Detailed Action
This action is responsive to claims filed on 15 April 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hui et al. (US 2023/0319878 A1) (hereinafter Hui).
Regarding Claim 1, Hui teaches an apparatus:
At a first user equipment (UE), comprising (Hui, Fig. 1B, [0062]- [0073]: [0062] FIG. 1B shows an example communication network 150. The communication network may comprise a mobile communication network. The communication network 150 may comprise, for example, a PLMN operated/managed/run by a network operator. The communication network 150 may comprise one or more of: a CN 152 (e.g., a 5G core network (5G-CN)), a RAN 154 (e.g., an NG-RAN), and/or wireless devices 156A and 156B (collectively wireless device(s) 156). The communication network 150 may comprise, and/or a device within the communication network 150 may communicate with (e.g., via CN 152), one or more data networks (DN(s)) 170. These components may be implemented and operate in substantially the same or similar manner as corresponding components described with respect to FIG. 1A.):
one or more processors (Hui, Fig. 15B, [0201]- [0202]: [0201] FIG. 15B shows example elements of a computing device that may be used to implement any of the various devices described herein, including, for example, the base station 160A, 160B, 162A, 162B, 220, 1504, 3410, 3510, and/or 3610, the wireless device 106, 156A, 156B, 210, 1502, 3210, 3220, 3310, 3320, 3330, 3410, 3420, 3430, 3510, 3520, 3530, 3610, 3620, and/or 3630MAC, or any other base station, wireless device, AMF, UPF, network device, or computing device described herein. The computing device 1530 may include one or more processors 1531, which may execute instructions stored in the random-access memory (RAM) 1533, the removable media 1534 (such as a Universal Serial Bus (USB) drive, compact disk (CD) or digital versatile disk (DVD), or floppy disk drive), or any other desired storage medium. Instructions may also be stored in an attached (or internal) hard drive 1535. The computing device 1530 may also include a security processor (not shown), which may execute instructions of one or more computer programs to monitor the processes executing on the processor 1531 and any process that requests access to any hardware and/or software components of the computing device 1530 (e.g., ROM 1532, RAM 1533, the removable media 1534, the hard drive 1535, the device controller 1537, a network interface 1539, a GPS 1541, a Bluetooth interface 1542, a WiFi interface 1543, etc.). The computing device 1530 may include one or more output devices, such as the display 1536 (e.g., a screen, a display device, a monitor, a television, etc.), and may include one or more output device controllers 1537, such as a video processor. There may also be one or more user input devices 1538, such as a remote control, keyboard, mouse, touch screen, microphone, etc. The computing device 1530 may also include one or more network interfaces, such as a network interface 1539, which may be a wired interface, a wireless interface, or a combination of the two. The network interface 1539 may provide an interface for the computing device 1530 to communicate with a network 1540 (e.g., a RAN, or any other network). The network interface 1539 may include a modem (e.g., a cable modem), and the external network 1540 may include communication links, an external network, an in-home network, a provider's wireless, coaxial, fiber, or hybrid fiber/coaxial distribution system (e.g., a DOCSIS network), or any other desired network. Additionally, the computing device 1530 may include a location-detecting device, such as a global positioning system (GPS) microprocessor 1541, which may be configured to receive and process global positioning signals and determine, with possible assistance from an external server and antenna, a geographic position of the computing device 1530.); and
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors and storing processor-executable code that, when executed by the one or more processors, is configured to cause the apparatus to (Hui, Fig. 15A and 15B, [0192]- [0200], [0201]- [0202]: [0198] The processing system 1508 and the processing system 1518 may be associated with a memory 1514 and a memory 1524, respectively. Memory 1514 and memory 1524 (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518, respectively, to carry out one or more of the functionalities (e.g., one or more functionalities described herein and other functionalities of general computers, processors, memories, and/or other peripherals). The transmission processing system 1510 and/or the reception processing system 1512 may be coupled to the memory 1514 and/or another memory (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) storing computer program instructions or code that may be executed to carry out one or more of their respective functionalities. The transmission processing system 1520 and/or the reception processing system 1522 may be coupled to the memory 1524 and/or another memory (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) storing computer program instructions or code that may be executed to carry out one or more of their respective functionalities. See above for [0201].):
perform, in a shared radio frequency band, a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure for a channel occupancy time (COT) (Hui, Fig. 33, [0461]- [0477]: [0467] Various LBT mechanisms may be implemented. An LBT procedure may or may not be performed by a sending (e.g., transmitting) device, for example, for some signals, in some implementation scenarios, based on some situations, and/or over some frequencies. Category 1 (CAT1), without LBT, may be implemented, for example, in one or more cases. A second wireless device may take over a transmission, without performing a CAT1 LBT, on an unlicensed (shared) band that may be held by a first device (e.g., a base station for DL transmission). Category 2 (CAT2), LBT without random back-off and/or one-shot LBT, may be implemented. A duration of time determining that a channel is idle may be deterministic (e.g., by a regulation). A base station may send (e.g., transmit) an uplink grant indicating a type of LBT (e.g., CAT2 LBT) to a wireless device. CAT1 LBT and CAT2 LBT may be employed for Channel occupancy time (COT) sharing. A base station and/or a wireless device (e.g., one or more wireless devices described herein) may send (e.g., transmit) an uplink grant (resp. uplink control information) comprising a type of LBT. CAT1 LBT and/or CAT2 LBT in an uplink grant and/or uplink control information may indicate, to a receiving device (e.g., a base station, and/or a wireless device), a request to trigger COT sharing. Category 3, (CAT3) LBT with random back-off and a contention window of fixed size, may be implemented. A LBT procedure may comprise one of the following: a sending (e.g., transmitting) entity may draw a random number N within a contention window; a size of a contention window may be specified by a minimum and a maximum value of N; a size of a contention window may be fixed; and/or a random number N may be employed in a LBT procedure to determine a time duration that a channel may be sensed to be idle before a sending (e.g., transmitting) entity sends (e.g., transmits) on the channel. Category 4 (CAT4), LBT with random back-off with a contention window of variable size, may be implemented. A sending (e.g., transmitting) device may draw a random number N within a contention window. A size of contention window may be specified by a minimum and a maximum value of N. A sending (e.g., transmitting) entity may vary a size of a contention window when drawing a random number N. A random number N may be used in a LBT procedure to determine a time duration that a channel may be sensed to be idle before a sending (e.g., transmitting) entity sends (e.g., transmits) on the channel.);
select a first starting symbol or a second starting symbol for an initial slot based on a timing associated with the LBT procedure indicating a clearance, the initial slot having a first total number of symbols in accordance with selecting the first starting symbol and a second total number of symbols in accordance with selecting the second starting symbol (Hui, Fig. 8, [0108]- [0118]: [0109] A single numerology may be used across the entire bandwidth of a carrier (e.g., an NR such as shown in FIG. 8). In other example configurations, multiple numerologies may be supported on the same carrier. NR and/or other access technologies may support wide carrier bandwidths (e.g., up to 400 MHz for a subcarrier spacing of 120 kHz). Not all wireless devices may be able to receive the full carrier bandwidth (e.g., due to hardware limitations and/or different wireless device capabilities). Receiving and/or utilizing the full carrier bandwidth may be prohibitive, for example, in terms of wireless device power consumption. A wireless device may adapt the size of the receive bandwidth of the wireless device, for example, based on the amount of traffic the wireless device is scheduled to receive (e.g., to reduce power consumption and/or for other purposes). Such an adaptation may be referred to as bandwidth adaptation.);
select either a first demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) pattern from a group of DM-RS patterns in accordance with the initial slot having the first total number of symbols or a second DM-RS pattern from the group of DM-RS patterns in accordance with the initial slot having the second total number of symbols (Hui, Fig. 11A, [0131]- [0149]: [0135] The PBCH may use a QPSK modulation and/or forward error correction (FEC). The FEC may use polar coding. One or more symbols spanned by the PBCH may comprise/carry one or more DM-RSs for demodulation of the PBCH. The PBCH may comprise an indication of a current system frame number (SFN) of the cell and/or a SS/PBCH block timing index. These parameters may facilitate time synchronization of the wireless device to the base station. The PBCH may comprise a MIB used to send/transmit to the wireless device one or more parameters. The MIB may be used by the wireless device to locate remaining minimum system information (RMSI) associated with the cell. The RMSI may comprise a System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1). The SIB1 may comprise information for the wireless device to access the cell. The wireless device may use one or more parameters of the MIB to monitor a PDCCH, which may be used to schedule a PDSCH. The PDSCH may comprise the SIB1. The SIB1 may be decoded using parameters provided/comprised in the MIB. The PBCH may indicate an absence of SIB1. The wireless device may be pointed to a frequency, for example, based on the PBCH indicating the absence of SIB1. The wireless device may search for an SS/PBCH block at the frequency to which the wireless device is pointed.); and
transmit, during the COT, sidelink information to a second UE via a sequence of slots, the sequence of slots including the initial slot (Hui, Fig. 33, [0461]- [0477]: [0470] COT sharing may be employed in NR-U. COT sharing may be a mechanism for one or more wireless devices to share a channel that may be sensed as free (idle) by at least one of the one or more wireless devices. One or more first devices may occupy a channel via an LBT, for example, if the channel is sensed as idle based on CAT4 LBT. One or more second devices may share the channel using an LBT (e.g., a 25 μs LBT) within a maximum COT ((M)COT) limit. A (M)COT limit may be given, per priority class, logical channel priority and/or may be wireless device specific. COT sharing may allow a concession for an UL in an unlicensed (shared) band. A base station may send (e.g., transmit) an uplink grant to a wireless device for an UL transmission. A base station may occupy a channel and/or send (e.g., transmit), to one or more wireless devices, a control signal to indicate that the one or more wireless devices may use the channel. A control signal may comprise an uplink grant and/or a particular LBT type (e.g., a CAT1 LBT and/or a CAT2 LBT). One or more wireless devices may determine COT sharing based on an uplink grant and/or a particular LBT type. A wireless device may perform an UL transmission with a dynamic grant and/or a configured grant (e.g., a Type 1, a Type2, and/or an autonomous UL) using a particular LBT (e.g., a CAT2 LBT such as 25 μs LBT), for example, if the wireless device is in a configured period and/or if COT sharing is triggered. COT sharing may be triggered by a wireless device. A wireless device performing an UL transmission based on a configured grant (e.g., a Type 1, a Type2, and/or an autonomous UL) may send (e.g., transmit) an uplink control information indicating the COT sharing (e.g., UL-DL switching within a (M)COT). A starting time of a DL transmission in COT sharing triggered by a wireless device may be indicated in one or more ways. One or more parameters in an uplink control information may indicate a starting time. A resource configuration of configured grants configured and/or activated by a base station may indicate a starting time. A base station may be allowed to perform a DL transmission after or in response to an UL transmission on a configured grant (e.g., a Type 1, a Type 2, and/or an autonomous UL). There may be a delay (e.g., at least 4 ms) between an uplink grant and/or an UL transmission, and/or the delay may be predefined. A delay may be semi-statically configured by a base station, for example, via an RRC message. A delay may be dynamically indicated by a base station, for example, via an uplink grant. A delay may not be accounted for in COT duration.).
Regarding Claim 2, Hui teaches the apparatus of claim 1:
In which: each of the group of DM-RS patterns is associated with a respective set of DM-RSs (Hui, Fig. 11A, [0131]- [0149]: [0144] A PDSCH may comprise one or more layers. The wireless device may assume that at least one symbol with DM-RS is present on a layer of the one or more layers of the PDSCH. A higher layer may configure one or more DM-RSs for a PDSCH (e.g., up to 3 DMRSs for the PDSCH). Downlink PT-RS may be sent/transmitted by a base station and used by a wireless device, for example, for a phase-noise compensation. Whether a downlink PT-RS is present or not may depend on an RRC configuration. The presence and/or the pattern of the downlink PT-RS may be configured on a wireless device-specific basis, for example, using a combination of RRC signaling and/or an association with one or more parameters used/employed for other purposes (e.g., modulation and coding scheme (MCS)), which may be indicated by DCI. A dynamic presence of a downlink PT-RS, if configured, may be associated with one or more DCI parameters comprising at least MCS. A network (e.g., an NR network) may support a plurality of PT-RS densities defined in the time and/or frequency domains. A frequency domain density (if configured/present) may be associated with at least one configuration of a scheduled bandwidth. The wireless device may assume a same precoding for a DM-RS port and a PT-RS port. The quantity/number of PT-RS ports may be fewer than the quantity/number of DM-RS ports in a scheduled resource. Downlink PT-RS may be configured/allocated/confined in the scheduled time/frequency duration for the wireless device. Downlink PT-RS may be sent/transmitted via symbols, for example, to facilitate a phase tracking at the receiver.);
each DM-RS of the respective set of DM-RSs is allocated to a respective symbol position of a group symbols positions within the initial slot (Hui, Fig. 11A, [0131]- [0149]: [0147] One or more SRSs may be sent/transmitted by a wireless device to a base station, for example, for a channel state estimation to support uplink channel dependent scheduling and/or a link adaptation. SRS sent/transmitted by the wireless device may enable/allow a base station to estimate an uplink channel state at one or more frequencies. A scheduler at the base station may use/employ the estimated uplink channel state to assign one or more resource blocks for an uplink PUSCH transmission for the wireless device. The base station may semi-statically configure the wireless device with one or more SRS resource sets. For an SRS resource set, the base station may configure the wireless device with one or more SRS resources. An SRS resource set applicability may be configured, for example, by a higher layer (e.g., RRC) parameter. An SRS resource in a SRS resource set of the one or more SRS resource sets (e.g., with the same/similar time domain behavior, periodic, aperiodic, and/or the like) may be sent/transmitted at a time instant (e.g., simultaneously), for example, if a higher layer parameter indicates beam management. The wireless device may send/transmit one or more SRS resources in SRS resource sets. A network (e.g., an NR network) may support aperiodic, periodic, and/or semi-persistent SRS transmissions. The wireless device may send/transmit SRS resources, for example, based on one or more trigger types. The one or more trigger types may comprise higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC) and/or one or more DCI formats. At least one DCI format may be used/employed for the wireless device to select at least one of one or more configured SRS resource sets. An SRS trigger type 0 may refer to an SRS triggered based on higher layer signaling. An SRS trigger type 1 may refer to an SRS triggered based on one or more DCI formats. The wireless device may be configured to send/transmit an SRS, for example, after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DM-RS if a PUSCH and an SRS are sent/transmitted in a same slot. A base station may semi-statically configure a wireless device with one or more SRS configuration parameters indicating at least one of following: a SRS resource configuration identifier; a number of SRS ports; time domain behavior of an SRS resource configuration (e.g., an indication of periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic SRS); slot, mini-slot, and/or subframe level periodicity; an offset for a periodic and/or an aperiodic SRS resource; a number of OFDM symbols in an SRS resource; a starting OFDM symbol of an SRS resource; an SRS bandwidth; a frequency hopping bandwidth; a cyclic shift; and/or an SRS sequence ID.); and
the respective symbol position associated with each DM-RS of the set of DM-RSs is relative to the first starting symbol or the second starting symbol in accordance with selecting the first starting symbol or the second starting symbol (Hui, Fig. 12B, [0155]-[0158], Fig. 14A, [0184]: [0157] The wireless device may measure a quality of a beam pair link, for example, using one or more reference signals (RSs) comprising one or more SS/PBCH blocks, one or more CSI-RS resources, and/or one or more DM-RSs. A quality of the beam pair link may be based on one or more of a block error rate (BLER), an RSRP value, a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) value, an RSRQ value, and/or a CSI value measured on RS resources. The base station may indicate that an RS resource is QCLed with one or more DM-RSs of a channel (e.g., a control channel, a shared data channel, and/or the like). The RS resource and the one or more DM-RSs of the channel may be QCLed, for example, if the channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread, an average delay, delay spread, a spatial Rx parameter, fading, and/or the like) from a transmission via the RS resource to the wireless device are similar or the same as the channel characteristics from a transmission via the channel to the wireless device.).
Regarding Claim 3, Hui teaches the apparatus of claim 2:
In which the second DM-RS pattern is the same as the first DM-RS pattern (Hui, Fig. 11A [031]- [0149]: [0142] Downlink DM-RSs may be sent/transmitted by a base station and received/used by a wireless device for a channel estimation. The downlink DM-RSs may be used for coherent demodulation of one or more downlink physical channels (e.g., PDSCH). A network (e.g., an NR network) may support one or more variable and/or configurable DM-RS patterns for data demodulation. At least one downlink DM-RS configuration may support a front-loaded DM-RS pattern. A front-loaded DM-RS may be mapped over one or more OFDM symbols (e.g., one or two adjacent OFDM symbols). A base station may semi-statically configure the wireless device with a number/quantity (e.g. a maximum number/quantity) of front-loaded DM-RS symbols for a PDSCH. A DM-RS configuration may support one or more DM-RS ports. A DM-RS configuration may support up to eight orthogonal downlink DM-RS ports per wireless device (e.g., for single user-MIMO). A DM-RS configuration may support up to 4 orthogonal downlink DM-RS ports per wireless device (e.g., for multiuser-MIMO). A radio network may support (e.g., at least for CP-OFDM) a common DM-RS structure for downlink and uplink. A DM-RS location, a DM-RS pattern, and/or a scrambling sequence may be the same or different. The base station may send/transmit a downlink DM-RS and a corresponding PDSCH, for example, using the same precoding matrix. The wireless device may use the one or more downlink DM-RSs for coherent demodulation/channel estimation of the PDSCH.).
Regarding Claim 4, Hui teaches the apparatus of claim 3:
In which execution of the processor-executable code further causes the apparatus to puncture one or more DM-RSs associated with the second DM-RS pattern based on the respective symbol position of each of the one or more DM-RSs being outside a range of symbol positions associated with the initial slot (Hui, Fig. 11A, [0131]- [0153]: [0135] The PBCH may use a QPSK modulation and/or forward error correction (FEC). The FEC may use polar coding. One or more symbols spanned by the PBCH may comprise/carry one or more DM-RSs for demodulation of the PBCH. The PBCH may comprise an indication of a current system frame number (SFN) of the cell and/or a SS/PBCH block timing index. These parameters may facilitate time synchronization of the wireless device to the base station. The PBCH may comprise a MIB used to send/transmit to the wireless device one or more parameters. The MIB may be used by the wireless device to locate remaining minimum system information (RMSI) associated with the cell. The RMSI may comprise a System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1). The SIB1 may comprise information for the wireless device to access the cell. The wireless device may use one or more parameters of the MIB to monitor a PDCCH, which may be used to schedule a PDSCH. The PDSCH may comprise the SIB1. The SIB1 may be decoded using parameters provided/comprised in the MIB. The PBCH may indicate an absence of SIB1. The wireless device may be pointed to a frequency, for example, based on the PBCH indicating the absence of SIB1. The wireless device may search for an SS/PBCH block at the frequency to which the wireless device is pointed.).
Regarding Claim 5, Hui teaches the apparatus of claim 3:
In which the respective set of DM-RSs associated with the first DM-RS pattern include three or more DM-RSs (Hui, Fig. 11A, [0131]- [0153]: [0146] A PUSCH may comprise one or more layers. A wireless device may send/transmit at least one symbol with DM-RS present on a layer of the one or more layers of the PUSCH. A higher layer may configure one or more DM-RSs (e.g., up to three DMRSs) for the PUSCH. Uplink PT-RS (which may be used by a base station for a phase tracking and/or a phase-noise compensation) may or may not be present, for example, depending on an RRC configuration of the wireless device. The presence and/or the pattern of an uplink PT-RS may be configured on a wireless device-specific basis (e.g., a UE-specific basis), for example, by a combination of RRC signaling and/or one or more parameters configured/employed for other purposes (e.g., MCS), which may be indicated by DCI. A dynamic presence of an uplink PT-RS, if configured, may be associated with one or more DCI parameters comprising at least MCS. A radio network may support a plurality of uplink PT-RS densities defined in time/frequency domain. A frequency domain density (if configured/present) may be associated with at least one configuration of a scheduled bandwidth. The wireless device may assume a same precoding for a DM-RS port and a PT-RS port. A quantity/number of PT-RS ports may be less than a quantity/number of DM-RS ports in a scheduled resource. An uplink PT-RS may be configured/allocated/confined in the scheduled time/frequency duration for the wireless device.).
Regarding Claim 6, Hui teaches the apparatus of claim 2:
In which each DM-RS of the respective set of DM-RSs is a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) DM-RS or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) DM-RS (Hui, Figs. 21, 22, 26 and 27, [0256]- [0258], [0265]- [0288]: [0256] FIG. 21 and FIG. 22 show examples of configuration information for sidelink communication. A base station may send (e.g., transmit) one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages to a wireless device for delivering the configuration information for the sidelink communication. Specifically, FIG. 21 shows an example of configuration information for sidelink communication that may comprise a field of SL-UE-SelectedConfigRP. A parameter sl-ThresPSSCH-RSRP-List in the field may indicate a list of 64 thresholds. A wireless device may receive first sidelink control information (SCI) indicating a first priority. The wireless device may have second SCI to be sent (e.g., transmitted). The second SCI may indicate a second priority. The wireless device may select a threshold from the list based on the first priority in the first SCI and the second priority in the second SCI. The wireless device may exclude resources from candidate resource sets based on the threshold (e.g., as described herein in FIG. 26). A parameter sl-MaxNumPerReserve in the field may indicate a maximum number of reserved PSCCH and/or PSSCH resources indicated in SCI. A parameter sl-MultiReserveResource in the field may indicate that a reservation of a sidelink resource for an initial transmission of a TB by SCI associated with a different TB may be allowed, for example, based on or in response to a sensing and resource selection procedure. A parameter sl-ResourceReservePeriodList may indicate a set of possible resource reservation periods (intervals, etc.) (e.g., SL-ResourceReservePeriod) allowed in a resource pool. Up to 16 values may be configured per resource pool. A parameter sl-RS-ForSensing may indicate, for example, if DMRS of PSCCH and/or PSSCH are used for a layer 1 (e.g., physical layer) RSRP measurement in sensing operation. A parameter sl-SensingWindow may indicate the start of a sensing window. A parameter sl-SelectionWindowList may indicate the end of a selection window in a resource selection procedure for a TB with respect to a priority indicated in SCI. Value n1 may correspond to 1*2μ value n5 corresponds to 5*2μ and so on, where μ=0, 1, 2, 3 for subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15, 30, 60, and 120 kHz respectively. A parameter SL-SelectionWindowConfig (e.g., as described in FIG. 22) may indicate a mapping between a sidelink priority (e.g., sl-Priority) and the end of the selection window (e.g., sl-SelectionWindow).).
Regarding Claim 7, Hui teaches the apparatus of claim 1:
In which: an initial symbol of the initial slot is an automatic gain control (AGC) symbol (Hui, Fig. 19, [0222]- [0245]: [0222] FIG. 19 shows an example of sidelink symbols in a slot. A sidelink transmission may be sent (e.g., transmitted) in a slot in the time domain. A wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) data via sidelink. The wireless device may segment the data into one or more transport blocks (TBs). The one or more TBs may comprise different pieces of the data. A TB of the one or more TBs may be a data packet of the data. The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the TB (e.g., the data packet) of the one or more TBs via one or more sidelink transmissions (e.g., via PSCCH and/or PSSCH in one or more slots). A sidelink transmission (e.g., occupying a slot) may comprise SCI. The sidelink transmission may further comprise a TB. The SCI may comprise a 1.sup.st-stage SCI and/or a 2.sup.nd-stage SCI. A PSCCH of the sidelink transmission may comprise the 1.sup.st-stage SCI for scheduling a PSSCH (e.g., the TB). The PSSCH of the sidelink transmission may comprise the 2nd-stage SCI. The PSSCH of the sidelink transmission may further comprise the TB. Sidelink symbols in a slot may or may not start from the first symbol of the slot 1910. The sidelink symbols in the slot may or may not end at the last symbol of the slot 1920. Sidelink symbols in a slot may start from the second symbol of the slot 1930. The sidelink symbols in the slot may end at the twelfth symbol of the slot 1940. A first sidelink transmission may comprise a first automatic gain control (AGC) symbol 1950 (e.g., the second symbol in the slot 1930), a PSCCH 1960-1964 (e.g., in the third, fourth and the fifth symbols in a subchannel in the slot), a PSSCH 1970-1975 (e.g., from the third symbol to the eighth symbol in the slot), and/or a first guard symbol 1980 (e.g., the ninth symbol in the slot). A second sidelink transmission may comprise a second AGC symbol 1955 (e.g., the tenth symbol in the slot), a PSFCH 1990 (e.g., the eleventh symbol in the slot), and/or a second guard symbol 1985 for the second sidelink transmission (e.g., the twelfth symbol in the slot). One or more HARQ feedbacks (e.g., a positive acknowledgement or ACK and/or a negative acknowledgement or NACK) may be sent (e.g., transmitted) via the PSFCH 1990. The PSCCH 1960-1964, the PSSCH 1970-1975, and the PSFCH 1990 may have a different number of subchannels (e.g., a different number of frequency resources) in the frequency domain.); and
each remaining symbol of the initial slot is one of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) symbol or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) symbol (Hui, Fig. 19, [0222]- [0245]: [0223] A 1.sup.st-stage SCI may be SCI format 1-A. The SCI format 1-A may comprise a plurality of fields used for scheduling of a first TB on a PSSCH and a 2.sup.nd-stage SCI on the PSSCH. The following information may be sent (e.g., transmitted) by means of the SCI format 1-A: [0224] A priority of the sidelink transmission. The priority may be a physical layer (e.g., a layer 1) priority of the sidelink transmission. The priority may be determined, for example, based on logical channel priorities of the sidelink transmission; [0225] Frequency resource assignment of a PSSCH; [0226] Time resource assignment of a PSSCH; [0227] Resource reservation period/interval for a second TB; [0228] Demodulation reference signal (DMRS) pattern; [0229] A format of the 2.sup.nd-stage SCI; [0230] Beta_offset indicator; [0231] Number of DMRS port; [0232] Modulation and coding scheme of a PSSCH; [0233] Additional MCS table indicator; [0234] PSFCH overhead indication; and/or [0235] Reserved bits.).
Regarding Claim 8, Hui teaches the apparatus of claim 1:
In which: the first starting symbol is preconfigured as any one of symbols zero to six in the initial slot or set to symbol zero as default (Hui, Fig. 25, [0261]- [0263]: [0263] At least one of time parameters T0, T.sub.proc,0, T.sub.proc,1, T2, and/or PDB may be configured by a base station for a wireless device. The at least one of the time parameters TO, T.sub.proc,0, T.sub.proc,1, T.sub.2, and PDB may be preconfigured for a wireless device. The at least one of the time parameters T0, T.sub.proc,0, T.sub.proc,1, T2, and PDB may be stored in a memory of the wireless device. The memory may be a Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) card. The times n, m, T0, T1, T.sub.proc,0, T.sub.proc,1, T2, T2 min, T3, and PDB, as described herein in FIGS. 24 and 25, may be in terms of slots and/or slot index (e.g., as described herein in FIG. 19).; and
the second starting symbol is preconfigured as any one of symbols three to seven in the initial slot (Hui, Fig. 25, [0261]- [0263]: [0262] A wireless device may determine first resources (e.g., selected resources) 2530 for one or more sidelink transmissions based on the completion of an initial resource selection procedure at a time (n+T1). The wireless device may select the first resources (e.g., selected resources) 2530 from candidate resources in a selection window of initial selection 2520, for example, based on or in response to measurements in the sensing window for initial selection 2510. The wireless device may determine a resource collision between the first resources (e.g., selected resources) 2530 and other resources reserved by another wireless device. The wireless device may determine to drop first resources (e.g., selected resources) 2530 to avoid interference. The wireless device may trigger a resource reselection procedure (e.g., a second resource selection procedure) at or before a time (m−T3). The time period T3 may be a processing delay for the wireless device to complete the resource reselection procedure (e.g., a second resource selection procedure). The wireless device may determine second resources (e.g., reselected resource) 2540 via the resource reselection procedure (e.g., a second resource selection procedure). The start time of the first resources (e.g., selected resources) 2530 may be the time m (e.g., the first resources may be in slot m).).
Regarding Claim 9, Hui teaches the apparatus of claim 8:
In which the second starting symbol is after the first starting symbol (Hui, Fig. 25, [0261]- [0263]: See above for [0262]).
Regarding Claim 10, Hui teaches the apparatus of claim 1:
In which a total number of symbols allocated for the sidelink information, in the initial slot, from the second starting symbol to a final symbol is greater than or equal to six, inclusive of both the second starting symbol and the final symbol (Hui, Fig. 7, [0105]- [0107]: [0105] FIG. 7 shows an example configuration of a frame. The frame may comprise, for example, an NR radio frame into which OFDM symbols may be grouped. A frame (e.g., an NR radio frame) may be identified/indicated by a system frame number (SFN) or any other value. The SFN may repeat with a period of 1024 frames. One NR frame may be 10 milliseconds (ms) in duration and may comprise 10 subframes that are 1 ms in duration. A subframe may be divided into one or more slots (e.g., depending on numerologies and/or different subcarrier spacings). Each of the one or more slots may comprise, for example, 14 OFDM symbols per slot. Any quantity of symbols, slots, or duration may be used for any time interval.).
Regarding Claim 11, Hui teaches the apparatus of claim 1:
In which the initial slot uses a same final symbol regardless of selecting the first starting symbol or the second starting symbol (Hui, Fig. 7, [0105]- [0107]: See above for [0105]).
Regarding Claim 12, Hui teaches a method:
For wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising (Hui, Fig. 1B, [0062]- [0073]: See above for [0062].):
performing, in a shared radio frequency band, a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure for a channel occupancy time (COT) (Hui, Fig. 33, [0461]- [0477]: See above for [0467].);
selecting a first starting symbol or a second starting symbol for an initial slot based on a timing associated with the LBT procedure indicating a clearance, the initial slot having a first total number of symbols in accordance with selecting the first starting symbol and a second total number of symbols in accordance with selecting the second starting symbol (Hui, Fig. 8, [0108]- [0118]: See above for [0109].);
selecting either a first demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) pattern from a group of DM-RS patterns in accordance with the initial slot having the first total number of symbols or a second DM-RS pattern from the group of DM-RS patterns in accordance with the initial slot having the second total number of symbols (Hui, Fig. 11A, [0131]- [0149]: See above for [0135].); and
transmitting, during the COT, sidelink information to a second UE via a sequence of slots, the sequence of slots including the initial slot (Hui, Fig. 33, [0461]- [0477]: See above for [0470].).
Regarding Claim 13, Hui teaches a method of claim 12:
In which: each of the group of DM-RS patterns is associated with a respective set of DM-RSs (Hui, Fig. 11A, [0131]- [0149]: See above for [0144].);
each DM-RS of the respective set of DM-RSs is allocated to a respective symbol position of a group symbols positions within the initial slot (Hui, Fig. 11A, [0131]- [0149]: See above for [0147].); and
the respective symbol position associated with each DM-RS of the set of DM-RSs is relative to the first starting symbol or the second starting symbol in accordance with selecting the first starting symbol or the second starting symbol (Hui, Fig. 12B, [0155]- [0158], Fig. 14A, [0184]: See above for [0157].).
Regarding Claim 14, Hui teaches a method of claim 13:
In which the second DM-RS pattern is the same as the first DM-RS pattern (Hui, Fig. 11A [031]- [0149]: See above for [0142].).
Regarding Claim 15, Hui teaches a method of claim 14:
Further comprising puncturing one or more DM-RSs associated with the second DM-RS pattern based on the respective symbol position of each of the one or more DM-RSs being outside a range of symbol positions associated with the initial slot (Hui, Fig. 11A, [0131]- [0153]: See above for [0135].).
Regarding Claim 16, Hui teaches a method of claim 14:
In which the respective set of DM-RSs associated with the first DM-RS pattern include three or more DM-RSs (Hui, Fig. 11A, [0131]- [0153]: See above for [0146].).
Regarding Claim 17, Hui teaches a method of claim 13:
In which each DM-RS of the respective set of DM-RSs is a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) DM-RS or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) DM-RS Hui, Figs. 21, 22, 26 and 27, [0256]- [0258], [0265]- [0288]: See above for [0256].)
Regarding Claim 18, Hui teaches a method of claim 12:
In which: an initial symbol of the initial slot is an automatic gain control (AGC) symbol (Hui, Fig. 19, [0222]- [0245]: See above for [0222].); and
each remaining symbol of the initial slot is one of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) symbol or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) symbol (Hui, Fig. 19, [0222]- [0245]: See above for [0223].).
Regarding Claim 19, Hui teaches a method of claim 12:
In which: the first starting symbol is preconfigured as any one of symbols zero to six in the initial slot or set to symbol zero as default (Hui, Fig. 25, [0261]- [0263]: See above for [0263].); and
the second starting symbol is preconfigured as any one of symbols three to seven in the initial slot (Hui, Fig. 25, [0261]- [0263]: See above for [0262].).
Regarding Claim 20, Hui teaches a method of claim 19:
In which the second starting symbol is after the first starting symbol (Hui, Fig. 25, [0261]- [0263]: See above for [0262].).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeon et al. (US-20230354425) which discloses the process of COT sharing in sidelink communication.
Yang et al. (US -20210314984) which discloses the system for supporting DMRS configuration groups.
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468