Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 10, 13-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Werner et al. (US 7,942,687), hereinafter Werner.
Regarding claim 1, Werner discloses an electrical connector, comprising: at least one contact (body 100, Fig. 1A) having a plurality of protrusions (plurality of hollow stems 120, Fig. 1A), individual protrusions of the plurality of protrusions having: a trunk member (stalk 210, Fig. 1B); and a head portion (bulbous head 230, Fig. 1B) extending from the trunk member, wherein a thickness of the trunk member is less than a thickness of the head portion (see Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 2, Werner discloses the electrical connector of claim 1, wherein the head portion is tapered at a mating end of the at least one contact (see Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 3, Werner discloses the electrical connector of claim 1, wherein the head portion has a first end and a second end, the second end opposite the first end, and the head portion is tapered at each of the first end and the second end (see Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 6, Werner discloses the electrical connector of claim 1, wherein the plurality of protrusions extends in a same direction (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 7, Werner discloses the electrical connector of claim 1, wherein at least one pair of adjacent head portions of the plurality of protrusions is spaced apart by less than a width (distance 430, Fig. 5B) of either of the pair of adjacent head portions (see Fig. 4 and 5B).
Regarding claim 8, Werner discloses the electrical connector of claim 1, wherein a direction of the thickness of the trunk member (outer diameter 352, Fig. 3B) and the head portion (outer diameter 375, Fig. 3B) is perpendicular to an extension direction, the extension direction (central axes 380, Fig. 3B) corresponding to a longest dimension of the individual protrusions (see Fig. 3A-3B).
Regarding claim 10, Werner discloses a pair of mating electrical connectors (first and second interconnecting bodies 410, 510, Fig. 4), comprising: a first connector (first interconnecting body 410, Fig. 4) having a first at least one contact having a first plurality of protrusions (plurality of stems 420, Fig. 4), individual first protrusions of the first plurality of protrusions having: a first trunk member (stem 420, Fig. 4); and a first head portion (head 430a, Fig. 4 above), wherein a thickness of the first trunk member is less than a thickness of the first head portion (see Fig. 3B, 4); and a second connector (second interconnecting body 510, Fig. 4) having a second at least one contact having a second plurality of protrusions (stem 520, Fig. 4), individual second protrusions of the second plurality of protrusions having: a second trunk member (stem 520, Fig. 4); and a second head portion (head 530, Fig. 4), wherein a thickness of the second trunk member is less than a thickness of the second head portion (see Fig. 3B, 4).
Regarding claim 13, Werner discloses the pair of mating electrical connectors of claim 10, wherein a quantity of the first plurality of protrusions is the same as a quantity of the second plurality of protrusions (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Werner discloses the pair of mating electrical connectors of claim 10, wherein the first connector has a first axis (F in Fig. 4), the second connector has a second axis (F in Fig. 4), and the first connector is configured to establish an electrical connection with the second connector when the first axis is misaligned with the second axis (Col. 7, lines 38-39, “heads 230 of first and second pluralities of stems 420, 430 may be laterally offset from one another.”).
Regarding claim 15, Werner discloses an electrical connector, comprising: a base (base 110, Fig. 1A); and at least one contact (body 100, Fig. 1A) coupled to the base, the at least one contact having a plurality of protrusions (plurality of hollow stems 120, Fig. 1A), individual protrusions of the plurality of protrusions having: a trunk member (stalk 210, Fig. 1B); and a head portion (bulbous head 230, Fig. 1B) extending from the trunk member, wherein a thickness of the trunk member is less than a thickness of the head portion (see Fig. 1B, 3B).
Regarding claim 18, Werner discloses the electrical connector of claim 15, wherein the base (base 110, Fig. 1A) is rectangular.
Regarding claim 19, Werner discloses the electrical connector of claim 15, wherein the base (base 110, Fig. 1A) is circular (Col. 4, line 13, “base 110 may take the form of a substrate having a curved profile”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werner (US 7,942,687).
Regarding claim 5, Werner discloses the electrical connector of claim 1.
However, Werner does not explicitly disclose wherein the thickness of the head portion is at least twice the thickness of the trunk member.
Werner does disclose where the thickness of the head portion (head 230, diameter 375, Fig. 3B) is larger than the thickness of the trunk member (stalk 210, diameter 352, Fig. 3B, see Fig. 9A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to size the head portion to be at least twice the size of the trunk member to obtain a desired holding force and mating overlap absent a showing of criticality or unexpected result for the claimed invention. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Regarding claim 17, Werner discloses the electrical connector of claim 15.
However, Werner fails to disclose wherein the at least one contact comprises at least 4 contacts.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the contact of Werner as at least 4 contacts. It is held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art and is not patentable absent a new or unexpected result. Providing at least 4 contacts on the base of Werner is a duplication of the disclosed contact to accommodate the number of contacts required for the connector and the claim recites no new or unexpected result. Applicant’s own specification states no criticality in the number of contacts chosen (Par. 0065, “The particular numbers and use (e.g., power/data) for the contacts is by way of example and not limitation”). See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claim(s) 4 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werner (US 7,942,687), in view of Weaver et al. (US 7,699,635), hereinafter Weaver.
Regarding claim 4, Werner discloses the electrical connector of claim 1.
However, Werner fails to disclose wherein the trunk member comprises a wire.
Weaver teaches wherein the trunk member comprises a wire (conductive bristles 212, 206, Fig. 2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Weaver to modify the invention of Werner to provide an electrical connector wherein the trunk member comprises a wire. One would be motivated to make this modification to provide multiple points of contact for multiple redundant current paths as well as increase the inter-engagement between the connectors.
Regarding claim 11, Werner discloses the pair of mating electrical connectors of claim 10.
However, Werner fails to disclose wherein a quantity of the first plurality of protrusions is greater than a quantity of the second plurality of protrusions.
Weaver teaches wherein a quantity of the first plurality of protrusions (conductive bristles 206, Fig. 2A) is greater than a quantity of the second plurality of protrusions (conductive bristles 212, Fig. 2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Weaver to modify the invention of Werner to provide a pair of mating electrical connectors wherein the first plurality of protrusions is greater than the second plurality of protrusions (Col. 4, line 12-25, “It will be appreciated by one skilled in the art that the number of conductive bristles shown in the accompanying figures is for clarity, and that more or fewer bristles may be included on the busbars 202A-202B and/or mating connectors 208A-208B than shown in FIGS. 2A-2B”). One would be motivated to make this modification to ensure that the engagement area between the first and second mating connectors is increased ensuring reliable connection due to misalignment of the first plurality of protrusions in relation to the second plurality of protrusions.
Regarding claim 12, Werner discloses the pair of mating electrical connectors of claim 11, wherein the quantity of the first plurality of protrusions is at least 7 and the quantity of the second plurality of protrusions is at least 7 (see Fig. 4, each connector has at least 7 protrusions arranged in a 6x6 array).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werner (US 7,942,687), in view of Daily et al. (US 20110097918), hereinafter Daily.
Regarding claim 9, Werner discloses the electrical connector of claim 1.
However, Werner fails to disclose a housing configured to align the at least one contact with a second at least one contact to be mated to the at least one contact.
Daily teaches a housing (housing 45, Fig. 6-7) configured to align the at least one contact (power contact 15, Fig. 6) with a second at least one contact (power contacts 24, Fig. 7) to be mated to the at least one contact (Par. 0044, “A receptacle connector 54, which is suitable for mating with header 44”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Daily to modify the invention of Werner to provide the electrical connector of claim 1 further comprising a housing configured to align the first contact with the second contact. Mating connectors are well known in the art and one would be motivated to make this modification to provide secure attachment of the mating connectors during assembly as well as protecting the contacts from the environment.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werner (US 7,942,687), in view of Mac Mullin (US 6,537,086), hereinafter Mac Mullin.
Regarding claim 16, Werner discloses the electrical connector of claim 15, wherein the at least one contact (body 100, Fig. 1A) is a first at least one contact.
However, Werner fails to disclose a second at least one contact; and at least one dielectric member coupled to the base in a space between the first at least one contact and the second at least one contact.
Mac Mullin teaches a second at least one contact (signal contact unit 30 adjacent to grounding contact 30, Fig. 3, 10); and at least one dielectric member (partition 13 of dielectric body 10, Fig. 9-10) coupled to the base (body 10) in a space (passageways 11, Fig. 10-11) between the first at least one contact and the second at least one contact (see Fig. 9-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Mac Mullin to modify the invention of Werner to provide an electrical connector having a first and second contact wherein at least one dielectric member coupled to the base between the first and second contact is positioned. One would be motivated to make this modification to electrically isolate the contacts from one another and maintain their relative spacing.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werner (US 7,942,687), in view of Orstad et al. (US 5,697,805), hereinafter Orstad.
Regarding claim 20, Werner discloses the electrical connector of claim 15.
However, Werner fails to disclose an alignment structure comprising the base, the alignment structure further comprising at least one side, and the at least one side comprises at least one opening.
Orstad teaches an alignment structure comprising the base, the alignment structure (blind mate assist shroud 40, Fig. 1) further comprising at least one side (angled walls 56, Fig. 1), and the at least one side comprises at least one opening (opening 52, central opening 55, Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Orstad to modify the invention of Werner to provide an alignment structure comprising at least one side and the one side comprising at least one opening. One would be motivated to make this modification to aid in the proper alignment of the mating connectors during installation. Alignment structures are well known in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Urbish et al. (US 5,694,296) discloses a multipoint electrical interconnection having deformable J-hooks including a plurality of electrically conductive hooks on a substrate.
Ales et al. (US 7,946,869) discloses a conductive hook and loop attachment for a printed circuit board having a plurality of conductive protrusions to interface with loops.
Werner et al. (US 7,997,921) discloses a plurality of connecting elements projecting from a surface having a mushroom shaped contact projecting from a surface.
Werner et al. (US 8,152,549) discloses a plurality of connecting elements in a stem design for connecting to a mating connector of the same type.
/JEFFREY MOUNTAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834