DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 2-22 are pending in the instant application and subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – Withdrawn
The prior rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vishnudas (U.S. Patent No. 11,091,447 B2) has been overcome by Applicant’s amendment of claim 1 has been overcome by Applicant’s amendment of claim 1, and is accordingly withdrawn. Specifically, Applicant’s amendment of claim 1 to further limit the scope of cancers to be treated in the claimed method to cancers that are not disclosed as treatable by Vishnudas has overcome the prior rejection.
The prior provisional rejection of claim 1 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/711,570 has been overcome by Applicant’s amendment of claim 1, and is accordingly withdrawn. Specifically, Applicant’s amendment of claim 1 to further limit the scope of cancers to be treated in the claimed method to a Markush group that does not include gastric cancer has overcome the prior rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 – Maintained
The prior rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vishnudas (U.S. Patent No. 11,091,447 B2) is maintained. Applicant has traversed the prior rejection on the grounds that Vishnudas does not disclose that breast cancer is a P-gp-mediated resistant cancer; however, the property of being a P-gp-mediated resistant cancer is an inherent property of breast cancer, and would have been recognizable to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as this was known in the art in advance of the effective filing date of the instant application. See, for example, Clark (Clarke, R., et al.; Seminars in Oncology, v32, Supplement 7, ppS9-S15; 2005). Clark teaches that exposure of previously untreated breast cancer to anticancer drugs is often followed by acquisition of multidrug resistance, and that one of the more widely studied mechanisms of drug resistance is the function of P-glycoprotein (P-gp), a membrane transporter with a wide range of substrates, including several anticancer agents, and a member of the ATP-binding cassette superfamily of proteins, and that P-gp expression is detected in a significant percentage of breast cancers (Abstract). Thus, the attribute of being a P-gp mediated resistant cancer is an inherent attribute of breast cancer, and was known well in advance of the effective filing date of the instant application.
Claim 10 is anticipated by Vishnudas.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vishnudas (U.S. Patent No. 11,091,447 B2).
Claim 10 is drawn to a method of treating a P-gp-mediated resistant cancer comprising administering to a subject in need thereof, a therapeutically effective amount of 2-(difluoromethoxy)-N-[[5-(2-methoxyphenyl)-1H-1,2,4-triazol-3-yl]methyl]benzamide, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
Vishnudas discloses methods of treating cancers, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a compound disclosed therein to a subject in need thereof, including breast cancer (Col. 8, lines 8-35), and discloses the compound 2-(difluoromethoxy)-N-[[5-(2-methoxyphenyl)-1H-1,2,4-triazol-3-yl]methyl]benzamide as compound “32” (Col. 65, Table 7; and Col. 83, lines 1-18). Vishnudas does not disclose that breast cancer is a cancer that is a P-gp-mediated resistant cancer; however, a person of ordinary skill in the art would at once recognize that breast cancer is a P-gp-mediated resistant cancer, as this is an inherent property of breast cancer that is known in the art – see, for example, Clark (Clarke, R., et al.; Seminars in Oncology, v32, Supplement 7, ppS9-S15; 2005), who teaches a review on multidrug resistance in regard to P-Glycoprotein and breast cancer. Clark teaches that exposure of previously untreated breast cancer to anticancer drugs is often followed by acquisition of multidrug resistance, and that one of the more widely studied mechanisms of drug resistance is the function of P-glycoprotein (P-gp), a membrane transporter with a wide range of substrates, including several anticancer agents, and a member of the ATP-binding cassette superfamily of proteins, and that P-gp expression is detected in a significant percentage of breast cancers (Abstract).
Thus, claim 10 is anticipated by the disclosure of Vishnudas.
Double Patenting – Maintained
The prior rejection of claims 1 and 3-22 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-6 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,091,447 B2 (hereafter referred to as “Vishnudas”) is maintained. Applicant has attested, within the Remarks letter dated 07/31/2026, to the submission of a Terminal Disclaimer over Vishnudas. However, no such Terminal Disclaimer is found on file for the instant application.
Reiterated Rejection:
Claims 1 and 3-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-6 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,091,447 B2 (hereafter referred to as “Vishnudas”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of Vishnudas claim the same compound1 (or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof) that is required for the method(s) claimed in each/all of the instant claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.J.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629
1 2-(difluoromethoxy)-N-[[5-(2-methoxyphenyl)-1H-1,2,4-triazol-3-yl]methyl]benzamide