DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amended claims filed on 16 June 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 11-18, have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The present rejection relies on Park in view of Lee, and further view of Xiong and/or Jia, as applicable. Park, Lee, and Jia were not replied upon in the prior rejection of record. Although Xi was previously cited, Xi is relied upon in the present rejection in combination with the newly applied references. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments directed to the prior rejection do not address the present grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 12-15, and 17-18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2026/0173134 A1) (hereinafter Park) in view of Lee (US 20260052513 A1) (hereinafter Lee).
In regards to claim 1 and 12, Park-Lee teaches an apparatus/method at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more processors (Park, fig.23, [0043]-[0103], [0104]-[0189], [0190]-[0270], [0271]-[0327], [0328]-[0380], [0381]-[0403], [0404]-[0422]: [0378] at least one processor; and at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions.); and
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors and storing processor- executable code that, when executed by the one or more processors, is configured to cause the apparatus to (Park, fig.23, [0043]-[0103], [0104]-[0189], [0190]-[0270], [0271]-[0327], [0328]-[0380], [0381]-[0403], [0404]-[0422]: [0378] at least one processor; and at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions.):
perform, in a shared radio frequency band, a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure for a channel occupancy time (COT) (Park, fig.4, fig. 6-8, fig. 10, fig. 12-13, fig. 16-19, [0043]-[0103], [0104]-[0189], [0190]-[0270], [0271]-[0327], [0328]-[0380], [0381]-[0403], [0404]-[0422]: [0195] In the present disclosure, channel occupancy time (COT) may refer to time domain resources obtained by the base station or the UE after LBT success. It may be shared between the base station (or the UE) and the UE (or the base station) that obtained the CO, and this may be referred to as COT sharing. Depending on the initiating device, this may be referred to as gNB-initiated COT or UE-initiated COT. [0244] The type 2B DL CAP is applicable to transmission(s) performed by the base station after a gap of 16 us from transmission(s) by the UE within a shared channel occupancy time. In the type 2B DL CAP, the base station may perform transmission immediately after the channel is sensed to be idle for T.sub.f=16 us. T.sub.f includes a sensing slot within 9 us from the end of the duration. The type 2C DL CAP is applicable to transmission(s) performed by the base station after a maximum of 16 us from transmission(s) by the UE within the shared channel occupancy time. In the type 2C DL CAP, the base station does not perform channel sensing before performing transmission.);
…based on a timing associated with the LBT procedure indicating a clearance… (Park, fig.4, fig. 6-8, fig. 10, fig. 12-13, fig. 16-19, [0043]-[0103], [0104]-[0189], [0190]-[0270], [0271]-[0327], [0328]-[0380], [0381]-[0403], [0404]-[0422]: [0267] the type 2A (also referred to as Cat-2 LBT (one shot LBT) or one-shot LBT) may be 25 usec one-shot LBT. In this case, transmission may start immediately after idle sensing for at least a 20 usec gap. The type 2A may be used to initiate transmission of SSB and non-unicast DL information. That is, the UE may sense a channel for 25 usec within COT, and if the channel is idle, the UE may attempt to transmit data by occupying the channel. [0268] For example, the type 2B may be 16 usec one-shot LBT. In this case, transmission may start immediately after idle sensing for a 16 usec gap. That is, the UE may sense a channel for 16 usec within COT, and if the channel is idle, the UE may attempt to transmit data by occupying the channel. [0273] the UE may perform contention with other UEs on an unlicensed band at the last time within a synchronized frame boundary (or a fixed frame period (FFP)) (e.g., certain time before the start of the next FFP (or starting time)). In addition, if the UE occupies a channel within a fixed frame period (FFP), the UE may transmit data. The data transmission should complete before the next FFP begins. The UE may perform type 2 series LBT operation within the FFP. For example, within the FFP, the UE may not perform random backoff-based LBT, and the UE may sense a channel for a short period of time and perform data transmission if the channel is idle. [0274] In SL-U, a UE may first need to occupy a channel in a sidelink unlicensed band to transmit SL data…a UE may perform LBT …to find a channel of an unlicensed band that is not occupied. If a UE performing LBT finds a channel that is not occupied by other UEs, it may occupy the channel and may perform SL transmission (e.g., SL data transmission).);
transmit, during the COT, sidelink information to a second UE via a sequence of slots, the sequence of slots …(Park, fig.4, fig. 6-8, fig. 10, fig. 12-13, fig. 16-19, [0043]-[0103], [0104]-[0189], [0190]-[0270], [0271]-[0327], [0328]-[0380], [0381]-[0403], [0404]-[0422]: [0195] In the present disclosure, channel occupancy time (COT) may refer to time domain resources obtained by the base station or the UE after LBT success. It may be shared between the base station (or the UE) and the UE (or the base station) that obtained the CO, and this may be referred to as COT sharing. Depending on the initiating device, this may be referred to as gNB-initiated COT or UE-initiated COT. [0267] the type 2A (also referred to as Cat-2 LBT (one shot LBT) or one-shot LBT) may be 25 usec one-shot LBT. In this case, transmission may start immediately after idle sensing for at least a 20 usec gap. The type 2A may be used to initiate transmission of SSB and non-unicast DL information. That is, the UE may sense a channel for 25 usec within COT, and if the channel is idle, the UE may attempt to transmit data by occupying the channel. [0274] In SL-U, a UE may first need to occupy a channel in a sidelink unlicensed band to transmit SL data. In order to occupy a channel in a sidelink unlicensed band, a UE may perform LBT (e.g., Type 1 LBT: random backoff-based LBT) to find a channel of an unlicensed band that is not occupied by UE. If a UE performing LBT finds a channel that is not occupied by other UEs, it may occupy the channel and may perform SL transmission (e.g., SL data transmission). If an LBT process fails, a UE may re-perform LBT by adjusting parameter values for performing LBT (e.g., adjusting a contention window size, etc.) and continue a process of finding a channel in an unlicensed band that is not occupied by a UE. [0380] obtaining configuration information related to sidelink (SL) listen before talk (LBT) failure recovery including information related to a maximum number of SL LBT failures; performing an SL LBT before an SL transmission in multiple slots in the resource pool; incrementing an SL LBT counter by 1 based on that the SL LBT fails; and triggering consistent SL LBT failure based on that the SL LBT counter reaches the maximum number of SL LBT failures.).
Thus, the system of Park does not explicitly teach select a starting symbol from a group of starting symbols for an initial slot and the group of starting symbols comprising at least a first starting symbol and a second starting symbol, the initial slot having a first total number of symbols in accordance with selecting the first starting symbol as the starting symbol and a second total number of symbols in accordance with selecting the second starting symbol as the starting symbol; and select, for one or more demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) transmissions via a sidelink channel, either a first DM-RS pattern from a group of DM-RS patterns in accordance with the initial slot having the first total number of symbols or a second DM-RS pattern from the group of DM-RS patterns in accordance with the initial slot having the second total number of symbols. Along with including the initial slot.
Similar to the system of Park, Lee teaches multiple starting symbols in a slot, where if the UE cannot use the first starting symbol because of LBT failure, it can use the next starting symbol instead, which can be seen as, select a starting symbol from a group of starting symbols for an initial slot (Lee, fig. 8, fig. 11-12, fig. 15-18, fig. 27-3, fig. 39-40, fig. 48, fig. 53b, [0082]-[0151], [0152]-[0224], [0225]-[0278], [0279]-[0349], [0350]-[0423], [0424]-[0500]-[0600], [0601]-[0701], [0702]-[0802], [0803]-[1381]: [1217] additional starting symbol(s) within a slot for PSCCH/PSSCH transmission to handle LBT failure may be introduced. For example, one possible approach may be to support sub-slot-based PSCCH/PSSCH transmission. [1219] there may be support multiple starting positions of slot-based PSCCH/PSSCH transmission. In this case, when UE fails to access channel before the earlier starting position, then the UE may attempt to access the channel for the next starting position for a PSCCH/PSSCH transmission. [1221] performs the next PSSCH transmission with the next starting symbol after UE decide LBT failure for the 1st starting symbol in terms of processing time budget and UE complexity. [1222] since PSCCH transmission may be confined within the PSSCH transmission, if more than one starting positions are allowed, the PSCCH transmission candidates would be also increased. [1223] If additional starting symbol(s) within a slot for slot-based PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is allowed, the PSSCH RX UE may need to perform AGC procedure for each starting symbol, and it may cause throughput degradation.)
Secondly, similar to the system of Park, Lee teaches different starting symbols within a slot and different symbol durations for PSCCH/PSSCH transmission, so selecting a different starting symbol changes how many symbols are available for transmission within the slot, it can use the next starting symbol instead, which can be seen as, the group of starting symbols comprising at least a first starting symbol and a second starting symbol, the initial slot having a first total number of symbols in accordance with selecting the first starting symbol as the starting symbol and a second total number of symbols in accordance with selecting the second starting symbol as the starting symbol (Lee, fig. 8, fig. 11-12, fig. 15-18, fig. 27-3, fig. 39-40, fig. 48, fig. 53b, [0082]-[0151], [0152]-[0224], [0225]-[0278], [0279]-[0349], [0350]-[0423], [0424]-[0500]-[0600], [0601]-[0701], [0702]-[0802], [0803]-[1381]: [1217] two PSSCH transmissions with 7 or 6 symbol duration including AGC symbol and TX-RX switching symbol may be allowed in a slot for normal CP or extended CP, respectively. However, in this case, PSFCH resource(s) cannot be (pre)configured in the SL resource pool since PSSCH DMRS pattern is not defined for the PSSCH symbol duration including AGC symbol less than 5. [1219] there may be support multiple starting positions of slot-based PSCCH/PSSCH transmission. In this case, when UE fails to access channel before the earlier starting position, then the UE may attempt to access the channel for the next starting position for a PSCCH/PSSCH transmission. When UE prepares the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with later starting position after determining LBT failure for the earlier starting position, the processing time budget would not be sufficient. [1221] It may be necessary to carefully investigate the feasibility on that UE prepares and performs the next PSSCH transmission with the next starting symbol after UE decide LBT failure for the 1st starting symbol in terms of processing time budget and UE complexity. Moreover, it may be necessary to ensure the same TB size among PSSCH transmission(s) with different starting symbol(s). [1223] If additional starting symbol(s) within a slot for slot-based PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is allowed, the PSSCH RX UE may need to perform AGC procedure for each starting symbol, and it may cause throughput degradation.).
Finally, similar to the system of Park, Lee teaches different PSSCH symbol durations within a slot and that the applicable PSSCH DM-RS pattern depends on the symbol duration, which can be seen as, select, for one or more demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) transmissions via a sidelink channel, either a first DM-RS pattern from a group of DM-RS patterns in accordance with the initial slot having the first total number of symbols or a second DM-RS pattern from the group of DM-RS patterns in accordance with the initial slot having the second total number of symbols and including the initial slot (Lee, fig. 8, fig. 11-12, fig. 15-18, fig. 27-3, fig. 39-40, fig. 48, fig. 53b, [0082]-[0151], [0152]-[0224], [0225]-[0278], [0279]-[0349], [0350]-[0423], [0424]-[0500]-[0600], [0601]-[0701], [0702]-[0802], [0803]-[1381]: [1217] two PSSCH transmissions with 7 or 6 symbol duration including AGC symbol and TX-RX switching symbol may be allowed in a slot for normal CP or extended CP, respectively. However, in this case, PSFCH resource(s) cannot be (pre)configured in the SL resource pool since PSSCH DMRS pattern is not defined for the PSSCH symbol duration including AGC symbol less than 5. [1218] For sub-slot-based PSCCH/PSSCH transmission, if two PSSCH transmissions with 7-symbol duration including AGC symbol and TX-RX switching period are allowed in a slot (for normal CP case), PSFCH resource(s) cannot be allocated since the proper PSSCH DMRS pattern is not defined.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park with Lee to improve processing throughput, energy efficiency, spectral efficiency (Lee, [0088]) and overall QoS, while reducing costs (Lee, [0088]).
In regards to claim 2 and 13, Lee teaches an apparatus/method at a first user equipment (UE), in which:
Thus, the system of Park does not explicitly teach each of the group of DM-RS patterns is associated with a respective set of DM-RSs; each DM-RS of the respective set of DM-RSs is allocated to a respective symbol position of a group of symbols positions within the initial slot; and the respective symbol position associated with each DM-RS of the set of DM-RSs is relative to the first starting symbol or the second starting symbol in accordance with selecting the first starting symbol or the second starting symbol.
Firstly, similar to the system of Park, Lee teaches different DM-RS patterns, where each pattern defines a respective arrangement of DM-RS symbols, which can be seen as, each of the group of DM-RS patterns is associated with a respective set of DM-RSs (Lee, fig. 8, fig. 11-12, fig. 15-18, fig. 27-3, fig. 39-40, fig. 48, fig. 53b, [0082]-[0151], [0152]-[0224], [0225]-[0278], [0279]-[0349], [0350]-[0423], [0424]-[0500]-[0600], [0601]-[0701], [0702]-[0802], [0803]-[1381]: [0187] DMRS pattern-ceiling (log.sub.2 N.sub.patern) bits, where N.sub.pattern is the number of DMRS patterns configured by higher layer parameter sl-PSSCH-DMRS-TimePattemList [0188] 2.sup.nd-stage SCI format-2 bits as defined in Table 6 [0189] Beta_offset indicator-2 bits as provided by higher layer parameter sl-BetaOffsets2ndSCI [0190] Number of DMRS port-1 bit as defined in Table 7. [0518] a. A new PSSCH DMRS pattern may be required to configure PSCCH/PSSCH/PSFCH within the TTI. [0749] (1) There may be four remaining symbols, and a PSSCH DMRS pattern may be defined.);
Secondly, similar to the system of Park, Lee teaches that the sidelink configuration identifies a starting symbol and a number of symbols within a slot, which define the symbol positions available for sidelink transmission, which can be seen as, each DM-RS of the respective set of DM-RSs is allocated to a respective symbol position of a group of symbols positions within the initial slot (Lee, fig. 8, fig. 11-12, fig. 15-18, fig. 27-3, fig. 39-40, fig. 48, fig. 53b, [0082]-[0151], [0152]-[0224], [0225]-[0278], [0279]-[0349], [0350]-[0423], [0424]-[0500]-[0600], [0601]-[0701], [0702]-[0802], [0803]-[1381]: [0369] i. locationAndBandwith: It may indicate the start position and size of the RB-level granularity. [0370] (1) It may be aligned with the start and end of the RB set. (For a plurality of RB sets, the lowest RB of the lowest starting RB set and the highest RB of the highest RB set). [0371] (2) Intra-band guard locations may be provided by a base station. The RB set itself may be defined in the RAN4 standard on a per-carrier basis. For example, the intra-band guard may not be specified separately. [0372] ii. SCS(subcarrierSpacing) and CP(cyclicPrefix): may indicate numerology. [0373] iii. The above parameters may remain unchanged. [0374] b. sl-LengthSymbols, sl-StartSymbol: may indicate available slots for SL, within a slot.); and
Lastly, similar to the system of Park, Lee teaches different PSSCH symbol durations within a slot and that the applicable PSSCH DM-RS pattern depends on the symbol duration, which can be seen as, the respective symbol position associated with each DM-RS of the set of DM-RSs is relative to the first starting symbol or the second starting symbol in accordance with selecting the first starting symbol or the second starting symbol slot (Lee, fig. 8, fig. 11-12, fig. 15-18, fig. 27-3, fig. 39-40, fig. 48, fig. 53b, [0082]-[0151], [0152]-[0224], [0225]-[0278], [0279]-[0349], [0350]-[0423], [0424]-[0500]-[0600], [0601]-[0701], [0702]-[0802], [0803]-[1381]: [1217] two PSSCH transmissions with 7 or 6 symbol duration including AGC symbol and TX-RX switching symbol may be allowed in a slot for normal CP or extended CP, respectively. However, in this case, PSFCH resource(s) cannot be (pre)configured in the SL resource pool since PSSCH DMRS pattern is not defined for the PSSCH symbol duration including AGC symbol less than 5. [1218] For sub-slot-based PSCCH/PSSCH transmission, if two PSSCH transmissions with 7-symbol duration including AGC symbol and TX-RX switching period are allowed in a slot (for normal CP case), PSFCH resource(s) cannot be allocated since the proper PSSCH DMRS pattern is not defined.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park with Lee to improve processing throughput, energy efficiency, spectral efficiency (Lee, [0088]) and overall QoS, while reducing costs (Lee, [0088]).
In regards to claim 3 and 14, Lee teaches an apparatus/method at a first user equipment (UE), in which:
Thus, the system of Park does not explicitly teach the second DM-RS pattern is the same as the first DM-RS pattern.
Similar to the system of Park, Lee teaches different DM-RS patterns, where each pattern defines a respective arrangement of DM-RS symbols, which can be seen as, the second DM-RS pattern is the same as the first DM-RS pattern (Lee, fig. 8, fig. 11-12, fig. 15-18, fig. 27-3, fig. 39-40, fig. 48, fig. 53b, [0082]-[0151], [0152]-[0224], [0225]-[0278], [0279]-[0349], [0350]-[0423], [0424]-[0500]-[0600], [0601]-[0701], [0702]-[0802], [0803]-[1381]: [1217] two PSSCH transmissions with 7 or 6 symbol duration including AGC symbol and TX-RX switching symbol may be allowed in a slot for normal CP or extended CP, respectively. However, in this case, PSFCH resource(s) cannot be (pre)configured in the SL resource pool since PSSCH DMRS pattern is not defined for the PSSCH symbol duration including AGC symbol less than 5. [1218] For sub-slot-based PSCCH/PSSCH transmission, if two PSSCH transmissions with 7-symbol duration including AGC symbol and TX-RX switching period are allowed in a slot (for normal CP case), PSFCH resource(s) cannot be allocated since the proper PSSCH DMRS pattern is not defined.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park with Lee to improve processing throughput, energy efficiency, spectral efficiency (Lee, [0088]) and overall QoS, while reducing costs (Lee, [0088]).
In regards to claim 4 and 15, Lee teaches an apparatus/method at a first user equipment (UE), in which:
Thus, the system of Park does not explicitly teach execution of the processor-executable code further causes the apparatus to puncture one or more DM-RSs associated with the second DM-RS pattern based on the respective symbol position of each of the one or more DM-RSs being outside a range of symbol positions associated with the initial slot.
Similar to the system of Park, Lee teaches DM-RS locations based on symbol positions and teaches puncturing OFDM symbols, including earlier OFDM symbols. Accordingly, a DM-RS located in a punctured symbol would also be punctured, which can be seen as, execution of the processor-executable code further causes the apparatus to puncture one or more DM-RSs associated with the second DM-RS pattern based on the respective symbol position of each of the one or more DM-RSs being outside a range of symbol positions associated with the initial slot (Lee, fig. 8, fig. 11-12, fig. 15-18, fig. 27-3, fig. 39-40, fig. 48, fig. 53b, [0082]-[0151], [0152]-[0224], [0225]-[0278], [0279]-[0349], [0350]-[0423], [0424]-[0500]-[0600], [0601]-[0701], [0702]-[0802], [0803]-[1381]: [0531] ii. When mapping PSCCH, there may be a need to avoid (possible) PSSCH DMRS locations based on different starting symbols. [0532] c. A form of puncturing some OFDM symbols [0533] i. The first few OFDM symbols may be punctured. [0537] 2. A form where a receiving UE that receives a long TTI transmission, considering the AGC problem (due to the coexistence of short TTI transmissions), punctures a symbol that requires an additional AGC operation to be performed (e.g., no special operation on the part of the transmitting UE). [0569] 2) For example, in terms of information reported via PUCCH, it is necessary to distinguish between a NACK due to the PSFCH transmission of the receiving UE being outside the COT region, or a NACK due to the failure of the receiving UE to decode the PSSCH. [1157] For example, when the concept of COT sharing is adopted, it would be necessary to prioritize resources inside the COT duration to reduce overhead for channel sensing operation. For example, referring to (a) of FIG. 48, when UE performs SL resource selection or re-selection, if there is COT duration available for SL transmission of the UE, the UE may first use resources inside the COT duration as much as possible. If the UE still need to have TX resources, then the remaining TX resources may be selected outside the COT duration. On the other hand, referring to (b) of FIG. 48, it would be possible that the COT duration known to the UE cannot be used for SL transmission of the UE. In this case, to avoid another transmission inside the COT duration, it may be considered that the UE uses resources outside the COT duration for its SL transmission. [1220] Alternatively, for example, it may be considered that the UE prepares multiple OFDM waveforms for multiple starting positions in advance. However, in this case, the UE may need to have sufficient storage to store multiple waveforms with multiple starting positions. Even for this case, it may be necessary to have sufficient processing time budget for switching proper waveforms. Moreover, it may be necessary to check whether or how to ensure enabling the same TB size among PSSCH transmission candidates with different starting positions. To alleviate this problems, it may be considered that the UE punctures some earlier OFDM symbols after determining LBT failure, but this approach also needs to consider whether or how to avoid puncturing 1st SCI and/or 2nd SCI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park with Lee to improve processing throughput, energy efficiency, spectral efficiency (Lee, [0088]) and overall QoS, while reducing costs (Lee, [0088]).
In regards to claim 6 and 17, Park teaches an apparatus/method at a first user equipment (UE), in which:
which each DM-RS of the respective set of DM- RSs is a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) DM-RS or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) DM-RS(Park, fig.4, fig. 6-8, fig. 10, fig. 12-13, fig. 16-19, [0043]-[0103], [0104]-[0189], [0190]-[0270], [0271]-[0327], [0328]-[0380], [0381]-[0403], [0404]-[0422]: [0147] DMRS pattern-ceiling (log.sub.2 N.sub.pattern) bits, where N.sub.pattern is the number of DMRS patterns configured by higher layer parameter sl-PSSCH-DMRS-TimePatternList. [0117] The S-PSS, the S-SSS, and the PSBCH may be included in a block format (e.g., SL synchronization signal (SS)/PSBCH block, hereinafter, sidelink-synchronization signal block (S-SSB)) supporting periodical transmission. The S-SSB may have the same numerology (i.e., SCS and CP length) as a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH)/physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in a carrier, and a transmission bandwidth may exist within a (pre-)configured sidelink (SL) BWP. For example, the S-SSB may have a bandwidth of 11 resource blocks (RBs). For example, the PSBCH may exist across 11 RBs. In addition, a frequency position of the S-SSB may be (pre-)configured. Accordingly, the UE does not have to perform hypothesis detection at frequency to discover the S-SSB in the carrier.).
In regards to claim 7 and 18, Lee teaches an apparatus/method at a first user equipment (UE), in which:
Thus, the system of Park does not explicitly teach an initial symbol of the initial slot is an automatic gain control (AGC) symbol; and each remaining symbol of the initial slot is one of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) symbol or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) symbol.
Similar to the system of Park, Lee teaches using a first symbol of AGC. Lee further teaches using remaining resources for PSCCH/PSSCH transmissions, which can be seen as, an initial symbol of the initial slot is an automatic gain control (AGC) symbol (Lee, fig. 8, fig. 11-12, fig. 15-18, fig. 27-3, fig. 39-40, fig. 48, fig. 53b, [0082]-[0151], [0152]-[0224], [0225]-[0278], [0279]-[0349], [0350]-[0423], [0424]-[0500]-[0600], [0601]-[0701], [0702]-[0802], [0803]-[1381]: [1263] For example, on the time domain resources for S-SSB, unlike NR-U, S-SSB transmission may be performed by a UE of which TX power would be limited. In Rel-16 NR SL, 2-symbol duration of S-PSS and S-SSS could achieve energy combining gain. In that point of view, at least for S-PSS and S-SSS may need to have 2 symbol duration as in Rel-16 NR SL. Moreover, considering that the first symbol of S-SSB is used for AGC, even if 1 symbol duration is used for both S-PSS and S-SSS, only one symbol may be effectively used to decode PSBCH for the 4 symbol duration of S-SSB transmission. It may restrict SL communication coverage and make SL transmissions asynchronous. [1307] When selecting the transmission resource for a plurality of MAC PDU transmissions respectively, it may be determined whether the resource selection performed temporally later is to be performed as a contiguous resource selection. Since PSFCH is supported in NR and HARQ feedback for multiple PSSCHs may be transmitted on a PSFCH resource, which may generate large power, AGC saturation issues may occur when LTE resources occupied prior to the PSFCH resource overlap with NR PSFCH resources.); and
each remaining symbol of the initial slot is one of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) symbol or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) symbol (Lee, fig. 8, fig. 11-12, fig. 15-18, fig. 27-3, fig. 39-40, fig. 48, fig. 53b, [0082]-[0151], [0152]-[0224], [0225]-[0278], [0279]-[0349], [0350]-[0423], [0424]-[0500]-[0600], [0601]-[0701], [0702]-[0802], [0803]-[1381]: [0399] ii. for whether to still use the remaining PRBs in the RB set for PSCCH/PSSCH transmissions. [0400] (1) Here, the method of ensuring the same TBS between the initial transmission and retransmission may be considered. For example, the TBS calculation may not take into account the amount of additional resources used. [0401] iii. For multi-channel transmissions, the guard band between the remaining PRBs and/or the adjacent RB set may be used for transmission. [0414] b. S-SSB slots may be included in the resource pool without being excluded. For example, this may be for multiplexing between S-SSB and PSSCH. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park with Lee to improve processing throughput, energy efficiency, spectral efficiency (Lee, [0088]) and overall QoS, while reducing costs (Lee, [0088]).
Claim 5 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2026/0173134 A1) (hereinafter Park) as applied to claims 1/12 above, and further in view of Xiong et al. (US 20200396744 A1) (hereinafter Xi).
In regards to claim 5 and 16, Park-Xi teaches an apparatus/method at a first user equipment (UE), in which:
the respective set of DM-RSs associated with … (Park, fig.4, fig. 6-8, fig. 10, fig. 12-13, fig. 16-19, [0043]-[0103], [0104]-[0189], [0190]-[0270], [0271]-[0327], [0328]-[0380], [0381]-[0403], [0404]-[0422]: [0147] DMRS pattern-ceiling (log.sub.2 N.sub.pattern) bits, where N.sub.pattern is the number of DMRS patterns configured by higher layer parameter sl-PSSCH-DMRS-TimePatternList).
Thus, Park does not explicitly teach the first DM-RS pattern include three or more DM-RSs.
Similar to the system of Park, Xi teaches using DMRS for PDCCH transmission, wherein the number of DMRS antenna ports may be increased to support multiple PDCCHs, which can be seen as, the first DM-RS pattern include three or more DM-RSs (Xi, fig. 2-3, and fig. 6, [0038]-[0129], [0130]-[0217], [0218]-[0262], [0263]-[0300], [0301]-[0350], [0351]-[0409]: [0068] FIG. 5 illustrates one example of CCE mapping for SC-FDE waveform. In the example, CORESET spans 3 SC-FDE symbols and PDCCH spans 2 SC-FDE symbols. DMRS is located in the first SC-FDE symbol within the CORESET. Based on the time first mapping, CCE index is counted from the first SC-FDE symbol and then the second SC-FDE symbol. [0069] In another embodiment of the disclosure, to further reduce the latency, PDCCH and associated DMRS may be multiplexed in a TDM manner within a SC-FDE symbol. [0070] In one option, first part of the samples in a SC-FDE symbol can be allocated for DMRS and remaining part of the samples in the SC-FDE symbol can be allocated for PDCCH. In one example, the data block or SC-FDE symbol may be evenly split between DMRS and PDCCH. In addition, the CP or GI or UW of the DMRS and PDCCH can be equally split into two parts within a SC-FDE symbol. [0071] FIG. 6 illustrates one example of multiplexing DMRS and PDCCH in a SC-FDE symbol. In the example, SC-FDE waveform with CP is assumed. Further, DMRS and PDCCH are multiplexed in a TDM manner. The length of CP0 and CP1 is half of the length of the CP in SC-FDE symbol. [0072] DMRS Generation for PDCCH with SC-FDE Waveform. [0073] For PDCCH transmission with SC-FDE waveform, given that the DMRS and PDCCH are multiplexed in a TDM manner, the number of DMRS antenna ports (AP) may be increased in order to support multiple PDCCHs in a CORESET.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park with Xi to increase the number of DMRS antenna ports in order to support multiple PDCCHs in a CORESET (Xi, [0073]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20260052513 A1) (hereinafter Lee) as applied to claims 1/12 above, and further in view of Jia et al. (US 20220053523 A1) (hereinafter Jia).
In regards to claim 11, Lee-Jia teaches the apparatus of claim 1:
Thus, the system of Park does not explicitly teach in which the initial slot uses a same final symbol regardless of selecting the first starting symbol or the second starting symbol.
Similar to the system of Park, Lee teaches mapping PSCCH using different starting symbols within a slot, which can be seen as, in which the initial slot uses …regardless of selecting the first starting symbol or the second starting symbol (Lee, fig. 8, fig. 11-12, fig. 15-18, fig. 27-3, fig. 39-40, fig. 48, fig. 53b, [0082]-[0151], [0152]-[0224], [0225]-[0278], [0279]-[0349], [0350]-[0423], [0424]-[0500]-[0600], [0601]-[0701], [0702]-[0802], [0803]-[1381]: [1223] Observation 10: If additional starting symbol(s) within a slot for slot-based PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is allowed, the PSSCH RX UE may need to perform AGC procedure for each starting symbol, and it may cause throughput degradation. [0531] ii. When mapping PSCCH, there may be a need to avoid (possible) PSSCH DMRS locations based on different starting symbols.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park with Lee to improve processing throughput, energy efficiency, spectral efficiency (Lee, [0088]) and overall QoS, while reducing costs (Lee, [0088]).
Thus, the system of Park and Lee do not explicitly teach a same final symbol.
Similar to the system of Lee, Jia teaches that end symbols of multiple transmission units may be the same, which can be seen as, a same final symbol (Jia, fig. 1, fig. 4-6, [0163]-[0226], [0227]-[0297], [0298]-[0345], [0346]-[0385]): [0294] In Table 4, E may also have one or more values. For example, if E has one value, it may be considered that end symbols of the multiple transmission unit are the same. E may have multiple values. For example, E has two values. For multiple consecutive transmission units, it may be considered that end symbols of other transmission units than the last transmission unit in the multiple transmission units are the same; or it may be considered that end symbols of some of the multiple transmission units are the same, and end symbols of other transmission units than the some transmission units are the same. It should be noted that values of K.sub.2, S, and E in Table 4 are all used as examples for description.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park and Lee with Jia to provide a common end symbol for multiple transmission units (Jia, [0294]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 19-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/John Pezzlo/
Primary Examiner, AU 2465B
17 August 2026