DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR 10-2023-0111872, filed on 08-25-2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2025 and 02/14/2025, and 04/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informality: "An inner portion" should with the inner portion of the terminal introduced in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 11 recites the limitation “the beading part” in line 6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim should be amended to introduce the term properly, for example, by reciting “a beading part.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jo et al. (US 2024/0021958 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jo discloses a secondary battery comprising:
an electrode assembly comprising a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator, and wound to have a hollow part at a center thereof (Figures 2 – 4, [0015]; Jo discloses a wound electrode assembly with a hollow part core “C”);
a can having a cylindrical shape, of which a first surface is closed, and a second surface is open to accommodate the electrode assembly, the can being electrically connected to the first electrode plate; a cap plate coupled to the second surface of the can ([0015-0016]);
and a terminal passing through the first surface of the can and comprising an inner portion supported inside the can and an outer portion supported outside the can, the terminal being electrically connected to the second electrode plate, wherein the hollow part of the electrode assembly has a diameter less than a diameter of the inner portion of the terminal. (Figure 4, [0044]; Jo discloses core C narrower than the inner terminal (Figure 4), which reasonably shows the claimed relative diameter relationship. Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972) MPEP 2125).
Regarding claim 4, Jo discloses the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1. Jo further discloses wherein the diameter of the inner portion of the terminal is less than a diameter of the outer portion of the terminal. (Figure 4, [0169] - the outer flange portion 50b is exposed to the outside of the battery housing 20. The outer flange portion 50b may be disposed at approximately the center of the upper surface of the battery housing 20. The maximum width of the outer flange portion 50b may be larger than the maximum width of the hole formed in the battery housing 20 by the penetration of the terminal 50, as shown in Figure 4 below).
Figure 4.
Regarding claim 5, Jo discloses the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1. Jo further discloses wherein the can comprises a through-hole in the first surface thereof, and the terminal is installed by being deformed to have a diameter greater than that of the through-hole after being inserted into the through-hole from the outside of the can in a state in which the inner portion of the terminal has a diameter less than that of the through-hole. (Figure 4 and 5B-5E, [0167] - a through-hole formed on top of the battery housing 20. For example, terminal 50 may pass through approximately the center of the closed portion formed on top of the battery housing 20. That is, the battery housing 20 may have the through-hole at the closed portion provided on top of the battery housing 20. The terminal 50 may be 5 inserted or penetrated into the battery housing 20 through the through-hole. Figure 4 shows core C narrower than the inner terminal portion).
Regarding claim 6, Jo discloses the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1. Jo further discloses wherein the first electrode plate comprises a coating portion coated with an active material on a corresponding base material and a non-coating portion that is not coated with the active material, wherein the non-coating portion of the first electrode plate is arranged to face the second surface of the can, and the second electrode plate comprises a coating portion coated with an active material on a corresponding base material and a non-coating portion that is not coated with the active material, wherein the non-coating portion of the second electrode plate is arranged to face the first surface of the can ([0120] - the electrode assembly 10 may be a wound electrode assembly in which the first uncoated region 11 and the second uncoated region 12 having different polarities extend 30 in the opposite directions. That is, the first uncoated region 11 and the second uncoated region 12 may extend and protrude in the opposite directions along the widthwise direction of the electrode assembly 10).
Regarding claim 7, Jo discloses the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1. Jo further discloses wherein the can is configured such that the first surface and a side surface extending from an edge of the first surface are integrated with each other ([0170] – The cylindrical sidewall of the battery housing 20 may be formed as a one piece with the second electrode terminal to prevent discontinuity with the second electrode terminal).
Regarding claim 8, Jo discloses the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1. Jo further discloses wherein the can comprises: a beading part that is concavely recessed inward from a side surface to seat the cap plate; and a crimping part that is bent inward to cover an edge of the cap plate at the side surface so as to fix the cap plate ([0065] - In another aspect of the present disclosure, the battery housing may include a beading portion at an end of the 15 battery housing and adjacent to an open portion formed on a bottom of the battery housing and being press-fitted inwards into the battery housing; and a crimping portion on a side closer to the open portion than the beading portion and 20 being extended and bent toward the open portion).
Regarding claim 9, Jo discloses the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1. Jo further discloses wherein the cap plate comprises a notch configured as a safety vent (Figure 2 and 9, [0190] - the cap 90 may further include a venting portion).
Regarding claim 10, Jo discloses the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1. Jo further discloses further comprising a first current collector plate configured to electrically connect the first electrode plate to the can (Figure 2, 4, and 9, [0167] - the current collector 80 is coupled to the bottom of the electrode assembly 10).
Regarding claim 11, Jo discloses the secondary battery as claimed in claim 10. Jo further discloses wherein the first current collector plate comprises: a flat portion having a shape corresponding to one surface of the electrode assembly; and an extension portion extending from the flat portion such that an edge thereof is in contact with the beading part of the can (Figure 4 and 8, [0183] – The current collector 80 may include at least one tab coupling portion 81 coupled to the second uncoated region 12 and at least one housing coupling portion 82 electrically coupled to the beading portion 21).
Regarding claim 12, Jo discloses the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1. Jo further discloses the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a first gasket between the can and the cap plate (Figure 9, [0191] – the sealing gasket 100 may have an approximately ring shape disposed around the cap 90).
Regarding claim 13, Jo discloses the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1. Jo further discloses further comprising a second current collector plate configured to electrically connect the second electrode plate to the terminal (Figure 4, [0161] – the bent surface is electrically coupled to the first current collector 30, the electrode assembly 10 may be electrically connected to the terminal 50 45 through the first current collector 30).
Regarding claim 14, Jo discloses the secondary battery as claimed in claim 13. Jo further discloses wherein the second current collector plate is in contact with an inner portion of the terminal (Figure 4, [0167] - electrically connected to terminal 50 through the first current collector).
Regarding claim 15, Jo discloses the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1. Jo further discloses the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a second gasket between the can and the terminal ([0172] - the gasket exposure portion 61 is interposed between the outer flange portion 50b of the terminal 50 and the battery housing 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 2, and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. (US 2024/0021958 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Ue et al. (US 2018/0241012 Al).
Regarding claim 2, Jo discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Jo further discloses a battery having an approximately cylindrical shape with the diameter of approximately 46 mm, the height of approximately 110 mm and the ratio form factor 25 of approximately 0.418 (Jo at [0198]). However, Jo is explicitly silent in the specification with respect to the diameter of the hollow part of the electrode assembly being about 0.07 times to about 0.22 times a diameter of the can.
In a similar field of endeavor as applicant, Ue discloses a cylindrical battery, such as a lithium-ion battery, designed to stay safer when overcharged, overheated, or otherwise misused. The battery has a wound power-generation element with a through hole in the center, and that hole can act as a gas passage toward a safety valve (Ue at FIG. 1, FIG. 2A-3C, [0006]). Jo is similar to Ue because it discloses a cylindrical wound structure and includes mechanisms to reduce movement of the electrode assembly during vibration or impact (Jo at [0193]). Ue discloses a cylindrical battery having a center through-hole diameter which is 17% or less than the average outside diameter (Ue at [0093]). Combining the outer diameter of Jo (46 mm) with the center through-hole ratio diameter of Ue (0.17) would fall within the hollow part diameter range of 0.07 to 0.22 mm. The center through-hole ensures mechanical stability and that the internal contents are held in place without excessive movement (Jo at [0193]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to combine the diameter of the outside can of Jo with the center through-hole diameter ratio of Ue to obtain the range claimed. The combination presents use of a known technique to improve a similar device (cylindrical wound battery with a through-hole) in the same way in order to improve the safety of the battery (Jo at [0049]). See MPEP 2143.1.C. As both Jo and Ue relate to cylindrical wound batteries with a through-hole there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, Jo discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Jo further discloses a battery having an approximately cylindrical shape with the diameter of approximately 46 mm, the height of approximately 110 mm and the ratio form factor 25 of approximately 0.418 (Jo at [0198]). However, Jo is explicitly silent in the specification with respect to the diameter of the hollow part of the electrode assembly, being about 3 mm to about 10 mm prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art.
Ue discloses a cylindrical battery having a center through-hole diameter which is 17% or less than the average outside diameter. Combining the outer diameter of Jo (46 mm) with the center through-hole ratio diameter of 0.17 would result in a through-hole diameter of about 7.82 mm, which is within the range of 3 mm – 10 mm. A larger outer diameter coupled with a smaller center through-hole diameter is a known design choice which improves structural integrity and mechanical stability during gas release (Ue at [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to combine the ratio range diameter of the outside can of Jo with the center through-hole diameter ratio of Ue as mere changes in size/proportion present a case of prima facie obviousness as discussed in MPEP 2144.04.IV.A. In this case, one would be motivated to modify the proportion as Jo is silent with respect to a dimension of the center hole prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related art and doing so improves the safety of the device. Moreover, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person's skill. Id. See MPEP 2143.I.C.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. (US 2024/0021958 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2007/0105016 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Jo discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Jo further discloses a through-hole in the center of the electrode assembly, however, is explicitly silent with respect to further comprising a pin inserted in the hollow part of the electrode assembly.
Chang discloses a cylindrical lithium-ion secondary battery with a center pin that is inserted into an electrode assembly that helps hold it in place (Chang et al. Fig. 1-5, [0054]). Adding a center pin to a cylindrical shaped battery would reduce the risk of deformation because it changes how the part responds to external loads. The pin serves as a stabilizer by limiting unwanted motion, maintaining alignment, and absorbing or isolating vibrations. The “impregnation” with a center pin is a targeted sealing and stabilization method that leverages a known, proven technology to improve battery safety, durability, and manufacturability — and its inclusion is a logical, industry-standard practice in modern battery design (Chang at [003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to combine the center pin of Chang in order to stabilize and reduce deformation or “drooping” of a cylindrical secondary battery of Jo with a reasonable chance of success.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Kim (US 20060257735 A1) discloses a center pin gap range about (0.1 mm – 5 mm) and uses the center pin to prevent loosening and deformation of the wound electrode.
Pytlik (US 20230352765 A1) discloses an energy storage cell with electrodes that are arranged offset to each other within the electrode-separator assembly and a contact sheet metal member to reduce deformation.
Chun (US 20250070326 A1) discloses a secondary battery including an electrode assembly wound to have a hollow part at a center with an offset electrode plate.
Moon (EP 4191782 A1) discloses an electrode assembly including a positive electrode plate, a separator, and a negative electrode plate; a cylindrical can accommodating the electrode assembly.
/Patrick O Beckley/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743