DETAILED ACTION
According to paper filed April 15th 2024, claims 1-24 are pending for examination with a May 6th 2019 priority date under 35 USC §120 & 35 USC §119(e).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,960,701. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim the similar features, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
Most of all, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (US 2018/0157452), hereinafter Nelson, and further in view of Murai (US 2018/0088537), hereinafter Murai.
Claim 1
“a computer system configured to communicate with a display device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for” Nelson [0006] discloses “at least one processor and a memory” and Nelson [0081] discloses “a touch sensitive screen”:
“displaying, via the display device, a user interface at a first time of a day, wherein displaying the user interface at the first time of day includes concurrently displaying” Murai Figure 3C depicts a first time of day, e.g. 8 o’clock:
“a first numeral representing a first hour of the first time of day” Murai Figure 3C depicts a first time of day, e.g. 8 o’clock, and Murai [0037] teaches an analog timepiece display mode and a digital timepiece display mode;
“a first background that includes a first appearance, wherein the first background is different from the first numeral, and wherein the first appearance of the first background changes over time to represent a change in a first subunit of time of the first hour as time progresses from the first time of day” Nelson Figure 3A depicts a first background (i.e., 318) and a first appearance (i.e., 314), or vice versa; the first appearance of the first background changes over time to represent a change of time (e.g., a moon image or a moon image with a sun image);
“after displaying the user interface at the first time of day, displaying, via the display device, the user interface at a second time of day that is different from the first time of day, wherein displaying the user interface at the second time of day includes concurrently displaying: a second numeral representing a second hour of the second time of day” Nelson Figure 3A depicts a first time of day and Nelson Figure 3B depicts a second time of day;
“a second background that includes a second appearance, wherein the second appearance is different from the first appearance, wherein the second background is different from the second numeral, and wherein the second background changes over time to represent a change in a second subunit of time of the second hour as time progresses from the second time of day” Nelson Figures 3A-3B depict two different background (i.e., 314) representing changes of the time of day as time progresses.
Nelson and Murai disclose analogous art. Murai is analogous because it is in the field of a control section displaying a plurality of pointer images based on time information acquired from a clock circuit. Nelson does not spell out the “a first numeral representing a first hour of the first time of day” as recited above. The feature is taught in Murai. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time the present invention was made to incorporate said feature of Murai (Murai [0037]: an analog timepiece display mode and a digital timepiece display mode) into Nelson to enhance its time displaying functions via a dynamic user interface.
Claim 2
“wherein the first subunit of time of the first hour is seconds and the second subunit of time of the second hour is seconds” Murai Figure 2A depicts a hour hand, a minute hand, and a second hand.
Claim 3
“updating the first appearance of the first background over time to represent the change in the first subunit of time of the first hour as time progresses from the first time of day, including: at the first time of day: displaying a first portion of the first background at a first size” Nelson Figure 3B depicts a first portion of the sun and a first portion of the moon when the time of day progresses;
“displaying a second portion of the first background that is different from the first portion of the first background at a second size; and at a third time of day that is after the first time of day: displaying the first portion of the first background at a third size that is different from the first size; and displaying the second portion of the first background at a fourth size that is different from the second size” Murai Figure 3C depicts a first time of day, e.g. 8 o’clock.
Claim 4
“the first portion of the first background is positioned above the second portion of the first background relative to a display orientation of the user interface” Murai Figure 2A depicts a first portion (i.e., the round shaped clock) with a flower-like background, which is above the second portion (i.e., POINTER MOVEMENT AREA);
“the third size of the first portion of the first background is larger than the first size of the first portion of the first background” Murai Figure 2A depicts a third portion (i.e., TIMEPIECE DISPLAY AREA) of the timepiece display, which is larger than the first portion (i.e., the round shaped clock) with a flower like background.
Claim 5
“updating the second appearance of the second background over time to represent the change in the second
subunit of time of the second hour as time progresses from the second time of day, including: at the second time of day: displaying a first portion of the second background at a first size” Nelson Figures 3A & 3B depict a first time of day and a second time of day, each of the time is displayed with different backgrounds;
“displaying a second portion of the second background that is different from the first portion of the second background at a second size; and at a third time of day that is after the second time of day: displaying the first portion of the second background at a third size that is different from the first size; and displaying the second portion of the second background at a fourth size that is different from the second size” Nelson Figure 3C depicts a third time of day with a background image of a full size of sun; from Figure 3A to Figure 3B to Figure 3C, the moon is shown in the full size of the moon in Figure 3A that transits into a partial image of moon and a partial image of sun of Figure 3B when the time progresses into the morning of the day, then in Figure 3C, a full size of the sun shown to indicate day light hours, which progresses later into Figure 3D with a partial sun and a partial moon indicating a night light forthcoming.
Claim 6
“the first portion of the second background is positioned above the second portion of the second background relative to a display orientation of the user interface, and the third size of the first portion of the second background is larger than the first size of the first portion of the second background” Nelson [0004] teaches a rendering of the original watch face GUI is decomposed into multiple image layers of moving and non-moving graphical parts (e.g., ‘sprite graphics’). The image layers are analyzed to determine specific positions, scales or sizes, opacities, colors, rotations, whether parts are visible or invisible at different times”.
Claim 7
“displaying, within the first hour of the first time of day, an ongoing amination of a change in the first appearance of the first background over time to represent the change in the first subunit of time of the first hour as time progresses from the first time of day” Murai [0041] teaches an image of a flower bud that gradually blooms in conjunction with the movement of a minute hand or an hour hand;
“displaying, within the second hour of the second time of day, an ongoing animation of a change the second appearance of the second background over time to represent the change in the second subunit of time of the second hour as time progresses from the second time of day” Murai [0041] teaches an image of a flower bud that gradually blooms in conjunction with the movement of a minute hand or an hour hand.
Claim 8
“an appearance of the first numeral representing the first hour of the first time of day does not change over time, and an appearance of the second numeral representing the second hour of the second time of day does not change over time” Nelson [0064] teaches displaying an image of each of clock numerals 312 and background 310 as static images that do not change position or rotation with changes in time.
Claims 9-16
Claims 9-16 are rejected for the similar rationale given for claims 1-8 respectively.
Claims 17-24
Claims 17-24 are rejected for the similar rationale given for claims 1-8 respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David Yi can be reached on 571-270-7519. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Ruay Ho/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2126