DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The objection to claim 13 and the §112 rejections of claims 18 and 19 are withdrawn in view of the amendment. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the §103 rejections have been considered but are moot in view of the new rejections below, necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 11-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGuire Jr. et al., US 2007/0019408 in view of Tomoyoshi, US 2005/0041271, further in view of Chang et al., US 11,762,195.
Claim 1. McGuire teaches a product comprising:
a holographic projector comprising
a light source [source 110, Figs. 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, paras. 21, 24, 40], a wavelength conversion structure downstream the light source [phosphor color wheel 220, Figs. 2, 3, 5-8, paras. 24-27, 29, 31, 33, 42, 45, 53], and a spatial light modulator downstream the spatial filter [spatial light modulator, 140, 740, 840, Figs. 1, 7, 8, paras. 23, 45, 47].
McGuire is silent on a spatial filter. Tomoyoshi teaches a holographic display system including a spatial filter downstream from the light source [pinhole filter 4, 64, Figs. 3, 6, 11, paras. 75, 142-144, 147, 154].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to provide a quality light beam by filtering out high-frequency noise, for example with a pinhole filter. A pinhole is a simple way to pass only the desired light signal while not overly limiting the output power.
The above references are silent on an observable transparent substrate. Chang teaches a holographic projection system including a transparent substrate comprising a vehicle windshield [Figs. 1, 2, 5, col. 4, 13-28; col. 6, 12-21; col. 4, 36-64] or a vehicle door windowpane, an eyeglass lens, or a goggle lens;
wherein the holographic projector and the transparent substrate are configured so that the holographic projector reflects a holographic image off of the transparent substrate to be observed by a human [Figs. 1, 2, 5; col. 4, 13-28; col. 6, 12-21; col. 4, 36-64].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate Chang, projecting the image onto a windshield to enable a head-up display, allowing the user to view the road ahead and the displayed information simultaneously.
2 and 14. Tomoyoshi teaches the product as set forth in claim 1 wherein the spatial filter includes a pinhole formed therein [pinhole filter 4, 64, Figs. 3, 6, 11, paras. 75, 142-144, 147, 154].
Chang teaches that the transparent substrate comprises the vehicle windshield [Figs. 1, 2, 5; col. 4, 13-28; col. 6, 12-21; col. 4, 36-64].
7. Tomoyoshi teaches the product as set forth in claim 1 wherein the spatial filter is constructed and arranged to enhance spatial coherence [i.e. spatial filtering using pinhole filter 4, 64, Figs. 3, 6, 11, paras. 75, 142-144, 147, 154].
11. McGuire teaches a method comprising:
sending a first light from a light source [source 110, Figs. 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, paras. 21, 24, 40] through a wavelength conversion structure to down convert the first light into a first primary color light [phosphor color wheel 220, Figs. 2, 3, 5-8, paras. 24-27, 29, 31, 42, 45, 53];
sending the spatially coherent first primary color light through a spatial light modulator to convert the spatially coherent first primary color light to spatially and temporally enhanced first primary color light [spatial light modulator, 140, 740, 840, Figs. 1, 7, 8, paras. 23, 45, 47].
McGuire is silent on a spatial filter. Tomoyoshi teaches a holographic display system including sending the first primary color light through a spatial filter to convert the first primary color light to spatially coherent first primary color light [pinhole filter 4, 64, Figs. 3, 6, 11, paras. 75, 142-144, 147, 154].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to provide a quality light beam by filtering out high-frequency noise, for example with a pinhole filter. A pinhole is a simple way to pass only the desired light signal while not overly limiting the output power.
The above references are silent on an observable transparent substrate. Chang teaches a holographic projection system including a transparent substrate comprising a vehicle windshield [Figs. 1, 2, 5, col. 4, 13-28; col. 6, 12-21; col. 4, 36-64] or a vehicle door windowpane, an eyeglass lens, or a goggle lens;
reflects the first primary color light off of the transparent substrate positioned to be observed by a human and so that the holographic image appears to be at a distance from the human [Figs. 1, 2, 5; col. 4, 13-28; col. 6, 12-21; col. 4, 36-64].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate Chang, projecting the image onto a windshield to enable a head-up display, allowing the user to view the road ahead and the displayed information simultaneously.
12 and 13. McGuire and Tomoyoshi teach the steps of claim 11 as cited above, and McGuire teaches performing the steps for red, blue, and green light (first, second and third) light [paras. 29, 31, 33, 53].
16. McGuire teaches the product as set forth in claim 1 wherein the wavelength conversion structure comprises at least one conversion material for selectively generating primary colors [phosphor color wheel 220, Figs. 2, 3, 5-8, paras. 24-27, 29, 31, 42, 45, 53].
Chang teaches that the transparent substrate comprises the vehicle windshield [Figs. 1, 2, 5; col. 4, 13-28; col. 6, 12-21; col. 4, 36-64].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGuire and Tomoyoshi and Chang as cited above in view of Ross et al., US 2010/0149957, further in view of Kim, US 2024/0160025.
3 (from 2). The above references are silent on adjusting the size of the filter. Ross teaches a system including a spatial filter is constructed and arranged to adjust a size of the pinhole [pinhole size adjustment, Figs. 6-8, paras. 49, 53].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an adjustable pinhole, so that different input beam sizes/power can be accommodated, i.e. the size can be adjusted to increase the quality of the light beam while still allowing enough power to pass through the filter for a bright display. Display brightness can thereby be adjusted while maintaining a quality light signal.
The above-cited references are silent on projecting onto vehicle door glass. Kim teaches a holographic projector wherein the transparent substrate comprises the vehicle door windowpane [Figs. 12, 13, para. 116].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references so that images from a rear-view camera can be located in the direction of the side mirror, which direction drivers are accustomed to looking for a rear-view image. This minimizes distraction from operating the vehicle, improving safety.
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGuire and Tomoyoshi and Chang as cited above in view of Lanman, 2019/0187482.
4 and 15 (from 2). The above references are silent on the size of the pinhole. Lanman teaches an optical display wherein the pinhole has a diameter ranging from 500 micrometers to 100 micrometers [e.g. .1 mm, .5 mm pinhole, Fig. 12E, para. 197].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a .1 mm pinhole in order to attenuate unwanted components of the input beam while allowing enough light to pass through in order to sufficiently illuminate the display.
Claims 5, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGuire and Tomoyoshi and Chang as cited above in view of Parsons, US 10,168,537.
5. McGuire teaches the product as set forth in claim 1 wherein the wavelength conversion structure comprises at least one conversion material for selectively generating primary colors [phosphor color wheel 220, Figs. 2, 3, 5-8, paras. 24-27, 29, 31, 42, 45, 53].
The above references are silent on eyeglasses. Parsons teaches a system wherein the transparent substrate comprises the eyeglass lens [Fig. 2A, col. 4, 24-62]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to implement McGuire et al.’s holographic system in a pair of glasses, which allows information display to be totally mobile, i.e. wearable by the user. They can also be worn in a vehicle while driving, potentially obviating the need for a windshield display.
10. The above references are silent on quantum dots. Parson teaches an optical system wherein the wavelength conversion structure comprises quantum dots that can be excited to produce primary colors [quantum dots produce colors, col. 2, 45-67, col. 8, 42-53].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use quantum dots for color conversion, since their small size allows for high resolution imaging and display and making them useful for, e.g., near-eye displays.
17. McGuire teaches the product as set forth in claim 11 wherein the wavelength conversion structure is constructed and arranged to enhance temporal coherence [e.g. allowing only green wavelength light to pass enhances coherence, including temporally, Figs. 2, 3, 5-8, paras. 24-27, 29, 31, 42, 45, 53].
Parsons teaches a system wherein the transparent substrate comprises the eyeglass lens [Fig. 2A, col. 4, 24-62].
Claim 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGuire and Tomoyoshi and Chang as cited above in view of Simmons, US 10,275,024.
6. McGuire teaches the product as set forth in claim 1 wherein the wavelength conversion structure is constructed and arranged to enhance temporal coherence [e.g. allowing only green wavelength light to pass enhances coherence, including temporally, Figs. 2, 3, 5-8, paras. 24-27, 29, 31, 42, 45, 53].
McGuire et al. are silent on a goggle lens. Simmons teaches a holographic projection system wherein the transparent substrate comprises the goggle lens [Figs. 4A, 9B, col. 118, 40-67; cols. 123-124, ll. 65-16].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the goggles taught in Simmons, in order to implement a head-up display in environments that require (or recommend) goggles for the user, such as aircraft piloting, night-vision, or windy areas with airborne water or sand.
18. Tomoyoshi teaches the product as set forth in claim 11 wherein the spatial filter is constructed and arranged to enhance spatial coherence [i.e. spatial filtering using pinhole filter 4, 64, Figs. 3, 6, 11, paras. 75, 142-144, 147, 154].
Simmons teaches a holographic projection system wherein the transparent substrate comprises the goggle lens [Figs. 4A, 9B, col. 118, 40-67; cols. 123-124, ll. 65-16].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGuire and Tomoyoshi and Chang as cited above in view of Ohmae et al., US 2002/0003704.
8 (from 1). The above references are silent on rotation speed of the conversion structure. Ohmae teaches a light modulating system wherein the wavelength conversion structure and the spatial light modulator are constructed and arranged to be moved at least three times [this is a broad formulation that reads on any movement, such as vibration; it also does not specify what one “time” comprises; one “time” could mean 120 degree rotation or a full rotation, for example] for each video frame of a video source [color wheel is rotated three revolutions per image frame, Figs. 1, 22, 23, paras. 230-234].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to mix three primary colors in a single frame, avoiding separately encoding single colors in sequential frames, which may lead to visual artifacts or lower temporal resolution on the display.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGuire and Tomoyoshi and Chang as cited above in view of Endo et al., US 2009/0128704, further in view of Ohmae as cited above.
19 (from 11). The above references do not teach rotation speed of the conversion structure or a mirror system.
Ohmae teaches a light modulating system wherein the wavelength conversion structure and the spatial light modulator are constructed and arranged to be moved at least three times [this is a broad formulation that reads on any movement, such as vibration; it also does not specify what one “time” comprises; one “time” could mean 120 degree rotation or a full rotation, for example] for each video frame of a video source [color wheel is rotated three revolutions per image frame, Figs. 1, 22, 23, paras. 230-234].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to mix three primary colors in a single frame, avoiding separately encoding single colors in sequential frames, which may lead to visual artifacts or lower temporal resolution on the display.
Endo teaches generating a signal from a computer or computing device and sending the signal to a digital micromirror device or a microelectromechanical system and reflecting light off of the digital micromirror device or the microelectromechanical system causing the digital micromirror device or the microelectromechanical system to generate an image for a video frame, and thereafter reflecting the first primary color light off of the transparent substrate [ENDO, control unit drives mirrors that reflect light, Figs. 7, 8, 12, paras. 118-124, 145-150, 176-179; also see paras. 30, 85, 97, 145, 156,.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Endo, using micromirrors to implement modulation as they can operate at faster speeds than liquid crystal modulators and are more efficient leading to better display contrast.
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGuire and Tomoyoshi and Chang as cited above in view of Endo as cited above.
9 (from 1). McGuire teaches the product as set forth in claim 1 wherein the wavelength conversion structure comprises a phosphor material that can be excited to produce primary colors [phosphor color wheel 220, Figs. 2, 3, 5-8, paras. 24-27, 29, 31, 42, 45, 53].
McGuire et al. are silent on a mirror prior to the transparent substrate (or projection target).
Endo teaches a spatial light modulation system wherein the holographic image is reflected off of a mirror prior to being reflected off of the transparent substrate [ENDO, control unit drives mirrors that reflect light, Figs. 7, 8, 12, paras. 118-124, 145-150, 176-179];
addressing a spatial light modulator with the hologram for green and addressing a laser with a pulse width determined for green [ENDO, SLM is addressed for each color, paras. 30, 85, 97, 145, 156, 157, 176-179]; addressing the spatial light modulator with the hologram for red and addressing the laser with a pulse width determined for red; addressing the spatial light modulator with the hologram for blue and addressing the laser with a pulse width determined for blue [ENDO, SLM is addressed for each color, paras. 30, 85, 97, 145, 156, 157, 176-179].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Endo, using micromirrors to implement modulation as they can operate at faster speeds than liquid crystal modulators and are more efficient leading to better display contrast.
20. McGuire teaches a method comprising producing a holographic image comprising:
moving a waveguide conversion structure to a region with wavelength conversion material for green emission moving the waveguide conversion structure to a region with wavelength conversion material for red emission [MCGUIRE, phosphor color wheel rotates for color conversion for each color, Figs. 2, 3, 5-8, paras. 24-27, 29, 31, 33, 35, 42, 45, 53]; moving the waveguide conversion structure to a region without wavelength conversion material [region with non-fluorescing, paras. 26, 33].
Tomoyoshi teaches calculating a hologram for the image for the video frame in three color channel [paras. 18-21, 45].
The above references are silent on micromirror devices and laser pulse width for color control.
Endo teaches a spatial light modulation system including generating a signal from a computer or computing device and sending the signal to a digital micromirror device or a microelectromechanical system and reflecting light off of the digital micromirror device or the microelectromechanical system causing the digital micromirror device or the microelectromechanical system to generate an image for a video frame [ENDO, control unit drives mirrors that reflect light, Figs. 7, 8, 12, paras. 118-124, 145-150, 176-179];
determining a laser pulse width required for each color [ENDO, pulse width is set per color, paras. 30, 156, 177-179]; and
addressing a spatial light modulator with the hologram for green and addressing a laser with a pulse width determined for green [ENDO, SLM is addressed for each color, paras. 30, 85, 97, 145, 156, 157, 176-179]; addressing the spatial light modulator with the hologram for red and addressing the laser with a pulse width determined for red; addressing the spatial light modulator with the hologram for blue and addressing the laser with a pulse width determined for blue [ENDO, SLM is addressed for each color, paras. 30, 85, 97, 145, 156, 157, 176-179].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate the teachings of Endo, using micromirrors to implement modulation as they can operate at faster speeds than liquid crystal modulators and are more efficient leading to better display contrast.
The above references are silent on an observable transparent substrate. Chang teaches a holographic projection system including reflecting the holographic image off of a transparent substrate positioned to be observed by a human and so that the holographic image appears to be at a distance from the human [Figs. 1, 2, 5; col. 4, 13-28; col. 6, 12-21; col. 4, 36-64].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate Chang, projecting the image onto a windshield to enable a head-up display, allowing the user to view the road ahead and the displayed information simultaneously.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY R NEWLIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2424