption challenge string [Gallant; ¶43-45; Figs. 6-7 and associated text] [Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts]);
generating, in the password reset computer server, a first hash value presentation of the recovery string for the password protected device (password reset service accepts the device ID and new password at and generates a password reset message, which includes a hash is generated using the new password, the device ID (shown as ID for brevity), the CTR value, and the RND value, with the device serial number and the encryption challenge string [Gallant; ¶43-45; Figs. 6-7 and associated text] [Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts]); and
comparing the first hash value to a second hash value wherein the second hash value is generated by another computer device and is representative of a second recovery string including at least the metadata and the unique identifier associated with the password protected device whereby password reset functionality for the password protected device is enabled when the first and second hash values match (the secure device received the message and use the new password with CTR, RND and device ID, with the device serial number and the encryption challenge string to generate its own hash’, then compared hash with hash’ to determine match. If matched, enable password reset [Gallant; ¶49-52; Fig. 8 and associated text][Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts]).
Gallant-Zhou combination does not explicilty discloses parse the request code to identify metadata and a unique identifier associated with the password protected device within the request code, wherein the metadata includes one or more of 1) a device type or 2) firmware version associated with the password protected device; however, in a related and analogous art, Durya teaches this feature.
In particular, Durya teaches extracting of QR code, containing identifiers and metadata, the metadata contains credentials, profiles and logging with a globally unique event identifier, device identifier and device type, user/session identifier, timestamps, location, etc., [Durya; ¶17-23, 128-130]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gallant-Zhou combination in view of Durya metadata with the motivation to accurately and securely identify the secure device during password reset.
Regarding claim 21, Gallant-Zhou combination discloses the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 20, wherein the metadata further includes a serial number (parsing the content of the QR code carried in the request to obtain the device serial number and the encryption challenge string [Zhou; ¶105; Fig. 5 and associated texts]). The motivation to better validate the client device;
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallant-Zhou-Durya combination in view of Freeman et al. (US 20220109997 A1; hereinafter Freeman).
Regarding claim 9, Gallant-Zhou-Durya combination does not explicilty discloses the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 7, wherein the password protected device is a circuit breaker component; however, in a related and analogous art, Freeman teaches this feature.
In particular, Freeman teaches communication enabled circuit breaker over wireless communication, which would require secure communication and information element of the circuit breaker [Freeman; ¶75-78; Fig. 1, 5 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gallant-Zhou-Durya combination in view of Freeman with the motivation to easier monitor fault conditions.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http:ljwww.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
/DAO Q HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432