DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-10 as filed on 4/15/2024 are pending and herewith considered as indicated below.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN 2023104335376, filed on 04/21/2023.
4. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
5. Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Double Patenting
10. Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending application No. 18/635,871 (PG Pub 2024/0357762 A1) (reference application) in view of Leigh et al (US 20220244762 A1)(herein Leigh). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications name the same inventive entity.
In regards to Claim 1 of the pending application and Claim 1 of ‘871, both disclose
A prefabricated data center computer room, comprising a modular cabinet and a modular channel; wherein
the modular channel comprises a frame body comprising a first frame and a second frame , a preset distance being provided between the first frame and the second frame to form a hot channel ;
the first frame and the second frame both have a truss structure, a certain spacing being provided between the truss structure and a bottom of the frame body to form a containment area, a plurality of the modular cabinets being provided, and the plurality of modular cabinets being arranged side by side in the containment area.
However, ‘871 fails to disclose a guide component is further arranged inside the containment area, and when the modular cabinet comes into contact with the guide component, the guide component provides a friction force to the modular cabinet, such that the modular cabinet moves along the guide component.
Furthermore, Leigh discloses a guide component (1300) [Figs 13A-13B] is further arranged inside the containment area [Unnumbered, Fig 2, Immediate Application], and when the modular cabinet (20, Immediate Application) comes into contact with the guide component (1300) [Figs 13A-13B], the guide component (1300) [Figs 13A-13B] provides a friction force [0049] to the modular cabinet (20, Immediate Application), such that the modular cabinet (20, Immediate Application) moves along the guide component (1300, Chu) [Figs 13A-13B].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prefabricated data center computer room as disclosed by Chu to further include a guide component is further arranged inside the containment area, and when the modular cabinet comes into contact with the guide component, the guide component provides a friction force to the modular cabinet, such that the modular cabinet moves along the guide component as disclosed by Leigh. When modified, the guide component allows for coordination regarding the modular cabinets further allowing ease of installation and movement during installation.
In regards to Claims 2-4 and Claims 7-10 of the pending application and Claims 2-4, and 7-10 of ‘871 the scope is the same.
Claims 5-6 are rejected as being dependent on the rejected independent claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Drawings
11. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the channel door frame (as in claim 10) and the containment area (as disclosed in claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
12. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the channel door frame (as in claim 10) and containment area (as disclosed in claim 1) as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
13. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the containment area (as disclosed in claim 1) as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
14. The drawings are objected to because the containment area (as disclosed in claim 1) does not have an element reference number.
Specification
16. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The containment area (as disclosed in claim 1) does not have a reference element. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
17. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to Claim 9, "the two truss structures" in line 3 lack proper antecedent basis. "The two truss structures" has not originally been presented in independent claim 1.
In regards to Claim 10, "the two truss structures" in line 2 lack proper antecedent basis. "The two truss structures" has not originally been presented in independent Claim 1 as Claim 10 is dependent on Claim 9, which is further dependent on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
19. Claims 1-2, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen-Gang Chu (CN 215978665)(Herein Chu) and Leigh et al (US 20220244762 A1)(herein Leigh).
In regards to Claim 1, Chu discloses
A prefabricated data center computer room [Abstract] [Figs 1-3], comprising a modular cabinet (6) [Figs 2-3] and a modular channel [Specific Implementation Examples, Paragraph 3] [Unnumbered, Fig 2] (see examiners comments); wherein
the modular channel [Specific Implementation Examples, Paragraph 3] [Unnumbered, Fig 2] (see examiners comments) comprises a frame body [Abstract, Fig 2] (see examiners comments) comprising a first frame [Unnumbered, Fig 2] (see examiners comments) and a second frame [Unnumbered, Fig 2] (see examiners comments), a preset distance being provided between the first frame [Unnumbered, Fig 2] (see examiners comments) and the second frame [Unnumbered, Fig 2] (see examiners comments) to form a hot channel [Specific Implementation Examples, Paragraph 3] [Unnumbered, Fig 2] (see examiners comments) ;
the first frame [Unnumbered, Fig 2] (see examiners comments) and the second frame [Unnumbered, Fig 2] (see examiners comments) both have a truss structure (2) [Fig 3] , a certain spacing being [Fig 1, showing spacing] provided between the truss structure (2) [Fig 3] and a bottom of the frame body [Abstract, Fig 2] (see examiners comments) to form a containment area [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments) , a plurality of the modular cabinets (6) [Figs 2-3] being provided, and the plurality of modular cabinets (6) [Figs 2-3] being arranged side by side [Fig 3] in the containment area [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments);
However, Chu fails to disclose a guide component is further arranged inside the containment area, and when the modular cabinet comes into contact with the guide component, the guide component provides a friction force to the modular cabinet, such that the modular cabinet moves along the guide component.
Furthermore, Leigh discloses
a guide component (1300) [Figs 13A-13B] is further arranged inside the containment area [Unnumbered, Fig 1, Chu] (see examiners comments), and when the modular cabinet (6, Chu) [Figs 2-3] comes into contact with the guide component (1300) [Figs 13A-13B], the guide component (1300) [Figs 13A-13B] provides a friction force [0049] to the modular cabinet (6, Chu) [Figs 2-3], such that the modular cabinet (6, Chu) [Figs 2-3] moves along the guide component (1300, Chu) [Figs 13A-13B].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prefabricated data center computer room as disclosed by Chu to further include a guide component is further arranged inside the containment area, and when the modular cabinet comes into contact with the guide component, the guide component provides a friction force to the modular cabinet, such that the modular cabinet moves along the guide component as disclosed by Leigh. When modified, the guide component allows for coordination regarding the modular cabinets further allowing ease of installation and movement during installation.
In regards to Claim 2, Chu discloses
The prefabricated data center computer room [Abstract] [Figs 1-3] according to claim 1, wherein the frame body [Abstract, Fig 2] (see examiners comments) further comprises at least four pairs of support rods (1,8, Opposite ends of each frame) positioned at four corners [Fig 1] of the frame body [Abstract, Fig 2] (see examiners comments), respectively; and
one end of each [Figs 1-2] of the at least four pairs of support rods (1,8, Opposite ends of each frame) is connected to the truss structure (2) [Figs 1-2, showing connected], and other end of each [Figs 1-2] of the at least four pairs of support rods (1,8, Opposite ends of each frame) is placed on ground [Fig 1].
In regards to Claim 7, Chu discloses
The prefabricated data center computer room [Abstract] [Figs 1-3] according to claim 1, wherein the truss structure (2) [Fig 3] at least comprises two truss pieces (2) [Fig 3] [See Chu, specific implementation examples; Paragraph 2]. However, fails to discloses the two truss pieces are detachable connected to each other.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the two truss pieces of Chu to have detachable connecting mechanisms (bolts, screws, etc.) in order to detach and reattach the two separate truss pieces. Additionally, modifying it so allows for breakdown for easier shipping/transportation In general, it has been held that making separable is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522.
In regards to Claim 8, Chu discloses
The prefabricated data center computer room [Abstract] [Figs 1-3] according to claim 7, wherein a reinforcing rod (3) is arranged on each of the two truss pieces (2) [Fig 3] [See Chu, specific implementation examples; Paragraph 2] to place a cable (5) [Fig 2, “Wiring Bridge”] [Specific Implementation Example, Paragraph 8]
In regards to Claim 9, Chu discloses
The prefabricated data center computer room [Abstract] [Figs 1-3] according to claim 1, wherein the modular channel [Specific Implementation Examples, Paragraph 3] [Unnumbered, Fig 2] (see examiners comments) further comprises baffles (11) , and the plurality of baffles (11) jointly constitute sidewalls (11) of the hot channel [Specific Implementation Examples, Paragraph 3] [Unnumbered, Fig 2] (see examiners comments). However, fails to disclose a plurality of baffles are detachably connected to each of opposite sides of the two truss structures.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the truss system of Chu to be detachably connected by baffles on both sides of each truss in order to create a sealed wire channel. Additionally, in reference to Chu the wiring from the wiring frame would be exposed to the elements on more than one side. Furthermore, as it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143 (E).
In regards to Claim 10, Chu discloses
The prefabricated data center computer room [Abstract] [Figs 1-3] according to claim 9, wherein ends of the two truss structures (2) [Fig 3] are connected (3) to form a channel door frame [Specific Implementation Examples, Paragraph 3] ; and
a baffle (11) is arranged on the channel door frame [Unnumbered, Fig 2], the baffle (11) being configured to cover the channel door frame [Unnumbered, Fig 2] [Covered on the back end].
20. Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen-Gang Chu (CN 215978665)(Herein Chu) and Leigh et al (US 20220244762 A1)(herein Leigh) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lu Song (CN 111472576) .
In regards to Claim 3, Chu discloses
The prefabricated data center computer room [Abstract] [Figs 1-3] according to claim 2. However, fails to discloses wherein a bottom of each of the at least four pairs of support rods is detachably connected to a support leg; and a first bolt hole site is provided on the support leg.
Furthermore, Song discloses
wherein a bottom [Fig 1, Chu] of each of the at least four pairs of support rods (1,8, Opposite ends of each frame, Chu) is detachably [Specific Implementation Examples, Paragraph 1 “one end of the support column fixedly installed on the mounting plate through the bolt”] connected to a support leg (3); and
a first bolt hole site (4) is provided on the support leg (3).
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modular data center room as disclosed by Chu to further include a bottom of each of the at least four support rods is detachably connected to a support leg; and a first bolt hole site is provided on the support leg. When modified, the support leg gives the overall frame structure an additionally, stability mechanism further providing support to the frame.
In regards to Claim 4, Chu discloses
The prefabricated data center computer room [Abstract] [Figs 1-3] according to claim 3, wherein a bottom [Fig 1] of the truss structure (2) [Fig 3] is provided with a plurality of second bolt hole sites (4, Song) configured to connect the at least four pairs of support rods (1,8, Opposite ends of each frame).
In regards to Claim 5, Chu as modified discloses
The prefabricated data center computer room [Abstract] [Figs 1-3] according to claim 4.
Leigh discloses wherein the guide component (1300) [Figs 13A-13B] at least comprises a guide base [Unnumbered, Fig 13A] (see examiners comments) and a plurality of guide rollers (1306, 1307) [Figs 13A-13B] , each of the plurality of guide rollers (1306, 1307) [Figs 13A-13B] being rotatably arranged [Fig 13B showing rotatably arranged] on the guide base [Unnumbered, Fig 13A] (see examiners comments); and
when the modular cabinet (6, Chu) [Figs 2-3] is moved within the containment area [Unnumbered, Fig 1, Chu] (see examiners comments), the guide roller (1306, 1307) [Figs 13A-13B] comes into contact [0049, Explaining coming into contact] with a sidewall [Unnumbered, Fig 3, Chu] (see examiners comments) of the modular cabinet (6, Chu) [Figs 2-3] and rotates as the modular cabinet (6, Chu) [Figs 2-3] moves to provide the friction force [0049] to the modular cabinet (6, Chu) [Figs 2-3].
In regards to Claim 6, Chu discloses
The prefabricated data center computer room [Abstract] [Figs 1-3] according to claim 5, wherein certain spacing [Fig 2, Showing Spacing] is provided between each pair of the at least four pairs of support rods (1,8, Opposite ends of each frame), two ends [Unnumbered, see examiners comments, Leigh] of the guide base [Unnumbered, Fig 13A, Leigh] (see examiners comments) being connected [as modified, Leigh] to two of the same pair of the at least four pairs of support rods (1,8, Opposite ends of each frame), respectively; and
when the sidewall [Unnumbered, Fig 3] (see examiners comments) of the modular cabinet (6) [Figs 2-3] comes into contact [as modified] with each of the plurality of guide rollers (1306, 1307, Leigh) [Figs 13A-13B], the modular cabinet (6) [Figs 2-3] moves along the guide base [Unnumbered, Fig 13A, Leigh] (see examiners comments).
Examiners comments
Chu, Figure 1
Chu, Figure 2
Leigh, Figure 13
Conclusion
21. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See PTO 892.
/Z.K.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635