DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 4, 9-11, 18, and 20-21, cancellation of claims 2-3, and the addition of claim 22 filed 07/23/2026 is acknowledged by the examiner.
Claims 1 and 4-22 is currently pending and under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In light of the amendments to the claims, the office action has been updated. Therefore, Singer, Kilbey, Melcher, and Frydman ‘905 are no longer disclosed in this office action. Therefore, the arguments regarding these references are moot.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 21-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, “second first block body” in lines 9-10 should be recited as “second block body”.
Regarding claim 21, “rotation of the limb support device about a longitudinal axis of the limb support device selectively positions a patient’s limb” in lines 3-4 should be recited as “rotation of the limb support device about a longitudinal axis of the limb support device is configured to selectively position a patient’s limb”.
Regarding claim 22, “rotation of the limb support device about a longitudinal axis selectively positions a patient’s limb” in lines 11-12 should be recited as “rotation of the limb support device about a longitudinal axis is configured to selectively position a patient’s limb”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall et al. (referred to as “Hall”) (US 2002/0095731 A1) in view of Frydman (US 6,345,401 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Hall discloses a limb support device (see Fig. 1; modular support device is shown in Fig. 1 to provide support of a body appendage such as an arm or leg and thus is a limb support device, see [0047]) comprising:
a rigid support body comprising a first block body, a second block body having a first height, and a third block body having a second height (see Fig. 1, [0034], and [0043]; [0043] discusses how there may be several apical support members or bolsters 10, which may be made from a rigid material, stacked in mating engagement, and thus although only two support members 10 are shown in Fig. 1, there may be a first apical support member 10, a second apical support member 10 having a first height, and a third apical support member 10 having a second height, as the disclosure states there may be several), the second and third block bodies being selectively joinable beneath the first block body individually and together (see Fig. 1 and [0043], [0047]-[0052] which discusses how each apical support member 10 or bolster is identically configured to engage an adjacent bolster via friction via peripheral horns 13, and thus the second and third support members 10 are selectively joinable beneath the first support member 10 individually and together via the frictional engagement and peripheral horns 13 of each bolster), said rigid support body defining a base portion having a lower surface (see Fig. 1 and [0034], and [0043]; a bottom portion of the first apical support member 10 defines a base portion and has a lower surface, although not directly shown in Fig. 1); and
a cradle (11) defined by the first block body and supported on said rigid support body (see Fig. 1 of Hall and [0024], and [0047]; the first support member 10 has an indentation 11 or cradle and is supported on the rigid support body), said cradle (11) being concave in shape and defining a surface configured to support a limb of a patient (see Fig. 1 and [0024], and [0047]; the indentation 11 is concave in shape and is configured to support an arm or leg of a patient), said cradle (11) being supportable at more than one height position relative to said lower surface (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall and [0047], and [0043]; the indentation 11 of the first support member 10 is supportable at more than one height position relative to the lower surface, see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall, as the first support member 10 may be stacked with another support member 10, like as shown in Fig. 1);
wherein the first block body is selectively usable alone, with the second block body, with the third block body, or with both the second and third block bodies to support the cradle (11) (see Fig. 1 and [0043], [0047]-[0051]; the first support member 10 is capable of being selectively usable alone, with the second support member 10, with the third support member 10, or with both the second and third support members 10, as all of the support members or bolsters 10 are able to be stacked together via frictional engagement and peripheral horns 13, and also be used alone as they may be removed from the frictional engagement).
Hall is silent on the third block body having a second height different from the first height; and wherein the first block body is selectively usable alone, with the second block body, with the third block body, or with both the second and third block bodies to support the cradle at four different height positions.
However, Frydman teaches an analogous second block body (30) and an analogous third block body (32) (see Figs. 1-2), and the third block body (32) having a second height different from the first height [of the second block body (30)] (see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3 lines 18-20 which discusses how the heights of the support layer 32 and support layer 30 may be different), providing to better tailor the height of the limb support to the patient’s needs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second height of the third block body in the device of Hall to be different from the first height of the second block body as taught by Frydman to have provided an improved limb support device that better tailors the height of the limb support to the patient’s needs. Therefore, the combination of Hall in view of Frydman results in wherein the first block body is selectively usable alone, with the second block body, with the third block body, or with both the second and third block bodies to support the cradle at four different height positions (as previously modified above, see above, the heights of the second support member 10 of Hall and the third support member 10 of Hall are different heights, and see Fig. 1 and [0043], [0047]-[0051] of Hall; the first support member 10 of Hall is capable of being selectively usable alone, with the second support member 10 of Hall, with the third support member 10 of Hall, or with both the second and third support members 10 of Hall, as all of the support members or bolsters 10 of Hall are able to be stacked together via frictional engagement and peripheral horns 13 of Hall, and also be used alone as they may be removed from the frictional engagement, and thus supports the indentation 11 of Hall at four different height positions, as the second and third support members 10 of Hall are different heights).
Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall.
Regarding claim 11, Hall in view of Frydman discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Hall in view of Frydman further discloses wherein each of said block bodies (10 of Hall) is constructed as a unitary body (see Fig. 1 and [0034] of Hall; the support members 10 of Hall are each constructed as unitary bodies).
Regarding claim 12, Hall in view of Frydman discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Hall in view of Frydman further discloses wherein both said rigid support body and said cradle (11 of Hall) extend in a longitudinal direction of elongation (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall; the rigid support member 10 of Hall and the indentation 11 of Hall both extend in a longitudinal direction of elongated, as indicated by the dotted line in Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall).
Regarding claim 13, Hall in view of Frydman discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Hall in view of Frydman further discloses wherein said cradle (11 of Hall) is defined by a first concavity at least partially defined by at least one ridge (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall which has labeled at least one ridge that at least partially defines the indentation 11 of Hall which is a first concavity, also see [24] and [0047] of Hall), said first concavity being dimensioned to accommodate a range of human limb sizes (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall, [0024], and [0047] of Hall; the indentation 11 of Hall is capable of accommodating a range of human limb sizes based on the dimensions).
Regarding claim 14, Hall in view of Frydman discloses the invention as discussed in claim 13. Hall in view of Frydman further discloses wherein said first concavity is defined to have an axis of elongation extending parallel to a plane of said lower surface (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall which has an axis of elongation of indentation 11 of Hall indicated by the dotted line in Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall and extends parallel to a plane of the lower surface).
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of Frydman further in view of Barrientos et al. (referred to as “Barrientos”) (US 2024/0058156 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hall in view of Frydman discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
Hall in view of Frydman is silent on a first connector supported on a first lower surface of said first block body; a first mating connector, complementary to said first connector, supported on an upper surface of said second block body; a second connector supported on a second lower surface of second first block body; and a second mating connector, complementary to said second connector, supported on a second upper surface of said third block body; wherein the first connector is also selectively matable directly with the second mating connector to join the first block body directly to the third block body without the second block body positioned therebetween.
However, Barrientos teaches an analogous first block body (104) and an analogous second block body (116), and an analogous third block body (118) (see Fig. 4 and [0041] and [0050]; the first side 104 is an analogous first block body as it is formed of a foam material and receives an arm of a user, and inserts 116, 118 are analogous second and third block bodies as they may also be formed of a foam material to adjust the height), and a first connector (134) supported on a first lower surface (130) of said first block body (104) (see Fig. 4 and [0056]-[0057]; first side 104 has an inner surface 130 which is a first lower surface that has a fastener 134 that may be hook and loop material); a first mating connector (136), complementary to said first connector (134), supported on an upper surface of said second block body (116) (see Fig. 4 and [0056]-[0057]; corresponding fastener 136, which is complementary to fastener 134, is supported on an upper surface of insert 116, as the corresponding fastener 136 may be on both sides of insert 116); a second connector (136) supported on a second lower surface (132) of second first block body (116) (see Fig. 4 and [0056]-[0057]; corresponding fastener 136 may be on both sides of insert 116 and thus there is a second fastener 136 supported on the inner surface 132, or lower surface, of insert 116); a second mating connector (136), complementary to said second connector (136), supported on a second upper surface of said third block body (118) (see Fig. 4 and [0056]-[0057]; another corresponding fastener 136 is supported on a second upper surface of insert 118 as fasteners 136 may be on both sides of insert 118); wherein the first connector (134) is selectively matable directly with the second mating connector (136) to join the first block body (104) directly to the third block body (118) without the second block body (116) positioned therebetween (see Fig. 4 and [0056]-[0057]; the fastener 136 is selectively matable directly with the corresponding fastener 136 to join the first side 104 directly to insert 118 without insert 116 positioned therebetween, as when only a single insert 118 is needed, the single insert 118 is enabled to releasably secure to the first side 104), providing an easy mechanism to attach/detach the block bodies together for desired height adjustment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first block body, second block body, and third block body in the device of Hall in view of Frydman to comprise a first connector (134) supported on a first lower surface of said first block body, a first mating connector (136), complementary to said first connector (134), supported on an upper surface of said second block body, a second connector (136) supported on a second lower surface of said second block body, a second mating connector (136), complementary to said second connector (136), supported on a second upper surface of said third block body, wherein the first connector is also selectively matable directly with the second mating connector to join the first block body directly to the third block body without the second block body positioned therebetween taught by Barrientos to have provided an improved limb support device that provides an easy mechanism to attach/detach the block bodies together for desired height adjustment.
Regarding claim 5, Hall in view of Frydman further in view of Barrientos discloses the invention as discussed in claim 4. Hall in view of Frydman further in view of Barrientos further discloses wherein said lower surface of said rigid support body is defined on one of said second block body and said third block body (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall; the lower surface of the first support member 10 of Hall is defined on the second and third support members 10 of Hall, also see [0043] of Hall which discusses how there may be several support members 10 of Hall).
Regarding claim 6, Hall in view of Frydman further in view of Barrientos discloses the invention as discussed in claim 4. Hall in view of Frydman further in view of Barrientos further discloses wherein said first connector (134 of Barrientos) and said second connector (136 of Barrientos) are similar in configuration (see Fig. 4 of Barrientos and [0057] of Barrientos; as previously modified above, see claim 4, the fasteners 134, 136 of Barrientos are similar in configuration as they are both strips of hook and loop material), and wherein said first mating connector (136 of Barrientos) and said second mating connector (136 of Barrientos) are similar in configuration (see Fig. 4 of Barrientos and [0057] of Barrientos; as previously modified above, see claim 4, the fasteners 136 of Barrientos are similar in configuration as they are both strips of hook and loop material).
Regarding claim 7, Hall in view of Frydman further in view of Barrientos discloses the invention as discussed in claim 4. Hall in view of Frydman further in view of Barrientos further discloses wherein said first connector (134 of Barrientos) and said second connector (136 of Barrientos) comprises one of hook fasteners and loop fasteners of a hook-and-loop fastener system (see Fig. 4 and [0057] of Barrientos; as previously modified above, see claim 4 above, the fasteners 134, 136 of Barrientos are of a hook and loop fastener system and thus comprise one of hook fasteners and one of loop fasteners), and wherein said first mating connector (136 of Barrientos) and said second mating connector (136 of Barrientos) comprise another of hook fasteners and loop fasteners of the hook and loop fastener system (see Fig. 4 and [0057] of Barrientos; as previously modified above, see claim 4 above, the fasteners 136 of Barrientos comprise another of hook and loop fasteners of the hook and loop fastener system).
Regarding claim 8, Hall in view of Frydman further in view of Barrientos discloses the invention as discussed in claim 4. Hall in view of Frydman further in view of Barrientos further discloses wherein said second block body defines a first height between said upper surface and said second lower surface (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall; the second support member 10 of Hall defines a first height between said second upper surface and said second lower surface), and wherein said third block body defines a second height between said second upper surface and said third lower surface that is different from said first height (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall; the third block body, although not shown in the figures, defines a second height between the upper and lower surfaces and is different from said first height, as previously modified above in view of Frydman, see claim 1).
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of Frydman further in view of Goumas (US 8,273,041 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Hall in view of Frydman discloses the invention as discussed in claim 13. Hall in view of Frydman further discloses wherein said first concavity is dimensioned to accommodate a range of sizes of human leg limbs (see Fig. 1 of Hall and [0024], and [0047] of Hall; indentation 11 of Hall is capable of accommodating a range of sizes of human leg limbs, as people have various sized legs).
Hall in view of Frydman is silent on wherein said cradle further defined by a second concavity dimensioned to accommodate a range of sizes of human arm limbs.
However, Goumas teaches an analogous cradle (62) (see Figs. 1, 9, 11-13; cradle body 62 is an analogous cradle as it is concave in order to receive/support a limb of a user), and said cradle (62) further defined by a second concavity (76) dimensioned to accommodate a range of sizes of human arm limbs (see Figs. 9-13; the cradle body 62 is further defined by a concave section 76 which may be a second concavity capable of accommodating a range of sizes of human arm limbs as people have various sized arms/hands, see Col. 8 lines 30-38), providing to accept at least a portion of a hand of the patient (see Col. 8 lines 30-33) for better comfort.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cradle (11 of Hall) in the device of Hall in view of Frydman to include a second concavity (76) dimensioned to accommodate a range of sizes of human arm limbs as taught by Goumas to have provided an improved limb support device that accepts at least a portion of a hand of the patient (see Col. 8 lines 30-33) for better comfort.
Regarding claim 16, Hall in view of Frydman further in view of Goumas discloses the invention as discussed in claim 15.
Goumas further teaches wherein said second concavity (76) is defined to have a second axis of elongation that is transverse to a plane of said lower surface (see Annotated Fig. 9 of Goumas; the concave section 76 has an axis of elongation that is transverse to a plane of the lower surface as indicated in Annotated Fig. 9 as the dotted line is the axis of elongation that is transverse to a plane of the lower surface, which is labeled in Annotated Fig. 9, as the lower surface is the very bottom surface of cradle body 62, and the dotted line intersects the plane of the lower surface and extends across the plane), providing to accept at least a portion of a hand of the patient (see Col. 8 lines 30-33) for better comfort.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second concavity (76 of Goumas) in the device of Hall in view of Frydman further in view of Goumas to have a second axis of elongation that is transverse to a plane of said lower surface as taught by Goumas to have provided an improved limb support device that accepts at least a portion of a hand of the patient (see Col. 8 lines 30-33) for better comfort.
Annotated Fig. 9 of Goumas.
Regarding claim 17, Hall in view of Frydman further in view of Goumas discloses the invention as discussed in claim 15.
Goumas further teaches wherein said first concavity (66) is positioned to have a first angular orientation (see Figs. 9-10; the concave section 66 is an analogous first concavity, as this portion caves inward to receive a limb of a patient, and concave section 66 is positioned to have a first angular orientation), and wherein said second concavity (76) is positioned to have a second angular orientation different from said first angular orientation (see Figs. 9-10; the concave section 76 is positioned to have a second angular orientation different from the first angular orientation, as best seen in Fig. 10, as the concave section 76 is angled downwards), providing to accept at least a portion of a hand of the patient (see Col. 8 lines 30-33) for better comfort.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first (11 of Hall) and second concavity (76 of Goumas) in the device of Hall in view of Frydman further in view of Goumas to have a second angular orientation different from said first angular orientation as taught by Goumas to have provided an improved limb support device that accepts at least a portion of a hand of the patient (see Col. 8 lines 30-33) for better comfort.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of Barrientos further in view of Frydman.
Regarding claim 18, Hall discloses a limb support device (see Fig. 1; modular support device is shown in Fig. 1 to provide support of a body appendage such as an arm or leg and thus is a limb support device, see [0047]) comprising:
a rigid support body comprising:
a first block body (10) having a first lower surface (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall, and [0034], and [0043]; apical support member or bolster 10, which may be made from a rigid material, shown as the top support member is a first block body and has a lower surface);
a second block body (10) having a first upper surface and a second lower surface (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall and [0034], and [0043]; apical support member or bolster 10 shown as the bottom support member is a second block body and has a first upper surface and second lower surface), said second block body defining a first block height between said first upper surface and said second lower surface (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall; the second support member 10 defines a height between the first upper surface and second lower surface);
a third block body having a second upper surface and a third lower surface (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall and [0034], and [0043]; although only two support members 10 are shown in Fig. 1, there may be a third support member 10 as the disclosure states there may be several, see [0043], and thus the third support member 10 has a second upper surface and a third lower surface, similar to the second support member 10), said third block body defining a second block height between said second upper surface and said third lower surface (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall and [0034], and [0043]; the third support member 10 defines a second height between the second upper surface and third lower surface); and
a cradle (11) defined by said first block body, said cradle (11) being concave in shape and defining a surface configured to support a limb of a patient (see Fig. 1 and [0024], [0047]; the first support member 10 has an indentation 11 or cradle and is concave in shape and defines a surface configured to support a limb of a patient);
wherein said first block body is selectively usable alone, directly joined to said second block body, directly joined to said third block body, or joined to both said second block body and said third block body, or joined to both said second block body and said third block body to support said cradle (11) at different height positions (see Fig. 1 and [0043], [0047]-[0051]; the first support member 10 is capable of being selectively usable alone, with the second support member 10, with the third support member 10, or with both the second and third support members 10 and thus the indentation 11 is supported at different height positions, as all of the support members or bolsters 10 are able to be stacked together via frictional engagement and peripheral horns 13, and also be used alone as they may be removed from the frictional engagement).
Hall is silent on a first connector supported on said first lower surface of said first block body; a first mating connector, complementary to said first connector, supported on said first upper surface of said second block body and selectively matable with said first connector; a second connector supported on said second lower surface of said second block body; said third block body defining a second block height that is different from said first block height; and a second mating connector, complementary to said second connector, supported on said second upper surface of said third block body, said second mating connector being selectively matable with each of said first connector and said second connector; and said cradle being supported at four different height positions.
However, Barrientos teaches an analogous first block body (104) and an analogous second block body (116), and an analogous third block body (118) (see Fig. 4 and [0041] and [0050]; the first side 104 is an analogous first block body as it is formed of a foam material and receives an arm of a user, and inserts 116, 118 are analogous second and third block bodies as they may also be formed of a foam material to adjust the height), and a first connector (134) supported on said first lower surface (130) of said first block body (104) (see Fig. 4 and [0056]-[0057]; first side 104 has inner surface 130 which is a first lower surface that has a fastener 134 that may be hook and loop material); a first mating connector (136), complementary to said first connector (134), supported on said first upper surface of said second block body (116) and selectively matable with said first connector (134) (see Fig. 4 and [0056]-[0057]; corresponding fastener 136, which is complementary to fastener 134, is supported on an upper surface of insert 116, as the corresponding fastener 136 may be on both sides of insert 116, and fastener 136 is selectively matable with fastener 134, see [0057]); a second connector (136) supported on said second lower surface (132) of said second block body (116) (see Fig. 4 and [0056]-[0057]; corresponding fastener 136 may be on both sides of insert 116 and thus there is a second fastener 136 supported on the inner surface 132, or lower surface, of insert 116); a second mating connector (136), complementary to said second connector (136), supported on said second upper surface of said third block body (118), said second mating connector (136) being selectively matable with each of said first connector (134) and said second connector (136) (see Fig. 4 and [0056]-[0057]; another corresponding fastener 136 is supported on a second upper surface of insert 118 as fasteners 136 may be on both sides of insert 118, and the fastener 136 of insert 118 is selectively matable with each of the fastener 134 and fastener 136 of insert 116, as they may all be hook and loop material and see [0057]), providing an easy and stable mechanism to attach/detach the block bodies together for desired height adjustment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first block body, second block body, and third block body in the device of Hall to comprise a first connector (134) supported on said first lower surface of said first block body, a first mating connector (136), complementary to said first connector (134), supported on said upper surface of said second block body and selectively matable with said first connector, a second connector (136) supported on said second lower surface of said second block body, a second mating connector (136), complementary to said second connector (136), supported on said second upper surface of said third block body, said second mating connector being selectively matable with each of said first connector and said second connector taught by Barrientos to have provided an improved limb support device that provides an easy and stable mechanism to attach/detach the block bodies together for desired height adjustment.
Hall in view of Barrientos discloses the invention as discussed above.
Hall in view of Barrientos is silent on said third block body defining a second block height that is different from said first block height; and said cradle being supported at four different height positions.
However, Frydman teaches an analogous second block body (30) and an analogous third block body (32) (see Figs. 1-2), and said third block body (32) defining a second block height that is different from said first block height (see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3 lines 18-20 which discusses how the heights of the support layer 32 and support layer 30 may be different), providing to better tailor the height of the limb support to the patient’s needs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second block height of the third block body in the device of Hall in view of Barrientos to be different from the first block height of the second block body as taught by Frydman to have provided an improved limb support device that better tailors the height of the limb support to the patient’s needs. Therefore, the combination of Hall in view of Barrientos further in view of Frydman results in wherein the first block body is selectively usable alone, with the second block body, with the third block body, or with both the second and third block bodies to support the cradle at four different height positions (as previously modified above, see above, the heights of the second support member 10 of Hall and the third support member 10 of Hall are different heights, and see Fig. 1 and [0043], [0047]-[0051] of Hall; the first support member 10 of Hall is capable of being selectively usable alone, with the second support member 10 of Hall, with the third support member 10 of Hall, or with both the second and third support members 10 of Hall, as all of the support members or bolsters 10 of Hall are able to be stacked together via frictional engagement and peripheral horns 13 of Hall, and also be used alone as they may be removed from the frictional engagement, and thus supports the indentation 11 of Hall at four different height positions, as the second and third support members 10 of Hall are different heights).
Regarding claim 19, Hall in view of Barrientos further in view of Frydman discloses the invention as discussed in claim 18. Hall in view of Barrientos further in view of Frydman further discloses wherein said second block body defines a first height between said upper surface and said second lower surface (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall; the second support member 10 of Hall defines a first height between said second upper surface and said second lower surface), and wherein said third block body defines a second height between said second upper surface and said third lower surface that is different from said first height (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall; the third block body, although not shown in the figures, defines a second height between the upper and lower surfaces and is different from said first height, as previously modified above in view of Frydman, see claim 18).
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of Barrientos in view of Frydman in view of Goumas further in view of Crescimbeni (US 5,790,998).
Regarding claim 20, Hall in view of Barrientos further in view of Frydman discloses the invention as discussed in claim 18. Hall in view of Barrientos further in view of Frydman further discloses wherein said cradle (11 of Hall) is defined by: a first concavity at least partially bounded by first and second opposed longitudinal ridges (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall which has first and second opposed longitudinal ridges labeled as the indentation 11 of Hall is at least partially bounded by these ridges), said first concavity (11 of Hall) having a first width and being dimensioned to accommodate a range of human limb sizes (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall, [0024], and [0047] of Hall; the indentation 11 of Hall is capable of accommodating a range of human limb sizes based on the dimensions, and indentation 11 has a width); and wherein said first concavity defines a first axis of elongation extending parallel to a plane of a lower surface of the rigid support body (see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall which has an axis of elongation of indentation 11 of Hall indicated via the dotted line in Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall and extends parallel to a plane of the lower surface of the rigid body).
Hall in view of Barrientos further in view of Frydman is silent on a second concavity formed in communication with said first concavity, said second concavity having a second width smaller than said first width and being dimensioned to accommodate a range of sizes of the human limb.
However, Goumas teaches an analogous cradle (62) (see Figs. 1, 9, 11-13; cradle body 62 is an analogous cradle as it is concave in order to receive/support a limb of a user), and said cradle (62) is defined by a second concavity (76) formed in communication with said first concavity (66), said second concavity (76) having a second width (see Figs. 9-13; the cradle body 62 is further defined by a concave section 76 which may be a second concavity formed in communication with concave section 66 which is a first concavity, as they are connected and next to each other, and the concave section 76 has a second width), and being dimensioned to accommodate a range of sizes of the human limb (see Figs. 9-13; the concave section 76 is dimensioned to accommodate a range of sizes of the human limb as people have various sized arms/hands, see Col. 8 lines 30-38), providing to accept at least a portion of a hand of the patient (see Col. 8 lines 30-33) for better comfort.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cradle (11 of Hall) in the device of Hall in view of Barrientos further in view of Frydman to include a second concavity (76) formed in communication with said first concavity and dimensioned to accommodate a range of sizes of human arm limbs as taught by Goumas to have provided an improved limb support device that accepts at least a portion of a hand of the patient (see Col. 8 lines 30-33) for better comfort.
Hall in view of Barrientos in view of Frydman further in view of Goumas discloses the invention as discussed above.
Hall in view of Barrientos in view of Frydman further in view of Goumas is silent on said second concavity having a second width smaller than said first width.
However, Crescimbeni teaches an analogous first concavity (11) and an analogous second concavity (12) (see Figs. 1-3; calf recess 11 and heel recess 12 are first and second concavities to receive a limb of a user), and said second concavity (12) having a second width smaller than said first width [of said first concavity (11)] (see Figs. 1-3 and Col. 3 lines 35-37 and Col. 3 lines 46-47; the calf recess 11 has a width of 6 inches, and the heel concavity 12 has a width of 3 ¾ inches, and thus the heel concavity 12 has a width smaller than the first width), providing to more closely conform to the narrower anatomy of the limb, thereby providing better support and positioning of the limb.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the width of the second concavity (76 of Goumas) in the device of Hall in view of Barrientos in view of Frydman further in view of Goumas to be smaller than said first width as taught by Crescimbeni to have provided an improved limb support device that more closely conforms to the narrower anatomy of the limb, thereby providing better support and positioning of the limb.
Regarding claim 21, Hall in view of Barrientos in view of Frydman in view of Goumas further in view of Crescimbeni discloses the invention as discussed in claim 20. Hall in view of Barrientos in view of Frydman in view of Goumas further in view of Crescimbeni further discloses wherein said first (11 of Hall) and second concavities (76 of Goumas) are asymmetrically positioned relative to opposite longitudinal ends of said cradle (11 of Hall) such that rotation of the limb support device about a longitudinal axis of the limb support device selectively positions a patient’s limb in contact with said second concavity (76 of Goumas) or out of contact with said second concavity (76 of Goumas) (as previously modified above, see claim 20, the indentation of Hall and the concave section 76 are asymmetrically positioned relative to opposite longitudinal ends of the cradle such that rotation of the limb support device about a longitudinal axis of the limb support device selectively positions a patient’s limb in contact with the concave section 76 of Goumas or out of contact with the concave section 76 of Goumas, as the concave section 76 of Goumas is only on one end of the limb support device, see Figs. 9-13 of Goumas).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of Goumas.
Regarding claim 22, Hall discloses a limb support device (see Fig. 1; modular support device is shown in Fig. 1 to provide support of a body appendage such as an arm or leg and thus is a limb support device, see [0047]) comprising:
a support body (10) having a lower surface configured to support the limb support device on a support surface (see Fig. 1; apical support member or bolster 10 is a support body that has a lower surface, which is the bottom surface of support member 10 where peripheral horns 13 are located configured to support the limb support device on a support surface); and
a cradle (11) supported above said lower surface (see Fig. 1; the indentation 11 is a cradle as it is a concave surface to support a limb, and the indentation 11 is supported above the lower surface), said cradle (11) defining:
a first concavity elongated along a first axis and dimensioned to receive a range of sizes of human legs (see Fig. 1 and [0047], and [0024]; the indentation 11 is a first concavity and is elongated along a first axis, see Annotated Fig. 1 of Hall, and indentation 11 is dimensioned to receive a range of sizes of human legs, as the concave surface is suitable for support of a body appendage such as a leg, and as people have various sized limbs).
Hall is silent on said cradle defining a second concavity smaller than said first concavity, elongated along a second axis transverse to said first axis, and dimensioned to receive a range of sizes of human arms, wherein said first concavity and said second concavity are asymmetrically arranged relative to opposite longitudinal ends of said cradle such that rotation of the limb support device about a longitudinal axis selectively positions a patient’s limb in contact with said second concavity or out of contact with said second concavity.
However, Goumas teaches an analogous limb support device (60) and an analogous cradle (64+66+76) (see Figs. 9-13; arm cradle 60 is an analogous limb support device as arm cradle 60 supports the limb of a patient, and cradle 64+66+76 is an analogous cradle as it receives the limb of the patient), said cradle (64+66+76) defining a second concavity (76) smaller than said first concavity (64+66) (see Figs. 9-13; the concave section 76 is a second concavity and is smaller than concave sections 64+66 in length), elongated along a second axis transverse to said first axis (see Annotated Figs. 9 and 13 of Goumas; the concave section 76 is elongated along a second axis which is shown in Annotated Fig. 9, and is transverse to said first axis, which is also shown in Annotated Fig. 13, as the first axis is a straight line and the second axis is transverse as the concave section 76 dips downwards from the concave section 66), and dimensioned to receive a range of sizes of human arms (see Figs. 9-13; concave section 76 is capable of receiving a range of sizes of human arms as people have various sized arms/hands, see Col. 8 lines 30-33), wherein said first concavity (64+66) and said second concavity (76) are asymmetrically arranged relative to opposite longitudinal ends of said cradle (64+66+76) such that rotation of the limb support device (60) about a longitudinal axis selectively positions a patient’s limb in contact with said second concavity (76) or out of contact with said second concavity (76) (see Figs. 9-13; the concave sections 64+66 and concave section 76 are asymmetrically arranged relative to opposite longitudinal ends of the cradle 64+66+76 such that rotation of the arm cradle 60 about a longitudinal axis selectively positions a patient’s limb in contact with the concave section 76 or out of contact with the concave section 76, as the concave section 76 is only located on one end of the arm cradle 60), providing to accept at least a portion of a hand of the patient (see Col. 8 lines 30-33) for better comfort.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cradle (11 of Hall) in the device of Hall to include a second concavity (76) smaller than said first concavity, elongated along a second axis transverse to said first axis, and dimensioned to receive a range of sizes of human arms, wherein said first concavity and said second concavity are asymmetrically arranged relative to opposite longitudinal ends of said cradle such that rotation of the limb support device about a longitudinal axis selectively positions a patient’s limb in contact with said second concavity or out of contact with said second concavity as taught by Goumas to have provided an improved limb support device that accepts at least a portion of a hand of the patient (see Col. 8 lines 30-33) for better comfort.
Annotated Fig. 9 of Goumas.
Annotated Fig. 13 of Goumas.
Claim(s) 1 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrientos in view of Frydman.
Regarding claim 1, Barrientos discloses a limb support device (100) (see Fig. 1; positioning wedge 100 is a limb support device as it supports the arm or limb of a user, see [0040]) comprising:
a rigid support body (102+116+118) comprising a first block body (104), a second block body (116) having a first height, and a third block body (118) having a second height (see Figs. 1-4 and [0050]; the main body 102 + inserts 116+118 is a rigid support body as it may be formed of a material with rigidity or semi-rigidity, and rigid support body comprises a first side 104, insert 116 having a first height, and insert 118 having a second height), the second and third block bodies (116, 118) being selectively joinable beneath the first block body (104) individually and together (see Figs. 1-4 and [0056]-[0057]; the inserts 116, 118 are selectively joinable beneath the first side 104 individually and together via fasteners 134, 136), said rigid support body (102+116+118) defining a base portion having a lower surface (130) (see Figs. 1-4; the rigid support body defines a base portion having an inner surface 130 which is a lower surface); and
a cradle (112) defined by the first block body (104) and supported on said rigid support body (102+116+118) (see Figs. 1-4; recess 112 is a cradle defined by the first side 104 and supported on the main body 102+inserts116+insert118), said cradle (112) being concave in shape and defining a surface configured to support a limb of a patient (see Figs. 1-4; recess 112 is concave in shape as it caves inward to define a surface configured to support a limb/arm of a patient, as seen in Fig. 1), said cradle (112) being supportable at more than one height position relative to said lower surface (see Figs. 1-4; recess 112 is supportable at more than one height position relative to inner surface 130 via the addition or subtraction of inserts 116+118);
wherein the first block body (104) is selectively usable alone, with the second block body (116), with the third block body (118), or with both the second and third block bodies (116, 118) to support the cradle (112) at different height positions (see Figs. 1-4 and [0056]-[0057]; the first side 104 is selectively usable alone or with insert 116, or with insert 118, or with both inserts 116+118 to support recess 112 at different height positions).
Barrientos is silent on the third block body having a second height different from the first height; and wherein the first block body is selectively usable alone, with the second block body, with the third block body, or with both the second and third block bodies to support the cradle at four different height positions.
However, Frydman teaches an analogous second block body (30) and an analogous third block body (32) (see Figs. 1-2), and the third block body (32) having a second height different from the first height [of the second block body (30)] (see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3 lines 18-20 which discusses how the heights of the support layer 32 and support layer 30 may be different), providing to better tailor the height of the limb support to the patient’s needs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second height of the third block body in the device of Barrientos to be different from the first height of the second block body as taught by Frydman to have provided an improved limb support device that better tailors the height of the limb support to the patient’s needs. Therefore, the combination of Barrientos in view of Frydman results in wherein the first block body is selectively usable alone, with the second block body, with the third block body, or with both the second and third block bodies to support the cradle at four different height positions (as previously modified above, see above, the heights of the insert 116 of Barrientos and the insert 118 of Barrientos are different heights as taught by Frydman, and thus the first side 104 of Barrientos is selectively usable alone or with insert 116 of Barrientos, or with insert 118 of Barrientos, or with both inserts 116+118 of Barrientos to support recess 112 of Barrientos at four different height positions, also see [0056]-[0057] of Barrientos).
Regarding claim 9, Barrientos in view of Frydman discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. Barrientos in view of Frydman further discloses wherein each of the first (104 of Barrientos), second (116 of Barrientos), and third block bodies (118 of Barrientos) has a base portion (130, 132 of Barrientos) having a greater cross-sectional area than an upper portion such that at least one sidewall of each block body (104,116,118 of Barrientos) tapers away from a respective lower surface of each respective block body, inwardly from the base portion toward the upper portion (see Annotated Fig. 4 of Barrientos, and see Figs. 1-4 of Barrientos; each of the block bodies 104, 116, 118 of Barrientos are wedge shaped, and have a base portion which is bottom surface of each of the block bodies, as indicated in Annotated Fig. 4 of Barrientos specifically shown for insert 118 of Barrientos, and these base portions have a greater cross-sectional area than an upper portion, when the cross-sectional area is measured by slicing parallel to the base, as the sloped sidewalls of the wedge shape taper, such that at least one sidewall of each of the block bodies 104, 116, 118 of Barrientos tapers away from a respective lower surface of each respective block body, inwardly from the base portion toward the upper portion, as the sidewalls of the block bodies tapers inwardly away from the bottom portion towards the upper portion of the wedge shape).
Annotated Fig. 4 of Barrientos.
Regarding claim 10, Barrientos in view of Frydman discloses the invention as discussed in claim 9. Barrientos in view of Frydman further discloses wherein respective sidewalls of at least two block bodies align in a common inclined plane extending continuously across the at least two block bodies when the block bodies are mated by said connector and said mating connector (134,136 of Barrientos) (see Figs. 1-4 of Barrientos; respective sidewalls of the inserts 116+118 of Barrientos align in a common inclined plane extending continuously across that at least two block bodies when they are mated via fasteners 134, 136 of Barrientos, as the block bodies 116, 118 of Barrientos are wedge shaped).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBIN HAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/KARI K RODRIQUEZ/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786