DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0035434 to Ideshio et al. (hereinafter Ideshio) in view of Japanese Patent No. 2004-239113 to Kojima.
Regarding claim 1, Ideshio teaches a power generation device comprising:
a cylindrical rotation member (FIG. 2, 22f) that rotates by a driving force from a driving force source (Paragraph [0018]);
a first gear (FIG. 2, 26f) extends across a first axis and rotates integrally with the cylindrical rotation member (Paragraph [0018]);
a second gear (FIG. 2, 28f) that is supported in a freely rotatable manner about a second axis, the second axis extending along a direction that crosses the first axis, and meshes with the first gear (Paragraph [0018]);
a generator (FIG. 2, 4);
a step-up gear that speeds up rotation of the second gear and transmits the speeded-up rotation to the generator (FIG. 2, 6; Paragraph [0027]); and
the case includes a through hole through which the cylindrical rotation member penetrates (FIG. 2, portion of 22f going through 52).
Ideshio does not teach a columnar support member;
the cylindrical rotation member that, with a direction orthogonal to the first axis, the first axis being an axis of the support member, defined as a radial direction, is formed in a cylindrical shape surrounding the support member from an outer side in the radial direction, being supported in a freely rotatable manner with respect to the support member;
a case that houses the first gear, the second gear, and the step-up gear, wherein
the generator is supported by the case, and
the case includes a first through-hole through which the support member penetrates.
However, Kojima teaches a columnar support member (FIG. 2, 111);
a cylindrical rotation member (FIG., 2, 50) that, with a direction orthogonal to the first axis, the first axis being an axis of the support member, defined as a radial direction, is formed in a cylindrical shape surrounding the support member from an outer side in the radial direction, being supported in a freely rotatable manner with respect to the support member (Paragraph [0016]-[0017]);
a case (FIG. 2; 26, 27) that houses the first gear the second gear, and the step-up gear, wherein
the generator is supported by the case (FIG. 2, 30), and
the case includes a first through-hole through which the support member penetrates (FIG. 2, right side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power generation device of Ideshio with the case and support member of Kojima to increase the stability of the structure.
Regarding claim 2, Ideshio in view of Kojima teaches the power generation device according to claim 1, wherein with a direction along the first axis defined as a first axial direction, the support member includes a stepped surface (Ideshio FIG. 2, surface of 52) that faces a first side, the first side being one side in the first axial direction,
a portion of the case in which the first through-hole is formed is arranged to come into contact with the stepped surface from the first side (Ideshio FIG. 2, surface of 52),
the support member is fitted into the first through-hole (Kojima FIG. 2, right side), and
a bearing (Kojima FIG. 2, left side, between 50 and 27) is arranged between an inner circumferential surface of the second through-hole and an outer circumferential surface of the cylindrical rotation member in the first radial direction.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ideshio in view of Kojima and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0251531 to Hotta et al. (hereinafter Hotta).
Regarding claim 3, Ideshio in view of Kojima teaches the power generation device according to claim 1, wherein Ideshio further teaches the generator including a rotor that is arranged on the second axis (Paragraph [0016]).
Ideshio in view of Kojima does not teach an inverter that controls the generator, wherein
the step-up gear includes a third gear that is arranged on the second axis and to which a driving force from the second gear is transmitted, a fourth gear that rotates integrally with the rotor, a fifth gear that meshes with the third gear, and a sixth gear that rotates integrally with the fifth gear and meshes with the fourth gear, and with a direction along the second axis defined as a second axial direction, the inverter is arranged to overlap the sixth gear in a second axial direction view along the second axial direction.
However, Hotta teaches a generator (FIG. 5, MG) controlled by an inverter (FIG. 5, 3; Paragraph [0041]), wherein a gear system including a third gear (FIG. 5, Go) is arranged on a second axis and to which a driving force is transmitted, a fourth gear (FIG. 5, Gi) that integrally rotates with a rotor (Paragraph [0045]), a fifth gear (FIG. 2, 45) that rotates with the third gear, and a sixth gear (FIG. 2, 46) that rotates integrally with the fifth gear and meshes with the fourth gear, and with a direction along the second axis defined as a second axial direction, the inverter is arranged to overlap the sixth gear in a second axial direction view along the second axial direction (FIG. 5; 3, 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power generation device of Ideshio in view of Kojima with the gear system and inverter of Hotta to provide more electrical control for the system and position the components in a more beneficial way depending on the intended use case and placement of the power generation device.
Regarding claim 4, Ideshio in view of Kojima teaches the power generation device according to claim 2, wherein Ideshio further teaches the generator including a rotor that is arranged on the second axis (Paragraph [0016]).
Ideshio in view of Kojima does not teach an inverter that controls the generator, wherein
the step-up gear includes a third gear that is arranged on the second axis and to which a driving force from the second gear is transmitted, a fourth gear that rotates integrally with the rotor, a fifth gear that meshes with the third gear, and a sixth gear that rotates integrally with the fifth gear and meshes with the fourth gear, and with a direction along the second axis defined as a second axial direction, the inverter is arranged to overlap the sixth gear in a second axial direction view along the second axial direction.
However, Hotta teaches a generator (FIG. 5, MG) controlled by an inverter (FIG. 5, 3; Paragraph [0041]), wherein a gear system including a third gear (FIG. 5, Go) is arranged on a second axis and to which a driving force is transmitted, a fourth gear (FIG. 5, Gi) that integrally rotates with a rotor (Paragraph [0045]), a fifth gear (FIG. 2, 45) that rotates with the third gear, and a sixth gear (FIG. 2, 46) that rotates integrally with the fifth gear and meshes with the fourth gear, and with a direction along the second axis defined as a second axial direction, the inverter is arranged to overlap the sixth gear in a second axial direction view along the second axial direction (FIG. 5; 3, 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power generation device of Ideshio in view of Kojima with the gear system and inverter of Hotta to provide more electrical control for the system and position the components in a more beneficial way depending on the intended use case and placement of the power generation device.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ideshio in view of Kojima and in further view of Japanese Patent No. 2002-316685 to Toba.
Regarding claim 5, Ideshio in view of Kojima teaches the power generation device according to claim 1.
Ideshio in view of Kojima does not teach a seventh gear that is arranged on an opposite side to the second gear with the support member interposed between the seventh gear and the second gear on the second axis, is supported in a freely rotatable manner about the second axis, and meshes with the first gear;
a transmission shaft that is arranged to penetrate through the second gear and the seventh gear and is drivingly connected to the step-up gear;
a first one-way clutch; and
a second one-way clutch, wherein
with one side and the other side of directions of rotation about the second axis defined as a first rotational side and a second rotational side respectively,
the first one-way clutch is arranged between the second gear and the transmission shaft and allows relative rotation to the first rotational side and restricts relative rotation to the second rotation side of the second gear with respect to the transmission shaft, and
the second one-way clutch is arranged between the seventh gear and the transmission shaft and allows relative rotation to the first rotational side and restricts relative rotation to the second rotational side of the seventh gear with respect to the transmission shaft.
However, Toba teaches a transmission device comprising a seventh gear (FIG. 2, 25) that is arranged on an opposite side to a second gear (FIG. 2, 24) with a support member interposed between the seventh gear and the second gear on a second axis (FIG. 2, 21), is supported in a freely rotatable manner about the second axis, and meshes with a first gear (FIG. 2, 23);
a transmission shaft (FIG. 2, 12) that is arranged to penetrate through the second gear and the seventh gear and is drivingly connected to an output;
a first one-way clutch (FIG. 2, 26); and
a second one-way clutch (FIG. 2, 27), wherein
with one side and the other side of directions of rotation about the second axis defined as a first rotational side and a second rotational side respectively,
the first one-way clutch is arranged between the second gear and the transmission shaft and allows relative rotation to the first rotational side and restricts relative rotation to the second rotation side of the second gear with respect to the transmission shaft (Paragraph [0020]), and
the second one-way clutch is arranged between the seventh gear and the transmission shaft and allows relative rotation to the first rotational side and restricts relative rotation to the second rotational side of the seventh gear with respect to the transmission shaft (Paragraph [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power generation device of Ideshio in view of Kojima with the clutch mechanism of Toba so the generator is provided with a more stable unidirectional output rotation.
Regarding claim 6, Ideshio in view of Kojima teaches the power generation device according to claim 2.
Ideshio in view of Kojima does not teach a seventh gear that is arranged on an opposite side to the second gear with the support member interposed between the seventh gear and the second gear on the second axis, is supported in a freely rotatable manner about the second axis, and meshes with the first gear;
a transmission shaft that is arranged to penetrate through the second gear and the seventh gear and is drivingly connected to the step-up gear;
a first one-way clutch; and
a second one-way clutch, wherein
with one side and the other side of directions of rotation about the second axis defined as a first rotational side and a second rotational side respectively,
the first one-way clutch is arranged between the second gear and the transmission shaft and allows relative rotation to the first rotational side and restricts relative rotation to the second rotation side of the second gear with respect to the transmission shaft, and
the second one-way clutch is arranged between the seventh gear and the transmission shaft and allows relative rotation to the first rotational side and restricts relative rotation to the second rotational side of the seventh gear with respect to the transmission shaft.
However, Toba teaches a transmission device comprising a seventh gear (FIG. 2, 25) that is arranged on an opposite side to a second gear (FIG. 2, 24) with a support member interposed between the seventh gear and the second gear on a second axis (FIG. 2, 21), is supported in a freely rotatable manner about the second axis, and meshes with a first gear (FIG. 2, 23);
a transmission shaft (FIG. 2, 12) that is arranged to penetrate through the second gear and the seventh gear and is drivingly connected to an output;
a first one-way clutch (FIG. 2, 26); and
a second one-way clutch (FIG. 2, 27), wherein
with one side and the other side of directions of rotation about the second axis defined as a first rotational side and a second rotational side respectively,
the first one-way clutch is arranged between the second gear and the transmission shaft and allows relative rotation to the first rotational side and restricts relative rotation to the second rotation side of the second gear with respect to the transmission shaft (Paragraph [0020]), and
the second one-way clutch is arranged between the seventh gear and the transmission shaft and allows relative rotation to the first rotational side and restricts relative rotation to the second rotational side of the seventh gear with respect to the transmission shaft (Paragraph [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power generation device of Ideshio in view of Kojima with the clutch mechanism of Toba so the generator is provided with a more stable unidirectional output rotation.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834